VIDEO: Proton Wira long-term unconventional review

Reading and watching reviews of brand new cars is all good and entertaining, even informative at times. However, what is the car actually like after it has undergone its fair share of usage over the years? A long-term review to put it short. Well, for owners of the Proton Wira, here’s your answer, and it comes from a local Malaysian stand-up comedian, Jason Leong.

First things first, if the title, A Delusional Review of The Proton Wira isn’t stating the obvious already, this video contains not just humour, but satire as well. Nonetheless, we’re sure some Proton Wira owners can associate with what Jason has experienced with the car before.

Purchased in 2008, the grey Wira owned by Jason is one that he cherishes thanks to its utmost loyalty in serving him for the past eight years. As long-serving as it is, Jason does point out a whole list of features that the car lacks, including, but not limited to, anti-lock brakes, CD changer, ventilated seats, premium audio system, “dignity” and etc.

However, the Wira is fitted with something not everyone might be familiar with. We won’t spoil what it is but it’ll definitely invoke two things. One, massive nostalgia for those who knows what it is at first sight. Two, massive confusion for those who don’t, and think it is a place to store your iPhone.

Jason Leong Proton Wira review

The Wira was truly ahead of its time when it came to practicality as well. Cup holders are all well and good, although the local mamak store isn’t gonna pack your teh ais in a cup but rather a plastic bag (ikat atas). Therefore, the car features a “drinks in plastic bag holder”, or better known as the teh tarik holder.

Jason continues by mentioning that his car has a problem with the locks, granting it a “keyless entry” feature as well. He goes on to point out that the NVH levels inside the car manage to cancel out the noise coming from the outside of the car as well. The noise does have a role to play in keeping the driver awake while driving, according to Jason.

Jason’s Wira is also a hit not just with animals (weirdly enough), but comes highly recommended by many. In Jason’s case, mechanics strongly favour the car but for reasons that are less than desirable for a car owner. On the other hand, Jason claims that the car remains a sound financial investment as people on the street come up to him just to hand him money for some strange reason.

Even with all these quirks, the Wira still remains loved by Jason. So, how many of you can associate with what you saw in this video? Let us know your experiences or any unique “features” you love about your car in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Wilson on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:12 am

Dude that’s how car should be reviewed and this is what i call commercials that makes people remembered you.

The teh tarik scene was hilarious.

Luv it man great day to start of keep it up dude.

Cheers,

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
    • hahaha on Jan 05, 2016 at 11:30 am

This guy’s a LEGEND!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Toyota Ex Owner on Jan 05, 2016 at 11:56 am

Its more reliable than many Toyotas and Hondas out there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 15
      • Salambangi on Jan 05, 2016 at 4:05 pm

Dear Jason

Nice review. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Paultan why don’t you have a section where we can upload our own review of our cars.I think your readers would enjoy it too. I have some reviews of my own if you need one..My 2 cents worth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Aero (Member) on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:19 am

LOL I did not expect paultan.org to post this too ! … not that I mind of course. :] I think he has a lot of potential, can’t wait for the next video !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • I have a 1.5 glm for 7 year, 2003- 2009, it was a economical car to run, sure at it last leg there is frequently small repair every 6 month it end up still cheaper to maintain my current car, at never has it left me stranded on the road for 7 year, only soaking wet cos the window decided to stay down after toll booth during a down pour

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • godcar the best on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:42 pm

So you are those monkey that kept the toll gate so jam coz have to open car door to pay toll coz the so called piece of junk power window fails.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • bunny on Jan 05, 2016 at 11:59 pm

Yikes! Thats the same thing happened to my aunt’s wira.. she was soaking wet after a trip to a mall (u know.. where you were required to wind down yr windows n insert that parking ticket). N her 2003 wira was quite problematic (rusting, cv joint kept on spoiling, water pump kept leaking). However my mum’s 2004 proton waja has served her very well. No problems at all aside from regular maintenance, changing tyres and engine mounts, the car has proven itself as a workhorse (she didn’t even have the infamous power window issue). I guess it all depends on luck. My aunt eventually sold off her wira and upgraded to cr-v n my mum is upgrading to santa-fe (retiring this year.. imagine how my uncles and aunts reacted to the news of her interest in kimch). Anyways good day!

