Proton new GDI and TGDI engines – why timing chain?

One of the big new additions to Proton’s upcoming new engine family is the adoption of a timing chain, replacing the belt that has been used since the national carmaker started out rebadging Mitsubishis. We’re aware of those of you who have been clamouring for Proton to use a timing chain for the longest time, but what is exactly so great about it, and why only now?

The reason why it has taken so long, according to Proton’s chief technical officer Abdul Rashid Musa, is that Mitsubishi – which Proton had learned how to design and build engines from – had used timing belts for its engines until a few years ago, and as such, Proton followed suit as well. But Rashid admitted that market demands and technology trends have influenced the company to do the switch.

As for the advantages, Rashid said that they were as much about actual reliability and serviceability – timing chains tend to last the life of the engine with very little maintenance – as the perception of reliability. He added that the public has been very critical of Proton for certain decisions, like continuing to use timing belts – even though other brands use it too – and that the company needed to do things perfectly under the scrutiny of the public eye.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Nissan on Jan 29, 2016 at 7:18 pm

Doesn’t matter nobody buy it. By 2017 no rakyat can afford buying any new car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 85
    • Just because you can’t afford. Doesn’t mean everyone else can’t.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 58
      • George Abdul on Jan 30, 2016 at 8:58 am

Seriously timing chain is not that bad… is good for economic and improve engine “reliability” as CTO Rashid says.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
        • Syukurlah BN, UMNO dan Najib kerana GDI ini. Memang Power. Sekarang sudah terbukti, Najib adalah amanah dan jujur. AG sudah confirm.

Saya lagi sayang BN dan UMNO. Syukur Malaysia aman dan damail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 38
          • Zahar on Feb 01, 2016 at 10:03 am

Proton and BN tak da kena mengena.. Proton is private company and yes previously is GLC.. every company or person can claim GRANT for hes organization to KERAJAAN when they finished the research and development – need to do a present paper, not minta duit or sedekah. Proton pay a million of RM to LEMBAGA HASIL annually lah.
            if dunt like dunt use kedai kopi statement here.. too many people malas here percaya dgn cerita u nanti.. lagi ramai orang kosong brain in here..

• An han on Jan 30, 2016 at 11:09 am

Yes your are right

• Proton is the best. Kereta aku pakai Preve! Memang power!!!! Saya tetap sayang BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
          • RBA bodoh piang. Saya pakai Gen2 pun lu tak tau

• Potong owners keep supporting and think their car is way better than other brands car because they don’t stand a chance to own a better car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
      • Proton is the best. Now we know kerajaan BN jujur dan amanah. AG sudah clear!!!1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • Apply cold water to burn area

• 4545er on Jan 29, 2016 at 7:28 pm

and that the ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Donkey John on Jan 30, 2016 at 9:25 am

Dulu macai hate timing chain, teknologi kuno katanya.

Sekarang jilat ludah sendiri pakai timing chain.

Nasib baik ada Mitsubishi sebagai alasan. Muka tak malu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 47
      • DonkeyKong on Jan 30, 2016 at 12:44 pm

As far as I recall, no one ever bashed timing chain. In fact, many comments on various Proton owners groups end up expressing hope that Proton will adopt timing chain rather than timing belt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
        • Atilla on Jan 31, 2016 at 11:39 am

Donkeys dont have good memories

• On the contrary, donkeys have veri gud memory of those who ill-treat them

• Lister on Jan 31, 2016 at 6:25 pm

Donkey kong is right. Last time P2 macai were so proud with those timing chain feature

• Good job brother. Show them that the only way is to trust BN like how we both trust.

Once you trust BN, you will suceed in life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • ccy7218 on Jan 31, 2016 at 12:13 pm

Iyalah… proton ni pak turut aje… takde prinsip sendiri… kalo japanese kata timing chain good, dia pun kata OK good dan sebaliknya, CTO, CEO semuanya pak turut aje, tiada rights untuk suarakan kasus yg sebenarnya… nak maju?

• Kasus? Pak turut? Takde prinsip? Then bash toyoda which earlier wanna stick with n/a engine. Now sells turbo engine here and there except bolehland.

• indon_apa_ada? on Apr 06, 2017 at 3:15 pm

and now indon also follow proton?good achievement proton…wakaka…

• Ur article cut-off at ‘the’.

Anyways to bashers, theres no right or wrong using belt or chain. Depends on engine designer as above said. If 2015 Engine of the Year is using belt, so is it bad, outdated, unreliable, useless, made by nasi lemak pipu, the engine designer must hang himself and the brand kolos shop?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
  • holofanboi on Jan 29, 2016 at 7:49 pm

And that the what? The WHAT!? Why is your article hanging halfway huhhhh >:(

*throws tantrum on jonathan’s desk*

Haha, technical glitch i guess?

