New Jaguar XF to launch next, F-Pace SUV set for 2017

JAGUARXF_S_Hero_01_RHD_RWD

Jaguar Land Rover Malaysia may have only just launched its new Jaguar XE in the country, but it looks like the company is already gearing up for the arrival of two new models – one sooner, another later.

At the XE’s launch event today, we caught up with Jaguar Land Rover Malaysia’s managing director Syed Mudzhar Syed Ali, who confirmed with paultan.org that the new XF premium executive sedan is next in line to be launched here.

“Yes, our new Jaguar XF is coming soon. We will launch it in a few more months,” Mudzhar said. The second-generation Jaguar XF was globally revealed nearly a year ago. The new model’s styling is heavily inspired by the smaller XE, which it also shares a common architecture with.

JAGUAR_FPACE_RSPORT_Location 04

When quizzed about the new F-Pace SUV, Mudzhar claimed, “it is coming, yes. But not as soon as we would like. We should have it ready by early next year.” Only just making its global debut last September at the 2015 Frankfurt Motor Show, the managing director explained that it’s just a matter of formalities, but a launch in the first quarter of 2017 would be realistic.

Like the XF and XE that was just launched here, the F-Pace will be fully-imported (CBU) from the UK. There, prices for the F-Pace start from 34,170 pounds (RM210k) for the very base-spec, 180 PS, 2.0 litre RWD diesel variant. The new XF’s prices start from 32,300 pounds (RM195k) for the 163 PS, 2.0 RWD diesel.

Considering the high prices of the brand’s XE range, we asked the managing director if local assembly would ever be on the cards for JLRM. He said, “It depends on our principal. It’s their decision. There has been some discussion, but we don’t know what the outcome will be yet. Generally, we should and would definitely like to have locally assembled models – that would make us a lot more competitive. But, we need the volume to come in first.”

GALLERY: Jaguar XF

GALLERY: Jaguar F-Pace

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• omegle on Jan 28, 2016 at 3:45 pm

how much is it gonna be? 440k?

• High Class Car Low Class Service on Jan 28, 2016 at 4:41 pm

High class car with low class service. Only 1 place to service, Glenmarie. At the service centre, got no place to sit. You can stand and watch your car being serviced through a glass panel.

No coffee. No water also. Yes, I am not joking. Coffee machine got but rosak. Water also tak ada. Sometimes you get Hwa Tai biskut but most of the time, nothing.
      This is what you call pariah company given the dealership.

One may argue it is for drivers to take their bosses cars in but come on, Jaguar owners like to be treated with some class I am sure and the bosses want to drive their car in for service.

Very very low class service. My advice to Jaguar UK, please withdraw your dealership and open yourself here.

• Easy to buy this car. Just work hard. Don’t blame BN for your laziness. We give you everything. Up to you to work hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • neutral on Jan 28, 2016 at 4:11 pm

how can you possibly expect volume with those ridiculous prices?

• alldisc on Jan 28, 2016 at 5:21 pm

All the jaguars in the world – be it in USA or Singapore come from the same factory in UK. No matter what.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 28, 2016 at 6:43 pm

I can tell u the price of the XF will be 800k and the F-Pace will be 1mil

• Eh, wanna bash oso be abit rational la. Unless out car is much exp than Sg or Thailand. Be realistic