Proton Tech Seminar at Alami Proton this weekend

proton technical seminar 1

Visitors to the Alami Proton open day carnival at the national carmaker’s Centre of Excellence in Shah Alam this coming weekend will be able to catch a Proton Technical Seminar, which will run over the course of the two-day event.

The seminar will offer visitors the chance to learn more about the automaker’s capability in vehicle research and development through a series of technical discussions, which will be held at the Virtual Reality Centre in the R&D building. Discussion topics will cover areas of design, computer aided engineering, powertrain technology, product safety as well as on electric vehicle tech.

Admission is free, but tickets are required as seats are limited to 30 per session. If you’re interested in attending, you can collect your tickets at the counter located at the lobby of the R&D building, based on a ‘first come, first served’ basis. These session are suitable for adults and students aged 13 years and above.

The Alami Proton carnival will be held on October 3-4 at the COE, and will run from 10 am to 7 pm daily. Admittance to the event i- which offers a 360-degree experience of the brand – is free.

Plenty of activities in store, from test drives of various models and attractive ownership packages, which include rebates on selected models, fast approval for hire-purchase financing and high trade-in value for used cars. There will also be exensive rebates on spare parts of selected Proton models, with up to 70% discount off original prices

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Commoner on Oct 01, 2015 at 1:12 pm

Out of all technical subject, Proton do not offer quality related seminar. Wondering is it quality is Proton’s big secret?

• Malaysians no longer have brains. Proton’s quality is the best since 30 years ago, you don’t know meh?
      Here in Malaysia, you dun find Saga drivers suing Proton for selling unsafe cars. You know why?

Cuz Proton rules! Like BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
      • Don’t need seminar, rakyat have ‘First Hand Experience’ with Proton’s quality since 1985. They know how ‘good’ it is. Just ask those who are in Hospital if they are alive or visit the undertaker for those who died from Proton

• surveyer on Oct 01, 2015 at 5:11 pm

I only have 1 question. If anyone’s going, please direct this question to Proton:

Why Proton still needs tongkat?

• To beat some sense into pipu like you who dunno Proton is private entity

• china=tongkat on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:41 pm

Do you know other companies got tongkat protection in their respective countries too? Foreign companies must JV with them, duh.

In other words, jv=tongkat=protection

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 01, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Yet another stupid comment from John. Proton of course has best quality in 30 years. If Proton 2015 car is worse than 1990 Proton, it is real SHAME.
          Apple latest iPhone also the best ever (Steve Jobs/Tim Cook claim they’d created the best iPhone EVERY year).
          The key question is: Does this Proton best quality on par with others best quality like Toyota/Honda/Perodua/Nissan/Ford/Hyundai/Kia?

Now you know why no one bother buying Proton. Best quality Proton so what?! It is still junk level. You can say it is the best junk I agree.

• movingcoffin on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:42 pm

Vios dun even have VSC want to compare wuth Iriz

Toyota no safety quality

• Steven See on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:51 pm

Explain why you bought your 25 yrs old son proton saga last year? Sam Sam Sam…….talk coxk lah you pakcik.

• Delloid on Oct 01, 2015 at 2:20 pm

Would like to see how power window works and fail.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 01, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Do you know what is the best way to protect Proton: Go buy 1 Proton yourself!
        Do you know what is the best way to protect yourself from breakdowns and garage visit: Leave the Proton at home all time, give it to the friend you hate the most or throw it into sea.

• samelordupe on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:43 pm

Got lifetime warranty, you go out from cave

• Steven See on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:53 pm

Your son use saga pakcik. You claimed to have 3 Lexus at home…haha…if you so rich, why buy saga. Hahahahaha

• George Abdul on Oct 01, 2015 at 2:33 pm

Last statement “4 things must know before buy a car”
      First and last Malaysia local cars are overprice because Government protecting the AP system owners !!! Rakyat suffer buying expensive with less equipped safety cars !!!

• Pengguna Bijak on Oct 01, 2015 at 8:21 pm

4 things u must know before buying car:

1. Always choose Toyota.

2. If not better go for Perodua.

3. Its okay to buy Honda too.

4. Nissan, Mazda is not bad either.

• notakata on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:45 pm

P2 Toyota tinmilo moving coffin. Avoid at all cost

Jepunis got takata killer airbags, avoid it too.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 01, 2015 at 2:35 pm

While ppl don’t even bother going showroom test drive the new Proton, what for coming here to listen to your bullshit. Those are nothing more than Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok.
      1. Proton Iriz can’t be sold in Europe because failed to meet emission requirement.
      2. Proton engines are fuel hunger but no power.
      3. Proton cars are not reliable.
      These facts are facts, no matter how you BS on the seminar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
    • For this Proton rather choose to show instead of tell. How to show? Just go down to your nearest Proton showroom and ask to see IRIZ for yourself.

