Volkswagen Malaysia overtrade programme takes in your old car, throws in additional rebates

Volkswagen Polo Facelift 1

In line with the upcoming Chinese New Year celebrations, Volkswagen Malaysia will be running an overtrade programme from now till January 31. Those who trade-in their cars are in line for substantial rebates off their next Volkswagen vehicle.

VGM-Overtrade-Programme

The overtrade promo welcomes all vehicles, regardless of model and brand, to be traded-in. However, all cars will be subject to prior inspection by the authorised Volkswagen dealers, who will make the final decision on acceptance and value. Vehicle registration must be completed within the promo period.

A rough guide on overtrade support for each VW model is in the chart above. The figures are the rebates VW is offering on top of the traded-in car’s value. Let’s say you and the dealer agree on a trade-in value of RM50k, and you’re interested in a 2014 Jetta, deduct RM82k off the list price. Visit the dealers for more info.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 2014 still available for sale? OMG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Sammy Loo on Jan 06, 2016 at 6:25 pm

This is why you shouldn’t cheat.

Look at Jetta, Passat, Beetle and CC still available with 2014 stocks. The depreciation for a 2 year old car is way more than the overtrade value. These cars got bad RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
    • camtakpro on Jan 07, 2016 at 9:55 am

Hence the overtrade price should roughly 40%~50% of the price for 2014 models.

• They din factor in depreciation for buying 2014 car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Your road tax starts from 2016 leh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • RV depends on year of manufacture, bub

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 08, 2016 at 12:04 am

So common, especially with Proton! Their new car are not meant to be driven but at warehouse doing years long UV test. 2014 Suprima S still available.Seriously no one would pay so much for the junk.

• rosdi on Jan 06, 2016 at 6:51 pm

Orang gila je beli Polo Sedan harga 91 ribu….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
    • Get back jojo on Jan 06, 2016 at 8:35 pm

Yang beli peugeot lagi gila

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • theanswer on Jan 07, 2016 at 8:45 am

downside of pug is the reliability. at least pug give better safety spec.

• Zas Zahari on Jan 07, 2016 at 10:38 am

In terms of reliability here only merc & bms .. i wonder why other brands of continental are all sucking customer pocket? And most of their service centre has never learned.

• Tempted but no no…
    Gonna use my current Polo TSI till end of life and switch to another brand..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • camtakpro on Jan 07, 2016 at 9:53 am

Thank you for supporting VW. We have a lot of stock for your dual-clutch replacement, just pay RM4000 (subject to inflation) every time, until the end of life.

• Aiyo…. i prefer honda over vw. Hopefuly there is a Hondagate in near future, so i can buy it with lots of offers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • hondagate will be quite difficult.
      japanese dont scam.

maybe the sluggish soft CVT gearbox will have a gradual sales impact..You can get rebate later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
      • Japanese worst!!! Just look at Takata’s airbag cheating that involves life!!!

• klguy on Jan 07, 2016 at 9:24 am

japanese dont scam?? still remember the takata-gate?

• camtakpro on Jan 07, 2016 at 9:49 am

Mitsubishi is the Jap scam leader. Had their factory halted by Jap Gov as well.

• tak laku!!!! hahahaha.

• Megazaboo on Jan 06, 2016 at 8:32 pm

Hahaha still got 2014 stock? Supposedly rm60000 rebate for that stock

• ambe la on Jan 06, 2016 at 9:13 pm

money hunger brand, even thought claimed as low fuel consumption car and low maintenance but the truth is…………….

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 06, 2016 at 9:32 pm

2014 cars still being sold in 2016?

Are the sales THAT bad? Though to be fair, from a price perspective, it looks good, but would I buy a car that sat in a lot for 2 whole years? No way.

• Donwan BR1M on Jan 06, 2016 at 9:36 pm

VW having big problem now….Salespeople will be outta job before CNY.

VW oredi having so many old stock, so unwanted by ppl due to nagging mechanical problem, poor service, poor resale-value……and last year VW become the biggest international LIAR….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • takNakP1 on Jan 06, 2016 at 9:44 pm

after rebate, the price still overpriced

• KennyFang on Jan 06, 2016 at 10:21 pm

The depreciation of a 2 year old Conti car should be about 35%. If you take 35% of the car price as depreciation you can see that the rebate they are offering is much less than the depreciation.

Aside from the monetary aspect a car sitting for 2 years in the open air yard is bound to have problems especially deterioration of paintwork, tyres, rubber lining and electronics.

Buy with care!

• James on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:49 pm

Im totaly agreed with u. This is a serious aspect that anyone planing to buy a car shld look into. A stand still car for teo years is wosrt thn any running car for 4 yrs

• Kevinlai on Jan 06, 2016 at 10:23 pm

After rebate the Jetta is RM102,888 but I can buy a Mazda 3 GL spec at RM105,000 and it’s a current year car, not a 2 years old car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Jimmy on Jan 06, 2016 at 11:26 pm

2nd hand car dealer: I take this Vios for rm45k.
    Salesman go and tell you: the 2nd hand dealer offer rm41k and still need to inspect your car to finalise.
    The difference goes into somebody’s pocket and you do not enjoy the full rebate (you lose rm4k upfront).
    Youngsters: don’t be so naive.

• Oh mak lu cina on Jan 06, 2016 at 11:47 pm

Memang tak laku VW. DRB-HICOM ingat VW company besar CKD VW boleh jual. Sekarang, padan muka. Stok semua sangkut.

• azrai on Jan 07, 2016 at 8:53 am

The VW salesmen should consider work in bauxite industry this year.

• Aero (Member) on Jan 07, 2016 at 9:28 am

Damn, VGM is getting desperate, but they brought it upon themselves. Like Dieselgate, they must fix what they started.

• Kimtk on Jan 07, 2016 at 10:06 am

Share my real experience about VW.
    I bought a Polo Tsi in 2014 which the car manufacture in 2013 with RM15k rebate but guess what the car cost RM129k+, I knew that VW has increased the price and give a discount rebate. Last year I went to check the used car price for my car from the dealers (check 2 used car dealer), both of them offer me below RM60k. My instalment only 16th in my record. I asked why so low, the dealers told me they offered the price based on current market “Polo 1.6″… Omg.. Polo 1.6 and Polo 1.2 tsi is totally different but the dealers just told these are the guidelines whether I take it or leave it.

• Listen “Prior inspection by the authorised Volkswagen dealers, who will make the final decision on acceptance and value.” I afraid if i trade in old VW, the dealer might reject to offer any since no value at all.

• atz1999 on Jan 08, 2016 at 7:12 pm

Few years back we could recognized VW driver especially golf and scirocco drive fast on the highway with nose up and expected people ‘looks at me i am driving german engineering’. Nowadays this driver getting slow down because people know they are buying scrap metal from german