National brands market share below 50% not good for Malaysian automotive industry – Perodua chairman

2015_Perodua_Myvi_facelift_vs_Proton_Iriz_ 001

At the official opening of the Perodua Global Manufacturing factory this morning, P2 chairman Tan Sri Asmat Kamaludin said that the combined share of national brands Proton and Perodua is now below 50% of the Malaysian market, and this is not healthy for the local automotive industry.

“While we understand the government’s intention to liberalise the automotive industry in the near term, we believe that the country’s automotive eco-system, consisting of local vendors and dealers, as well as original equipment manufacturers like Perodua, has yet to reach a point where we can fairly compete with other established global brands,” he said.

“This is because we have yet to reach the level of maturity, in terms of economies of scale, cost competitiveness and even quality, which other established global brands. If the percentage continues to slide to below 45% then many of the local dealers and vendors may have to cease operations and this will have a negative impact on the economy as a whole,” added Asmat, who is also the group chairman of Perodua stakeholder UMW Holdings.

2015_Perodua_Myvi_facelift_vs_Proton_Iriz_ 003

In a press conference later in the day, with minister of domestic trade co-operatives and consumerism Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainuddin present, Asmat elaborated on the topic.

“We expect national brands to be above 50%. Proton and Perodua have a higher degree of localisation. Perodua buys RM5 billion of parts locally – bigger volume means bigger opportunities for local vendors. So it’s important for us to have a bigger market share,” he said, adding that one must be strong in its home market before thinking of exports, citing Hyundai-Kia‘s domination of the South Korean market.

Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said that his company’s estimated 2015 market share based on a total industry volume of 667,000 units is around 32%, which is higher 2014’s 29.4%. The figures are not final as the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) is yet to reveal official numbers. An update will be given later this month.

2014 malaysia market share

“Our journey will continue. We need to do more, we need to accelerate. We’re already competing with other brands, not just national brands,” he said.

The market share decline of national makes is no sudden phenomenon, and is largely due to Proton’s decline as Perodua has been relatively consistent in holding around 30% share, and pole position. Proton controlled over half of the domestic market back in 2001, but now commands less than one third of what it used to enjoy. Put together, the local players’ share of the market has seen a steady drop over the years, but the point where they surrendered the lead to the non-national makes happened in 2014.

Local or foreign, the strong will survive in the era of liberalisation. Perodua – with a transformation programme in place to be globally competitive in quality, cost and delivery – looks well equipped to sail in the real ocean.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Protonimator on Jan 12, 2016 at 6:26 pm

Hell I care if proton and perodua goes bankrupt. For all I know I’ll enjoy cheaper imported cars. My foot you’re not on fair playing ground. Take the excise duty off and see how much market share you can control.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 260 Thumb down 16
    • Rebadge Vios with Perodua emblem lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
      • Perodua Vios on Jan 12, 2016 at 9:52 pm

Good idea

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • Open Letter to Asmat and Aminar on Jan 13, 2016 at 7:27 am

Hello Asmat and Aminar. Don’t talk about competition. They want the most basic safety put into Perodua cars. VSC and ABS also tak ada, you all want to do all this mumbo jumbo about local share???

Remember Asmat and Aminar, Perodua, like Proton has been given a free ride in Malaysia. Not just Proton but also Perodua also have been given maximum protection from MITI. MITI has virtually forced all other car brands to price 30% above your prices to protect both Proton and Perodua.

So, Perodua, the past 20 years have been given a free passport in Malaysia. But in return, they cannot even give us buyers ABS or VSC in their cars.
          This what happens when crony UMW has a big share in Perodua. Just like Toyota, they take out the basic and essential safety features at the expense of our lives.

And who owns UMW? Majority owned by our beloved Kerajaan, PNB, Khazanah and EPF.

Enough of wasting RM1.3 billion and talking like a sore loser. Just use that money to give basic safety features in your existing current cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • acahjer on Jan 12, 2016 at 10:05 pm

Perodua Hailat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • Asmat Pls Take Pay Cut on Jan 13, 2016 at 7:29 am

Malaysians want is lower prices. Your boss Najib already promise the rakyat 30% reduction in car prices. As a national car maker, you should start first reducing your car prices before others start to follow. Dont talk about losing market share to below 50%

Do you know why you have done well the past 20 years? You have done well merely because MITI has jacked up the prices of all other cars by RM30k that we Malaysians are forced to buy your car, being the cheapest.

