Google Maps, Waze a threat to national security – MP

Google_Maps

Many tech-savvy motorists are probably familiar with navigation apps like Google Maps and Waze on their smartphones. These apps help get us to our destination when the map in our brains aren’t updated well enough. However, according to Tenom MP Datuk Raime Unggi, these apps are a threat to our national security as it gives foreign countries like the US and Israel information about Malaysia.

In a report by The Star, Raime was speaking in Parliament, claiming that Malaysians’ increasing usage such apps is of a grave concern. The Malay Mail quoted him as saying, “Malaysians are very dependent on Google Maps and Waze for location searching and this has indirectly provided information about Malaysia to external quarters such as the United States and Israel, and it could lead to external threats.”

He was supported by Kuala Selangor MP Datuk Irmohizam Ibrahim. “How far do we have laws that prevent information leaks in the usage of Google and Waze? Are there laws to make sure national security protected in the usage of such apps?” Irmohizam questioned in Parliament. Communications and Multimedia Deputy Minister Datuk Jailani Johari responded to the MPs’ claims by stating that these navigation apps are not perceived as a threat to national security because they are user-based.

Waze-4.0-video-screenshot-01

Jailani stated that the apps had terms and conditions put in place by the app provider, and as such requires the individual to agree to them before they use the app. Moreover, Jailani said Google Maps and Waze information was generated from their user base. “The real issue is that our users are fond of over-sharing private information on the internet. This results in the information being misused. As a smart internet user, we should have our own controls,” the Hulu Terengganu MP said.

“If the user ends up over sharing personal data online, then the data is likely to be abused. The Government cannot take the sole blame for this,” he said. In his response, Jailani also said that the National Security Council (NSC) can look into reviewing these navigation apps if the MPs are very concerned on the matter.

With these claims put forth by the MPs, what are your thoughts on the matter? Are navigations apps like Google Maps and Waze a threat to national security? Will you stop using said apps? Let us know in the comments section below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Farking hilarious coming from another joker. Besides what does Malaysia have that is deemed to be a national threat? Cows?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 327 Thumb down 10
    • I_swear on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Scare their bungalow been found out. What else they scare????

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 230 Thumb down 7
      • PDRM makes noise. Macam mana cari makan?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
      • BRO…. i have read the same comment of yours from previous post
        no any new idea meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
      • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:18 pm

Threat apa pulak, these bodoh MPs themselves are the REAL THREAT to the prosperity of Malaysia. Without them Malaysia confirm much better.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 5
    • diseasegate on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Disease car like BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
    • PDW7257 on Nov 26, 2015 at 5:02 pm

From the first to the last comments of this post are all negative! Please be reasonable. Listen and understand his side prior to commenting. Unlike the nasi goreng YB, I honestly think that this guy may have some points.

My 2 cents are as follows:

By subscribing to Maps/Waze, high value targets, such generals, politicians, academics, engineers etc could be easily tracked, traced and their movement mapped;
      Their movement patterns could be easily deduced. Should these data are compromised and manipulated by some unfriendly parties, they could be use for surgical mission.
      Paranoid! Yes! You (probably) and me (not likely) shouldn’t be concern but examples above should mind their movement being tracked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 105
      • Shaekey on Nov 26, 2015 at 5:51 pm

Then “high value targets” should never use waze or similar application in the first place. At least for official purpose they never need to use waze because they have escorts to clear the way… unlike us rakyat marhaen that need such applications to help us find the best route that is not too congested.

