Battle of the lounge seats: W222 Mercedes-Benz S-Class and G11 BMW 7-Series rear seats compared

G11-BACKSEAT

One of the highlights of the new BMW 7 Series is the so-called Executive Lounge Seating option. This is not to be confused with the Executive Lounge rear console option which is the permanent centre tunnel you see in the image above that goes in between the two rear seats.

What the Executive Lounge Seating option does is upgrade the rear seats to be able to recline up to an angle of 42.5 degrees as well as provide a button which automatically pushes the front seats forward by 90 mm as well as angles it forward to maximise legroom.

W222-BACKSEAT

Naturally there will be comparisons done to the 7-Series’ arch-enemy the S-Class. The S-Class also provides a similiar option called the Executive Seat package. Like the 7-Series, the option to specify the most versatile seats that can recline up to 43.5 degrees is separate from the option to have the permanent centre console.

The Malaysian spec S400 L Hybrid has the Executive Seat package without the permanent centre console. Basically what the centre console does in both cars is just offer more storage space for things like a fold-out table and fancies equipment such as heated/chilled cupholders. We took the opportunity to compare what the two luxo-barges have to offer in terms of rear seating.

comparo-g11-executive-seat-empty
BMW 7 Series Executive Lounge Seating option

This is the rear quarters of the 7 Series in ‘lounge mode’. At the touch of a ‘shortcut’ button, the rear seat basically reclines, while the front passenger seat moves forward as well as folds forward to maximise legroom. Your own seat also reclines at the same time to settle into a more relaxed position.

With the previous generation 7 Series, BMW used a portable triangle shaped ottoman on the floor to act as a foot rest but with the new one, a much larger ottoman footrest folds down from the back of the front seats. On the previous generation car, this area was used to fit an optional work table that you could fold up – the table is now stored in the optional permanent centre tunnel.

The new setup works better because the new table is more usable because effectively it will be closer to you, and the new foot rest feels a lot more substantial compared to the portable ottoman.

w222-comparo-executive-seat-empty
Mercedes-Benz S-Class Executive Rear Seat option

Mercedes-Benz has the same one-touch ‘shortcut’ button concept implemented here – just hold down the button and both your seat and the front seat moves into the lounge position.

As you can see, Mercedes-Benz implements the ottoman quite differently. The ottoman is attached to your seat base instead, and lifts up to support your legs in lounge mode. After it flips up, you can also extend it forward a little if you wish. There is also a small little foot rest attached to the front passenger seat that extends out as well.

The BMW implementation is better since you don’t have to retract the ottoman to enter and exit the car. You can just immediately bring your feet back down whenever you want as the floor just below your seat is always clear. However, the Mercedes implementation has the advantage of supporting your entire leg instead of leaving your thighs unsupported in the BMW implementation.

Top: G11 wing mirror blocked by front passenger headrest in Executive Lounge position
Bottom Left: W222 wing mirror blocked, Bottom Right: W222 front passenger headrest removed

The 7 Series lounge mode has a big issue though – the one touch button automatically folds the front headrest down, supposedly to give the rear passenger a clearer view of what is happening up front. The rear entertainment screen automatically adjusts its angle appropriately.

This however causes a problem for the driver – the position that the headrests settles in completely obstructs the passenger side wing mirror. I wouldn’t recommend leaving the headrest like this in actual usage because it’s dangerous. In my opinion the passenger side wing mirror is a vital driving aid for the driver and should not be sacrificed for something as trivial as giving the boss a clearer view of what’s going on in front.

The same thing happens in the Mercedes-Benz but there is a simple mechanism that allows you to remove the front passenger seat headrest. A warning message will flash in the instrument cluster to remind you to do this. Once the headrest is removed, the driver will have a completely unobstructed view of the passenger side wing mirror. BMW should think about implementing this in the facelift.

comparo-g11-executive-seat
BMW 7 Series Executive Lounge Seating option
w222-comparo-executive-seat
Mercedes-Benz S-Class Executive Rear Seat option

Both cars have had their rear seat massage features upgraded significantly, and both seats have massage programs that feature heating. The massage ‘pulses’ are now more precise and ‘punchier’ – they clearly have a more ‘next generation’ to them compared to massage seat implementations in many other cars that seem outdated now.