• I sat on the Iriz three times, I hope I am not biased and not affected by road condition, day/night, salesman broken english. But after these, I still have conclude that Iriz is really disappointing.

• Its good that you at least tried it out rather than be keybod warrior here without even touching the car. BTW may I know you compared IRIZ to which car?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Oct 01, 2015 at 1:20 pm

I have said this before and I will say it again, Proton is a low class car for low class people. It is for the poor mainly. And the poor are poor because their are sheer lazy and nothing to do with no opportunity.

I appeal to all these lazy Proton owners and potential Proton buyers, aim higher in life. Be like me. I am a mere UMw salesman and yet, I work hard and I am already buying my 3rd Lexus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
    • lexusbiscuit on Oct 01, 2015 at 1:50 pm

Yes buy Lexus at any shopping mall. Dun stop at 3rd pack.

• People who buy Toyota UMW only end up with two stories.

They either die here, or die there, due to lack of safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • I already have 7 Lexus this morning for breakfast. What’s the big deal?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Bomoh on Oct 01, 2015 at 2:26 pm

There are rich people who drive Lexus but with low class mindset…

• Albert on Oct 01, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Alamak…..is protong short of promotional ideas?
      Now SEMINAR TO STIR UP INTEREST.Shambolically syiok sendiri estacy.
      OK….how about a tikam tikam style lottery?You buy any Protong(especially those unsold stocks with extra discounts attached),you are entitled to one CHANCE OF A LIFETIME DRAW.
      What is the grand price? It is equivalent to the amount donated by the Middle East Santa.
      Protong,you dont have to lelong your factory to pay for the grand price.
      The Middle East santa is waiting for your phone call.Just pick up your smartphone and CALL…..Remember the US Dollar has appreciated to 4.5 now.

• Firdaus on Oct 01, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Proton should be the last car mfg company to hold a technical seminar!All their current models except for the Inspira uses the cam tak pro engine launched in 2004!Sigh……

• I am particularly interested in the “4 things you must know before you buy a car”.

1. You must know that you should be patriotic.
    2. You must know that RV is not important.
    3. You must know that there’s one brand that Volvo and BMW afraid of.
    4. You must know that reliability is not important. Syok sendiri is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Anyway would you want to listen to a bunch of clowns that their own product also cannot sell?

• Ostrich Show on Oct 01, 2015 at 8:27 pm

Maybe its fun to see how they pretend themselves in full denial mode.

• Aero (Member) on Oct 01, 2015 at 2:49 pm

Please, parents, control your kids in the R&D area. Last year, during the R&D tour, so many kids were jumping around, shouting and screaming while the Proton officials were doing their speeches. There was a part where people could try their hand at clay modelling… and yes, the kids destroyed the clay model by mid-day. -__-

Parents, if you cannot control your kids, don’t come to the R&D building, please, have some respect for Proton. Don’t ruin the experience for other Malaysians who actually want to learn, instead of just watching and staring mindlessly. It’s perfectly fine to bring your kids to Alami Proton, and there are areas which have been ready-made for kids. But the R&D area is not one of them.

I will drive from Cyberjaya straight to the Shah Alam factory after my exam finishes tomorrow at 12pm. See you guys there ! :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • Ollie on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:02 pm

Oh wow excited-nya. I seriously want to go to this and see you and your Proton idols. Ask them to their face what they have been doing for years? Everyday how many teh tarik? Do they know what is a torque curve?
      Dude i just cant get enough of your ‘respect’ for Proton and don’t get your kids in the R&D area. Dude i also can do a 6-hour seminar on copy and pasting and tukar badge la. The Proton R&D is just a playground where they drink teh tarik and probably sleep half the time. How much effort needed to Ctrl+C?? Clay model? What are you kidding me?? Do they know what’s a drivetrain? Their entire CVT just import from Punch China! Every car got same engine for past 20 years! Campro with misfiring torque curve! Driveshaft that fail from 40km/h corner! Hybrid?? Tesla and others spending billions on batteries and design and these kids wana talk about hybrid?? Power window cant build properly! Inside plastic made from pasar malam remote control car plastic!!