• Gargantia on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:19 am

I love the “ikat atas” statement… My family still owning a wira 1.5 aeroback not need cup holder !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • anonymous on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:20 am

haha beli kereta baru.. da best!!

• caruser on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:21 am

witty and hilarious. Good job Jason

• Wira is not that bad, if their selling price is around RM12K

• Sammy Loo on Jan 05, 2016 at 6:39 pm

you can get it below 12k right now, it is not that bad atleast much better than the kimchi cars.

• WIRA 2003 1.3L OWNER on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:34 am

This is so long…the wire still serve me very well and easy maintenance

• powershot (Member) on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:38 am

this is hilarious. I wonder how would Jason fare if he reviews a car in the next season of driven?

• lazyf on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:47 am

Mitsubishi PROTON WIRA Lancer 2008…lol

• Narinderpal on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:49 am

Yea.. This car is hell of a car.. I still drive the SE edition with NGV.. SUPER SAVING…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • godcar the best on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:43 pm

Coz you are loser. Can’t afford Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
      • Don’t simply call someone a loser just bcause you can afford a common Japanese car.

• olio benzina on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:50 am

Did he say cheese pie or cheap buy? Enjoyed the vid. Make more Jason Leong!

• Same L0rrr on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:53 am

This proton wira with mitsubishi engine have good RV. Better than persona & waja campro! Bad RV!
    buy sushi engine better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Lol… Personally I didn’t own a Wira but a Satria from 1997-2002… 5 years of ownership taught me a lot of things with this brand.
    1) yes.. The myth of power window is true…
    2) after a while, the auto door lock would not function anymore.. True again!
    3) it comes with one driver airbag (at that time)
    4) true ABS is lacking – I had many accidents and near-miss throughly the ownership until the workshop which handled my car made a lot of money from me :(

All that being said, I didn’t lack of dignity – it was my first ever car and it served me well… All you need is to maintain it properly. Sure there are tears and wears but all cars had the same problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • I have met a lot of Wira user with the car still in good conditions after 10 years usage. If there is problems most with with accessories fitted outside Proton eg EON etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • godcar the best on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:46 pm

This wira are the cause of accidents or road hoggers. No abs and always kiss people backside. Can go fast…first korner masuk longkang. If bang with another car…straight go nirwana. Good also….can claim insurance money for use at after life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Warren Wong Yee Ket on Jan 05, 2016 at 11:08 am

I don’t know about you guys but my older-by-two-years Wira is in much better shape than his. For example, my engine is whisper quiet at highway cruising speeds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • Rinnegan on Jan 05, 2016 at 5:39 pm

@Warren Wong Yee Ket,
      So is my legendary Proton Saga Magma. Engine very quiet especially during long distance travel. But then again maybe because it was being towed by a tow truck,… ;-)

• Michael Law on Jan 05, 2016 at 11:20 am

If this Wira was bought in 2008, my everyday use Chevrolet Aveo bought in 2005 in comparison feels completely like a new car.

• Kurt Ler on Jan 05, 2016 at 11:20 am

I used to have a 1993 1.6XLi Wira Aeroback and I am still owning a 2003 1.5GLi Wira Sedan.

I wouldn’t say it is comfort, safe or good handling car but it is definitely a very reliable and easy maintenance car. Moreover, parts are not expensive. Perhaps, Jason needs a good mechanic?

The best Proton Wira (perhaps one of the best Proton’s cars) is the Millenium Edition. It only available with 1.6 litre engine and also comes with leather seat and airbags. It is consider luxury offer back to year 2000. During that time, Wira Competitor – Corolla SEG or Civic EK were asking for RM 110k. But, Wira Millenium Edition priced at RM 65K.