I don’t like where this MPs comment is possibly heading – to control the use of such applications or even ban them. Or possibly to only allow similar application that is “made in Malaysia”….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
      • AnonymousMe on Nov 26, 2015 at 7:05 pm

Then for those general or high profile people, don’t use it if you do too many bad things. Many rich Tan Sri still come out without body guard because they didn’t do wrong things. These MP do too many sins. Scared of pay back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
      • Are u a Malaysian? If you are, you might have noticed that all those ‘high value targets’ are almost never stucked in a jam. The whole entourage of outriders that stop all traffic for them to pass unobstructed will deemed Waze useless for this ‘people at high positions’. If there’s a tracking, the so called enemies are better well off using satellites. Coz from there, they can definitely see where all these people are due to the stoppage of traffics all along their routes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
      • trollmaster3000 on Nov 26, 2015 at 10:37 pm

eh hallo mangkuk.. you might as well tell those so-called “high value targets” to stop using smartphones lah.. and only use dumbphones which are better suited to their level of intelligence (or lack of)..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
      • Peter Tan on Dec 05, 2015 at 5:45 pm

Then these general and what not should just use 2 coconut and bamboo binoculars for navigation and don’t forget not to use PC or Mac as the CPU are designed by Jews.

• dumarsmps on Nov 27, 2015 at 2:26 am

Ya I’m sure US n Israel will rely on waze to guide their bombs to Malaysia… without it their bomb delivery would hv sesat jalan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • abg gagah on Nov 27, 2015 at 5:17 pm

aiya another menteri bodoh

• BigBalls on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:26 pm

The MPs intelligence (or lack of) is a threat to national security.

-BigBalls-

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 233 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:54 pm

May be this particular MP has GCPA of 3.999, better than the Nasi Goreng guy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 4
      • threat nation on Nov 27, 2015 at 6:00 pm

Stupidity is a real threat indeed. It’s CGPA. Not GCPA. LOL…

• wiwiwiwiw on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:18 pm

STUPIDITY is a real threat to national security

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 1
  • Another one of Mazlan’s friends :-D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 1
    • Kosher on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:02 pm

Facebook also threat to national security. Produk Yahoody.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
      • Ah, now I understand why YAHOO only show PR-friendly news and just have 1 tiny article of dear leader glorious dauter collaborating with putri invader

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • The Archbishop of Banterbury on Nov 26, 2015 at 10:58 pm

Mark Zuckerberg is an atheist lol. but I understand your sarcasm.

• tokmoh. on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Maslan : that’s my boy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • Bunny on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:30 pm

I’ve never seen such a stupid statement! Goes to show how ‘intelligent’ our govt. Is…
    This joins the list of nasi lemak contributes to accident, waking up early n use alt. Roads to avoid toll n etc. Sigh malaysia!!!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
    • Visitor on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:55 pm

But if you read the article carefully, that concern by Tenom MP was also replied by another MP, with a credible answer. Most importantly, read end-user agreements and T&C before agreeing to use the navigational app and refrain from sharing too much personal information that can jeopardise own safety or others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Perspective on Nov 26, 2015 at 4:42 pm

I agree with you, I do blame the ministers of how they deliver their opinion but please try to grab the essence of what they are really concerning about. In my opinion, the parliament should start think some enactments that can be legislated for the sake of the national security. Because knowledge is power, geographic and demographic information should have their limits especially to other countries.
        Perhaps, even a locally maintained apps only for our own country could also be a good way to solve this issue.
        Just sharing some of my thoughts. Cheers mate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
        • driver on Nov 27, 2015 at 7:26 am

that’s what China does. they banned all these information leaking apps/site.. and that provides opportunity to local creators.

• KH Tan on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:31 pm

Hey, go back to your caves and stay there!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
  • Another one of Maslan friends :-D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 2
  • mr1031 on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:32 pm

vice versa..then why don’t u use the same application to spy on other countries? it’s open widely for you..

everything have holes la..if u intend to use that apps for bad thing, that is not the apps fault….our genius MP..sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • More important issues affecting the citizens of this country lah, Idiot MP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • Claude on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:33 pm

What dumb MPs we have.

America don’t need puny smartphone app to attack any country. They just bomb the whole place into wastelands.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 0
  • cari makan on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:33 pm

that is another way to cari makan again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Fck off la, we use whatever we want. U think all of us know every road?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • sepul on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:36 pm

What is MP stands for? Majlis Pelawak?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 0
  • Jonny on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:40 pm

Seriously??

