Frankfurt 2015: B9 Audi S4 revealed packing 354 PS

Dynamic photo,  Colour: Misano Red

The covers have come off the new B9 Audi S4 at the 2015 Frankfurt Motor Show, and while the four-ringed mid-table sports sedan looks almost identical to the cooking A4 on which it’s based, it packs a slightly meaner punch to tackle new competitors like the Mercedes-Benz C 450 AMG and Jaguar XE S.

At its heart sits a 3.0 litre V6 as before, but it’s a new unit that ditches the old supercharger for a turbo. Power has seen a mild 21 PS bump from 333 PS to 354 PS, but the torque figure jumps considerably from 440 Nm to 500 Nm, a healthy 60 Nm increase. It’s also made over a broader spread, from 1,300 to 4,500 rpm.

As such, the new S4 goes from 0-100 km/h in just 4.7 seconds before hitting the limiter at 250 km/h; yet fuel consumption is claimed to have been improved from the B8 – under 7.4 litres per 100 km – while carbon dioxide emissions is rated at 170 grams per kilometre.

Static photo,  Colour: Misano Red

Both manual and S tronic dual-clutch transmission options have been dropped; in their place is a standard eight-speed tiptronic conventional automatic transmission, mated as always to quattro permanent all-wheel drive. Torque is split 40:60 in normal driving, but the centre differential can send up to 70% of power to the front wheels and up to 85% to the rear wheels, should it be required. Apparently the dual-clutch has been dropped because of the engine’s torque output.

In the corners, the software-controlled wheel-selective torque control brakes the inside wheels for more precise, stable and agile handling; you can even specify a sport differential to further control the transfer of power between the rear wheels.

Keeping power down to the road is five-link suspension on both ends – the standard S sport suspension is 23 mm lower than the regular A4, and active damper control is available as an option. Also on the options list is variable speed-dependent dynamic steering, linked to the standard electromechanical power steering system. The Audi drive select system manages the powertrain, steering and the continuous damping control (CDC).

Interior

As mentioned, you’ll find it very difficult to tell the S4 apart from the standard A4 (particularly with the latter in S line trim) but there are some telltale signs that you’re looking at something quite a bit more serious. At the front, the six-point Singleframe grille gets some new slats, and the side air intakes have also been subtly reprofiled. Fitted as standard are LED headlights, with Matrix LEDs optional.

There are also aluminium door mirror trims, along with a redesigned rear valence revealing quad exhaust exits. Standard-fit are 18-inch wheels in a five-twin-spoke design, rolling on 245/40-section tyres; 19-inch items are optional, and come with bigger brakes.

Inside, much remains the same, save for S sports seats upholstered in pearl Nappa leather and Alcantara, fitted with inflatable bolsters and a pneumatic massage function. There are also standard brushed aluminium inlays, S4-badged illuminated door sill trims and a flat-bottomed three-spoke steering wheel, while the optional Audi virtual cockpit instrument cluster has a special Sport setting with a central rev counter.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• myvipower on Sep 15, 2015 at 8:30 pm

Cant wait to smoke it with my quad tail piped myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Jezebel on Sep 15, 2015 at 11:41 pm

I dunno these kind of people exists
      Can you stay straight on wet surface at 120 km/h?

• myvipower on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:05 am

Caaaaannnnnnnn why cannot?

• Jezebel on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:56 am

driving a FWD car 120 km/h on wet road?
          pls do it. I’ll call the recovery truck

• So you are saying Audi A4 will go to longkang at 120km/h on wet road?

• I think Audi S4 can go to longkang.

• Jezebel on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:11 pm

what ditch?
            quattro = grip
            what’s wrong with you people? you need further enlightenment

• Jezebel on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:31 pm

duh. what ditch?
            quattro = grip. if you’re trying to do sarcasm, it’s a fail. you’re taking dumbness into a whole new level.
            pathetic. only destined to drive myvis and pretend it’s a hyper hot hatch whatever

• I ate on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:56 pm

Many Audi models are FwD.

• And according to Jezebel all will masuk longkong if driving at 120 km/h on wet road.

• Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:26 am

120kmh is nothing. I easily cruise at 180kmh on wet road.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 15, 2015 at 11:25 pm

That’s a lot of torque…and it shows since its 0.4 secs quicker than the LCI 340i which will be its closest rival. Its gonna be a cracker on the road when it arrives here.

• Jezebel on Sep 15, 2015 at 11:46 pm

2016 Audi S4 – 0-100 km/h in 4.7secs, 7.4l/100 km, 170 g/km co2
    2015 Subaru WRX STI – 0-100 km/h in 5.2secs, 8.4l/100 km, 242 g/km co2
    Can you believe it? Those figures are so surreal

• The Audi is a far more modern car?

• Jezebel on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:25 pm

what can you expect from a maker of halo car?
        WRX STI is today’s car with the heart of tomorrow. either they can adapt with emission regulation or sayonara. adapt or survive. that why Lancer Evolution are dead.
        gotta say most PT readers are still live under the shell

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:43 pm

and the audi will break down with transmission problems.

• Tanah Merah on Sep 16, 2015 at 2:46 am

Everything about the spec is superb, plenty of power and torque, using tiptronic instead of dual clutch.

Too bad the look is rather ordinary.

• forrest the tree on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:37 am

Wolf with sheep skin. Can eat 335i, 435i for breakfast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • CarBase12 on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:54 am

Won’t be going up against 335i / 435i — those are about to become 340i / 440i, and, with the planned power bumps, they’ll be pretty evenly matched against the S4 / S5.

• Hairdresser don’t like mascular design, they like this smooth like silk design.

• rizal on Sep 18, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Nice performance.. But the look.. So tame.. Or lame.. Or maybe both..