Prolintas details highway toll concession agreements – AKLEH would have cost RM3.50 without subsidies!

Ampang-Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highway (AKLEH)

Presumably in a bid to promote transparency in its processes (or to make a case for raising toll rates), highway concessionaire Projek Lintas Kota Holdings (Prolintas) has revealed the details of the concession agreements on the three highways it currently manages – the Ampang-Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highway (AKLEH), Guthrie Corridor Expressway (GCE) and the Lebuhraya Kemuning-Shah Alam (LKSA).

The nation’s second-largest highway operator said that although the agreements did provide provisions for increasing toll rates, it has maintained them at RM1.50 for AKLEH and RM1.20 for LKSA at the Seri Muda toll plaza, while GCE rates saw only a “slight” uptick from RM1.00 to RM1.40.

With regards to AKLEH in particular, Prolintas added that the road user charges were supposed to be raised to RM2.50 in 2008 and a staggering RM3.50 this year. To date, the company has received a total of RM119.2 million in compensation from the government – based on the difference between the estimated projected toll collection without subsidies and the actual amount – in order to retain the current rate.

“We want to be clear and transparent about the details of the agreements so that road users get an accurate picture of the expressways managed by Prolintas instead of relying on rumours and hearsay from third parties,” said group chief executive Datuk Ir Zainudin A Kadir.

Lebuhraya Kemuning-Shah Alam (LKSA)

So where has that money been channeled? Straight into upgrading works, apparently – the company is said to have spent RM120 million alone in upgrading AKLEH from a two-lane dual carriageway to a three-lane dual carriageway from KM 4.6 to KM 6.0, required as part of the agreement once traffic exceeded the 93,600-vehicles-a-day mark.

“We will try our best to continue to upgrade and maintain our expressways and hope that road user charges are kept low so that as many people as possible can benefit from shorter distances and faster travel times to their destinations comfortably and safely,” Zainudin added.

Details of the concession agreements are available for public viewing at the works ministry headquarters in Kuala Lumpur.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Ivan5781 on Sep 14, 2015 at 1:22 pm

Dear Prolintas,

Please tell us how much do you collect a day and what maintenance do you do basically in order to collect that much money since I do not see the roads are being resurfaced regularly.

Plus are you smoking something off your mind KM4.6-KM6 or 1.4km for RM120million??? That’s roughly RM 85,714/m. (are you sure all the money went into upgrading alone)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 3
    • OMG…Hate the tolls…FXXX Them off…

• try not take tolls in the country. let’s see how fast you can get from point a to point b.

• blackbox on Sep 14, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Subsidies money come from where? Najib own pocket money? Donation from arab? All come from the natural resources which belongs all Malaysian and taxes that we paid. Even all those minister salary and allowance. So don’t sound like we should thank you for subsidising the toll.

• tokmoh. on Sep 14, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Mak dia hijauuuuuu

Guthrie, LKSA, 2 most cb highway, sikit2 tol, sikit2 tol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • Areyousure on Sep 14, 2015 at 2:06 pm

Collected only RM120 millions so little? The NGO one day red-shirt event to bring 300,000 rempits on the street have RM30 millions budget already. (Each got allowance of RM100)

• Logical Solution on Sep 14, 2015 at 2:07 pm

After recoup the cost, why not hand it over to govt/JKR as govt assets?

Then govt can choose either make it toll-free or simply charge lowest toll (eg.RM1 per day) to cover the maintenance cost.

In fact rakyat would be far more than happy to pay RM1 daily if the toll collections goes to govt directly and ensure roads are properly maintained at all times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • akleh on Sep 14, 2015 at 2:12 pm

can somebody enlighten me on this issue…all these highways…plus…guthrie…akleh…ldp…kesas…they uses whose money to build in the first place??? if its purely investors money ok la…i pay if i were to use, but if use tax payer’s money to build then collect toll then request for increment summore…that doesnt make any sense rite…those who stay at puchong or subang or sunway memang cant leave that area without paying toll…pity la…y keep asking for higher toll fees

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • DonkeyKong on Sep 14, 2015 at 5:26 pm

They took bank loans, which include bank interests. The concessionaire agreements will spell out the total annual opex including bank loan + interest that they will have to repay. No public money is spent for the construction, which is the whole point of having privatized highway concessionaires

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • azrai on Sep 14, 2015 at 2:42 pm

AKLEH 93,600 users will trigger the expansion job done right now. So RM1.50 x 2 return trip = RM3.00. RM3 x 93,600 = RM 280,000 per day. For the whole year the collection is RM102.492 million. So the G compensate RM119.2 million to them, that sum to RM221.692 million per year. Anyway, how much does it cost them to build the highway at first place and how much G grants given to them to build it?

• azrai on Sep 14, 2015 at 5:08 pm

I just got the figure for AKLEH construction cost. it is at RM751 million. So in simple math only in 3 years 5 months the cost is already recoup!

• And that’s if you assume RM751 mil doesn’t already include lots of kopi $, (Is there a single person in Bolehland who believes there is no kopi or “donations” involved? Maybe my 2 year old cousin?) and could have been constructed for cheaper or better.

• Malaysia roads is filled with highway that we don’t even need and ever increasing tolls rate and fuels hike.

• Dear Prolintas, Since you are using the word ‘transparency’ to show how generous you are for being not getting what you want, we rakyat challenge you to raise the toll rate.

Let the economy show you what is the meaning of breakeven point. How long does it take to reach the point. The rakyat might flop in terms of time wasted in traffic, but we will make sure you bloodsucker will die very soon.

For the so called responsible disclosure, do reveal all your income including advertisement space ya? Plus we also want to know how much income generated from petronas commercial shot at your toll gate couple of years back.

You are nothing but seriously insincerely sincere.

• Dear Prolintas,
    Please tell us who was the signatory for the above agreement.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Sep 14, 2015 at 4:11 pm

Subsidy is not an issue at all f the government is clean and efficient, and have atleast rm2.6billions to spend .

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Sep 14, 2015 at 4:13 pm

To the government and cronies: Please dont always just tell us you have to spend this and that to subsidize the rakyat, we DONT BUY your story anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • C.P. MOHAN on Sep 14, 2015 at 4:55 pm

Hogwash! I say my PERODUA is priced and maintained like a Roll-Royce (RR) subsidise me so that I can buy a RR.

• In B4 better tear down highway and close shop. All rakyat enjoice.

• BULLSHIT on Sep 14, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Subsidised whose Pocket? This is the reason why our country is so poor and our ringgit has devalued soo much due to these blood suckers siphoning off the country’s wealth big time.

• Prolintas is a business entity and their main responsibility is shareholders profit. I bet if some here profits substantially from such project, they’ll just keep their mouth shut as well.

What I want to know is why the government, on behalf of the people, have to make up the concessionaire’s failure to meet “estimated projected toll collection”? Did the government did not do their due diligence when signing-off on such estimations, resulting in such ridiculous difference between projections and actuals?

• Say what anyone wants.. Nothing will change.. Even $2.6b can say not my problem, what left in the hope?

• Susukotak on Sep 15, 2015 at 5:54 am

Why this CA? No OSA?

• wah piang on Sep 15, 2015 at 7:41 pm

It would have cost rm0.50 if no payment to cronies.