This gives a whole new meaning to the word stupidity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • Malaysia on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:41 pm

Another idiot idea fr malaysia minister to make the world laugh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Black Dog on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:47 pm

Maybe there are afraid their wife now know the direction to their mistress house.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 0
  • wiwiwiwiw on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:48 pm

Then you should…
    1) Not wear business suit because it is a threat to our culture!
    2) Shut down Facebook, Google and YOutube account
    3) Don’t surf the internet literally
    4) Don’t use smart phone
    5) Live in a cave

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 0
  • ae101 on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:48 pm

Another bodoh comment from maslan punya kawan. If your country is terrorist target, they will still easily get the location info with or without app. Today digital world, everything will expose to threats. So this bangsat will propose to ban internet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • stupid quote came from stupid MP. Sapa la dok pilih depa ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • badman on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:53 pm

Wow!i dont know is there any standard of stupidity to show to us dear MPs of Malaysia? Its stress to live nowadays and u guys (MPs) come out with this stupid joke to make rakyat more stress??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • cendol (Member) on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:55 pm

AMerica does not need Google Map or Waze for it.
    They already have satellite, they can see what is the number of your car plate from above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
  • Aero (Member) on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:56 pm

Please, the real threat to our national security are you idiots… our economic, political and social situation, all are going from bad to worse… soon going to become the next Greece with sky-rocketing debt and the shameless GST cover-up, or maybe the next Brazil with institutionalised corruption (1MDB, 2.6b), or maybe the next Syria due to growing extremism and racist parties and NGOs, or even the next Chernobyl with Lynas… seriously, just wait until the next GE… time will fly, 2015 went by like nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:59 pm

Aduhai…MP MP kita ni…no wonder the cows can win..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • toon899 on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:59 pm

These sohais obviously thought nobody knows what they’ve been doing all the while and suddenly wake up from grave and feel the threat!
    This just show how LOW the mentality of these so called MPs sit on our parliament and look what happened to us now? WE’RE DOOMED!

• kapchai on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:09 pm

For those which didn’t know, China do not allow the westerners to map their country, for “security purposes”. So the issue raise here is not pointless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 35
    • Golf MK7 Owner on Nov 27, 2015 at 1:56 am

Brader, are we living in communist country or Islamic State (IS) ar ?

• azhar on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:12 pm

hahaha..the stupidity of BN MP is endless!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Minister Otak masuk Air. so scare of ppl know your bungalow, luxury cars & Cave with gold bar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • tokmoh. on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:30 pm

We have oil, and the MP is just sked 900,000 tonnes of democracy will come. Bersangka baik.

• Niazi on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Najis survival till now is only bez he choose his team full of **DUMP & DUMPERS** in what so ever position in politics to gave timely idiot remarks which ultimately make Malaysians laugh n put huge dent on country image.

• monkeybrainwithbigdonation on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:20 pm

The truth behind this is to create your own apps which control by you and so that you can use OUR money to start a project and failed it intentionally and causing huge lost in profit and you will say is better to use Google by then?

Mr Monkey, ooopps, MP, are you suggesting all of us to stop using smartphone as Android is actually Google? iOS is actually from the US?

Are you suggestion we go back to Kampung and start plantation for ourself so that even if GST implement in more and more product we still will not be affected?

Empty cans always bring up the problem and let the problem float, never seen them solving it, NEVER!

• The MP intelligence is a tread to national security. We should be patriotic and stop him from breading and passing down his gene pool. Now,maybe I understand why the government did not pressure Indonesia during the haze. I believe, it is our MP’s idea to prevent foreign satellite from taking photos of him in his sarong walking around in his house.

• tokmoh. on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:24 pm

Incoming “Setiap kilometer gmap/waze digunakan ialah sebiji peluru didermakan ke Israel”

Shallom everyone. I just realised I’m secretly Jewish, my life was a lie!