But your car has ZERO safety features which puts of lives and our family in constant danger. We can only pray that we don’t meet an accident. If that happens, we are dead on the spot. Until today, still no VSC. VSC is now basic and compulsory in any car in Europe.

Again I tell you, please don’t compromise on yours cars. You have indeed done well with your cars but at our detriment and at the expense of our safety. We are no more your guinea pigs Perodua. Give us cheaper prices as well as VSC and more airbags.

People always pick and condemn Proton but you too have got all the Protectionism like Proton. Yes, Proton may have sucked tens of billions to stay afloat, but you Perodua, though you have not sucked that much, you have benefitted from MITI protectionism.

Honda for instance was about to sell their Honda City for RM50k. But this proposal was shot down by MITI. How do I know? Well I used to work for Honda at a very high level. We used to negotiate with MITI. But MITI was always demanding we increase our prices.

So, Perodua, don’t be proud of your Rm1.3 bil plant, especially this EEV. Your cars, still can be reduced further and improve safety features. We are overpaying you as you have still not reduced your car prices by 30% as promised by your big boss Najib and given us safey features.

You are still screwing the lower income people. The big guns in Perodua Boardroom all earn 6 figures per month so they don’t know about the man on the street who still earns RM900 per month. People say, even with RM10k is hard to live in KL. Can you imagine somebody earning RM900?

We tend to blame Toyota and Honda for high prices but let us assume they are for the middle upper class and Perodua is for the middle lower and lower income people.
          Perodua is still very pricey and burdensome for the lower income. Don’t be proud Perodua. Lower your car prices Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
        • Proton below 20% lah on Jan 13, 2016 at 7:39 am

By the way, Proton sales are far worse than the statistics show. Cause half the Protons are bought by Spanco, Bomba, PDRM, TUDM, Tentera etc. In actual fact, sales to the public is about 20% and not what Asmat says 50%

• How Hyundai Can Succeed? on Jan 13, 2016 at 7:38 am

Proton is just not a focussed company. The same with Perodua. For example, Proton and Hyundai started about the same time. Hyundai maybe started about 8 years earlier. just see where both companies are.

Hyundai is a global player. They sell about 7 million cars per year globally. They are No 4 in world rankings for car sales. Toyota is No 1.

Proton, which stated about the same time, with MITI 100% protecting them and forcing 30 million rakyat to buy their cars, all Government departments strictly told to buy only Proton every year, PDRM also strictly told to buy Proton every year, Bomba, Telekom Malaysia and all GLC also told to buy Proton every year and yet, it can go into financial difficulty and about to be bankrupt.

Every year also Spanco buys berpuluh puluh Protons to lease to the government.
        How can Hyundai and Proton be so different. Both started about the same time. But Korean Government never force GLC and Government department to buy Korean cars and yet, they can do so well Globally.

Something is wrong with Proton and Perodua. It needs to be shut down. Given so much of help and BOTH also now sucking the Government big time.

By the way, Proton sales are far worse than the statistics show. Cause half the Protons are bought by Spanco, Bomba, PDRM, TUDM, Tentera etc. In actual fact, sales to the public is about 20% and not what Asmat says 50%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • Ponggiri Ponggiri on Jan 13, 2016 at 9:48 am

Hyundai also got govt protection like Proton. All Korean govt dept must purchase Korean made vehicle. Foreign imports must pay higher tax. The big difference between Hyundai and Proton is the size of local captive market. Koreans in general are also support their own products in spite of hate of their corrupt govt/industry captains and early teething problems of their cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • Hyundai started way before the local carmakers here..I’m perplexed as we live in an age w where facts can be checked with a simple Google Search and we still have such brainless comments….

