Selangor to use more durable asphalt for state roads

Bad road 2

Road conditions in Selangor are set to improve a little – the state is set to begin using a new asphalt premix for its roads, one that it says will result not just in better and more durable road surfaces but also in cost savings for local authorities, The Star reports.

The new premix, called Cold Mix Carboncor, was trialled in a three-month long pilot project, and positive results from the evaluation has seen the compound been given the green light for use on state roads.

According to the report, the trial was conducted along stretches of Jalan Sungai Jati in Klang, with the new asphalt laid on 100 metre stretches alongside the current AC14 polymer-modified asphalt in use now. Both non-destructive and destructive testing were conducted.

Findings revealed that the Carboncor was durable and perfect for Malaysian weather, state infrastructure and public facilities committee chairman Zaidy Abdul Talib said. Compared to AC14, which isn’t very resistant to the effects of rain, the new asphalt can be used during the rainy season, because it needs water to be laid.

Zaidy added that testing also revealed that only a 25 mm layer depth of the Carboncor was needed for resurfacing works compared to twice the amount for AC14, which also needed a good foundation. This translates to less raw material being needed, cost savings.

“The Cold Mix is estimated to save up to 25% for resurfacing existing premix roads, 32% for new medium-to-high traffic urban roads and 40% for medium-to-high traffic rural roads,” he said, adding that its use would not involve the need for new machinery.

The state will however use the cold asphalt to patch up existing roads for now, according to Zaidy. “From these tests, we concluded that there was not enough friction created by the new premix, but it could be enhanced to be used as a surfacing premix in the future,” he explained.

Zaidy said the new asphalt would be recommended to all 12 local authorities in Selangor as well as the Public Works Department. The councils, he added, can utilise the Malaysian Road Record Information System (Marris) funds allocated to them by the state government to purchase the cold asphalt.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• thomasnotmyname on Dec 08, 2015 at 11:15 am

Yea right…

• UMW Ruined Toyota Lexus on Dec 08, 2015 at 11:17 am

No wonder tyre alignment shop getting open more and more.

• TurboMan on Dec 08, 2015 at 11:19 am

Awesome.

Keep up the good work.

I am surprised this wasn’t done years back.

Its not like this is the first day anybody realised about the state of our roads.

What about the gravel mix with shreaded tyres? Any good in our weather?

• I bet this tech was available in the world since the beginning of the decade.

Now comes next question – WHERE will it be applied to?

• Darren on Dec 08, 2015 at 11:42 am

It doesn’t matter what material they use, if the so called contractors stop cutting the corners problems like this will not occur

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Please use contractors who genuinely know how to repair roads.

• theanswer on Dec 08, 2015 at 12:44 pm

the question is..are really that dumb? or just being dishonest about their job? duit masuk..kerja nak jimat cost.

• Dun worry, this Party Hard u noe. Sure veli gud one, worth ur money. Just the other day saw their cronies, i mean contractors, re-paving the road with a 10 year old boy helping out. Value for taxpayer money and oso keep them occupied during skool holidays.

• fed up fella on Dec 08, 2015 at 11:51 am

This should be done throughout the country as the road conditions are terrible

• Why only now?
    Someone up there just got the exclusive right to bring in this asphalt.

• Susukotak on Dec 08, 2015 at 12:29 pm

& please put hump appropiately. 200m at seksyen 9 bandar baru bangi with 4/5 big hump.

• Ken Mah on Dec 08, 2015 at 12:39 pm

The contractors are using a small little steamroller to flatten the road. It does not compact the road enough to withstand the weight of heavy lorries that ply our roads. In the end, the roads becomes uneven. In the long run, potholes appear.

• nabill (Member) on Dec 08, 2015 at 12:49 pm

durable as in 6mnths rather than one month??

our roads are long gone bro , only if u use highways frequently u get to enjoy driving , otherwise its jus constant potholes ,feels like u r in a james bond movie with the constant swerving here and there to avoid them!