• Miserable malaysia on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Sohai punya kambing, u scared what? U scared ppl rob your house and money?? Why?? Because u have too much money u dont even know come from where.
    There u see, gov will not care about rakyat, no waze no google map, how to go from one place to another place when your public transport dont even cover them. Now u say vehicle alot, bla bla.
    Malaysia will forever be malaysia. Dont ever think about moving wawasan 2020, high income country. Stone age thinking leader will never help to change a better nation , before, now, or future. Period.

• johndoe on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:32 pm

welcome to year 2000

• AcerMan on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Any media that publish the comment by these MPs will be considered as a threat to the country. :-p

• MR RIGHT on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:42 pm

Maybe gov must study and analyze this apps. For sure there is pros n cons there. We can’t assume that we are safe, not this these gps apps only it also involving social networking apps that also give a lots of information to them. From these information it can be use in many ways. Try to think carefully and wisely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Yasir on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:48 pm

These nav apps do become a threat to national security, when “someone” updates their ops locations in these nav apps. Like last year, one stupid operator went on sharing a certain location in Perak.

• Happy Three Friends Party: Raime, Maslan & Dahlan.
    1 is a company
    2 is a crowd
    3 is a party

• andrekua on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Even sulu without gps also proceed without problem, does a gps really matters?

• Stupid idoit on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Ask how their driver get them to destinstion. Waze duh. No signal??? Google maps duh

• Klaman on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:05 pm

Another world class jokes from BN MP !

• Haiyo, pakcik…kami pakai Maps + Waze + etc,,,kerana tak mau sesat. tk.

• Paranoia…

• Hmm. A lot of pipu seems to not know/remember that when Google streetview was started a lot of gweilo complaint on threat to personal security. Especially when show the faces or house address or car no. plates.

Though its not wrong to bring up the matter of data privacy, I think the Minister is quite right that whatever info available in the open cannot be restraint and possibility for abuse is always there, so its up to user discretion. Places like army bases, with big big sign board, is impossible to hide from Google. But whatever assets inside is national secret.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • Visitor on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:59 pm

If you all notice, there is no Google Street View coverage at areas between Sandakan and Tawau. Even in Sandakan, the coverage is somewhat paltry. IMO, the authority is exercising extra precaution.

• Although possibly cuz the road frm Sandakan to Tawau is like shiet, whatever picture come from Google car is not usable, so therefore cannot upload to streetview. Oso maybe Sandakan not as popular so the car din go to every nook & cranny before take off and go somewhere else.

• Visitor on Nov 26, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Tongod is also not popular, yet it gets some street view coverage. Same with Keningau to Tawau highway – also covered in Street View although the traffic there is far less than Sandakan to Tawau highway.

• Oh, in that case you might be right. I just dun think there is conspiracy theory that big G bows to Govs. Maybe to US, Israel & China only.

• FireAce on Nov 27, 2015 at 8:38 am

For the places that is deem sensitive that you wanted to keep secret, you don’t put a “Big Signbord” along the public main road for Google street view to photograph. But, who knows.. Malaysia public servant (that include you, MP Raime) with their “tak apa” attitude and “no brain” working style tends to make this kind of blunder.

• jimmy asmara on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:17 pm

we didnt hv to use these apps last time until some retarded fella proposed to change the names of existing roads to unmemorable names of past agongs….

• Hasan chsn on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:26 pm

That the results if you voted some morons to the parliament.

• MalaysiaBoleh on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Yesterday said car hanging statue will affect muslim drivers, today says google maps and waze is treat to national security… i wonder what joke would be next

• Ahli VIP Kelab Peminat Maslan on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:31 pm

Welcome to Kelab Peminat Maslan

• the world without boundaries.. the strong will succeed.. the not so strong will hv to be strong lah.. no choice..

• Mike Yeng on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Threat from US and Israel, well US President just visited us with all the security and lock down, I am sure they know us pretty well now especially KL are, and our DPM met Israel PM a few years ago when he was the Defence Minister..

• cwlmal on Nov 26, 2015 at 4:16 pm

Why worry? We can always deploy our Red Shirts and Silat gang to fight off the Israelis and Americans!