With that out of the way..Asmat failed to mention that when the local carmakers enjoyed absolute dominance from the early 90s to the early 2000’s and were raking it in..they failed to strategically reinvest that money to get ready for the next decade..
            a lot of the profit was instead used to overpay crony suppliers who begin to cut quality to match the numbers as they had also got comfortable with huge profits that were coming in…

the industry just stopped and enjoyed the cash instead of worrying on how to make the next Billion/million or getting out of their comfort zone …

and that’s why we are here today..where ceos on fat paychecks are still talking about the Korean story and how they are loyal and we were not…lame mofo’s

• Dreamer on Jan 12, 2016 at 6:59 pm

Lol you are dreaming…pls wake up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • George Abdul on Jan 12, 2016 at 7:10 pm

Two brands want to take 50% market share of this whole country this fellow much have big “Ego and Greed” in his mind… Cronies Tan sri want to monopoly the industry by himself. Luckily Rakyat not to his foolish idea !!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 4
      • Close Down Proton and Perodua on Jan 13, 2016 at 7:33 am

It is solely because of Proton and Perodua that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. 30 years, Proton and Perodua rogol all of us.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

Our cars compared to global cars are completely stripped down. Even basic car in the US got about 20 safety features that the same car in Malaysia does not have. Purposely taken out to cut cost even further and untung more profit.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton and Perodua. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton and Perodua sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton and Perodua also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, and Perodua, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.
        Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand. This is another rape like when Mitsubishi raped us for 20 years with low quality engines and parts.

If Proton or Perodua was not in Malaysia in the first place, you will have a few hundred thousand ringgit extra in your pocket!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • Leonardo on Jan 13, 2016 at 9:40 am

Sorry to say this, you are living in the past. In the 70s a Mercedes Benz C 200 was RM 23,000.00. Less than the price of an entry level Axia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
          • Mercedes Benz C 200 didn’t even exist in the 70s. The first C-Class was only introduced in 1993. My family got one Mercedes Benz 200 in 70s cost about RM40K++.

• Tahar on Jan 13, 2016 at 2:50 pm

Totally agree

Even by today standard , the 70’s era mercedes benz quality , durability, safety and comfort level is still miles ahead of all these modern costlier and milo tin Perodua cars.

No wonder many people in Malaysia still want to keep this iconic Benz model forever in the expense of totally scrapping off their unsafe Perodua cars much earlier than the expected 15 years life span been mooted.

• Just want to point out that US$22000 is over RM90k not RM60k. Our currency not so good boss.

• non sense on Jan 13, 2016 at 1:08 pm

Your fact not really true. How can you compared cars from early 90’s with new car without consider inflation. How you you could prove that Malaysia lost trillions in investment and hundred billions. You just been to exaggerated.

The problem are with the government. Not solely on Proton or Perodua. You keep brought old story about protecting even you couldn’t justify it well.

I don’t want to argue more because argue with this kind of people will not bring any benefit instead will bring your level to their level.

• calcutta on Jan 12, 2016 at 9:27 pm

i can imagine their conversation if they being honest:
      “not good for malaysian to have more choices,because people tend to buy better product”
      “not good because perodua still weak as twigs when facing competitors that already been burdened by heavy taxes”
      “not good when we forced to improve our product to be competitive,malaysian don’t need this obviously,they just need to buy our product”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • OMG…their face very thick and wont shy, Is totally showing they r incompetent….really loser…

• papajon on Jan 13, 2016 at 9:36 am

Majority of the shareholders / investors are Malaysian Chinese, as these are they prefer to invest compared to others…you saying to close shop, give up, quit and so on will only result in losses for majority of MALAYSIANS.

• Bapa Protong on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:31 am

That’s the different mentality animal you are talking to….they either katak or monopolized king can’t faced the challenge world wide that’s why bring the nation to such situation

• Shia Labeouf on Jan 12, 2016 at 10:02 pm

Just Give Up !!!

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jan 12, 2016 at 10:09 pm

Exactly, thailand economy booming with all foreign brands operating and creating employment opportunities. Whats the problem tan sri? By the way perodua fundamentally is daihatsu,go build ur true own engine and u can talk abt malaysia automotive industry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Albert on Jan 12, 2016 at 11:21 pm

Protonimator,by right P1 and 2 should enjoy only 10 percent market share.
      90 percent should go to Toyota,Honda,Mazda and Nissan,followed by Kimchi cars.
      No thanks to the voluptous SUPER DUPER DUTIES,THE RAKYAT have been forced to buy Proton and Perodua.
      It has been SHAMBOLIC the past 30 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • Actman on Jan 13, 2016 at 1:04 am

Very well said. Both were racist companies. What? Did you see any Chinese or Indians name appeared on their BOD seats? Serve them right if both of ’em went bankrupts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
      • Nobody complaining who name appears on Tan Chong BOD dude. Keep your racist comment yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Leonardo on Jan 13, 2016 at 9:31 am

Why are you bringing race into this issue? Is it not the same for Edaran Tan Chong? 38% of P1 is owned by UMW. Who is UMW?