Dude mark my word, I’m gonna be there to see you at this seminar as I consider you and your Proton apologists as national enemies. Malaysians should really stage a protest against Proton during this at their Shah Alam HQ and end the embarassment they have caused to the rakyat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
      • kadajawie on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:23 pm

After visit seminar straight away go to Perodua showroom book a Myvi.

That’s how to show protest against Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • curvy on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:23 pm

Torque curve is old story, CFE got flat powerful torque at 2000RPM, unlike n/a 2.0l Japs engine which you have to push pedal more everytime to reach the power.

• Aero (Member) on Oct 02, 2015 at 1:51 am

Haha, joke’s on you man… so, you’re coming ? Then you already shot yourself in the foot.

Why don’t you work harder to buy your dream milo tin Vios, instead of talking sh*t about Proton ?

The smart person wouldn’t revel in fanatical hatred… it’s a waste of time and energy. Be more optimistic for a change. Negativity only breeds more negativity.

• kadajawie on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Don’t waste your time kiddo.

• You really think this is some high powered event for high position people? This event is no different from those jom heboh or some mat rempit gathering. Of course will have children running around? What do you expect from people that visit this type of event?

• Still Aerobullshit on Oct 01, 2015 at 4:09 pm

Aero, shit still coming out of your mouth like Protong….tech seminar, learn 30 year old tech for what, going to help in what way for people coming to this type of event, this is just for the protong team to put a tick on their KPI to say we have help events promoting protong and their shit camtakpro engines and so call R&D !!!! What a joke !!!

Will seek you out Aero and confront you for taking shit all the time, no brains yet wanna tujuk support blindly to protong for what, what so call new tech they going to talk about in R&D, oh yea, they will say unlike VW protong diesel cars are the best, we do not cheat the system, opps protong got no diesel cars .. coming soon in 10 years time !!!! Aero can still keep wiping his mouth with all that foul shit coming out still.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • goalb on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:17 pm

Why new Vios still no VSC? Cheat.

• topkek on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:25 pm

Killer airbags is cheating too, you dun bash pulak, topkek

• Aero (Member) on Oct 02, 2015 at 1:37 am

Yes, come, come say that to my face. You know what I look like, I don’t know you, but you know me.

Unlike you, I don’t threaten others with my keyboard.

Talking sh*t about someone on the internet… ohh, so ganas lah bro, I’m SOOO takut… please.

• Ollie on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Its really a disgrace for Proton to do this. But let me share with you my experience with Proton engineering.

5 years ago, yes in 2010! I was at a green tech seminar in KLCC where Proton were talking about their Emas and Giugiaro designs and the Hybrid Exora which was being tested on the ground. To cut a long story short, where have all these gone? They had 5 models, if not mistaken, including the Tuah, Jebat, etc and a so-called global small car, all by Giugiaro. All our taxpayer money paid to Italian designer for ‘NATIONAL’ pride! Hybrid hilang mana?

That was on Friday. The week after, guess what? Rebadged Lancer launched with lower hp and lower performance than the original(and uglier), and Proton claims they improved on Mitsubishi’s flagship sedan at the time!! Utter disgrace!

So if anyone thinks I’m just a blind Proton basher, sorry I have all the facts to rebut anything you have to say about the engineering and economics of Proton. My field of work involves both. All my anti-Proton words are based on facts and figures and I consider them a national embarassment as a proud patriotic Malaysian! So bring it on!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • Observer on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:44 pm

first…
      What embarrassment?

• Do you recognize Azmi Osman who will give talk on PowerTrain Technology? This guy was part of the team who involve in EO1 Petronas engine. His patent approve by international community. He was in headline on 2005.

Jurutera Petronas cipta 9 produk bertaraf dunia
      Oleh Manan Samad

SUBANG JAYA: Seorang jurutera kanan Petronas mengharumkan nama negara
      apabila dua daripada sembilan rekaan produk automotifnya memperoleh
      pengiktirafan paten daripada pertubuhan antarabangsa hujung tahun
      lalu manakala tujuh lagi dijangka pada 2007.

Ini termasuk paten dari Amerika Syarikat (AS), Eropah, Jepun,
      Australia, China, Taiwan, Britain dan Singapura.

Azmi Osman, 31, mendapat pengiktirafan itu kerana kehebatannya
      mencipta rekaan terbaru automotif yang setaraf dengan jurutera
      berpengalaman dari luar negara.

Difahamkan, kejayaan Azmi cukup istimewa kerana setakat ini, dia
      rakyat Malaysia paling banyak menerima pengiktirafan seperti itu
      dalam bidang automatif sejak berkhidmat di Petronas pada 1996.

