Lexus IS 200t Malaysian prices revealed, from RM278k

Lexus_IS_200t_03_hi

As we reported earlier, the latest Lexus IS 200t with its new 2.0 litre turbocharged engine will reach Malaysia in the third quarter of 2015. Now, official prices of the updated model range have been revealed by the local Lexus website.

Three variants of the IS 200t will be offered: Premium for RM278,400, Luxury for RM311,900 and F Sport for RM344,900 (all OTR prices, without insurance).

Surprisingly, especially given that it has a smaller engine than the old IS 250, prices have gone up compared to the outgoing models (RM266k to RM328k). Even the range-topping IS 300h model, which is presumably unchanged, sees a price hike from RM379,024 to RM394,900.

Screen Shot 2015-08-26 at 12.37.32 PM

Click to enlarge.

Prices aside, there’s lots to be excited about. Powered by the same direct-injected 2.0 litre turbocharged petrol engine in the NX 200t and RX 200t, the IS 200t will get 245 hp and 350 Nm of torque, sent to the rear wheels through a new eight-speed Sport Direct Shift transmission.

Eight speed what? The Sport Direct Shift gearbox is similar to that fitted to the high-performance RC F, and can vary its gear shifting pattern in accordance to G-forces. It will automatically downshift under hard braking, hold a lower gear through the corner, and then select the most suitable ratio on exit. It’s high tech stuff.

With these on board, Lexus’ BMW 3 Series and Mercedes-Benz C-Class rival now gets to 100 km/h in 7.0 seconds flat, while averaging 7.0 litres per 100 km (14.3 km/l) in the NEDC cycle. This compares favourably against the existing 205 hp/252 Nm IS 250 V6’s figures of 8.1 seconds and 8.6 l/100 km.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• I’m speechless looking at the prices. To those who still think that the government’s promise to reduce the car price by 30% gradually.. Keep dreaming!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • kington on Aug 26, 2015 at 1:37 pm

Thanks to you-know-who.

A “clean-up” is highly necessary

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
      • Lexus - King of RV Depreciation on Aug 26, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Lexus maybe a good car but buyer beware. It is the King of RV Depreciation. 2010 Lexus LS460L top of the range now selling for RM120k. Used car dealers will beg you to even take it for RM99k even. Shocking because less than 5 years ago, the car was close to RM900k.

In 4 years plus your car can jatuh from RM900k to RM99k.

That is how bad Lexus RV is. If you can afford to bear with the falling RV, go ahead and buy it and enjoy it. Bear in mind also, most of the Lexus buyers, after susah payah paying 5 years every month, have to still top up berpuluh ribu their loan when they sell their car.

So besides super duper expensive parts, more expensive than even BMW, Lexus buyers always cry when selling their cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
        • flipper2uman (Member) on Aug 26, 2015 at 3:34 pm

@Lexus-King of RV Depreciation.
          You obviously have no f@@King idea about the behavior of the luxury car market buyers. The people that buy this Luxury segment be it a Merc, BMW, Lexus, Infinity, Jaguar and etc do not give jack sh*!t about RESALE VALUE!!!
          Most people who buy the LS460L, S-Class, BMW 7 are company directory of listed and unlisted companies. The car after 5 years is depreciated to it salvage value in the company’s book and tender off.
          Stop having your little wet dream about owning a Luxury car because it is so obvious you are not even in the target segment of these companies. My advise is if you are so concern about second hand value maybe you can shop around the Sunday AmCorp Mall area for those cheap cars. You can get some good bargains there. You could that use your remaining cash after your purchase and go buy one of those model car in your wet dream.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
          • Areyousure on Aug 26, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Yea. Stop talking RV crap here. Car will only lose money. Even you keep RM1,000 last year in the bank, is only worth RM750 in exchange to USD now.

• bankmanager on Aug 27, 2015 at 5:17 am

Lexus no RV car. Buyers spend thousands to top up in trade in negotiation. Pity.

• Anson Lim on Aug 27, 2015 at 8:45 am

Flipper is a Lexus salesman. Worried about his sales. Hello abang, everybody knows its a Toyota trash

• flipper2uman (Member) on Aug 27, 2015 at 9:30 am

@Anson Lim. I am not a LEXUS SALEMAN. I am a discerning consumer who have own may kinds of cars both in in Msian and overseas. What I find very disturbing in Msian autoblog are people who actually not talk about the merits/pro & cons of a car. Owning a car is not all about RV. I can meet you in person if you have the balls to face me.