• alldisc on Jan 13, 2016 at 11:42 am

i never complaint about Berjaya Mazda, owned by vincent tan.

or the Goh brothers group… which owns
        2 toyota outlet (telagamas)
        at least 2 lexus outlet (penang, ipoh)
        at least 1 audi outlet
        at least 6 VW outlet (3 in the north, 3 in klang valley)

all managers employed are of course chinese – malays are either the mechanic level or clerk.

i apologised to bring this up but i never intended to be racists but this is the scenario we faced today. at least, there is still some balance there.

• alldisc on Jan 13, 2016 at 7:41 pm

in the eyes on business,its either productive,or not productive
          if 2 candidates came up for manager position interview,one is lazy chinese,another is hardworking malay,no boss is stupid enough to hire the lazy chinese.
          in the world of business,its fair game,only the malay politicial who trying hard to keep their malay support argue otherwise.
          it is not chinese or anybody being racist for only hiring productive worker,that is the REALITY OF COMMERCIAL WORLD

• OMG…they just wanna jaga their own pocket to ensure got money kaw kaw…

• Are you sure when Proton and Produa bankrupt Gov will wave the import permit (AP) and the price will cheap?
      In your dream.

• hello toyota,honda,nissan such toyota vios are Made in Malaysia not made in Japan. This toyota vios is design by tomyam people not sushi and Japan don’t have toyota vios

• Wiwiwiwiwiw on Jan 12, 2016 at 6:28 pm

Hello? What h*rs*sh*t you’re talking? You guys are no different than those macai taxi fellas against uber or grabcar.

Perodua is not a car manufacturer. You guys are just an assembler, a licensed to sell Daihatsu under your own brand name.

Bet they’re feeling the pain cause only the Axia is selling and the others are just slow moving stocks.

With what this country is heading, I am going to sacrifice new car smell, cut my spendings, avoid 10% service charge restaurants l, use public transport whenever i can and save save save.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 1
  • IrizX on Jan 12, 2016 at 6:29 pm

Good. Please close shop, both of them!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 6
    • Notakata on Jan 12, 2016 at 7:01 pm

Yeah and go die in car with takata airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • RejimKejamGanas on Jan 12, 2016 at 7:56 pm

Proton/P2 also use Takata airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • I’m sure Proton doesn’t.

• Correction. P1 din skimp on giving cheapest price airbag. They went for Autoliv from Sweden which wun kill you.

• Trix are for kids on Jan 13, 2016 at 7:43 am

Like no one has ever died in a proton due to its various weak parts, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Leonardo on Jan 13, 2016 at 9:43 am

Wrong dude. You are shooting in the dark. P1 uses Autoliv airbags.

• kenneth Fook on Jan 12, 2016 at 6:30 pm

The current tax system in Malaysia not good for national cars to innovate further. -Rakyat.

Think twice before talking crap la….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
  • kenneth F on Jan 12, 2016 at 6:33 pm

Competition breeds innovation. With the current state, i can see no innovation on the national cars end. Only ppl forking out more to pay for foreign cars because they are afraid of the resale value and lemons problem the national car would bring them. Especially the P brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • P2macai on Jan 12, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Eh vios got engine and gearbox change? All variants of Japs cars here got those safety gadgets like in USA?

• One last whine on Jan 12, 2016 at 6:37 pm

Oh yeah, u guys might shout and force the gov to help u, but we, we wont help u. Without us as customers, u r nothing. Your days r numbered.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
  • ben yap on Jan 12, 2016 at 6:37 pm

this means it’s time for P1 and P2 to close shop. even with government protection also lose market share… really hopeless.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
  • proton employees on Jan 12, 2016 at 6:42 pm

I wonder if this chairman even drive produa on daily basis. go dive you low spec axia with no stereo la.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 1
    • Youchildish on Jan 12, 2016 at 7:05 pm

I am butcher so must I eat meat everyday?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
      • RejimKejamGanas on Jan 12, 2016 at 7:54 pm

So do you change car every day also?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
        • younobrain on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:51 am

OMG you got brain or not?
          This is about using your own product not changing car everyday!

