Mercedes-Benz Museum begins sales of classic cars

2015-mercedes-benz-museum-all-time-stars-1

The Mercedes-Benz Museum has begun selling classic and vintage models directly to members of the public under a new programme it aptly calls “All Time Stars.”

Current models on sale via the All Time Stars project include a 1928 Mercedes-Benz 630 in “immaculate condition” that has since been converted to an open-top tourer, and has had its engine refurbished. There’s also a tip-top 280 SE that has been restored by Mercedes-Benz Classic Service & Parts, and an E 320 convertible that’s ready for everyday use.

By either visiting its website or going directly to the Mercedes-Benz Museum in Stuttgart to get shopping, the All Time Stars program divides its range of available classic vehicles into three categories.

2015-mercedes-benz-museum-all-time-stars-2

First, there are cars that qualify to sit in the Premium Edition category — these are basically classic cars in their original conditions, and have little mileage on the clock. These are also the lucky few vehicles to have been fully restored by the Mercedes-Benz Classic division in Fellbach or in Stuttgart, Germany.

The Collectors Edition is next, and consists of vehicles qualified as being in “excellent condition both technically and visually.” These cars are said to include a little bit of patina on the side, which gives them a more distinguished character.

Lastly, is the range of cars from the Drivers Edition category. These are basically vintage and modern classics that are still suitable for everyday driving, yet leave some room for tinkering and further restoration by their new owners.

2015-mercedes-benz-museum-all-time-stars-3

Mercedes-Benz says that one of its goals behind the All Time Stars project is to reinstate customer confidence in buying a classic Mercedes-Benz, by offering nothing short of absolute transparency throughout the entire purchasing process of these classics— customers can and will be provided with extensive information surrounding any vehicle defects, modifications and originality dating back to the first day they were handed over to their very first owners.

Another reason behind the All Time Stars projects is for Mercedes-Benz to showcase its “extensive quality commitment to the purchase of classic cars.” In short, the company is keen to fortify its reputation for building cars don’t just look the part for a certain amount of time, but can also physically live up to all expectations of being a daily driver beyond their years.

Playing its part in this commitment is a comprehensive 160-item checklist that experts at the Mercedes-Benz Museum subject each vehicle to before allowing them to hit the showroom floor.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• 1955 sl300 gullwing sell how much

• We also should open a Proton museum displaying cars from 1985. I am proud of Proton. To all those pendatang who is anti Proton, all I can say to you is, pack your bags and go back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
      • Kerana kau on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Just visit any junkyard you will see all the models there. No need for a museum.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • U bodoh u diam lor on Nov 12, 2015 at 8:47 pm

The pendatang that u mention dont plan to go anywhere. Pendatang just want to tendang those bodoh leaders n management off from their seats only ma… u can mention pendatang 1000 times a day but it doesnt turn u from bodoh to pandai wor..

• John Trollvolta on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:52 pm

Bravo johnny boy, having people such as your mentality is the reason why the country won’t ever become a 1st world nation.

• Jarhead on Nov 12, 2015 at 8:12 pm

If you have to ask…….

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Mercedes, easy to own, damn expensive to maintain. A lot of Mercedes owners eventually buy a Camry. Problem free, cheaper and comfort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • flipper2uman (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:10 pm

These classics are nice. I always love the old school Mercedes. Brings back good memories especially the 280 SE

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 6:32 pm

soon i can sell my 230e also…

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Nov 12, 2015 at 7:20 pm

My shopping lists:
    W198 300SL gullwing
    190E 2.5-16 Evo II
    W113 SL “pagoda”
    W123 300D (it’s bullet-proof)
    but first, I need donation.