The year that was – a quarter-litre class roundup

2015-Yamaha-YZF-R3-25

The 250 cc motorcycle segment is hotly contested locally, especially after some of the major manufacturers opened up assembly plants in Thailand. Many riders step up to, or begin with, 250 cc bikes, attracted by the reasonable price-to-performance ratio, easy handling and low weight, as well as license restrictions.

Behind only the under-bone (kapchai) and scooter categories in terms of popularity, the 250 cc segment is well represented in Malaysia, with all the big guys, and several of the small ones, offering at least one quarter-litre class bike in their range.

The year that was saw some interesting offerings hit the market, with many bikes following the supermotard/streetfighter styling beloved of younger riders who form much of this market segment. With low hp output, and low-to-the-ground seating, 250 cc motorcycles are firm favourites with many Asian riders.

Here is a roundup of what was available in 2015, with some snippets of what may be coming this way in 2016. Due to the large number of model types in this segment, this list is confined to road bikes, which have a lion’s share of the market.

Yamaha YZF-R25

2015-Yamaha-YZF-R250-EU-Race-Blu-Studio-001

The long-awaited Yamaha YZF-R25 was officially launched by Hong Leong Yamaha in February. This DOHC parallel-twin with four valves per puts out 35.5 hp and 22.1 Nm of torque at 10,000 rpm.

The compression ratio is 11.6:1, so you’ll have to feed it with the good stuff. Transmission is through a six-speed box and fuelling is via EFI.

Yamaha MT-03

082515-yamaha-mt-03-5

The Yamaha MT-03 has already been released in Thailand as a 321 cc naked sportsbike, while Indonesia made do with the MT-25, the smaller engined version. No word yet as to when it will officially hit local motorcycle shops, but it is said to be sometime in 2016.

The uprated engine pumps out 41 hp with 29.6 Nm of torque. Engine configuration is similar to its racier sibling, the YZF-R25.

Honda CBR250R

cbr250r-black

The Honda CBR250R has been providing sterling service since 2011, with a mid-model update in 2013. Rumours of its replacement, the CBR250RR, have been bouncing around, but no official word from Honda if the CBR250R will be replaced in 2016.

This 249 cc single features a DOHC four valve engine that is rated at 27 hp with 23.3 Nm of torque. The CBR250R is available three versions – standard at RM19,999, Repsol replica at RM20,999 and Trico with ABS at RM22,999.

Kawasaki Ninja 250 and 250SL

Kawasaki’s small Ninjas are extremely popular here, in part due to the low price. The fully-faired Ninja 250SL is new for 2015 and is lighter than its 250 counterpart

The Ninja 250, a parallel-twin with eight valves and DOHC, fuelled by EFI, while the Ninja 250SL runs with a thumper. Power is claimed to be 28 hp with 22.6 Nm of torque for the twin, and the single puts out 27.6 hp and 22.6 Nm of torque. The Ninja 250SL retails at RM17,689.

KTM RC 250 and 250 Duke

Listening to riders, KTM brought in 250 cc versions of the RC and Duke, in response to rider feedback that the 200 was a little too small, and the 390 was out of reach, license and price wise. Outwardly resembling the bigger 390 version, both the RC and Duke share almost identical specifications.

The single-cylinder engine is rated at 31.3 hp and 24 Nm of torque. While it might not sound like much, KTM’s tuning of the engine will ensure either bike spends as little time on the front wheel as possible. The RC is tagged at RM18,888 while the bare Duke is priced at RM17,888.

Suzuki Inazuma GW250Z

GW250ZL5_AY4_RightSide

Not brought in officially, the Inazuma GW250Z harks back to Suzuki’s Bandit and GS-series big bikes. Designed as an entry-level, do-anything bike, the Inazuma is targetted at the rider who wants a no-fuss daily bike.

The engine is a parallel-twin fed by EFI, and power is directed through a six-speed gearbox. No official word on power or torque figures, but somewhere around 30 hp and 20 Nm torque would be about right. It is rumoured that Suzuki will be releasing an all-new GSX-R250 in 2016.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• aikon on Dec 29, 2015 at 6:47 pm

The Kawasaki Ninja 250SL uses a single cylinder engine if I’m not mistaken. The Ninja 250 uses the parallel twin. Again, if I’m not mistaken.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • aikon you right and the cbr250r is the pre facelift model shown not the current model which has a closer semblence tocth cbr500r

• aikon on Dec 29, 2015 at 10:36 pm

You’re right too anon.

http://boonsiewhonda.com.my/english/product_CBR250R-color.html

Just saw policemen riding these. I think they are the new CBR 250 but I’m not sure. Anyone can confirm?

• syer1n on Dec 29, 2015 at 7:23 pm

about to mention the same. your response are quicker than Nissan GTR’s throttle.

• Mohan K Ramanujam (Member) on Dec 29, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Thanks for catching the error Aikon. A correction will be made.

• Consumer on Dec 29, 2015 at 10:06 pm

The full-faired Suzuki Inazuma 250F seems to be good option as new entry tourer bike if they bring it here.

• Jonn Dol on Dec 30, 2015 at 8:26 am

There has been some pictures shown yesterday of an exciting new full-faired 250cc Suzuki bike, looking like a mini GSX-R. Although the engine is rumoured to be based on the one that found on the Inazuma (maybe uprated).