• dirtyoldmen on Jan 12, 2016 at 8:00 pm

do you also take 9 year loan to buy your meat?

p.s. don’t try to use stupid irrelevant analogies. your logic is broken.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
      • proton employees on Jan 12, 2016 at 8:30 pm

maybe you should eat some of you meat , eating too much bulls**t already scramble you brain.

• Ninja on Jan 12, 2016 at 6:46 pm

So surprised… Perodua also protek, protek, protek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • potek potekkkk on Jan 12, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Perodua minta tongkat ni…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • Wiwiwiwiwiw on Jan 12, 2016 at 6:51 pm

There has been awakening, have you felt it? Less than 50% is super healthy!

Hello? What are you talking? You guys are no different than those taxi fellas against uber or grabcar.

Perodua is not a car manufacturer. You guys are just an assembler, a licensed to sell Daihatsu under your own brand name.

Bet they’re feeling the pain cause only the Axia is selling and the others are just slow moving stocks.

With what this country is heading and how we are being paid and taxed, I am going to sacrifice new car smell, cut my spendings, avoid 10% service charge restaurants, I use public transport whenever i can and save save save.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • wiwiwiwiw on Jan 12, 2016 at 11:29 pm

Sorry guys for repeating the message content, thought that my first message didn’t go thru. God bless Malaysia!

• boring car on Jan 12, 2016 at 6:52 pm

WTF just sell 3 model in their own line-up but want to monopoly 50% of the market??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
  • Oh mak lu cina on Jan 12, 2016 at 7:07 pm

less people buying bangsat cars is a good thing. As we move into becoming a high income nation we will not be needing bangsat class cars now would we?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • dodgeviper88 on Jan 12, 2016 at 7:08 pm

A few things to take from this article
    1. The fact he’s talking about the local automotive industry only shows he is not interested in the rakyat’s welfare, as indirectly we’re funding the local industry with high taxes
    2. He talks about local automotive industry not reaching maturity and efficiency, but records show they’re not improving but deteriorating. If I have a staff that show’s deteriorating performance, instead of giving him more pay I will fire him instead.
    3. Enough of this threats about the economy being affected shall the local automotive industry is not doing well. For one it’s an open secret all these vendors and suppliers are cronies to the government and will be easily sourced at a cheaper rate with higher quality elsewhere. As mentioned earlier rakyat is indirectly funding the local automotive industry with high taxes. Shall these be removed cars will be much cheaper and the rakyat will have more disposable income that will be spent towards other things thus on a macroeconomic view the economy will not be affected at all

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
  • Haslinda on Jan 12, 2016 at 7:11 pm

It’s good that the local shares are decreasing. If you continue your current pride in making lousy garbage cars for Malaysians you both will close shop soon. I sincerely wish proton and Perodua can close shop for the sake of all Malaysians. You think Malaysians are idiots by selling them junk cars? Poor quality, lousy engines, ugly, no refinement, noisy and unsafe cars? We Malaysians seriously are sick and had enough of both of these 2 manufacturers. Proton and Perodua shud really get the F*** out of Malaysia to end the torture and suffering Malaysians have to endure buying better cars at unscrupulous high prices.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 3
  • Jeremy on Jan 12, 2016 at 7:17 pm

Market share down because Malaysian are heading to high income nation, it’s a good sign!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • rakyat on Jan 12, 2016 at 7:17 pm

so you asking people to buy you car now for the sake of industry . ha ha ha.. we all know you only says that so govement will bail you out when produa going to bankrupt.
    I hate the most when proton and produa say they help rakyat by producing cheap car, eventhrouh people already know foren car get high tax just so people buy you car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Jobless on Jan 12, 2016 at 7:23 pm

And the CEO and marketing teams still continues to earn big fat paychecks their job mainly to make stupid statements like tis guy despite the declining market share..if this is America they would have been scaked long long time ago

• Joe Jambul on Jan 12, 2016 at 7:27 pm

Kia and hyundai is not only dominate their home market but globally they are no 4 in the world based on sales. 8 million per year. Yet perodua until now still want to enjoy local sales and never think to start export their cars.

• Sammy Loo on Jan 13, 2016 at 1:12 am

Perodua is exporting a number of Myvi to Indonesia as the Sirion and also UK previously.

• shawal on Jan 12, 2016 at 7:30 pm

well…..the first step into solving a problem is admitting you have one…~!