Dua rekaannya yang sudah mendapat kelulusan pejabat paten
      antarabangsa ialah Interbore Cooling System dan Oil Filter Adaptor
      Flange, manakala tujuh produk yang sudah dipatenkan tetapi masih
      menanti kelulusan ialah Oil Pan for Automobile Engine, Lower Casing
      of Engine Crankcase, Sensor Mounting Structure For Engine, Oil
      Scrubber For Engine, Oil Pan Structure For An Engine (dua) dan Engine
      Accessory Drive System.

Ciptaannya itu diguna pakai dalam enjin E01 yang kini dipamerkan di
      Galeri Petronas, Kuala Lumpur City Centre (KLCC).

Beliau juga akan mempatenkan rekaan ke-10 dalam masa terdekat.

Paten merujuk kepada perlindungan rekaan seseorang dari segi undang-
      undang daripada ditiru atau diciplak pereka lain.

Untuk melayakkan mendapat paten, beberapa syarat perlu dipatuhi
      seperti produk baru, mempunyai nilai reka cipta tinggi dan boleh
      digunapakai orang awam.

Pengiktirafan itu lazimnya diperolehi dalam tempoh tiga hingga enam
      tahun, bergantung kehebatan rekaan.

“Saya bangga kerana idea saya mendapat pengiktirafan negara luar. Di
      seluruh dunia, ada lebih 100 pejabat paten, tetapi yang paling
      berpengaruh ialah di AS atau Eropah. Kalau dapat pengiktirafan
      daripada dua badan terbabit, negara lain secara automatik memberi
      jaminan sama.

“Saya berterima kasih kepada Petronas kerana memberi peluang kepada
      saya menjalani latihan sambil bekerja bersama pasukan Formula 1 (F1)
      Sauber Petronas sejak 1997.

“Saya banyak belajar dengan bekas jurutera berpengalaman Sauber dari
      Jepun, Eiji Taguchi. Selepas dua tahun, saya boleh berdikari dengan
      membuat ciptaan sendiri,” kata Azmi ketika ditemubual Harian Metro,
      di kediamannya, di sini.

Azmi menghabiskan masa tujuh tahun di Switzerland ketika bertugas
      dengan Sauber Petronas sebelum pulang ke Malaysia tahun lalu.

Selain pejabat paten AS dan Eropah, beliau mendapat pengiktirafan
      dari Jepun, Australia, China, Taiwan, Britain dan Singapura.

Selain paten, Azmi berkata, beliau memperoleh pengiktirafan `trade
      secret’, termasuk dua ketika menjalani latihan praktikal di Motorola.

“Sepanjang karier, saya juga banyak terima `trade secret’, tetapi ia
      tidak boleh didedahkan kepada umum kerana menjadi rahsia syarikat,”
      kata graduan Universiti Northestern, Boston, dalam bidang
      kejuruteraan mekanikal itu.

`Trade secret’ ialah rahsia sesebuah syarikat yang membolehkan ia
      mendapat kelebihan daripada syarikat lain manakala rekaannya
      dilindungi undang-undang daripada diketahui orang awam.

Ditanya kunci kejayaan sehingga mendapat perhatian antarabangsa, Azmi
      berkata ia gabungan limu, minat dan bakat.

“Untuk menjadi pereka cipta baik, kita kena banyak membaca, faham
      betul-betul teknologi, amal konsep `reverse engine’ iaitu kaji produk
      pesaing kemudian cuba meningkatkannya serta pencarian reka bentuk
      menerusi pelbagai sumber seperti internet.

“Kalau kita ada semua aspek itu, dibantu minat dan bakat, kita boleh
      menyaingi jurutera luar negara. Saya harap pada masa depan, lebih
      banyak peluang dapat diperoleh jurutera kita untuk melahirkan produk,
      reka bentuk, kajian dan pembangunan.

“Kalau di Jepun, ia rutin harian. Kalau kamu baling bola tenis dalam
      kawasan kilang di sana, ia akan terkena kepala orang menggambarkan
      betapa ramai jurutera mereka. Dalam suasana k-ekonomi, Malaysia perlu
      melahirkan lebih ramai pereka cipta,” kata Azmi.

• tokmoh. on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:45 pm

So?

People want results la, enough tok kok.

Proton bangga la their steel stronger than Volvo, so where’s the results? Volvo XC90 is out there breaking crash test record one after another, Euro NCAP, IIHS, more to come. Iriz only got Asean NCAP, is it record holder of safest Asean NCAP?