• ProJunk on Aug 27, 2015 at 1:19 pm

flipper2uman, don’t bother them. They are just butthurt Proton salesman/supporters thrash talking here. They like to talk about owning a BMW/Merc is better than Lexus but infact they can only afford a Proton. Everyone knows Proton is a junk. Just ask JD Power

• It is a toyota la! on Aug 26, 2015 at 2:42 pm

Malaysians now struggling. Even Tan Sri and rich Datuks also struggling. They lost so much in stock market. Who is going to buy this Toyota in disguise for Rm350k?

• Michael Lim on Aug 27, 2015 at 8:46 am

Junk of a car. No RV. Salesman like to come here and say acomment after test drive. I drove the ES250. It is the same as my Camry. No difference. Just softer leather

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Aug 26, 2015 at 1:00 pm

This will be my 4th Lexus. I will get it nxt month. Work hard u kimchis drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 55
    • UMW Bodoh on Aug 26, 2015 at 2:36 pm

Rm344k for a Toyota junk? Ha Ha Ha Ha. UMW is a crony company thinking they can fool people. Their Toyota got no VSC and 2 airbag, so, they try to market this junk with VSC and more airbag for double

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Deus Ex on Aug 26, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Lost count on how many times you’ve said, “This will be my 4th Lexus. I’ll get it next month”. You have difficulty counting beyond ‘4’ or how days & months work?

• joker on Aug 26, 2015 at 3:38 pm

sam loo must be laughing his ass off when someone ‘pis**d off’ comments on him. see his name while read thru comments is just annoying, let alone his comment. and i am wasting my 3mins commenting on him too..dayymmmn!

• I eat Lexus for breakfast. Yum yum yum!

• People must be crazy to buy a Toyota for that price, better get authentic luxury cars like BMW, Merc, Audi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 25
    • Dust Auto on Aug 26, 2015 at 1:14 pm

audi is just a high end volkswagen pls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
      • Allroadquattro on Aug 26, 2015 at 1:57 pm

bcoz u cant afford one

• BMW vs Lexus Biscuit - Biskut Ke? on Aug 26, 2015 at 2:16 pm

2013 BMW F10 520i low mileage abt 10,000km now selling for RM260k.

If I buy a BMW, at least I can pull some girls. Lexus? Nobody can pull any girls. Maybe bapuk (akua) can.

I ask so many girls about Lexus, they said it is Munchy biscuit. they have no idea it is a so called luxury Toyota junk.

I might as well buy a good 2nd hand BMw or a Merc E250. At least people know I have succeeded in life as opposed to a glorified Toyota

• sorry to burst that huge bubble you live in…If you need to tell the world you have succeeded with the a mid range BMW or Merc..a 2nd hand one at that..you idea of success is rather rather low and sad.. …

Good luck anyway! #Kipidap

• I feel sad for you!!! If you think that people would recognize that you have succeeded with a mid range BMW and Merc or a second hand? You are very shallow. You should hear the comments made by the actual people that have made it on people like you. There is a word in English for your kind of people…….but it would be to embarrassing to mention it here.

• ProJunk on Aug 27, 2015 at 1:09 pm

Then you better buy Proton and attract all the Indo maids, suit your Nasi Lemak taste!

• Malaysians VERY stupid. on Aug 26, 2015 at 2:25 pm

A Lexus is 100% Toyota. They just put some nappa leather and sell you RM200k more.

This is how stupid Malaysians are. In overseas, Lexus does well because dirt cheap. So, people don’t mind forking out US$30k for this junk. It is one month salary for an engineer or doctor.

But in Malaysia, this junk is Rm300k. Even top urgeon don’t make that much and got to take 7 yr loan.

Very very stupid people buy a Toyota at this price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • crappyaudi on Aug 26, 2015 at 1:25 pm

Audi = Volkswagen
      Dust Auto

• Look at all these Toyota fans who got butthurt-ed. LOL. Audi = VW? It doesn’t work that way.

Audi and VW was entirely separate entities/companies before Audi is owned by VW. It’s totally different case with Lexus/Toyota, Nissan/Infiniti, Honda/Acura where the T, N, and H “CREATE” a company (subsidiary) to so-called “produce luxury cars”. And hence, at the end of the day, Toyota = Lexus = Toyota.

Audi is Audi, VW is VW. If you want to reply to my comments, debate intelligently. Now go back to your Toyota and have fun with the infamous ride and handling. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
      • lexuspower on Aug 26, 2015 at 2:02 pm

VW bought Audi so Audi no more luxury quality, LOL

• Allroadquattro on Aug 26, 2015 at 4:36 pm

VW bought Bentley, BMW bought Rolls-Royce (from VW), Tata bought Jaguar Land Rover.
          yet their luxury quality remained.

