Smoking in cars with kids to be banned in the UK

Beginning October 1, 2015, the United Kingdom will be putting a ban on smoking in cars which have passengers below the age of 18 in them.

In a bid to protect minors and teenagers from the harms of secondhand smoke, the UK government is implementing the new law that will apply in both England and Wales, and could see fines up to GBP£50 (RM333) served to the driver and/or the smoking passenger. The responsibility, then, falls on the driver to encourage his or her passengers to refrain from smoking in cars.

The new law will apply to any type of vehicle, commercial or passenger, “enclosed wholly or partly by a roof.”

Smoking in cars with children or young people under the age of 18 is, however, permitted when the vehicle is a convertible with its roof fully opened – simply leaving your windows down or sunroof opened isn’t enough, as deemed by the authorities, and the full fine will apply.

Sole drivers, aged 17 and above and those with a provisional license, may smoke in vehicles, provided that it is their own.

No mention has been made on if or not the law applies to e-cigarettes, where in the UK, the government has been showing further support of the devices in recent times.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Malaysia Tidur?? on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:44 am

Instead of Malaysia coming out with good laws like this, the Government got time to pay red shirts to protest in Petaling Street. We need to buck up and stop spending time on silly things and start coming out with good laws to protect drivers.

Government got time to call China’s envoy for questioning but they got no time to implement laws like these

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Areyousure on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:29 am

Manufacturers should remove the cigarette lighter from their cars first.

• alldisc on Sep 28, 2015 at 1:33 pm

do you know Jaguar cars for at least 8 years ago cigarette lighter is not a standard equipemtn but an option for buyers to choose.

• Bodo Bodo Malaysia on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:31 am

Malaysia cannt come up with good laws. We are more concerned about things like whether the Cadbury chocolate is halal or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 28, 2015 at 8:25 pm

pipu here complain if we have those law..just look at many complain why cannot smoke at bustop n restaurant..

• nameless on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:21 am

not applies to e-cigarette coz smoking is so yesterday, should be ”Smoking and Vaping in cars with the children”.

• Malaysian Law Makers Vs UK Law Makers on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:52 am

See below and you will know why Malaysian Government don’t know how to make good laws.

UK workers :

“We must work hard. We must focus in our work. We take pride in our laws and must deliver excellent quality laws to the public to safeguard them. Only then, we can enjoy our remuneration for the hard work done. We must aim to be more hardworking and come out with framework of laws to protect the consumer”

Government Malaysia workers:

“Rilak lah bang, buat apa nak keje ni. rilak lah, nanti boleh buat. Letih lah ni, mari meh tido sekejap kat bilik stor, boss takde ni. Eh tengok awek cun tu, bess lah dapat kongkek dia. Syok. Jom lah, mari pegi kantin minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Tak payah keje kuat ni, kerajaan nanti tolong. Buat apa keje kuat ni? Undang undang semua bagus”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Ugh! And this coming from someone who have never even dealt with Britons. The truth is Brits dun work hard, they work efficiently. And also becoz they have tons of unions to protect them so they dun need to work so hard to earn a living. Plus they have a lot of regulations barring them from overwork.
      I do agree their consumer laws are better, maybe cuz they’re tied to EU. During Thatcher’s time it wasnt so rosy as now.

• Cookies or Biscuit on Sep 28, 2015 at 7:22 pm

From your assumption seems likely is from your inner-self and please come out from your cave. Once you work in England you will know the officers 10x more lazier than Malaysian.

• FIST (Member) on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:57 am

Good law

• Wahai Orang Orang Kampung - Sedarlah on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:07 am

I see during haze time, the kampung people still driving with windscreen down eventhough they driving new car with aircon. Children inside suffocating with haze. No idea why they love fresh air so much?

Sedarlah.

I see also many kampung dudes smoking also whilst children and wife sitting beside.

Sedarlah bang!

• Orang bandar on Sep 28, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Jangan cakap orang jer, orang bandar pon ade macam tu. Siap hisap rokok lagi.
      Stop pointing fingers bro..

• Org Kg Baru on Sep 28, 2015 at 8:04 pm

Jangan sombonglah org bandar!

• Add-A-Comment on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:07 am

I disagreed and agreed on you comments.

Disagree (highly) – You are stupid city peoepl. Why must kutuk and stereotype others? I am from born and grew up in Malaysia capital city Kuala Lumpur. And I still see people do the things you mentioned. It is not about where they live, it is the thinking and knowledge…you can blame the Govt education system if you want….since we already blaming every single thing to the Govt..like my kitchen towel is not absorbing water well enough, stupid Govt for letting this to be sold to consumers….why not this one?

Agree – Why there are people would leave their children suffocating with haze and their second-hand smoke. I too don’t understand. Again, it could be the thinking and knowledge…come, lets blame the Govt.

• Vape also? on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:19 am

I saw the other day a father Vaping while driving with all the windows closed. His kid is in the passenger seat and his wife at the back with I think another kid.

Is this normal? I thought Vapes still contain nicotine.

Anyway, Malaysia really needs this UK law in place to put a stop to stupid parents encouraging new smokers.

• Aaron on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:31 am

First world country will do this but forth world will never.