KTM needs fare raise, or services will suffer – union

KTM_ETS_Padang_Besar

The long-delayed Keretapi Tanah Melayu (KTM) rail fare raise can’t come soon enough, according to the Railwaymen’s Union of Malaya. The Star reports that the group wants the proposed increase to be put back on, or the company risks its services deteriorating.

Union president Abdul Razak Md Hassan told the publication that KTM was losing in excess of RM200 million a year, adding that it required an emergency funding from the government to keep the lights on, and upgrade its services. Workers’ salaries must also be increased, he said, as the cost of living is ever-increasing.

Abdul Razak added that the company has indeed asked the government for funding of an undisclosed amount in July, but has yet to receive the money. KTM was also allegedly footing an extra RM6 million bill due to the implementation of the Goods and Services Tax (GST) on April 1. “We want to give a better service, but we don’t have enough money,” he said.

The Star stated that the losses were confirmed by an anonymous source at the company – the KTM Komuter service, for example, was bleeding RM0.09 per kilometre travelled for each passenger, while the intercity trains were losing a staggering RM0.33 per kilometre per passenger. When asked about what would happen if pricing remained at their current rates, he said “it will affect our operations.”

The government delayed the increase in rail and express bus fares indefinitely after the proposal, revealed in March, received a public backlash.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Reduce the intercity trains, always empty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Oct 08, 2015 at 6:16 pm

oh, i think this is an easy solution.

for low ranking staff, give them a 10% increment. for those whom performed way beyond par – another 10%.

for the management staff, a 10% cut on basic salary (remain allowances) while the higher level management (senior manager, GM, CEO etc) another 10% deduction.

admit it KTM you need the low level workers more than they need you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • Albert on Oct 09, 2015 at 1:15 am

KTMB has a lot of mismanagement issues even before it is corporatised.
      The tax funded double tracking cost rm14 Billion =+,look at these bunch of dudes…they cant even turn it around after donkey years of massive losses.
      It is the same kind of work ethics like MAS.
      Thinking of Jumaat,kahwin empat,….got personnel issues,push to union to solve…never ending losses.
      In fact ,they should be RETRENCHING a third of the dead wood.
      MMC is laughing its way to the bank.Intercity trains got 1-2 passengers not surprising.They are only full during festive seasons,like MAS.
      Now they are talking about bullet trains….shambolic shit …dont ever believe they will benefit the rakyat.Your taxes are funding these bastards.

• There only 3 trip a day to JB/AS and 4 trip to PG from KL.

Isn’t that enough?

• with LRT expanding, you raise the KTM = loose customer.

• piupiupiu on Oct 08, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Ah.. Tipu la sial.. Servis macam tahi.. Ada hati nak naikkan tambang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
  • Public transport is for the people, it is not for earning money. Government should put more fund to public transport and not for political funding!!! Of course, if you manage well you can earn money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
  • The Gov should just restructure KTM, then abolish union, and bring in Pinoys & Chinesemen just like our neighbour down south. These slaves, er workers, can work 20hours a day w/o complain or threaten to send them back.
    After all, PR macais says we could be great as well if we emulate Kiasuland isnt it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 30
    • Dear John,
      I think your boss stop paying u market price salary but start utilize u till maximum work 20 hrs a day with 1 rupiah/day… BTW..who cares ppl like u will complain

• If you criticise how our idol overlords down south runs their SBS/SMRT operation, then you are BN trooper, meaning you are traitor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • No problem if ets gets more extensive. Problem is getting tickets. Can’t even get if you want to travel same day or day after. Maybe should do budget airline pricing model. Early cheap. Late more ex

• siaocom on Oct 08, 2015 at 5:44 pm

It is not about needs fare raise, or services will suffer, is their attitude problem. Try to look at certain station. The gate are widely open. U raise 100 times also still the same because ppl are enjoying free ride.

• Albert on Oct 09, 2015 at 1:18 am

Even a donkey can get a free ride by going thro the BUKA PINTU.
      Shambolic.Tun called them LAZY.

• helmi on Oct 08, 2015 at 8:04 pm

No fare hike please. Just increase efficiency. And you can make profit a lot.

• Malaysian kena Screwed on Oct 08, 2015 at 8:29 pm

yeah, this is what I am going to tell me boss…

“Boss, I need a salary raise, or the company will suffer in performance”

Guess what will happened??

• old dog on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:10 pm

how many more GLC failure we need to see?

the problem is, qualify people is not put in position, and its all lobbying people in charge.

end of story.

• MikeWong on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:26 pm

HAHA. Why not all corrupted BN pricks need to go to jail and change government or else all Malaysian will suffer?

• Power on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:28 pm

the title should be – LTL/MCA need more money….

• Everything increase. Fuel, car price, toll, this also! Salary no increase? Currency decrease some more! Now say 1mdb tak ada salah. What happen to Malaysia. Malaysian, kita kena buat sesuatu untuk menyelamatkan negara kita. Saudara saudari melayu, cina, India, dayak & semua. Ini perkara serius.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Turboman on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:58 pm

Show us what are you doing to control your cost first before coming to us with a proposal to increase price.

Too often we see companies say they have to increase price because of this and that, but no cost control.

My company is going through a hard time in a hard industry, we had to reduce our prices to stay competitive, and the way to do that is controlling cost.

• Chipmunk on Oct 08, 2015 at 10:43 pm

I ride with KTM Komuter every single working day. The losing money business can be avoided.

Stop bleeding via the unmanned turnstiles at every single station, every single moment. It is high time KTM install those electronic barriers like how LRT did it. This will prevent people from crossing the gate without paying a single cent. I suggest KTM to check at stations like Setia Jaya and Seri Setia (to observe how many actually paid their tickets). I pay the honest way, every single day, but those who had other ideas?

If a train that can bring 1500 pax and assume 30% did not pay (those who did not buy a ticket and those who pretend to use Touch n Go but never swiped at the gate), how much do you (KTM) think you will lose?

Therefore, stop the internal bleeding but placing the barriers correctly. Ensure the gates are installed and functioning, ensure the ticket machines are tip-top and enough to cater to the volume (see how LRT is good at this) and ensure strict enforcement in the train.

• KTM oh KTM on Oct 09, 2015 at 6:40 am

Just take ktm jb sentral singapore trip for example.. it is a very “untung” business .. 5min trip cost RM5 and SGD5 back … but problem is morning peak hours only 2 trip 530am and 7am…..always fully book for those 2 peak hour trip…. repeated ask tambah trip.. no reply… then sales of ticket is a joke ..open for advance booking but not consistent on its date … sometime suka suka open few days booking then close back again ask u wait …. online booking is available but cost rm7 per ticket …inconsistant/sub par services/lack of train in peak hours/very old train .. how to make money

• Oh come’on! KTM service sucks to the max! How could it further surfer??

Trains are never punctual, intervals between trains are like forever, aircond in the coaches do not work, the poles/rubber straps are always greasy and there’s no bench(ok, 2 or 3 short bench for like 200 commuters) in the station. And you still dare to ask for price hike?

• harold on Oct 09, 2015 at 9:27 am

GST u can claim back the rebate la

ppl still use the service even though it suck

build a better service, ppl dont mind paying more

• kemosabe on Oct 09, 2015 at 9:43 am

Whats all this “undisclosed amount in July” and “an anonymous source at the company” business.
    Already its so dodgy.

• FarizY (Member) on Oct 09, 2015 at 10:07 am

Biggest issue here is that they want to make money out of public transport. Any country with excellent public transport does not make money out of it. And there the mismanagement like we have is so many other companies, most notably MAS.