• That’s why “lexuspower” buys Proton. Can enjoy Lotus quality? Lame-duck

• mechg on Aug 26, 2015 at 6:52 pm

Why drag in p1 here? P1 has much better rnh than japs normal cars and yes they learned in from lotus. So what?

• Smith on Aug 27, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Why cannot? Proton fans butthurt ah? Proton’s Lotus handling is fake, better buy real Lotus

• I have no intention of “arguing” with you but I’m just curious how is Lexus IS a 100% Toyota when it doesn’t ride on any RWD platform from Toyota.

On the other hand, I also don’t get how Audi=Audi, VW=VW when the A3 shares the same platform (MQB), chassis, engine, gearbox and some other parts with the Golf. I also don’t get it when the Passat uses the same platform as the A4 but it’s definitely an Audi, not a VW. I also don’t get it when the Q3/Q5 is basically a Tiguan with a different skin, the Q7 is a Touareg with different metal sheets.

Again, I’m not arguing with you. Curious, just curious.

• Allroadquattro on Aug 26, 2015 at 3:10 pm

note that Passat’s engine is transverse mounted (so is Škoda Superb & the rest of VW cars) while the A4 is longitudinal mounted

• you are right that those brands were ‘formed’ to fight the germans marques but Audi’s and VW’s share parts….
        almost everythin dude..parts, supply chain etc are all standardized…only higher up brands such as Bentley and Lambo get a little more autonomy..even then the baby lambos are based of Audi’s

it does not make financial sense to be separate totally..the entire supply chain has to be one in order for the conglomerate known as VW to actually even function..

perhaps you are a hopeless romantic for the brand or a keyboard warrior but please don’t make a fool of yourself and say they are completely different..with the latest MQB system..VW and Audi have never been more alike!

• Agreed!!! Please learn from what FYI has stated. This is how a modern automobile manufacture runs its business. Finally at least some people that makes good sense here.

• Your thinking is like a 5 years old. If you said they are the same, show us where Toyota and Lexus share the same platform. Before you make fun of Lexus handling, please update yourself with the latest review of GS, it’s one of the sharpest handling car, more so than a 5 series. Also, if you don’t know, most of the Lexus are RWD while Toyota are FWD, so tell us how is Toyota = Lexus = Toyota?

I hope you’ll be able to use your intelligence to reply. If not, go back to your Proton and enjoy the ‘sticker’ of Lotus ride and handling, which is not the real deal

• Carter on Aug 26, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Work hard get Mercedes-Benz, u better choice! N no regret. I’ll be able to make it happen.

• Sammy is full value on Aug 26, 2015 at 1:18 pm

With such prices, UMW Lexus should just close shop and have a good sleep at home. Seriously, who would choose this car over an equivalent C250 or 328i??

I’m almost sure this car would sell in low volume.

Buyers who choose this vehicle would be seen as silly people who doesn’t have a deep knowledge about cars.

• Until end June, got 1077 sohais buy Lexus.

• P1 Macai on Aug 27, 2015 at 2:03 pm

They got money, they can buy anything. You? Butthurt typing here but can only use Proton

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Aug 26, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Ringgit down, sure price increases. Thanks to that “Fella” for his greed and inability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
    • tokmoh. on Aug 26, 2015 at 2:01 pm

MYR now toilet paper, what to be surprised?

I’m more surprised it didn’t go up to RM2.6billion. UMW will claim for high RV, must increase.

• banzai on Aug 26, 2015 at 1:39 pm

i pick IS200 over W205 F30LCI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Allroadquattro on Aug 26, 2015 at 2:12 pm

another turbocharged Lexus?
    BURN!!!

• eVaz88 on Aug 26, 2015 at 2:21 pm

Thanks for Jib Gor, all the price increase due to RM drop! Sigh. I wont blame automotive industry for the price increase. Wait, there’s still 1 more RM haven’t drop! Rosmah Mansxr! ./.

• Kenneth Fook on Aug 26, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Lexus, you gotta be kidding me. Price hike with a downsizing of the engine from a 2.5 to a 2.0?! 0-100 time couldnt even beat the 211hp C250 not to mention the 328i. UMW, you think Malaysians are big time idiots?

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 26, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Been waiting for this for quite some time. The IS has very good handling – almost equaling the F30 (which means its pretty good), but let down by a rather underpowered engine. But the price for the turbo-ed IS200t is disappointingly high. Lexus Malaysia should learn from Infiniti Malaysia’s pricing structure. The base Infiniti Q50 is so much cheaper than the base IS200t (the premium model). Even the base Q70 sedan (which is a size up on the Q50 and is in the same class as the Lexus GS sedan) is cheaper than the IS200t Luxury variant. Crazy pricing by Lexus Malaysia & UMW.