• ariff on Dec 08, 2015 at 1:35 pm

I believe there was a pilot project in India to mix some recycled plastic into asphalt to make it more durable. Weather there is somewhat the same as ours. Why dont the authorities look into that. That way we can also lessen plastic waste in this country.

• I always wonder once the road has been repaired and tar applied on the entire road making the road perfect. And then TNB, TM, SYABAS etc would come in dig a hole repair and then patch the road in a lousy manner. And that usually create an uneven road with potholes. Why no proper planning ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • jobless on Dec 08, 2015 at 1:47 pm

Dont just talk only….roads at Kota Damansara and Tropicana look like WARZONE…get out of the ofis and get on the ground be proactive

• komarad on Dec 08, 2015 at 2:18 pm

there’s a lot potholes at kota d’sara…

• taboogen on Dec 08, 2015 at 2:57 pm

just go into jalan kebun.. then you know what warzone is. even asking for decent road into my taman they pushed us here and there. What the fisgh

• skillful contractor also needed to repair and pave a good road lah … bangla worker no skill also no use

• cnlew on Dec 08, 2015 at 3:26 pm

The big annoying elephant in the room is, TNB, SPAD, TELEKOM and other utility contractor cutting up the road as they fancy, when they fancy and their lousy job of covering up after their work done.

• Rakyat Power on Dec 08, 2015 at 5:03 pm

I have seen my own eyes, a road project in Bestari Jaya (formerly known as Batang Berjuntai) that started almost 5 years ago and yet to be completed. It’s only around 5 km stretch road bt when it come the rain, for sure the next day there will be a big pot hole on the road. Even there is already 1 case of death road accident involving my colleague. How many more lives should be taken until government (local or federal) will open their eyes?

• Ootai on Dec 08, 2015 at 7:14 pm

They may speed up in 2 years. Or, when there’s by-election. Who’s the rep for that constituent??

• Mr Fakta on Dec 08, 2015 at 5:22 pm

The title reads “Selangor to use more durable asphalt for state roads”. So can I translate it as ” Selangor using less durable asphalt all this while”?

p.s: I’m not a racist party (you know who, UMmmmmm… i don kNOw) supporter

• Ootai on Dec 08, 2015 at 7:10 pm

When is SD going to refurbish the guthrie xpressway?? They increase the toll but maintenance is chicken feed. The roads are full of holes. In selangor samore.

• Klaus on Dec 08, 2015 at 8:05 pm

If anyone have seen how these people repaired our roads, then we wouldn’t be needing any of this new formulate recipes. Repairing roads takes expertise skills and proper procedures. And it simply isn’t just fill up the hole with bitumen and pour some water over and pat it with the shovel.

If the authorities knew how to properly repair the road, they wouldn’t even need any of these.

• Annoyed at roadworks on Dec 08, 2015 at 11:58 pm

What’s the point? The local authorities themselves are sabotaging themselves. We can have the best road material in the world but we let ppl dig up the roads to lay cables or pipes or etc then cover back the trench they dig only instead of resurfacing the whole road causing the road to be uneven and damaged even faster. Make sure that they resurface the whole road even though they dig only a portion to maintain road quality.

• Sir Mix A Lot on Dec 10, 2015 at 2:04 pm

I’ll believe it when I see it. Till that day comes, Selangor roads in particular are crap.

All theory and hype, garbage collection so called competitive and merit based, but what we actually get is crappy service. I’ve been to neighboring state NS, and the roads there are better, streets are cleaner and garbage collection is timely. No fuss, no promos….. apparently they just performed it, made it effective. Only then they announced it to the public.

• Attitude and mind set of the authorities and contractors are the main reasons why our road condition never improved.

For many years, these people has no sense of urgency and sense of responsibilities to complete the job professionally.

When you visit Bangkok, you will notice the city road surface is harder, smoother and shinier.

Our roads especially in industrial area and old township is terrible, and authorities just act blind.