• proton on Jan 12, 2016 at 7:33 pm

from the graph proton going to bankrupt in 3 years.. nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • years after years people have lern better to save money go buy low variant vios, almera,city and other.. as long they didn’t buy low quality proton . question is when proton and produa going to learn ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Having national makes was the biggest problem in the first place! Don’t bother looking so far at South Korea, just look at our neighbours Thailand and Indonesia!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Najib dun gip an F about Tun M baby. He has begun liberalising these industries that used to be protected (ie cars, steel, utilities, etc). This opening to sink or swim competition is good for the market and Malaysia in general.

Only short-sighted malaysians, taikors whose businesses were those protected, and ex-leader whose legacy is endangered, would feel threatened by this expanded ocean of fishes and sharks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • RejimKejamGanas on Jan 12, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Pergi mampus la. Ingat, UMW, DRB-HICOM, Naza, Inokom, pun lanun macam Proton/Perodua juga. Esok mereka pun minta simpati kerajaan, nak tolong siapa pula? Kerajaan pun dah tandatangan TTPA, dah beri jaminan nak kurangkan eksais and cukai import kereta dari sekutu TPPA. Nak buat macam mana lagi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • What the heck.

That’s like BN saying “Hey,we’re now have less than 50% support from the rakyat and thats bad for the country”

Look Tan Sri Asmat,why dont you ask yourself why are customers swaying towards non national makes.Rather than expecting strong sales coz you’re local or source lots of parts locally,think maturely and figure out ways to attract customers apart from your ‘bestowed’ lower sales price advantage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • Oh mak lu cina on Jan 12, 2016 at 9:29 pm

Tan Sri Asmat: Be a bangsat first then you will understand!

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 12, 2016 at 8:07 pm

Make lousy products and priced high…you deserve it !

• Mario Buatta on Jan 12, 2016 at 8:09 pm

So many years of protection and cronyism yet cant hold a firm market share huh? Interesting.

• omegle on Jan 12, 2016 at 8:18 pm

While we understand the government’s intention to liberalise the automotive industry in the near term, we believe that the country’s automotive eco-system, consisting of local vendors and dealers, as well as original equipment manufacturers like Perodua, has yet to reach a point where we can fairly compete with other established global brands

Its been 23 years, that’s more than enough time for you to “grow and mature”. If you say we don’t have the technology or skills for R&D, why did you start it in the first place and with government protection? You’re not expecting a tongkat for the rest of your life. Are you?

• Rockybalboa on Jan 12, 2016 at 8:21 pm

If you cannot survive, just close it! Survival of the fittest! It will do fellow msians good too!

• Anonymous on Jan 12, 2016 at 8:29 pm

Chart shows P2 has been fairly consistent at 28%-30% range since 2001… that’s to be expected since P2 only have 3 models in the A & B sub-compact segment. P1 is in horrendous position… claiming to create newer models to compete globally but too damn slow to penetrate the export market. No fault but P1’s mgmt. Oh wait… TunM is ready to blame it all on the people and our perception again… ouch!

• Decoder on Jan 12, 2016 at 8:34 pm

Actually it is Proton in great danger of close shop, not Perodua.

Sarcasm is strong there by Perodua CEO but macai Proton too dumb slow to pick it up.

• Ur seeing too much into his statement. Its nothing more, nothing less.
      P1 standing on 1 tongkat from Gov, but P2 is actually on 2 tongkats (Gov & Daihatsu). If the market is fully opened, P1 still has their car USP (own creation, better safety, driving pleasure). What USP does P2 have other than saving fuel due to stripped of equipment, NVH, & safety? Reliability is the same for both anyways and hi RV wun protect u from serious injuries in accidents.

• P1 own creation; really? on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:47 am

I’m sorry but did you mentioned “Reliability is the same for both”??

You made my day!!!

• I have both a 1st Gen Myvi & Gen2 CPS. Milage around same cuz both cars differ by 1 year. Your point?

• national vs non national on Jan 12, 2016 at 8:53 pm

Just wondering what car he drive everyday? If he drive national car… respect. If he drive non national car… then ask yourself why non national car?

• Milotin on Jan 12, 2016 at 8:58 pm

Malaysia Cars not good for Malaysians! So pls close shop asap.

• BuRaIaN on Jan 12, 2016 at 9:14 pm

Cant compete then close shop, nobody cares.