• exiger on Aug 26, 2015 at 3:43 pm

Handling good? Can do corner at 160km/h?

• Bob_B78 on Aug 26, 2015 at 5:44 pm

I get to drive a IS250 and E60 525i from time to time and I can come tell you this:
      525 is more agile and more stable during high speed cornering, given that 525 is bigger and heavier than IS250.
      U buy Lexus for its comfort and refinement, never for its handling.

• Kenneth Fook on Aug 27, 2015 at 1:56 pm

I have got an E60 523i. And let me tell you that things just bites on to the road like crazy. Super grippy. But sadly i couldnt say the same for the F30 328i. Wonder if it is due to the weight or the turbo as the 523i is relatively slow.

• Neutral on Aug 26, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Japs design always gives almost 0 breakdown compare to Conti. Yeap, some might think that it’s not worth to purchase Japs at that kind of price since its close to Merc, Audi or BMWs, but have you tried or owned it before? Please dont be keyboard warrior..

• vipes on Aug 26, 2015 at 3:45 pm

Why not? Coz many bash other cars too without owning one, lol

• Guan yin maa on Aug 26, 2015 at 2:59 pm

There are 10% excise tax diff between 2000cc and 2500cc CBU vehicle, the price should at least lowered by 10-15k, instead the price increased. GOOD MOVE MUTIARA MOTOR. CRONIES.

• flipper2uman (Member) on Aug 26, 2015 at 3:40 pm

The cause of this rise is due to the depreciation of the ringgit about 25% since the beginning of the year. Prepare for more cost of living vs a higher standard of leaving as promised by you know who. WTF Man!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • seancorr (Member) on Aug 26, 2015 at 3:40 pm

What’s there left to be excited about? With that kind of pricing Lexus Malaysia can dream about competing with the German premium trio. Even the NX didn’t really took off after its local launch. I guess UMW is contented with selling Toyota coffins to Malaysians.

• Captain Slow on Aug 26, 2015 at 4:17 pm

The Lexus IS is a good car. But since the price too way expensive, maybe I need to settle with Toyota Alteza…

• kralkhan (Member) on Aug 26, 2015 at 4:23 pm

To all who think Lexus is just a Toyota, please go to any Lexus centre and arrange for a test drive. After the test drive, come back here and comment. If you do not own either a BMW or a Mercedes, please also test drive one before going to the Lexus centre. Only then will you be able to make a fair comment.

• So what so special about this biscuit car? Care to tell here?

• dugongx on Aug 27, 2015 at 2:25 am

Let me enlighten you. Lexus is the real king of godcars.
        Handles better than an F1 car, accelerates faster than a rocket, luxury cabin beyond description that uses leather from Rolls Royce seats as carpet mats, never ever broke down in the entire history of mankind, does not require maintenance, sips less fuel than a kapcai, safer than a M1 tank and appreciates in RV like the US dollar. Not to mention in service centre they treat you like an emperor.

Only 350k is a steal. Only sohai won’t buy it.

• IrizX on Aug 27, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Well, it at least has miles better service than Proton centre, enough?

• Bruce on Aug 26, 2015 at 5:16 pm

This car is a bit pricey and its a not a brand new design. Just a new engine with Turbo. To pay so much for a car like this and then in around 2-3 years becomes a old model just doesn’t make sense.

• Ah Wah on Aug 26, 2015 at 7:58 pm

Wah, this totota so expensive one ka?
    Looks like 120k car only…

• P1 Salesman on Aug 27, 2015 at 2:15 pm

Yes, it is but if we don’t make this expensive, how do we sell?

• DPCraft on Aug 26, 2015 at 8:08 pm

Oh my… A 160k car selling for 260k. G tax is 100k. Another reason for not loving our G.

• I ate on Aug 27, 2015 at 6:16 am

Kinda late to the turbocharged game eh Lexus? I still maintain that your cars are at least 30k overpriced to be competitive enough to fight with the mercs and bimmers.

• Cleaner on Aug 27, 2015 at 9:03 am

Super rich ppl, migrate ..
    rich ppl, i dun care, everything can not change. better concentrate and spend my time to earn money.
    I tell him,Whatever u earn, is not safe.. will be nothing anytime. Your profit only 20%, but RM depreciate more than 30%. .. hahahaha selfish and naive ppl.

Poor ppl, I have no money , no time to do “Cleaning”. I said, “OK, you will never become rich forever.

Guys, stand up.. this cleaning might not get result immediately. But, It’s enough to shake his UMMO supporter to pull him down.

Key point he go to LOKAP. UMMO members pull him down!

Do you want to survive under bangsat ruling?
    Show up urself to do cleaning. You got nothing to lose!