Volvo XC90 T8 Twin Engine launched in M’sia, RM454k

2015-volvo-xc90-launch-event-malaysia- 046

The new Volvo XC90 has finally been launched, with Volvo Car Malaysia (VCM) confirming the flagship model’s price of RM453,888, OTR, without insurance. The plug-in hybrid SUV comes to us in the form a sole range-topping T8 Twin Engine variant.

It’s also dressed up in its premium Inscription design line, which is a standard companion for all XC90 T8 Twin Engine models. For power, the T8 Twin Engine terminology refers to the vehicle’s combined use of a 2.0 litre four-cylinder super- and turbocharged Drive-E petrol engine and an electric motor.

The petrol engine delivers 320 hp and 400 Nm of torque to the front wheels, while an 87 hp/240 Nm electric motor powers the rear. Together, the two power sources form a hybrid all-wheel drive system. The total system output for the vehicle is rated at 407 hp and 640 Nm.

Additionally, a 150 Nm crankshaft-mounted starter generator (CISG) is sandwiched between the engine and the eight-speed torque converter automatic transmission. The compact motor purely boosts acceleration at low speeds or from standstill instances.

2015-volvo-xc90-launch-event-malaysia- 057

Collectively, the 407 hp/640 Nm total system output is capable of motivating the 2,343 kg (kerb weight) SUV from zero to 100 km/h in 5.6 seconds. Its top speed is electronically-limited to 230 km/h.

The XC90 T8 Twin Engine has a claimed full-electric driving range of 43 km, and a combined fuel consumption figure of 2.1 litres per 100 km (47.6 km/l) – both figures are based on the European NEDC test cycle for hybrid vehicles.

For drivers to optimise the vehicle’s performance and fuel efficiency, several drive modes are selectable via the car’s Sensus control system – hybrid, pure electric, power mode, AWD, and save. The Volvo XC90 here also gets a Four-C Active Chassis system (four-corner air suspension) as standard.

As the first model to be based on the Swedish marque’s new Scalable Product Architecture (SPA), the XC90’s 9.2 kWh rectangular lithium-ion traction battery is housed within the platform’s central tunnel.

Based on our regular Malaysian power supply (240 V, 13 amps), the battery cells require just 3.5 hours to be fully recharged via a household wall socket. Of course, with the vehicle capable of recuperating energy from braking and coasting, the battery is fully capable of recharging itself on the road just as you drive.

Included in the RM454k price tag is a portable charger that you can use to recharge the XC90 at any regular power outlet. New XC90 owners will also get a free Electrical Health Check for their homes. The service consists of a free inspection by trained staff that will test and identify any issues with your home’s power outlet’s ability to charge the XC90.

Optionally, VCM has sourced two third-party home charging stations for you to purchase. The dedicated chargers are supplied by electronics company Hager. The weatherproof Hager Witty system is priced at RM9,540, while the indoor Hager Zero is priced at RM8,480. The benefits of these chargers include a quicker recharging time of just 2.5 hours.

There are also several other Hager items that you may want to consider, such as the Hager 40A earth leakage circuit breaker (ELCB), as well as an extended two-year warranty package (on top of the standard one-year coverage). All in, the full suite of the Hager home charging package will set you back RM10,759 at the most, inclusive of GST.

Being that this is the top-spec Inscription design line, the exterior of the XC90 is as loaded as it gets before adorning the R-Design exterior package. Unfortunately though, the sportier R-Design kit isn’t available for Malaysia as of yet.

The car here is nearly a direct copy of the model we recently tested in Sweden. The front end features the brand’s signature T-shaped “Thor’s Hammer” daytime running lights, while the headlamps themselves feature LED Active Bending Lights and Active High Beam Control.

For wheels, the XC90 is equipped with a set of 20-inch, 10-spoke silver, diamond-cut alloys wrapped in 275/45 tyres. Optionally, buyers may specify the Oden Package, which adds set of 22-inch “Rugged wheels” with matching Pirelli Scorpion Verde tyres, for an extra RM19,644.

At the rear, the XC90 is equipped with LED Adaptive Brake Lights, dual exhaust tips and a power-operated tailgate with handsfree operation. The Volvo XC90 has a total of 11 exterior colours to choose from, including Ice White, Magic Blue, Savile Grey, Twilight Bronze, Bright Silver, Osmium Grey, Onyx Black, Luminous Sand, Electric Silver, Ember Black and Crystal White.