Both interiors feature ambient lighting extensively but the 7 Series takes it up a notch with the option of a soft glow light integrated into the B pillar as well and a rear sunroof that can feature lighting as well. Both offer a ‘luxury’ headrest featuring an additional fancy pillow. The comfort of the Mercedes-Benz headrest pillow just edges out the BMW one, but Munich comes really close.

Both cars route their rear seatbelts through loops but while the S-Class loop is fixed, the BMW loop is leather and can be detached with a button so you can reposition it for better comfort if you like. The BMW seat belt is mounted slightly higher up compared to the Mercedes-Benz so if you’re a tall person the BMW seat belt might be more comfortable for you as there’s less chance of it digging into your shoulder.

Other than the obviously different implementation of the ottoman we discussed earlier, both seats also offer significantly different adjustability. The recline feature aside, you can adjust the upper half of the BMW’s rear seat backrest independently from the bottom half. This feature exclusive to the Rear Comfort Seat option significantly improves upper back support by a huge margin. The Mercedes-Benz S-Class rear seats doesn’t have this feature but instead adds on a feature not found on the BMW – adjustable side bolsters.

So there you have it – both the top of the range seats for the S Class and 7 Series compared based on the experiences I’ve had with both. Of course, remember that my take on the S Class rear seats are based on the high spec seats offered in the Malaysian spec S400L Hybrid. For the 7 Series, we don’t quite know yet which rear seat option will be offered in our Malaysian spec cars.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• i am PAN on Oct 12, 2015 at 5:34 pm

should compared to Jag XJ LWB too…

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 12, 2015 at 5:54 pm

Thanks to Proton. You do need donation for these.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
      • Official Car of Sapu Man on Oct 12, 2015 at 6:11 pm

These cars are good for people who Songlap Rm2.6 billion and others who have songlapped the same or more.

S Class is known as Songlap. S is also known as Sapu. It is suitable for Songlapman or SapuMan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
        • Guess which CM uses an S-Class?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 34
          • Guess which UMNO member uses a private jet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
          • Guess which DAP member uses a luxobarge yet harangues the other side for doing the same?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
          • Jarred on Oct 13, 2015 at 9:58 am

Which UMNO member use private jet? Really, who?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
          • guess which umno ministers son (working as office boy) uses porsche cayenne and lambo murcielago ?

• ProtonGSC on Oct 12, 2015 at 6:36 pm

Thanks to you AP system owners still here, can u help complaints at Govt department…

• Centre Console Failure! on Oct 12, 2015 at 5:35 pm

S class wins lah. 3 People can sit behind comfortably. The BMW fail big time because the centre console eats so much of place.

Families can sit in the S class. Father, Mother and 2 kids.

BMW- The Centre Console is such a joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 58
    • Paul Tan on Oct 12, 2015 at 5:36 pm

The centre console is optional for both cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 4
      • alldisc on Oct 12, 2015 at 7:15 pm

Paul, does the Lexus LS600h comes in close to these two luxo barge?

• BMW 7 series interior looks elegant.
      Merc S class interior looks very Ah Pek and the arm rest is fold down like a Vios one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 9
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Oct 12, 2015 at 8:04 pm

Didn’t read properly huh

• there's a reason its called 7 series and S class. on Oct 12, 2015 at 8:28 pm

these cars ain’t made for families on a road trip dude.

• Ermm… but I think the design is not for family car……

I think ferrari sucks big time also because I can’t bring my wife and my mother-in-law sit properly at the back seat….duh =.=…Sorry forget about it. I shouldn’t reply this.

• any1here on Oct 17, 2015 at 8:03 am

I think you were too busy looking at the pictures rather than reading the text young boy

• No matter i look at it the s class interior looks much better than the 7 series.Its unique,beautiful and more luxurious as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
  • ABTguy (Member) on Oct 12, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Actually I feel so puzzled about 7 series and S class positing in the market. If someone wants a big car with super duper rear seat with maximum comfort, just take a Toyota Alphard or Vellfire will do. It may probably easier for their ahmad to drive around town too.