P/S: All 1.6XLi Wira come with cup holders :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • nabill (Member) on Jan 05, 2016 at 12:16 pm

agree . i had the 1.6 way back and it was great actually,zero problems,ample of power,and dirt cheap to maintain…it wasnt as solid as it should be but it was the best wira!
      oh,stil better than myvi IMO!

• amirul rasdi on Jan 05, 2016 at 11:23 am

hahahaha…very funny video

• TEOH SENG KEAT on Jan 05, 2016 at 11:47 am

i bought my first car in 1995 a brand new proton wira 1.5 manual. i sold it in 2012 after driving it for 17 years. through out my onership i changed the power windows 3 times, one for front passanger side and twice for driver side. i also changed the carborater , air cond compresser, radiotor once each. i also changed the 4 absobers twice. the above are the major parts that i have changed. in total it served me 197k km. not so bad. the only complain i have is the fuel comsumption after 10 years. when it was brand new full tank fuel can serve me 500 km, at the end before i sold it , full tank fuel can last for 170 km only even after i sent it for overhaul.

• godcar the best on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:49 pm

One full tank 170km mileage. Your wira got evolution vr4 ah. Anyway, it just shows you got con by your mechanic after overhaul still sucks. Bad fuel consumption could also be due to your carburettor need to be replaced la. Bodoh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Proton Wira is not that bad. My Wira 1.5 served me for past 20years with minimal maintenance. Sound acoustic may not be good but I don’t encounter any problem so called “sound cancellation” effect. This can easily be solved by replacing the door seal. Cars in early day what accessory will we aspect?

• godcar the best on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:50 pm

Coz you are deaf with all the head banging Saturday night session at disco. So to you….wira is like lexus quiet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • tokmoh. on Jan 05, 2016 at 11:56 am

The myvi before myvi.

Still feels like the myvi of used car market. Dirt cheap to buy, easy and cheap to maintain, the ideal economical workhorse. The most sensible buy for first time car buyer on a budget.

• Kancil owner on Jan 05, 2016 at 11:59 am

Please review kancil as well

• Its about sentimental value. I owned 2002 wira. Window problem , auto lock problem and no air bag. But Its serve me well & still keep till today.Importantly i do regular servise on its engine. So tepuk dada tanya selera.

• Wira owner on Jan 05, 2016 at 12:25 pm

I can consider he does not maintain the car well…My wira still work well and the engine still powerful without any mod on it

• Rosysam on Jan 05, 2016 at 12:33 pm

I bought my Proton Wira 1.5 Manual way back in 1997 and travelled all over the country. Still using it without any problems. Reason: I have been servicing regularly in the authorised Proton service workshop. If you don’t care for your car and thrash it, you end up with junk.

• krish on Jan 05, 2016 at 1:01 pm

Such a beautiful car.. i had it for so many yrs. Easy maintanance n tis car will never let u down. But now ive changed to Saga fl. Got a 3yrs old car n been using it for a yr now. Zero complian. Best cars for short distance daily car..

• ben yap on Jan 05, 2016 at 1:18 pm

why all his wheel covers went missing?

• idealtech on Jan 05, 2016 at 1:21 pm

As far as i hate all of those defects of the proton wira, i’m content with the 3-speeder 1.5gli of mine. Long highway cruise of 140km/h is still superior than that of my 2010 Myvi.

• godcar the best on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:53 pm

Hahaha poor sob trying to justify 1.5 with 3 speed autobox is better than myvi. Your fuel economy is worst than a 3 litres engine my harrier going at 140kmh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • ben yap on Jan 05, 2016 at 1:24 pm

this car got 5 star crash test kah?

• godcar the best on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:54 pm

Instant nirwana. Please call 1-800-samcoffin. Extra 50% hell bank note and paper wira car for the departed.

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Jan 05, 2016 at 1:54 pm

Oh man, this clip certainly brings back nostalgic memories. Used to drive the 1995’s Wira that comes with an old school 1.5 MAGMA engine, cable throttle and most importantly, 5MT.