2015-volvo-xc90-launch-event-malaysia- 065

The interior, meanwhile, features Nappa leather upholstery as standard. The three-spoke multi-function steering wheel is leather-wrapped, while the crystal gear knob by Swedish crystal makers Orrefors is present, along with the diamond-cut engine start/stop button and volume control knob.

For drivers, the XC90 features a 12.3-inch Adaptive Digital Display instrument panel, and a head-up display system. The centrepiece is of course the vertically-positioned nine-inch touchscreen display, featuring Volvo’s latest Sensus Connect High Performance audio system interface.

A majority of the car’s systems and features are controlled from the tablet-like touchscreen, including the car’s four-way climate control system. The Sensus interface also offers views for the surround-view camera and the navigation system.

A 10-speaker 330-watt sound system is standard. The system also offers Bluetooth, USB and Aux connectivity, along with Android and Apple screen mirroring. It also has WiFi hotspot capabilities.

The seats themselves are slim, but are said to offer good spinal protection during a crash. The middle row seats can be slid forwards and backwards to offer more legroom or cargo capacity behind it. They also feature Volvo’s signature child booster cushion in the middle.

The third row seats are said to comfortably accommodate adults as tall as 170 cm. With the rear-most seats in their upright positions, the XC90 has a total 436 litres of boot space. Folding the third row flat increases that figure to 1,183 litres. With the middle row folded, there’s 2,426 litres of usable cargo space.

Needless to say, this flagship Volvo is also well-equipped with a long list of active and passive safety features. As standard, the SUV gets seven airbags, Adaptive Cruise Control, City Safety with Front Collision Warning and Pedestrian and Cyclist Detection with Full Auto Brake, Lane Departure Warning, Lane Keeping Aid, Roll Stability Control and Hill Descent Control, to name a few.

It also features two world-first safety technologies – the run-off road protection package and the auto brake at intersection capability. There is also a Park Assist Pilot system, for both parallel and perpendicular parking, included as standard.

An array of optional equipment is available too. The RM21,800 Thor Package includes a set of front and rear skid plates, a deco frame around the front grille, chrome elements on the air intakes of the front bumper, lower side body moulding and a running board with lighting.

Other than that, there are also optional textile cargo mat (RM1,283), bumper protection cover (RM663), roof load carrier (RM1,454) and a tyre pressure monitoring system (RM1,380).

As per usual, the initial batch of new XC90s in Malaysia are fully-imported (CBU) units, coming to us straight from Sweden. VCM has confirmed that local production efforts are well underway, and that the first CKD units are expected to be ready by the second or third quarter of 2016.

This makes Malaysia the only other country in the world to produce the flagship XC90 outside of Sweden, let alone the fact that it’s a high-voltage plug-in hybrid model. Bookings for the CKD units are already being taken at Volvo dealerships nationwide, with prices expected to be lower than the CBU’s current RM454k price tag. However, some differences in specifications are expected.

As it is, the Volvo XC90 T8 Twin Engine faces stiff competition from the BMW X5 xDrive35i (RM573,800) and the Audi Q7 3.0 TFSI quattro (RM589,900). Notably, none of its competition offers a hybrid powertrain.

The XC90 is also a much more powerful vehicle by comparison, and is far more affordable than the X5 and the Q7. So, which of these large SUVs will you be chasing after?

GALLERY: Volvo XC90 optional equipment

GALLERY: Volvo XC90 with “Thor” and “Oden” packages

GALLERY: Volvo XC90 official press photos

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• sudonano (Member) on Dec 03, 2015 at 10:32 am

This is insane value if you think about it.

The X5 is frankly very disappointing to drive, it floats about and doesn’t feel very confidence inspiring. Also, while it has decent equipment and warranty, you can’t deny the part where it is a cool 100 grand more than this.

The same with the Q7. It’s almost 600k, and yet, it’s only above average in terms of equipment. Nothing particularly interesting. Not to mention the part where it looks horrid.