• tokmoh. on Jan 12, 2016 at 9:53 pm

“Proton and Perodua have a higher degree of localisation. ”

Yet ringgit jatuh je, merungut untung jatuh 5%, terpaksa naik harga. bangkai pundeeeee

• applegreen on Jan 12, 2016 at 9:55 pm

P1 should bring new car every 5 years not every 7

• But…but…but P1 is bringing 3,three,tiga,san,rende models just this 2016 year alone

• Punched on Jan 13, 2016 at 7:59 am

Proton 3 new sedans will be easily defeated by Perodua sedan. It will be another huge comedic failure by Proton (again!).

Wanna bet?

• Henry on Jan 12, 2016 at 10:21 pm

Is 100% enough?

• Consumer on Jan 13, 2016 at 12:02 am

Should the 2 national brands sit together for a collaboration?

• Aero (Member) on Jan 13, 2016 at 12:59 am

From Proton’s and Perodua’s perspectives, I’d say the local market was already lost sometime in the mid-2000s. It was a combination of many factors.

A sizeable portion of Malaysians have become more prosperous since the 90s and 2000s, and more can afford more expensive cars. Those who had 90s Protons have gradually upgraded to something from the Japanese B-segment (Vios, City, Almera, Jazz etc.) or something from the D-segment. Perodua doesn’t have this problem, as their market demographic has always been dominated by first-time car owners or low income citizens. Perodua always made the cheapest new cars you could buy. Proton suffered more, as many of their models are bigger and more upmarket, and some are more expensive than the cheapest Japanese-badged new cars today.

The difference between Perodua’s and Proton’s situation is that would-be Proton buyers have a choice; they can get a Myvi at one end, or they can get a top-spec City at the other. For every Proton on the market today, there is a strong (or stronger) alternative. This is not the case for Perodua, as they have long monopolised the A-segment market here with their Kancil, Kelisa, Viva and now Axia. Only their Myvi came under attack from the Saga and later the Iriz… but they are both Protons, not Toyotas or Hondas, there is no ‘obvious choice’ here. When it comes to choosing a Myvi or Iriz, it’s national vs. national. When it comes to choosing a Prevé or an Almera or even a low-spec City, it’s national vs. foreign… the disparity is much bigger. More will buy the Almera or City just because they are Japanese badged (which denotes reliability), despite the fact that they are both milo tins and built using mostly Malaysian or ASEAN components.

Even if Proton had made great, reliable cars, I’m guessing they would still lose out simply because a significant portion of Malaysians do not have confidence in local products. No matter how good we try, some pariah-mentality Malaysians will forever favour foreign products as they have a ‘cultural cringe’ (Google it). Some Malaysians want Proton and Perodua to die just so that they can selfishly buy their preferred Japanese-badged cars at lower prices… yeah right, as if that will happen. These people are about as naive as those who believe Proton can somehow emulate Hyundai-Kia’s success. Both of these won’t happen, not until we solve the biggest problem at hand, our corrupt governance. Proton and Perodua are just pawns in the full picture, closing them down won’t solve anything. It’s the cowardly way out of a mess that can and should be solved more productively.

The Malaysian market is a lost cause. Perodua and especially Proton must do everything they can to increase exports. It will not be easy, but with great success comes great sacrifice, hard work and perseverance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • Punched on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:10 am

Perodua Sedan will be final nail in Proton’s coffin easily cut half new Saga sales soon, sending Proton sales down below 100,000 units. New Persona also will be struggling for sales as buyer will either buy Perodua Sedan or simply skip it to buy Vios or City. As for Perdana, it a lost cause dead before arrival. Nobody in the right mind will waste hard-earned money for a RM100K Proton car.

Simply put, Perodua will be on course to control 50% TIV car market and with Toyota Lexus sales it will be close to 70% market control. Face the fact rakyat prefer Japanese cars. Respect their choice. The more you go against rakyat preference, the more they defy the faster Proton close down factory due to chronic sales collapse. By then, which China car company will come to the rescue bailout? Great Wall group? BYD? Geely? Dong Feng?

• This sounds like chiding gen y. Caution, later they tell mummy/daddy.

• vecko on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:54 am

Dun care if p1 close?
      Then they must be who want cheap cheap petrol but later have to pay more tax due to top up plummeting gomen income.