If the bosses choose to drive on their own, I think E-class or 5 series is the better car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 28
    • Alphard/Velfire not safe for highway runs. Sedans with long bonnet and boot have better crash protection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 18
      • karam singh on Oct 12, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Yeah Vellfire/Alphard have high body roll ,
        Drive like a minivan, less aerodynamic ,
        U can feel the crosswind on the highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • carazy on Oct 13, 2015 at 11:21 am

In the layman term, I suppose you comparing Avanza vs Accord. Those car are at very difference class bro. Ppl who brought Avanza probably only have that car for works and jalan2. But ppl with Accord may use the car only for work, and occasionally drive their Wish or Estima for balik kampong. Ummm.. by-the-way Alpahad is not luxury car, its just a normal car like Estima or Ezora.

• carlovers on Oct 12, 2015 at 6:09 pm

Trust me, Alphard Vellfire has zero comfort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • alldisc on Oct 12, 2015 at 7:17 pm

Trust me, Alphard/vellfire does not have the stability of the luxury sedans. It drives like a minivan. Nervous when trying to swerve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • DPCraft on Oct 12, 2015 at 7:58 pm

I would say Lexus ES is a cheaper and better choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • Ah Beng hailat on Oct 12, 2015 at 11:41 pm

I would say Camry is the cheapest and best choice. See how many are on the road?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • heybadigol (Member) on Oct 12, 2015 at 8:19 pm

Alphard/Velfire are not luxury cars. Sure they have more space, but even a Lexus GS is more luxurious (more silky ride, better quality materials, softer leather, top notch fit & finish, better NVH). And a Lexus GS is still a class below a Lexus LS (which equals the 7 Series & S Class in terms of luxury).

• Don’t compare rambutan with durian laa….
      Why still eat durian when rambutan doesn’t have hard shell ya ?

Duhh…. Sorry, forget about it. I shouldn’t reply this.

• Samantha Fox on Oct 12, 2015 at 9:43 pm

Lol why do malaysians think alphards are luxury cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Same L0rrrr on Oct 12, 2015 at 11:44 pm

Only in malaysia people think Alphard is a luxury car. People also think preve is a supercar. Work hard and get a real car, a Lexus just like mine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Ah Beng hailat on Oct 12, 2015 at 11:39 pm

I feel puzzled why ppl buy Alphard when they can get the same thing in an avanza or exora

• it shows that you have neither driven or being driven in 7/S &Alphard/Vellfire before.

It’s totally in a different class and level of comfort. The difference is even more apparent if u were in the driver seat. The air-matic makes a huge difference too

• hooray on Oct 12, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Ini 2 kete masih x boleh lawan Tun M’s Accordana limo^^

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 12, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Both are nice. But should’ve asked a supermodel to sit in the back and urmmmmm try to fully stretch the legs out, to see just how good the legroom is. I wonder how the Audi A8L would do? The A8 already has a nice interior (the “tron” ambient lights are cool), and comes with the same recline function – though its a much older car.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 12, 2015 at 7:20 pm

Interesting how BMW actually had such a huge oversight in the design of the headrest really…

On an aside, I wonder if there are some light wood (like say Cottonwood) options for these type of cars with black interiors, I think it really would brighten up the interior.

• Delang on Oct 12, 2015 at 8:59 pm

from the belly, i guess they are Hafriz and Mr Paul himself. But why the BMW left-hand drive one ah?

• limo_lover on Oct 12, 2015 at 10:27 pm

From my opinion 7 series is much more luxurious than the s class maybe merce have another series called the maybach which is much more luxurious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • seancorr (Member) on Oct 13, 2015 at 1:05 am

And BMW has the Rolls Royce for a more luxurious ride. To me the concept is really simple. Get the S for your rides to the evening dinners and shopping sprees and take the 7er for your business meetings as it looks appropriate for the job. They serve different needs if u ask me. But if I had to pick one now I’d take the 7er for its interior ambience. It really looks good at night plus the welcome carpet lights.

• The Merc interior looks so dull, like a Fengshui master office, really only Ah Pek will like it.

• Tommy and Gina on Oct 13, 2015 at 8:40 am

Lol i kinda agree on the feng shui master comment. It needs a bonsai plant somewhere though.

• invisible $ on Oct 13, 2015 at 11:23 am

Shut up n take my money!

• PakMat on Oct 13, 2015 at 8:22 pm

I think to compare fairly, the interior needs to be of the same colour. Beige vs black of course beige looks more appealing IMO. If you went back & take a look at the S class launching post, the beige interior is wayyyyy more attractive than the black one.