The XC90 represents an insane value for money, for what is probably one of the most beautiful SUVs out there. Very well done Volvo, very very well done, cause one thing is for sure, the German brands better be very afraid.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 197 Thumb down 3
    • Good price. Good spec. Summore a hybrid!
      Therefore, is good choice too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
      • Jimmy on Dec 03, 2015 at 1:02 pm

At half the price of LX.

Dark grey interior is not a desirable colour. A lot of people like white/bright interior.

Audi Malaysia has a long way to go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
      • Aaron on Dec 03, 2015 at 1:03 pm

Where is the B&W audio? Sob Sob……

• They can sell it cheap here by cutting cost. Look at the dashboard. It isn’t even leather wrapped compared to the XC90 that is offered in other countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
          • Leather dashboards with Malaysian weather is a big no no

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
          • Henry on Dec 13, 2015 at 11:05 pm

Gosh, I think you did not watch their video, as this is the Scandinavian design for having a oak wood feel, which is damn good~
            Instead of putting dead animal skin in your car!

• Volvo SUV on Dec 03, 2015 at 11:48 am

I test drove the Volvo XC60 T5 and was a little bit disappointed by the handling and suspension setting, it also floats like a boat during cornering despite being a smaller size SUV, I have also test drove both X3 and X5 and thought that both BMW SUVs are more settling and float less compare to the XC60. Hopefully this new XC90 will be a joy to drive, I must admit the price is unbeatable for this range.

• tokmoh. on Dec 03, 2015 at 1:48 pm

Volvo makes their car comfort-biased, your occupants will appreciate it more than sporty handling.

Still more composed than Japanese fridge on wheel.

• Bernard on Apr 25, 2016 at 2:05 pm

I think you need to find out how much its sold in other countries!

It should be sold at half the price only!

• john2 on Dec 03, 2015 at 10:43 am

If they CKD here, then one of the safest SUV becomes one of the deadliest SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 67
    • akula on Dec 03, 2015 at 11:17 am

they got strict quality control too here laa…stupid!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
    • Martha on Dec 03, 2015 at 10:25 pm

You must be a typical moron who look down on the capability of fellow Malaysian! Not all Malaysian are as incapable as you are! What an insult!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • JohnSmith on Dec 05, 2015 at 10:53 am

Malaysia is one of the 2 plants in the world that produces the XC90. I believe the Swedish folks would already thought this through before investing huge sum to this country.

• the daddy of the SUV is back

• Jimmy on Dec 03, 2015 at 1:06 pm

Volvo is not famous of their suv but safety.

I wonder if this XC90 has 12 airbags. Is the writer ignorant or I missed it?

Some Lexuses have 10.

• tokmoh. on Dec 03, 2015 at 1:29 pm

The XC90 previous gen was a huge success in its prime, it was best selling European car in USA.

Lel, Lexus can put whatever airbags in their car, expect it to be recalled again and again and again. When it comes to safety, can’t rely on Japanese.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
        • Alwin on Jul 10, 2016 at 1:54 am

Since when the poor Japs can come near to Volvo in term of safety? Lexus is an ultimately overpriced Japanese car.

• FIST (Member) on Dec 03, 2015 at 4:27 pm

It would be safer than the 10 airbag lexuses

• There’s a reason why the original XC90 was one of the best SUVs on the market. Even Clarkson (and his many requirements of a car) owned this.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 03, 2015 at 5:59 pm

Yep and it’s acceleration time will eat hot hatches for lunch.

• Either Volvo selling us cheap or our tax has gradually reduced.T8 with R sport selling arounf RM315k in UK. Which have not include any spec up options. Normally it will come around RM650k. Well well… Lets see other brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • Kastam on Dec 03, 2015 at 2:39 pm

2 litre tax bracket is different
      Therefore is much cheaper in boleh land.
      This is a good buy!!
      Something similar to Merc S class hybrid.

• Kenneth Fook on Dec 03, 2015 at 11:09 am

This is INSANE pricing!!! Goodbye to lexus RX. No way in hell should you be pricing the RX 350 near 460k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • This is incredibly insane value for money I mean it s priced so right, cheaper than the ML, x5/x6, q7. Plus look at the specs it so good 400 hp. Th safety features omg. Well done Volvo Malaysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
  • Leafable on Dec 03, 2015 at 11:11 am

Well done Volvo Malaysia! You got this “nail hit on the head” right pricing. Value for money indeed. Now I’m off to Volvo showroom to open up my cheque book.