Volvo develop new Drive-E powertrain, giving tangible fuel savings, verified by motor journalists worldwide. Iriz fc apa macam? Better than Axia?

Ni la akibat tak reti ukur baju di badan sendiri. Orang bagitau apa salah Proton, butthurt tak abis2. Nak syok sendiri da setaraf Volvo la, BMW la, lantak ko la. U say until like that, u win liao lor.

• volvokopower on Oct 02, 2015 at 9:59 am

Power la Volvo abang ni. Mesti abg ni org kaya. Mesti ada masters or PHD nih. Mesti keturunan abg semua pakai Volvo. Volvo mmg best. kereta lain semua bodo termasuk Proton. saya setuju bang! yeahhh Volvo for life! Org pakai Volvo mmg layak kondem kereta lain. God car tu! respek sama abg. Ni mesti budak VOCM yg power tak hingat! Cayalah!

• Esprit on Oct 02, 2015 at 7:11 am

Lotus always pick proven Toyota engine.

• Seminar? I think it will be a comedy.

• Seminar? Can these clowns actually talk?

Proton clown: Arr… this airbag. This airbag for protect. For Protect. Protect. (Az)Lan … protect apa ar? Airbag, protect apa? can nak cakap?
    Visitor: To protect your head?
    Proton clown: Yaa.. I think so ar… maybe ar. I don’t know ar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Nah they will say.

Proton clown: This airbeg ah, veli gud one. Is Autoliv. No Takata one. U noe Takata? That airbeg ah, call safety but kirl u one. Explode BOOM BOOM one, u die loh.
      Visitor: HAH!? Airbag kill people!? Which car uses this Takata airbag?!
      Proton clown: Toyota, Honda, Nissan, BMW, VW, Benz, Tesla, Suzuki, Volvo Trucks, Land Rover, Spartan Motors, Fellali, Mazda, Subaru, Daihatsu, maybe Pelodua too.
      Visitor: TIU LAN! ALL ARE MOVING DYNAMITE EXCEPT PROTON!

• Sunda on Oct 01, 2015 at 5:33 pm

Wahh proton better than all those cars horr.. How come no one know one

• Know la, only some bashers are living in denial, that’s why la

• tokmoh. on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:54 pm

Jangan persoal. It’s from proton macais, so it must be true.

• areos on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:48 pm

why some of you over reacted like ‘cacing kepanasan’..Proton is just want to hold a seminar. Its your choice if you want to participate or not. If you think you got a point have a courage to argue with them. Be fair dude..they are just employees of a company and cari like all of us.if you think the product not up to standard like produa (i have two produas) then dont buy. We are not stupid either.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • If they don’t take coffer from the gov and gov don’t take extra money from our coffer then we will not bother.

• George Abdul on Oct 01, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Well said… Cronies supporters never admit being cheat because of cronies dignity !!!

• Dun bother arguing with these pipu. To them, only their own work is satisfy them. Other pipu buatan Malaysia is shit, useless, waste of money, waste of time, kopi, tongkat, curse for 30 years, his taxpayer money down the drain, not like his world class work.

We should only import technology, ideology, products, resources, skills, labour, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Sunda on Oct 01, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Its better to import good things than to produce shlt all the time

• Like this Japan should have thrown Toyota into river, thrown Mitsu into lake, thrown Nissan into sea, thrown Sony into drain. They all started out making shit all the time.

• Sunda on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:32 pm

Says you. Proton will never end up global like toyota. But i suppose you think thats something special. *snickers*

• How you know? You watch too much movies. Wake up.

• Ollie on Oct 02, 2015 at 6:33 pm

I will honor you with a reply.

I’m proud of our palm oil industry, our services industry that serves customers worldwide on highly technical matters and for MNCs, our semiconductors and electronics incl design and manufacture for Dyson, the world’s most advanced vacuum cleaners, hundreds of SMEs and listed firms dealing in high precision parts, our petroleum exploration and service providers, MISC one of the world’s largest shippers, among others.

But not a taxpayer’s money sucking embarrassment to the country.

• bila tu Proton Iriz mau start selling in UK? Australia? bila? bila?

• Azmi Osman actually is the same guy who develop Petronas E01 engine.

• Ollie on Oct 02, 2015 at 6:36 pm

there are people talking about Petronas E01 engine which was made in 2008 and went nowhere.

What to do, as they say, give up la. No point talking anymore.