Return of the Bas Mini for last mile connection mooted

KUALA LUMPUR, 11 Januari 1983 --  Orang ramai menaiki bas mini di Lebuh Ampang di sini, hari ini. -- fotoBERNAMA HAKCIPTA TERPELIHARA.

I’m pretty sure it’s not just me who have fond memories of the Bas Mini, the little Mercedes-Benz buses (pink in my time) that were ubiquitous in the 80s and 90s. Often driven like they were stolen, and packed to the door grips, mini buses weren’t very comfortable (or safe, come to think of it), but they offered fast and cheap service to the masses. I used to hang out of the No.32 bus to Taman Cheras a.k.a Yulek. What was yours?

Mini buses were phased out in 1998 and replaced by the long, low-riding Intrakota buses, a precursor to today’s modern Rapid KL buses. An impressive sight back then, Intrakota buses looked like they belonged to the new millennium, and were air conditioned, but they were also slower and less frequent.

Now, a public transport advocate has called for the return of mini bus as part of the last mile connectivity solution, reported by The Sun. Last mile refers to the final link between the train station and one’s home.

“We should bring back the mini bus to transport people for high frequency and reliable services,” said Malaysian Association of Tour and Travel Agents liaison manager Y.S. Chan at the Land Public Transport Symposium 2015, organised by Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD). He mooted the idea during the session titled “The first and last mile connectivity: How do we make it better”.

“We all remember how good it was even though there was some concern over the safety, level of services and its business model. It is high time we bring it back, this time as feeder services at urban areas especially from the LRT, KTM and MRT stations,” added Chan, who has experience in the automotive and transport industry.

SPAD’s response? Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar said the mini bus idea may sound interesting but it requires thorough consideration. “We have to look into its business model and whether the local councils in the country would be willing to agree to this idea,” the SPAD chairman said.

Do you agree that the mini bus is the last mile solution for Klang Valley today, with the MRT network coming up fast? Yes or no, check out the gallery below to recall how it was like back in the old days. Nostalgic, for those who relied on those manic machines before.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ajo haterz on Nov 19, 2015 at 3:54 pm

I always refer it as BMW (Bas Mini Wilayah) Only 60 sen and you can ask for 30 sen if it is round the corner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Nov 19, 2015 at 4:32 pm

This is a bad idea. All of them were drug addicts. In a study done, 80% of the BMW drivers were high on drugs whilst carrying passengers.

Our Government don’t care for the rakyat. All they want is to songlap more money from the rakyat. So, they don’t mind having these drug addicts ferrying our kids and children in their busses.

By the way, when Bas Mini was abolished, all those druggies were absorbed in IntraKota. Now, whatever IntraKota became, still absorbed these druggies drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 75
      • BMWilayah on Nov 19, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Don’t worry, this time they will hire Banglas to drive this thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • retired on Nov 19, 2015 at 4:34 pm

Used to ride no42 mini bus behind kotaraya to pj section 17. Last is stop sentosa cinema. Those days the street is very safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Same L0rrrr on Nov 19, 2015 at 4:58 pm

Why all pictures are black and white? Mini buses still running in 90s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • azrai on Nov 19, 2015 at 3:55 pm

So when Myanmar and Vietnam are going fast forward with the D gear, now Malaysia are gonna use thr R to gostan. Malaysia Boleh. Next in line are beca and kereta lembu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 42
  • sweet memories on Nov 19, 2015 at 4:03 pm

Belakang masuk lagi !!! belakang masuk lagi !!! until all packed like sardine…that what i remember during 1978’s my school time taking Mini Bus( we call it BMW = Bus Mini Wilayah ) no23 from Ampang jaya to lebuh ampang with ticket of 30 cents ? or 40 cents..then later come “pink” Mini bus with 50 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
    • applegreen on Nov 20, 2015 at 9:03 am

The 1st one is red, ticket at 30cent. Later comes pink bus with 60cent per ticket.”simpan tiket untok diperiksa, jika hilang bayar semula”

• victor koo on Nov 19, 2015 at 4:30 pm

OMG.. i remember how dangerous those bus drivers are.. taking shortcuts routes, cutting over side dividers.. sometimes compete with their follow colleague for customers.. i saw them fight many times.. :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • jobless on Nov 19, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Hapuskan bas mini jgn ganggu teksi cari makan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 32
  • nabill (Member) on Nov 19, 2015 at 4:41 pm

It was the best… Way too many memories….!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Kw Lim on Nov 19, 2015 at 4:50 pm

This certainly brings back fond memories of my time as a university student. I was staying in Section 17, Petaling Jaya and whenever I wanted to go back to my hometown, these mini buses provided a vital and cheap link between PJ and Puduraya. Those were good times!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • shah alamer on Nov 19, 2015 at 5:13 pm

No need la. Ask Azmin to provide more gula2 to the peasants with his free bus system. So far Shah alam ktm station has that free bus service but kampong jawa doesn’t even though it’s a turdthrow from Sek 7.

• Kg Jawa pipu all low class Malaysians of dubious origins, foreigners or labourer. If not eligible voters or voters who dun vote for glorious dear leader, why he should bother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • SG Wang on Nov 19, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Kiri, kanan, bawah, depan kenna kepit sama Amoi..
    Sudah sampai pon tak mau turun bas oo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
  • C.P.MOHAN on Nov 19, 2015 at 5:52 pm

Memories = YES, Last Mile = NO. In the early 80s while studying in London I met a guy who was coordinating Tube and Bus schedules within 5 minutes of each others arrival and departure during peak hours. My point solution is in the schedules.

• Konduktor on Nov 19, 2015 at 6:10 pm

24/7 jam in KL. How to stick to schedule bro?