Man, that thing was a hoot to drive compared to many today’s electronic cars with fly-by wire throttle and all sorts of autobox. It certainly FEELS peppier and more fun compared to many today’s “high tech” car. Those 1990’s Wira are simply marvelous, cheap to maintain reliable workhorse, it doesn’t comes with EFI engine and it doesn’t has rusty body and leaking roof that is seen on later production Wiras. If you own one, cherish it.

Sadly, coming into the 2000’s, Proton has became too arrogant and quality started to deteriorates rapidly and the rest is history. As much as I hate Proton, those 1993-1998 Wira are really good budget cars.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 05, 2016 at 1:57 pm

Well I’ve personally seen Wiras that are much worse than his and Wiras which are in much better condition so I would put his in the middle spot.

• Review lousy Myvi, Viva, Vios and Saga too

• jasonthegreat on Jan 05, 2016 at 2:22 pm

bhahahahahaha.. cant stop laughing.. great

• Maxchua on Jan 05, 2016 at 2:30 pm

My mum have a proton wira 1.5, bought at 1993, around RM38k, during that time, we are very proud to have a car.. Last year, My mum sold the car for RM2.5k, for me, it still a good car, depend on how you use it.

• amirad on Jan 05, 2016 at 3:17 pm

As owner of a 1997 wira 1.5 gl for 11 years, I could relate the guy’s experience. Noise cancellation technology, that’s a good one. If only the amplitude of wira vibration is the same as the external vibration but out of phase, the wira will be whisper quiet.

• Good for a laugh… but seriously I own a 11 year old wira 1.5 Gli manual… and it has served the family so superbly and it’s a steal when it comes to maintenance… I spend
    less than RM1000 for maintenance a year! Or would you rather pay RM1000 for a new car every month?

For me it’s a keeper… more for nostalgic values… but the best is driving up Cameron’s…. this manual car glides up effortlessly while more modern auto’s hesitate to navigate through the sharp corners…

Ultimately it’s all your own point-of-view…

• jobless on Jan 05, 2016 at 4:12 pm

Me driving 22 year old Wira and the handling and the stability is actually much superior to any new or old Mivii during cornering…thinking of upgrading to God car tis year and become Ah Beng

• godcar the best on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:59 pm

Cannot la…u r jobless. How to buy godcar? Maybe tiara can la….N you can proclaim…I am french conti lover. At least you can tt with all the french sorhai at mechanic workshop every weekend. Good for lonely people.

• Kelvin Ang on Jan 05, 2016 at 6:32 pm

He gonna be very famous in no time! The Legend Jason Leong!

• legendary malaysian car…

• Kucipan on Jan 07, 2016 at 12:40 am

This car is freedom of mind, i own many cars, cheap car only, defender, merc w210, gen.2, savvy,suzuki erv,pajero,suzuki vitara,saga blm, iswara, some of them i sold n some of them left in junk due to repair cost n unavailable parts. but wira still maintain.. sometimes cause me trouble but still acceptable since the spare parts is cheap, i dont care what people are saying but i love my wira. It gives me freedom of mind…fyi i also use my wira masuk kebun n carrying heavy things etc engine, tong ngv, sawit,

• Tony stark on Aug 05, 2016 at 6:26 pm

Hey guys can you xplain why so much wira broke on the highway shoulder nowaday, other car are randomly broke but wira is so many. Please reply if you are long distance runner everyday accros the state. Tq

• Kitty Kat on Jun 04, 2018 at 3:16 pm

Hi, I own a 2001 Proton Wira and I’m still using it to commute to work. I’d like to ask if there are any reliable mechanics for Proton Wira around Kland valley? Still struggling to find a reliable and honest mechanic. Thanks

• I know one car mechanic that has so far, solved many weird prob of a Proton Wira bought my parent back in early 2000 and still served our family well. It’s in Bukit Sentosa and the mechanic shop is called ‘Gemilang Car Service’. The shop is at a building in front of tapak Pasar Malam. Far from Klang Valley but worth it if you got some unsolved mysteries that regular mechanic can’t fixed.