• hondaman on Nov 26, 2015 at 4:19 pm

I’ve been to Israel, no problem using both apps & of course, those sensitive areas will not show.

• clutch_plate on Nov 26, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Oh my… Another joker in Malaysia.. They want us to live like a caveman? Wake up! this is the science & technology era man..!

• Malsia Bullehh on Nov 26, 2015 at 4:39 pm

Raime, Dahlan and Maslan – The trinity is complete.

• I’ll see your trinity and raise you to a quartet (Nurul Izzah, Tony Pua, Mohamad Imran, Siti Zailah Yusof)

• anonymous on Nov 26, 2015 at 4:46 pm

SOOOO CORRUPTED!!! THESE PEOPLE JUST DON’T CARE ABOUT US, CITIZENS. I WONDER IF EVERY SINGLE MALAYSIAN CITIZEN WHO DON’T LIKE POLITICS MIGRATE TO OTHER COUNTRIES, THEN THE COUNTRY WILL BE SAFE FROM ANY TREATS AND THEY CAN RULE AMONG THEMSELVES ONLY..

• These apps are provided to us to get to our destinations and to check up on areas where there are huge traffic. If we dont have them, we will start using traditional maps and asking for directions which are a waste of time if you have an urgent appointment. Other countries are using it, why didnt they say it affects the security of their country? This all is “Lembu” talk.

• nabill (Member) on Nov 26, 2015 at 4:59 pm

In another news, candycrush is a threat to our justice system… And obviously Angrybird is a threat to our intelligence…..
    Untill when we can accept these mentalities to rule us?? Until freakin when??

• Inikalilah! on Nov 26, 2015 at 4:59 pm

undi jangan tak undi ya..wakaka
    Tenom – Datuk Raime Unggi
    Kuala Selangor – Datuk Irmohizam Ibrahim

• Brainstorming on Nov 26, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Lots of idiots who dont even understand simple thing.. When he mention Google Maps / Waze, it is mostly because it “gathers” and “show” every single roads, place, alley, etc etc, which in future, if there is a war in our country, these people behind those tech can easily pinpoint and strategically attack or maneuver to their objectives.. So that is why we should understand the consequences of such apps, although the benefit is alot but then, safety wise have to think deeply..

• Ape lagi on Nov 26, 2015 at 5:32 pm

Lel, dude, even you haven been to other countries, you can easily have the road/map by just googling. What rubbish on attacking ?

• Ministers: Don’t use the internet, don’t use google since it collects information too and it is a threat to national security.

• cobra on Nov 26, 2015 at 5:24 pm

Nowdays everything seems to be a threat to the govt. What are they doing that caused them to be so afraid ? If you are clean and just, there is nothing to be fearful.

• Perlisian on Nov 26, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Said by MP who using Waze to go to their office/home.

• KevinLoh on Nov 26, 2015 at 5:39 pm

I think these half baked MPs are a threat to Malaysia.

• Simple say, “The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.” By Albert Einstein.

• Kerek on Nov 26, 2015 at 6:01 pm

RM500 juta diluluskan untuk membiayai app navigasi peta ciptaan Malaysia.

• Otakuning on Nov 26, 2015 at 6:10 pm

Bini-bini guna Waze masuk hutan lipur, berjaya tangkap basah MP Tenom dan Kuala Selangor bersama girlfren masing2 !

• S.roma on Nov 26, 2015 at 6:10 pm

IMHO

yes, its quite concerning, but let me ask u MP, do we have proper signboard for the name of the road? name of the place and so on?

if it have proper and well managed signboard we got no prob not to use waze / google maps

such as korea, the signboard is clear where to go, no need for u to ask for direction already can go by urself, malaysia? even with the signboard and ask people also can get lost, that is the level of road signboard at malaysia

• Laughingor on Nov 26, 2015 at 6:16 pm

Nonsense!!! Please remove this article before it becomes another joke!

• C.P.MOHAN on Nov 26, 2015 at 6:29 pm

Stupidity is now contagious among BN MPs.