• tokmoh. on Nov 20, 2015 at 9:56 am

Macam tipu je… London that punctual like shinkansen? lol

Strikes, strikes everywhere, it’s laughable to plan London’s public transport. Well, not that great, but not as bad as here at least.

Frequency matters more than schedule IMHO. When it can have frequency <10min, miss a bus also don't mind, no need to push/rush.

• I think he means punctuality as in after wait 1 hour in the damp cold rain, 3 buses heading to same direction will arrive within 5 mins of each other. Then if missed last bus, wait another 1 hour. That kinda punctuality. You are assured to be waiting for a long time.

• Teh tarik on Nov 19, 2015 at 6:22 pm

BMW is the Malaysian fast n furious in those days !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • heybadigol (Member) on Nov 19, 2015 at 7:45 pm

Nice pictures man! From 1983-1984. Brings back old memories. And isn’t that Rafidah Aziz inside the bus?

Anyways, back to topic. Nope, probably not a good idea. Traffic now isn’t like what it was in the 80s. Its much worse now – so difficult for the bus to find & go through tight places to avoid gridlock.

• Malaysia malaysian on Nov 19, 2015 at 8:33 pm

The problem on public transportation is how to manage it not to add it.

Need to plan schedule. Special lane for buses and plan route. Good quality driver which drive save and follow rules.

Good road route design also important to support bus route. Butterfly interchange is the worse and cause jams.

Finally, well maintained public transport is the MOST IMPORTANT. i remember most mini bus exhaust out thick black smoke. This also to local taxi which need to well maintain and clean their car regularly in order to fight uner and grabcar.

• old dog on Nov 19, 2015 at 11:12 pm

we need mini bas to cover sections and areas. Those big bus are empty most of the time …not only clog up the lane and jammed the none highway road

• paparadzi (Member) on Nov 19, 2015 at 11:43 pm

Yeah, bring back the pre-pink color-coded minibus.

• Old memories on Nov 20, 2015 at 1:10 am

I also want bring back a lot of things.
    Old Malaysia, where people live in harmony. We share laughter and joy, regardless of economic status and etc. Doesn’t matter u take bus or bike, or own a car. We are truly 1Malaysia

• 1st, we need to have a proper scheduling and timing has to be precise. 2nd, whether its first or last mile, we need to be able to cater for the volume. even LRT today is nearing its limit. 3rd, BMW works last time as the stops are located relatively in a well populated points ie shopping mall, main offices etc. Lastly, simiiar to taxi, we need to regulate the license and not giving it out to politicians to make a fast buck. Give it to proper and professional company to make it work. Also, use vehicle using CNG, LPG, electric or other similar clean fuel to create a more comfortable ride

• Yup its good, but the bus is too old.
    If need to introduce, please use new buses.

Their engine will pollute more air. The idea is good, but need other way to execute. Yes it is good back then, and should remain there

• kegagalan on Nov 20, 2015 at 9:52 am

So SPAD just admit their RapidKL bus is a failure that unable to provide a reliable public transport?

On serious thought, I agree those service in outskirt area where those non-aircond bus or songthaew serving Cheras, Ampang or Wangsa Maju area but not in the city center.

• ben yap on Nov 20, 2015 at 10:10 am

if got mini bus service, sure taxi drivers protest again and beat up the mini bus drivers.

• Krasher on Nov 20, 2015 at 2:17 pm

I used to hang out with the No.32 bus too (It used to be brown/white) and you can always wait inside the air-conditioned 7-11 with a cup of slurpee.

• BMW SUCKS on Nov 20, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Better not. Those blardy drivers are like high on drugs. And always listen to the rempit radio station….rmik “Selamat pagi semua….semua semua…hari ini sejuk…sejuk sejuk ya ya.,…..” Still recall one afternoon along jalan raja chulan, as usual, pack to sardine, and it was raining, all of us felt sick coz some folks ( no need to mention race .,….you know I know) have strong BO till we cannot tahan, and decide to get out of the bus and walk under the rain instead. My friend actually vomit once he’s outside the bus…hahahaa

• Mango on Nov 21, 2015 at 1:02 am

Its of course a good idea. Hong Kong had their mini buses no problem to feed the smaller nooks and crannies. Our original problem with the mini buses were 1) They were unsafe because they were driven as if they were driven by bank robbers 2) They were badly polluting.
    Business wise, I think they were good though – the operators made money and the public got a decent service.

The return should just address the two issues, and the public cannot expect to pay RM0.50 anymore. 1) Have electric/hybrid versions. 2) Have auto transmission versions so that the drivers do less idiotic things. 3) Let the bus operator run the biz, not politicians.

(3) is of course almost impossible with the corruption now, but it might work for 2 years before they cry unfair competition and need bail out. So at least we may be able to have something for 2 years.

• pearl leong on Dec 04, 2015 at 9:51 pm

Bus Mini were great. Since the 1st of december, 2015 lots of people are late for work due to the “re-vamping” and the new “transforming” Jalan Ipoh Corridor. if anything, it has got so bad that there is an additional of 60min of waiting time.

• azermalak on Dec 07, 2015 at 11:22 am

BMW was good because it plied the street of KL like Tuk Tuk, criss crossing and racing! Cheap but importantly fast way to commute because the passenger don’t give a damn about safety. For the last mile solution……….are we wanna see a lot of them back because there is hundreds of station to cater to. Remember, they way Malaysian driving in 70s and 80s are not the same as today where discipline are getting better while minibuses don’t due to need for passenger load.

• Sebastian on Aug 08, 2017 at 4:20 pm

The minibuses were very frequent. It only cost me 60 sen for a single trip from PJ to KL