• All nice looking ones from established manufacturers. For the everyday commuter biker, price will be the deciding factor.

• So, if I had RM20k something, which would be the best 250cc naked streetbike to get?

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 30, 2015 at 8:53 am

Yamaha R25 was impressive for a daily driver. Good bike so far than legendary RX-Z. Wonder whether R25 will it be any ABS system introduce soon later in 2016. Tis bike worth and much better than z250.

• kolejeon on Dec 30, 2015 at 9:01 am

I owned a CBR250R. Low maintenance, smooth weekend and long distance ride.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 30, 2015 at 9:10 am

R25 compare with CBR, which is better?in term of practicality

• kolejeon on Dec 30, 2015 at 9:32 am

I believe R25 offers the best package. The weight is light, easy to handle and it use parallel twin. Lower vibration compared to single piston bike. Not sure about maintenance cost.

• I was hoping that the 250cc 4 cylinder era will be coming back anytime next year. Seems like that is not the case for most of brands out there. Except for Kawasaki which is planning to come back with their zx250r.

• alex chan on Dec 30, 2015 at 10:50 am

most of the manufacturer wont reconsider gong back to 4 cyln engine anyore due to its reliability (the valve stem soo halus..hahah – 4 valve per cyln for 250cc)
      and not so economical.
      btw the sound emmitting from the exhaust is ohsem! :D

• afaik honda is coming up with new cbr250RR . most likely it will have 4 cylinder

• alex chan on Dec 30, 2015 at 10:47 am

thanks PT for more news on two wheels, btw i feels that comment on any bike related news is much mature than those car news section..for now lah..hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • aikon on Dec 30, 2015 at 11:42 am

Let’s keep it that way.

• Shaekey on Dec 30, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Agreed. I love reading the articles and the comments.

• MusTanG on Dec 31, 2015 at 10:33 am

I believe that’s because there’s no Toyota Superbike and Proton Superbike.

lel

• kepalabana on Jan 04, 2016 at 10:06 am

well..just wait until Same Lorrr came into this thread..then all hell break lose hahaha xD

• All 250 4 Strokes, price is not cheap, but the performance is acceptable but not outstanding, top speed around 180+/-, if who know 2 stokes, these bike is excellent, cost RM10k+/-, top speed can go 200km/h, good pickup, feel excellent, the smoke from exhaust also feel like perfume, like the king 150cc 2 stokes king “NSR150SP” with single pro-arm developed by Elf and Honda, NSR150RR, NSR150R, Kawasaki KIPS, Kawasaki Victor, Yamaha TZM & Suzuki Panther.

• alex chan on Dec 30, 2015 at 4:59 pm

those were the days where 2 stroke rules..missed those days

• aikon on Dec 30, 2015 at 5:50 pm

Had a Panther TXR150 before. Crazy fast back then! Sg Besi toll to Seremban toll in about 20 minutes? Can’t remember the speed I was running though.

• Can you put Naza Blaze TBR 250R or GTR 205R in this post? It comes with great price and performance… They have v-twin engine…

• Jebat Junior on Jan 01, 2016 at 1:46 pm

I owned a Honda CRF250L and converted into Supermoto. CRF250L and CRF250M using the same engine as Honda CBR250R, they are currently a world phenomenon in light weight dual purpose world.

• Ktm duke have better price and performance i think

• bvc100 on Jan 03, 2016 at 11:07 am

The writer seems to look only at the common brands.
    Naza got the N5 and Blade.
    Sym got the T2.
    Binelli i believe got some as well.

C’mon, be fair to everyone.
    Being common is sometimes boring.

• Everyday rider on Jan 03, 2016 at 7:17 pm

Naza N5 and Blade are Korean bikes with single cylinder engine while the Benelli has TNT 300, a 300cc inline engine (Italian name, Chinese made). Hopefully will see the Benelli TNT 250/ BN251 in 2016.

• Yamaha or Honda?? Can someone suggest with reasons??

• Alexander on Jan 04, 2016 at 12:11 am

KTM… better brakes, suspensions, and very easy handling, the bike will go as low as you dare on cornering. Race ready is the real deal.

• jonny blaze on Jan 04, 2016 at 11:41 am

When it comes to fun factor, nothing beats a supermoto. I ride an original CRF 250M.

• jonny blaze on Jan 04, 2016 at 12:11 pm

Besides pricing and specifications, and the wow factor, your decision will be influenced by the type of riding you are inclined towards.

If you stay in Cameron and works in Ipoh, the R25 is the perfect choice, for the obvious reason.

If you commute daily to work on flat roads, the Inazuma may be more suited, as it has a more upright sitting position, and won’t look out of place with a rear top box attached.

For off roads, CRF 250L and KLX 250, are excellent. The CRF 250L has been ridden on a round-the-world trip, by a lady rider.

Hooligans will love the DTracker 250 or CRF 250M.

So choose wisely. May the force be with you.

• scooter fan on Jan 25, 2016 at 5:48 am

Hi Mohan,

Good round up for manual shifts. How about doing one for 250 cc scooters? As far as I know, there is only the SYM Symphony Evo 250i. Maybe a review? Thanks and keep up the good work.