• Daniel on Nov 26, 2015 at 6:40 pm

As I’m not a Malaysian, after few years living in Malaysia now living again abroad ..

can someone enlighten me why Israel is mentioned that should be interested in Malaysia?
    (Well since Edward Snowden we know that the US is screening anyhow everyone they can).

• As you know, malaysia is a muslim majority country and as such the Gov has taken a stand of solidarity with Palestine and to condemn the invasion and barbaricity of Israel. Therefore officially we try to deal with Israel as little as possible, either directly or indirectly. That includes their products or technology. This is in contrast to Singapore which is best buddies with them.

Thats why our passport front page mentions it is valid for travel anywhere in the world, except for entry into Israel.

If your new here, dont read too seriously in the comments here. A lot are overly cynical towards the Gov and think Gov outright ban dealing with anything related to Israel. Of course thats not true since the Gov allowed Intel chips with Israeli names such as Dothan, Yonah, Merom, Nehelem to be used and sold. We might minimise as much possible, but no such thing as not kosher nonsense. Thats all in their heads.

• haHAHAHHAHAHAHA. why would US or Israel use the app to SPY on us???? Even if they want so… who knows there a drone above us undetectable by radar high up the sky. DUH.

• alishiki on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:19 pm

U got nothing else to conplain?? Why don’t u stop eating rice as it can be poison by someone.

• Happy Family on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:28 pm

Minister last time tin milo kosong….and now this minister tin milo kosong with air longkang inside…..

• Happy Family on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:30 pm

dont use telephone, dont use internet. Dont use currency becoz their ppl make sabotage and make it a threat to national security.

Just live up the tree and eat banana, everyday, Mr Minister. That is the safest.

• Eddie KS on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:42 pm

I thought there is a limit to a man’s stupidity. If there was a measurement for level of stupidity of official comments, this will surely take the award.

US and Israel have far more advance surveillance tech, and even then, one wonders what is there in Bolehland that anyone wants to spy on.

• policeman on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:52 pm

Why do I have a feeling that all those commenting here are Chevrolets whom are jealous of Mitsubishi?
    Looks like they have a grudge against Mitsubishi…

We all know Chevrolets are inferior and all they do is break down. High maintenance too! Mitsubishi has it’s legendary reliability, what does Chevrolet have? Infinity laughs at Chevrolet too. Mitsubishi and Infiniti are both Japanese.

Everybody looks down on BMW for being super unreliable. Someday BMW may take over Chevrolet and be as reliable as Mitsubishi and Infiniti.

• Kohila Devan on Nov 26, 2015 at 9:04 pm

What! There are so many other pressing issues that need to look at, suddenly our MP will come up some Cock story like this. No doubt your whereabouts are able to be tracked by Big Brothers when you use these apps.

• Jibster on Nov 26, 2015 at 9:05 pm

I thought jibby is best friends with the United States and Israel?

• alldisc on Nov 26, 2015 at 9:25 pm

hello ministers??

have u ever head about google earth? yes, it took off some 10 years ago and believe me the american military and secret service versions are 3x times more advance PLUS they can see what is happening LIVE!!!

no need waze.

• Joegioamani on Nov 26, 2015 at 9:26 pm

Good! I love to hear more MP speaks. Love to hear those who use their arie to think. As it entertain me and have a good laugh.

• The one who commented negative in here doesnt realize what really happend in our country right now. Technology from western country are more superior than we think. For example your mobile phone, do you think it is safe from hijackers or intrusion? Its easy to tap in with the right technology. Its piece a cake for them to extract data from our mobile.

• Oh man, you’re so right, that’s scary. How did you make this comment then? Did you type it with a typewriter then mail to Paul?

• bobo boy on Nov 26, 2015 at 10:29 pm

The MPs are worried that waze and google maps are threat to our country cause US or Isreal my have visibility or access to our roads but dont forget, the dont need these apps to spy us. They have something called satelite orbiting the earth to spy on us, so how does these MPs plan to stop that.

