SPAD seeks your feedback on taxis, Uber and Grabcar

SPAD Taxi service survey-01

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) is seeking public feedback in an online survey. The survey concerns taxi services and ride-sharing apps, Uber and Grabcar. A total of 10 questions have been put forward for the Malaysian public to answer.

Titled “general perception: taxi service in Malaysia,” SPAD notes in the opening, that the objective of the online survey is to improve the taxi industry in Malaysia. It believes that public opinion is “key to formulating a more holistic solution.”

To pique your interest, some of these questions include whether one would pay extra for improved quality of taxi services and better taxi availability during peak hours. In addition, survey respondents are also encouraged to list their top three complaints in relation to taxi services.

A section of the survey is reserved for Uber and Grabcar. Among the questions, SPAD wants to know whether you think it should “regulate internet based taxi network apps.” So guys, with all that’s been going on recently, here’s your chance to state your stand!

Take the survey by clicking here.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• winwin on Nov 26, 2015 at 12:56 pm

Top 3 complains for taxi drivers:

1. Refuse to use meter and like to slaughter tourists.
    2. Drive like hooligan and smoking in the car.
    3. Refuse to go certain locations especially peak hours.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 1
    • How Fair is SPAD Really? on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:36 pm

My comment very simple. Why are nearly ALL teksi licence companies owned by UMNO big boys? Is this a perk to join UMNO?

And my other comment is very simple, why is ALbar’s wife, also owning so many teksi companies?

How fair and impartial can Albar be to Uber and Grabcar when he himself through his wife is benefitting from teksi license and the fact that Uber and Grabcar is causing a pinch to his own pocket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
      • SPAD is the Problem! on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:42 pm

Actually, the big problem is SPAD. SPAD is allowing all this protest to go on. Why? Very simple.

SPAD’s chairman Albar’s wife owns many teksi companies. When Uber and Grabcar came into Malaysia, her companies lost a lot of money and is losing a lot of money.

So, SPAD, as any husband who is scared of his wife would do, quickly ban Uber and ban Grabcar.

You see, in Malaysia, there is no such thing as CONFLICT OF INTEREST. Government also cool about it, they say, “their fellow UMNO ex-Minister got contract, so what?”

SPAD is now closing an eye to all this violence and protest because Albar’s wife is not happy with slow business.

All these violence is approved by SPAD. Infact, it is indirectly sanctioned by SPAD.

Don’t forget, besides Albar’s wife, ALL the licenses for companies running cabs are all owned by UMNO big boys.

Nobody can touch them la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Top 3 solutions SPAD can do.

1. Scrap taxi cronies + Liberalize taxi permits
      2. Rationalize taxi fares
      3. Safety and comfort guidelines (car model, age, hygiene)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • old dog on Nov 26, 2015 at 11:19 pm

over 50 and no dislike! what an achievement!

• Straight to the point. . SPAD can collect 1 of consumers feed back from this blog

• Jimmy on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:28 pm

1. Do we think consumers are important?
    2. Do we think rakyats are important?

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:28 pm

Lol whether to regulate Uber? I rather they regulate those bunch of thugs! And no I won’t be paying more for better because I’m paying lesser when using Uber.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Consumer on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Big No for extra pays! Obviously every single thing came out is charge more on consumer/people.
    Why never review how to reduce the cost of taxi operation?

• Special rights on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:53 pm

“should we regulate internet based taxi network applications i.e. Uber, Grabcar and Myteksi to allow them to operate within the boundaries of Malaysia’s laws and regulations?”

That last question is a very cunning question from SPAD. Ambiguous way of delivering the question.

SPAD, why don’t you be sincere and change that question to the following:
    “should we allow internet based taxi network applications i.e. Uber, Grabcar and Myteksi to operate within the boundaries of Malaysia’s laws and regulations?”

Honestly speaking, I clicked “No”.

• tinmilo on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:12 pm

It seems like this question is skewed towards one angle…
      It implied that:

Yes, Means regulate Uber and Grabcar, and allows it to operate, but within a boundaries drawn.
      No, means deemed them operate outside the law of Malaysia and hence illegal and should be eliminated.

And your answer was “NO”?