PS: please don’t CKD it here. Just give us the CBU all the way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Aero (Member) on Dec 03, 2015 at 1:37 pm

No. Just no. You don’t understand the significance of VCM’s CKD operations in Malaysia. VCM goes back many decades, through Federal Auto and Swedish Motor Assemblies. They pioneered our automotive industry long before Proton or Perodua existed. They gave thousands of Malaysians high skill/paying jobs for over 50 years. They export some of their models to our neighbours, bringing in more money for our economy. The money that Volvo has invested in our economy also runs into the millions. And did you know ? Malaysia is one of just 4 countries to produce the new Volvos (the others being Sweden, Belgium and China).

Yes, CKD cars may be ‘less desirable’ because of the perception that they’re of lower quality. But I can assure you, VCM and a few others like TCM and even UMWT preserve the quality of their CKD cars by partnering with only the best vendors. Only the useless CKD companies like Naza and VW Malaysia skimp on quality, and fortunately, many Malaysians have stopped buying their products.

Don’t be selfish. Spare a thought for your fellow countrymen. What’s the point if we have ‘nicer’ CBU cars, when we don’t have the high skill/ paying jobs to afford them ? It’s all one big circle.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 0
  • wow so fast available…

• xxxxxxx on Dec 03, 2015 at 11:18 am

Worth the price for this CBU SUV, specs are top among other brands. Two thumbs up !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • cobra on Dec 03, 2015 at 11:20 am

Wow….very well priced. In no time its gonna flood the streets of KL.

• gaviny on Dec 03, 2015 at 11:28 am

thats very reasonable,

• applegreen on Dec 03, 2015 at 11:45 am

next driven series; X5 vs Q7 vs XC90

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • An SUV should be a comfortable and family friendly. X5 is too cramped, Q7 too expensive therefore the XC90 wins.

• W204 C63 AMG on Dec 03, 2015 at 11:58 am

CBU allocations sold out quite some time ago.

• Lizio on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Hey Doctor’s, your car finally arrived after years of struggling….

• spine hurt amg on Dec 06, 2015 at 1:00 pm

Yes.. im doctor and id been waiting for this car to reach our shore. And now it just down for me to make a short drive test before signing up my chq. It has been a few anoyying years having to drive on my amg. Those hard suspension really causing headache. I thought it is time to relax and enjoy the comfort world. Wish there wont be a long waiting list

• if i have the money and on the market for a proper SUV, this will be it..just look how comfy the seats just by looking at them..and the exterior looks one of the best looking SUV..

• The seats are thin. How to comfy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
      • tokmoh. on Dec 03, 2015 at 1:38 pm

They are the most comfortable in the business, nearly every single oversea review bear testament to this.

Volvo have been known to be the best at making comfortable seats for a long time. They hire chiropractors to help design their seats, they know what they’re doing.

Ask any owner, it’s near impossible to not mention how great their seats are.

• Brick on Dec 03, 2015 at 3:26 pm

Yup

Can be a testament to that. Have driven 6 gens of Volvo from the old 240 box to the current S80 and S60 models. All of them with the exception of the S40(due to smaller seat size) are extremely comfortable.

• macroemdia on Dec 03, 2015 at 1:17 pm

From the looks of the backseat, the depth/length does not appear to offer enough thigh support. It looks like a volvo alright, which is to say it is butt ugly as hell.

• tokmoh. on Dec 03, 2015 at 1:59 pm

They are adjustable in length.

Mat salleh long legs also praise Volvo’s seating position, maybe you should check it out yourself to not make a fool of yourself.

• neutral on Dec 03, 2015 at 2:26 pm

well volvos are meant for sophisticated people not people who wear baseball caps the other way round and baggy pants.

• Aero (Member) on Dec 03, 2015 at 1:24 pm

VCM only launches a new car once in a blue moon, but when they do, they usually hit the spot ! The new XC90 is no different, clearly the best luxury SUV you can buy here today. None of the Landies, Beemers and Mercs have an equivalent, at least, not yet.