• rusyaidi on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:56 am

Finally, someone with intelligence in the comment section after a long scroll. A lot of people here really think that if p1 and p2 close down, they can buy cheaper foreign cars. Their wishful thinking will only lead to disappointment.

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 13, 2016 at 5:41 am

As always, this guy and Proton have lost the plot. The tax structure has remained the same, but instead the products have just become crappier and crappier. What do you expect?

• Samtowtruck on Jan 13, 2016 at 6:58 pm

Crappier? My most customers are germany cars owners. P1 owners dun call me lor

• Jibster on Jan 13, 2016 at 7:00 am

Hahaha would love to see proton go bankrupt. Even after years of government protectionism still cant compete with below par products and high prices. Same like one race keep complaining and whining because protectionism makes them lazy and uncompetitive.

• Kent Yong on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:01 am

Anybody would understand the chart. It so simple. You know who is not working. If I send this chart as my KPI to my management, I will sure get screwed from 2011. Perhaps I get fired between 2003 & 2004.

• common sensor on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:01 am

Crap and bullshit

• for too long stay in comfortable lane, still cannot be competitive with other import vehicles brand. price still higher, still government need increase 300% tax for import vehicles..30yrs proton, perodua 20+yrs..still cannot provide good car for cheap market price..now both still made low cost cars and put price at middle price car..

• Shredder on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:24 am

Ninja turtles r going to disappoint with u all. That’s not cool guys. Kauahbanga.

• transformer on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:24 am

Rakyat finally knew they been con since Proton established (80’s)….. even without market liberisation, rakyat learned to save more to get a more reliable car(such as Japs makes)….

• Bapa Protong on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:35 am

Guess Proton.cn is coming up next….

• To all Paultan fans.. Pls continue boycott P1 & P2!
    Cronies feel the pinch of ppl’s power!
    “Buying stop, killing stop”

• dunpraypray on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:46 am

the whole automotive industry in Malaysia is a bubble to enrich well connected supplier companies. how many calls to the PMO just to prevent themselves from being dropped. need to do something like MAS turnaround, fire deadwoods, discipline suppliers and remove politicians from decision making.

• Mahathir should step down. He has no more idea how to improve Proton. He rely on nationalism sentiment all the time to sell Proton. We need to refresh Proton with new ideas in technology and business strategy. Perodua holdings 30% consistently but Proton??? Hellooo Proton…sack off that Grand Dad Mahathir and you will survive!

• rusyaidi on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:39 am

There’s not enough sales for national car in malaysia, since people borrow money for 9 years. So most will only change car after 10 years. Compare that to a scenario where people can pay off their loan in 3 years, and change car every 4 or 5 years. Remove any duty or taxes from local cars, make them cheap, limit the loan tenure, then sales will jump. Once they are strong locally, they can compete globally. The local automotive industry provide a lot of jobs to people, if the industry fails, many will become jobless.

• What goes up must come down. What goes around comes around. Karma!

• The sole reason why we are paying so much for non national cars is because of Proton & Perodua. They have monopolised the market for so long but never made any significant improvements to the quality & design in their cars. Look at the Perodua Myvi. How long has that model been in the market with minimal changes? I believe it has been with us for 10 years already. That shows how much progress our local car makers have made. Comparatively, how many facelifted & new models have the Honda City had since then?

• I frankly don’t care about our national cars losing market share at all.

Rather then telling us how many of you or your vendors are going to close shop or lose money, think why non national brands are gaining so much market share even though they are price so much higher up and we Malaysians have to pay such a large portion of our monthly income towards financing our car loans.

I am not bashing anyone here nor putting anyone down but hey stop issuing nonsensical statements and just do your job by ensuring that the cars sold are value for money in terms of (1) Safety, (2) Styling and (3)Practicality.

Don’t even try to compare yourself to the Koreans, look at what they are offering nowadays and then look at your own products then tell people why they are strong in their own home markets. Our car industries started roughly around the same time and look at what they have done. The Koreans are already selling well in mature markets like Europe and USA and we have Proton recently asking for money from the government.

What a big joke….. We Malaysians deserves better.

• I din know our indigenous car industry started around Merdeka era. Where did u get this info from?

• azrai on Jan 13, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Even Koreans make suffer to FTA. They now buy foreign make like Malaysian also.

• Kenny on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:35 pm

What national sutomative industry are we talking about? You mean we have a real automative industry and not rebadgers?