VIDEO: Leona Chin challenges WRC driver, Jari-Matti Latvala, to a gymkhana face-off this September

You gotta’ hand it to all race car drivers. Be it on the circuit, the rally stage or even an empty car park, every single of them is always up for a challenge – and what a challenge it will be as Malaysian drift sensation, Leona Chin, has just issued one in the direction of WRC driver, Jari-Matti Latvala.

The challenge appears simple enough with the local lass set to go head to head against the Finnish driver (who has chalked up a total of 14 rally wins, by the way) in a gymkhana course at the Setia City Convention Center on September 4. Whether or not he decides to take up the challenge during his Malaysian visit, we’ll find out soon enough.

Those who were unfamiliar with Leona’s stunts might have taken notice when a video of her dressed as an unfashionable learner driver went viral. In said video, Leona adopted the persona of a rather terrible learner driver to prank several unsuspecting instructors. Upon entering the vehicle however, said instructors were given a rude awakening as Leona gave them a taste of her true driving talent.

So, then, who do you think will come out on top in this challenge? Will you be gunning for our local heroine or will Latvala prove the old adage ‘If you want to win, hire a Finn’ true?

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• hohohihihuhu on Aug 27, 2015 at 4:45 pm

why not challenge ken block as well? anyway this is interesting much.

• The handling of Polo is superb! The other car I can think of will be Fiesta.

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 28, 2015 at 2:18 pm

Thinking of handling, get a Polo, Fiesta or our 86. Those Iriz handling BS is nothing more than sendiri cakap sendiri syok.

• trollmaster3000 on Aug 28, 2015 at 12:00 am

why would anyone want to challenge a clown..? not even worth the fight..

• Leona Lewis, don’t wait for me, ok? :-P

• ahahha on Aug 27, 2015 at 5:46 pm

She is so gonna screw it up.

• C.P. MOHAN on Aug 27, 2015 at 6:40 pm

800 meters runner asking a sprint champion for a race. What I am alluding too is ‘what is the point’, this challenge to me is called cheap publicity maybe it’s just me.

• Edward on Aug 27, 2015 at 9:33 pm

Yari will most probably do it if his bosses at VW group says so. Somebody got to sign the paychecks. But agreed, it’s cheap publicity for VW and their not so reliable marques

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 27, 2015 at 7:47 pm

I’m a simple guy, i see leng lui i support

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 27, 2015 at 8:59 pm

seriously though she is really overrated… just a pretty face

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Ahh…. you can drive any better? At least she is in the arena competing Mr Keyboard warrior!!!

• tokmoh. on Aug 28, 2015 at 12:45 am

Results speak loudest. If she can produce results like Tengku Djan, then hats off.

But then again, the more the merrier, so nothing against her seeking this kinda publicity.

Because motorsports scene here generally scorned at and I’m sad about it. Case in point, KL City GP seems extremely unpopular.

Motorsports deserve a little more love, so I’m ok with this.

• She was barely a little when she started learning to drift. FYI Tengku Djan mentored her when she was starting out in this motor sport. So the young padawan still has some ways to come up to the teacher. But that does not mean that we should take every opportunity here to bash our young aspiring sport person when we get a change. Shshh…so typical of Malaysia. Don’t compete, sit at the teh tarik stall and complain and complain rather that do something.

I agreed with you our motor sports here in this country is scorned at and I share the same sadness. Yah the the KL City GP was extremely unpopular more for other reasons besides the real race. More complain by Msian… blah blah blah… this and that. I think if we have a even in the Olympics for complaining and doing nothing, Msia will come in with all the medals.

• tokmoh. on Aug 29, 2015 at 10:32 pm

We just gotta hope she’s passionate to reach greater heights in drifting. I’m all eager to support her and anyone that can excite the scene.

The grass is greener on the other side, like Singapore GP. I’ve never seen anyone criticize it, surely it also inconveniences locals to have streets closed off, yet we seem to praise it and think it’s all rosy and all good. Maybe bcuz those kiasus are better at dealing with it, and know better how to just sit back, enjoy the race, party, concerts etc

• Head Hunter on Aug 27, 2015 at 9:26 pm

I don’t remember Jari-Matti being a WRC Champion?

• amirad on Aug 28, 2015 at 10:24 am

Matti Latvala pun dah OK. Can’t expect to bring in Seb Ogier. I’m sure Latvala, being a gentlemen will let Leona win. Its not really a challenge. Just publicity stunts. To spice things up, make it WWE style.

• Cheap publicity or not, its good for malaysian motorsports. And ms. Chin is a nice & humble person from what i have read. Win or lose on track, its still a win-win situation in general