• alldisc on Nov 26, 2015 at 9:20 pm

uber’s standards is already higher than what the taxis can match

1. drivers checked for criminal records
        2. drivers can be traced and tracked using car no. and app.
        3. no fake car number reg plates, uber checks reg card and insurance policy
        4. riders will rate each trip per driver, if the score is low… drivers will be up for suspension
        5. cars are better, cleaner, newer and have 1st party insurance coverage.
        6. no cash transaction is involved. zero risks of robbery or need to find small change first
        7. no need to nego – price and destination
        8. uber will arrive in front of your doorstep, instead of you try to hail one by the roadside.
        9. readily available – including heavy rain and peak hours.

looking this survey it seems that SPAD is banging its head against walls on how to stop uber. it just cant.

• i no la watla on Nov 27, 2015 at 7:02 am

How to destroy uber. SPAD kena jadi ROBINHOOD.alldisc campur reduce fare below uber.

• Special Rights on Nov 26, 2015 at 10:16 pm

I mis-read. It was a survey and i wasnt reading it attentively. If the question was structured in a clearer form, i would not have mis-click.

• Black Dog on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:57 pm

I guess lots of people here seldom or never took a taxi in their life did the survey!

• I recently have the opportunity to use the public transport more frequently than before.
    About taxi I think the charges was not bad. RM18 from KL sentral to Jalan KiaPeng on a Saga BLM. MAybe with Uber I could get better rates, I dont know.
    LRT charges was also still considerably cheap. but needs to increase frequency during rush hour.

• Talkcock on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:25 pm

went through the survey.
    Poorly written in my opinion.

The survey didn’t ask important question for me to express how disgusted I am with the current taxi service.
    Just a question on top 3 complains about their service.

Most important is, on a scale of 1-10, how would you rate the taxi service in Malaysia…

1 – it should really be a zero, because is so damn poor.
    10 – Please take your medication today, because you are hallucinating, unless off course you are a taxi driver.

• waters on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:49 pm

The last question is a trap. SPAD does not need to regulate uber/grabcar. Let them be. Market forces will decide on it’s success or failure.

Less government regulation!!!

• Talkcock on Nov 27, 2015 at 12:24 pm

I don’t think this is the option we are given..
      We can only choose between regulate them to allow them to continue operation, or, deem them illegal and stop operation.

SPAD will never allow someone to run freely from it grasp and having no answer to the current taxi drivers.

So regulate Uber is the best consumer can hope for.. unfortunately.

• paulwee on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:57 pm

I have a problem. The survey asks bias and leading questions: “Should we regulate Uber, Grabcar and Myteksi to allow them to operate within the boundaries of Malaysia’s laws and regulations?” Answer Yes or No also cannot. My answer should be: No need to regulate as these services/apps are regulated by free market, but they should be allowed to operate freely. SPAD should focus on making taxis competitive but not by eliminating the competition on behalf of them.

• teropong on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:00 pm

I hope all commenters here have done their part to fill the survey. Do your part

• Crasher7 on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:08 pm

I’ll extremely unfavorable rating for taxi drivers as a start!

• Crasher7 on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:08 pm

I’ll give extremely unfavorable rating for taxi drivers as a start!!!

• shawal on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:22 pm

i use myteksi, and it works flawlessly, regulate myteksi and cut the middleman and allow taxi drivers apply their own permit, and also they must use gps, so we cn monitor their every movement…

• Jemput Naik on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:36 pm

No need do survey la..mostly trick questions..read comment in Paultan pun sudah cukup

• seksiteksi on Nov 26, 2015 at 4:00 pm

Time for a change.

• For me I prefer über so much as it is cheap, luxury & friendly. Very consistent & flexible.

• andrekua on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:00 pm

Show time again…

Everytime also like this, ask feedback. Come on lah, of course its bad, that’s why Uber/Grabcar prevails. That’s why your fellow gangster taxi cronies take action like they own the road. When you are no longer competing and instead complaining, that’s when you should hang your gloves and find a new job.

• Makcik Jinggu on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Question no 1:

Is SPAD buat-buat bodoh, really bodoh, or semua tak tau?

• GUYS, CLICK THE “SEE PREVIOUS RESPONSES” AFTER SUBMITTING THE FORM AND YOU CAN SEE THE STATISTIC RESULTS.

• ben yap on Nov 27, 2015 at 10:42 am

Uber and grabcar rules in malaysia…. time for taxi drivers to buy a blm and join the uber / grabcar wagon.

• kelvin on Nov 27, 2015 at 3:13 pm

u guys should all fill up the form to support ur belief!