And RM454k is a steal. I’m guessing, that this benefits from our governments stupid ‘EEV program’, like the Great Wall M4 and Camry Hybrid. Otherwise, it would’ve been more expensive. And best of all, VCM plans to CKD it, and the new XC90 will probably be one of the best Volvos to grace the Shah Alam plant, ever since the legendary 240.

• neutral on Dec 03, 2015 at 2:01 pm

the price. it is so damn reasonable when you think deeply about it. compared to the overpriced, Lexus RX. sad thing that it comes without leather dash and B&W sound system. I wonder if Malaysian gov will continue CKD hybrid incentives next year? Paultan.org did you guys ask?

• UMW Mampus on Dec 03, 2015 at 2:36 pm

Anytime better than the 900k Lexus LX with autofold seats. (wow, so advanced)

• Contender on Dec 03, 2015 at 2:43 pm

Well I belief Volvo has got some hybrid or EEV incentives for the lower pricing …. interesting to see how much the CKD sells for

• look so China… horrible

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 45
  • tinmilo on Dec 03, 2015 at 3:28 pm

I wonder this will qualify for the CKD hybrid incentive?
    Anybody knows whether the incentive is extended? It could be RM300k CKD…

• Vikingman on Dec 03, 2015 at 5:50 pm

Where is the tax incentive for this hybrid? If non hybrid models like the mercedes c200 and c250 amg can get incentives as energy efficent vehicles, this car deserves it even more. Pls gov… No double standards.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 03, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Well it’s a no brainier that this is the SUV to get over the rest of the competition. Hopefully VCM will retain the spec sheet or make it even better when the CKD production kicks off next year.

• neutral on Dec 03, 2015 at 6:13 pm

Dear Paultan.org, I wonder if you guys asked about the availability of other variants? Or is Volvo Malaysia hoping that the CKD hybrid incentives to extend to 2016? Because if it isn’t it would make sense to launch a cheaper variant and if incentives are extended, an inferior but more expensive model would not make sense.

• iiAMGPackage on Dec 03, 2015 at 7:32 pm

Lexus’s biggest joke is one million ringgit and the specs are the same like any other SUV. This one here is priced reasonably and yet you get really good and unique specs. Not to mention the safety since in Malaysia road accidents are common and can be fatal.

• less than RM500k for a flagship plug in hybrid SUV

well played Volvo

• Sonyman on Dec 05, 2015 at 2:27 pm

For the first time. Not even one fellow talk about resale value. Only 1 fellow comment on so China. Guess what. This time round this suv is the winner….

• Tang keng chor on Dec 26, 2015 at 5:16 pm

Would like to purchase the all new xc90 t8

• Toh Fui on Jan 11, 2016 at 7:15 pm

Was thinking about either to get the recond RR Sport or Cayenne Hybrid until this 2016 XC90 Hybrid came out. At less than RM 500K incl. an option for a complete set of extra accessories which cost only at an extra RM 21K, this Swedish masterpiece is a clear winner!

• “Other than that, there are also optional textile cargo mat (RM1,283), bumper protection cover (RM663), roof load carrier (RM1,454) and a tyre pressure monitoring system (RM1,380)” At RM454k TPMS is an option?

• Bernard on Apr 25, 2016 at 2:02 pm

Volvo cars used to be very popular in the 60’s-80s’

It was a favourite with the professionals as they could afford it then.

Today, the professionals can afford Perodua Axia.

Wonder what happened along the way?

• R Design Kit on May 24, 2016 at 11:52 am

Does anyone know when the xc90 R Design Kit will be available in Malaysia?

• BewareTheTestDrive on Jan 05, 2017 at 3:23 pm

Just want to share my personal experience having own one and been driving within town and outstation for more than 4 months now. When you go for a test drive on this…be sure to have your spouse/partner/whoever-goes-with-you to hold on tightly to your wallet where all your cash and credit cards are.

Even with the 22″ wheels upgrade…this vehicle…this modern machine…it’s just very very comfortable, extremely powerful (that torque when you floor it at 0 is just crazyyyyyy for the car of this size and weight), and the adaptive cruise control that comes standard is a joy to have. Something else which is interesting is the adaptive high beam…until today I haven’t fully figure it out – in a pitch-black environment on highways, and the depending on the angle of your car and the direction of your steering plus the distance of what’s in front of you…the headlamps seems to be working really hard with the brain doing a lot of processing.