Google Maps now supports offline navigation in M’sia

Most of us are pretty reliant on our smartphones these days to help get us to wherever it is we want to go. Unfortunately, some of these navigation apps are reliant on a stable mobile data connection in order to work properly. That’s not the case anymore as Google Maps’ offline navigation is finally available in Malaysia.

Essentially, users can now pre-download offline areas to be used later in areas where mobile connection is a little spotty or non-existent. This comes pretty handy for those who suffer from data anxiety as well. Of course this isn’t something new as other apps like HERE allows you to download offline maps of entire countries instead of just user-selected areas.

To use this new service, simply fire up the Google Maps app on your iOS or Android device, head towards the sidebar menu and select “Offline areas.” Next, select the “+” icon and adjust the size of the area you want to download. Simple logic dictates that a larger area will take up more space on your device. After that, hit “Download,” name the selected area, and you’re all set to go. Downloaded areas are valid for 30 days only.

With the absence of mobile data while navigating using these pre-downloaded areas, live traffic view will not be available, something to keep in mind. Nonetheless, this new feature for Malaysians is certainly beneficial for those seeking to save on data usage. Spotted a Millennium Falcon in our screenshots? It’s just Google getting into the Star Wars mood.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• tokmoh. on Nov 26, 2015 at 6:10 pm

MP say agenda yahudi, so harooooom

• I agree. Google Maps and Waze should be banned because Yahudi can use the information to attack Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • Fourtysevenpercent on Nov 26, 2015 at 7:09 pm

Still, it’s a threat to our national security. I don’t care if it supports offline, government should ban this app in Malaysia App Store and play store.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • shashi@heremaps on Nov 26, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Here maps apps is taking 350mb for whole malaysia offline maps. But google maps takes around 250mb for a trip. Truly eat data and phone memory space. Google is money. I use here maps. Save money. Even google offline maps also don’t have traffic info. So Here maps is better

• Fendy on Nov 27, 2015 at 9:58 am

i should buy actual map after this. finally can utilise the maplight in the car… yeahh