Sudahlah, balik kampung tanam jagung saja lah… jangan pakai gadget yang terlalu canggih…

• any1here on Nov 26, 2015 at 10:54 pm

The article above was what was discussed in parliament no doubt but this may also be somewhat relevant to the current draft TPP agreements being reviewed. The draft as is would give foreign countries access to Malaysians’ personal data used in Google Maps and Waze and would require Malaysia to allow the transfer of electronic information to other countries. Even though the data is hosted here it may be subject to different laws on privacy e.g could be subjected to the US Patriot Act. Would you personally want this to happen?

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Nov 26, 2015 at 11:08 pm

looks like our country is slowly turned into a dystopian country… at least I’m prepared.

• Confused citizen on Nov 26, 2015 at 11:44 pm

Seriously is it a national security threats or national joke???

• my kid has learning disability, doctor consider him a retard. but the good thing is he can be MP int he future

• Susukotak on Nov 27, 2015 at 5:55 am

Don’t worry… They already have all the info by hiring APCO.

• Devil12 on Nov 27, 2015 at 8:41 am

Full of nonsense from jokers just because of a navigation app.. These apps provide alternative to other routes available while in navigation.. I don’t see how this can threaten national security? If the road signboards are user friendly, that’s fine.. They use signboards that doesn’t even show the proper direction and they are complaining about the apps..

• kanninabu on Nov 27, 2015 at 8:58 am

What happen is our Msia goverment never make their own GPS navigation app, So everytime lost call and ask this stupid mp?

• Concerned citizen on Nov 27, 2015 at 9:14 am

National Security threat? Let’s recall history now, did the Japanese not conquered Tanah Melayu without the need of GPS…So food for thought.

• I'm fine on Nov 27, 2015 at 10:26 am

I am sorry, its too late to say this. After google has scan our mother land, after google street cam has record all area, after everyone has pave road for waze, only now to say it is a threat? Everything is a threat… a pencil, a rubber, a piece of paper. It is just how the information is being used. Probably even the data might now be available for public (say is google map and waze banned in Malaysia), google already has the data for future plan. Invasion maybe?

• ben yap on Nov 27, 2015 at 10:35 am

I love to laugh at brainless MPs talking. It always makes me wonder how they manage to be up there when they have smaller brain size that most rakyats.

• HPLow on Nov 27, 2015 at 10:40 am

Another joke of the yr.. well it only shows how id10T they are and how low their mentality are…-_-“…at a point…it makes alot of m’sian abroad ashamed for having such an uneducated ministers…..instead of wasting time discussing such a dumb question..why not discuss something more practical with good solution..such as how to improve the Rakyat’s living with the inflations and GST…

• RegularJoe on Nov 27, 2015 at 12:28 pm

If the MPS are worried about America or Israel or any other developed nations having these kind of information, no worry because these states have their own resources for such information. Me suspect….they dont want regular people of this country to have the information….they probably have too many not so good things to hide.

• Albattar on Nov 27, 2015 at 6:15 pm

This stupid mp dont realize that super powers already has accessed to our country maps of terrain, soil series, road system etc long before we even have internet in our country…

• Stupid MP on Nov 27, 2015 at 11:13 pm

I think the stupidity of MP is greater threat to Malaysia.

• Our MPs are hopeless.

What a bonehead. He probably uses those to get around…

• Nonoi on Nov 27, 2015 at 11:50 pm

Put it this way, nothing in this world that can’t get exposed. Everyday devices we used are all connected to the net. No matter how secure the system is, there is always someone or some organisation that is collecting information without us noticing it. Even the so called best or top in the world security system in pentagon was hacked few years back. Trillions of information are shared in www everyday, and one of it could be a national thread but that can be the work of and individual and not some waze or Gmap. I agree and disagree to what they r saying. Yes information might be exposed but my question here is what information and how does it in anyway poses as a national thread? To me personally, indirect thread, yes…..direct, no. If u feels that it is a thread, then disconnect everthing……