SPIED: Mazda Koeru/CX-4 captured out in the open

Mazda Koeru CX-4 spied 1

What you’re supposedly looking at here is the production version of the Mazda Koeru concept, completely undisguised. Although Mazda has yet to provide an official name for the upcoming model, it is currently being referred to as the CX-4 in the lead up to its expected debut at Auto China 2016 in Beijing.

These photos come from Chinese website Popsuv, and when compared to earlier spyshots of the Koeru/CX-4, the crossover seen here appears just as you’d expect it to.

The low-slung profile is still present here, along with generous application of Mazda’s Kodo design language. The Koeru/CX-4 also gets a four-bar grille, plus slimmer signature head- and tail lights. Other production-ready highlights include the addition of front and rear fog lamps, and redesigned exhaust tips.

Inside, the Koeru/CX-4 shares much in common with the facelifted Mazda 6, although the crossover gets new trim pieces and reshaped air-con vents here. Although out of view, Mazda’s MZD Connect touchscreen is fitted as well, linked to the Commander Control knob on the centre console. Bright-coloured leather is also a standout here.

The Koeru/CX-4 is rumoured to be a sportier SUV in Mazda’s line-up, similar to what the BMW X6 is to the X5. This has lead to suggestions that the car will be referred to as the CX-6 instead of the CX-4, but that’s all up in the air for now.

The Koeru concept from the 2015 Frankfurt Motor Show shares the same 2,700 mm wheelbase as the CX-5. However, it is 4,600 mm long, 1,900 mm wide and 1,500 mm tall, versus the CX-5’s 4,555 mm (L), 1,840 mm (W) and 1,670 mm (H). Whether the dimensions are retained on the final production version, we’ll have to wait for the crossover’s official debut.

So, what do you think of the upcoming Mazda CX-4/CX-6? Is it a more prospective buy compared to the CX-5, or any of its other rivals? Let us know what you think in the comments section below.

GALLERY: Mazda Koeru Concept

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 19, 2016 at 8:43 pm

it looks rather awkward…prolly targeting those who think a bmw x6 or 5 series GT is a beautiful car kind of clients (eg. klang hokkien people and rich indian gangsters)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 58
    • Alexis Carrington on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:12 pm

You’re not exactly the barometer of good taste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 39
      • Educate Donkey on Jan 20, 2016 at 8:43 am

I am waiting for DonkeyKong’s opinion. What he says, BN will follow and either bring this or not bring this in

• Superb on Jan 20, 2016 at 12:27 am

If it’s badge by porches or Lamborghini I’m sure u will said its nice! So far I think Mazda are doing very well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • skatax on Mar 03, 2016 at 6:20 pm

1. It’s a beautiful car.
      2. what’s with the racial stereotypes? we’re already in the 21st century, way past that issue.
      3. you’re not #SWAG enough bro.

• Kudos on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:18 pm

Super Likey!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • If it’s call cx4 then starting price will be at 140k and if it’s call cx6 starting price will be 160k?

• DPCraft on Jan 19, 2016 at 11:27 pm

Rear design makes the car looks like a wagon, when view from behind

• khairul on Jan 20, 2016 at 10:07 am

Indeed it is a wagon SUV..as said by CEO Masamichi Kogai

In fact, Kogai believes that the production Koeru, although sized similar to the CX-5, will more closely resemble the Subaru Outback wagon. “That kind of genre. We’d like to see how it is evaluated globally, so we are collecting customer feedback,” he said.

http://paultan.org/2015/12/08/mazda-koeru-to-be-built-as-totally-new-suv-report/

• Jürg Hölzle on Jan 20, 2016 at 10:11 am

As far I remember, that Mazda has already called the Koeru concept as a «wagon» – as a competition to the Subaru Outback.

I like the design.

Personally, I am waiting for the upcoming 7-seater CX-7, because my CX-5 get to small for my growing family.

• Jürg Hölzle on Jan 20, 2016 at 10:19 am

Sorry, didn’t see the comment from khairul some minutes ago…

• khairul on Jan 21, 2016 at 12:03 am

no problem, perhaps my comment was pending approval :) … Talk about 7 seater, the new CX-9 looks gorgeous

http://paultan.org/2015/11/19/2017-mazda-cx-9-7-seat-suv-2-5l-skyactiv-turbo/

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 20, 2016 at 12:37 am

A X6 for the masses…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Grammar Nazi on Jan 20, 2016 at 8:15 am

“an X6”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • Sean,….let me blow your mind with a startling fact you may not know as your head may be way up something….BMW, Merc and Audi are also ‘mass market’ carmakers..its just that they play at the ‘premium’ end…they sell more cars than many genre defined mass market brands… Im glad to be of service…

This car looks fantastic regardless of the brand…..

Sekian

• FlamingFox88 on Jan 20, 2016 at 2:01 am

Looks menacing but then Chinese don’t like number 4

• Lucky 4 on Jan 20, 2016 at 3:38 am

Will the 4 in CX-4 go down well with the Chinese or for auspicious reasons, are they better off calling it the CX-6?

• Why would we call it the Cx-4 if its bigger that than the CX-5? People we are looking at the New Cx-7.

• applegreen on Jan 20, 2016 at 9:04 am

probably this vehicle is an alternative for those wanna buy more expensive new bmw X2. If this is sportier version of cx5 then we could be bigger rims maybe at 20inches?

• namanama on Jan 20, 2016 at 9:05 am

Badass…Good job Mazda!

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jan 20, 2016 at 9:13 am

Seem better look than CX3,5 and 7. this is definitely make CX5 sales drop if it is cheaper than cx5. CX3 massive fail

• Jürg Hölzle on Jan 20, 2016 at 10:18 am

Design is a personal taste. I owned every Mazda 3 model. We own a CX-5 and now a CX-3 as my second car. The CX-3 get always very good reactions from other people.

The CX-5 was the first of the new Kodo design language. I like how Mazda has developed the design and every models has some distinguish elements.

The new CX-4/6 has a similar front than the CX-3 but a different tail.

I assume that the sales of the CX-5 may drop, but this model will attract new costumers.

• I think this is an hybrid/crossover of bigger CX3 sibling. It may be using CX5 platform but it will rides and feels like driving a car.
    good try by mazda for producing something that I think they are missing..
    but just hope the price will be around the same as CX5 – so people will decide either it’s SUV or crossover..

• Rod Miranne on Jan 24, 2016 at 9:31 am

I like the overall design and I’m hoping that they make a USA production version of it. I would seriously consider it as a replacement for my 07 Mazda 6i 5-door and I want a sportier look than my wife’s 2015 CX-5. The CX – 3 is to small.

• Will Mac on Mar 08, 2016 at 4:16 pm

The car I couldn’t wait for unfortunately, assuming it’s coming to Thailand. The only issue is that Mazda thailand take about two years to get most new models out… So slow!