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 29, 2016 at 8:04 pm

After 30 years only Proton gave up timing belt, while Toyota already gave up timing chain, check out our Prius.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 60
    • Dissapointed Car Enthusiast on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:35 pm

Malaysian maa. They easily kena tipu like “wah drive myvi/vios so shiok ah” “walao the timing chain made this myvi/vios so pickup one leh” after driving the myvi/vios that u sold to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
    • Dissapointed car enthusiast on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:02 pm

Malaysian mah. They easily kena tipu with rumours like “wah drive myvi/vios so shiok ah with timing chain engine so smooth” “walao myvi/vios so pickup one leh, all because the timing chain lah”. Padahal its because of the cheap milo tin construction and no safety features.

• Ponggiri Ponggiri on Jan 29, 2016 at 8:11 pm

Takde gambar engine timing chain ke? The equal length chrome exhaust header lawa though.

• yap ben on Jan 29, 2016 at 8:14 pm

Why the article stops half way?

• Milotin on Jan 29, 2016 at 8:17 pm

Milotin pakai ape lansau pun, masih milotin… Its made in bolehland with nasi lemak technology. What u expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 55
    • p2macai on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:04 pm

Preve 5 star Australasia NCAP, myvi only 4 star Asean NCAP while Iriz has 5 star. Go figure.

• Milotin still okay lah, better than those taufu make.

• dugongx on Jan 30, 2016 at 2:32 pm

I think you are seriously confused. Proton is no longer milotin. You must be referring to mvyi or vios.

• Bristol on Jan 30, 2016 at 5:27 pm

Milotin still better than those taufu make

• Littlebear on Jan 29, 2016 at 8:27 pm

The article is not complete?

• Oh mak lu cina on Jan 29, 2016 at 8:37 pm

Now only you want to design and engine of similar spec to the BMW/PSA prince 1.6 engine. And your engine will only be ready in 3 years time to be of same level as other makers 5 year old engine. Bodoh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
    • nosushi on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:14 pm

Who cares , toyoda also intro new turbo engine later than p1 while b4 said wanna stay with n/a engine! Bodoh!

• George Abdul on Jan 29, 2016 at 8:38 pm

Yes I support Go for timing chain !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • nabill (Member) on Jan 29, 2016 at 8:41 pm

Timing chain or belt really does not determine if an engine is great or not,I dont agree that the timing chain lasts the life of the engine,it definitely has a service schedule to chck the condition of the chain and check for any wear and tear…I actually prefer a timing belt,although has a shorter life,but wen replace,u have a chance to peek through your water pump(which usually is behind one of the pulleys) condition which many don’t do, and replace it since it’s a cheap item…
    Not saying it’s bad to have a timing chain,by the fuss is way more than the actual benefit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
    • alldisc on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:16 pm

Nowadays manufacturers are moving to electric water pump, example in VW cars.

• good to know someone has the same opinion as me

• Booooooo on Jan 30, 2016 at 2:13 pm

Water pump on timing chain engine uses belt tp drive it.. pfffttt !

• Timing belt is also lighter and tighter than timing belt. So less energy wasted and less noise. And its easier to replace than timing chain. Only it needs to be done more frequently.

• ccy7218 on Jan 31, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Agree, however timing chain takde masalah lupa tukar timing belt and caused terrible damage to piston….timing chain ni tak bolehlah last forever however it can last for majority of car service life (about 10 years no masalah) before owner change car…

• Why the article is not finished? Is it purposely done?

• Say Something on Jan 29, 2016 at 8:47 pm

And that the…?

• Janwy on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:08 pm

Sorry, I don’t get it. The engine in the photo is still paired with belt but not chain, right?

• Albert on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:12 pm

Abdul rashid, “the public is critical”….are u going to keep quiet and do nothing?
    Not only timing belts,the whole damn Campro engine with bladdy Punch CVT gearbox…all have to be thrown into the bin for the bangla to sell as scrap.
    The reason u bastards lag behind so badly behind even Perodua..is simply “A TOO RELAXED ATTITIUDE”….
    Boss busy,relax,Tun is at the helm now,no retrenchments,our jobs are safe…..MMC got lots of mega MRT projects,Protong lose money but Honda and mega projects can cover mah…sounds familiar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 25
    • nosushi on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:07 pm

Ok je CVT tu, campro turbo pun ok, takat enjen jepunis 198Nm tu toksah kecoh la.

• I think it’s time for u to apply a job at proton and show them ur ‘ATTITUDE’. Or at least see how lazy they are with ur own eyes.

• Thedarkside on Jan 30, 2016 at 9:22 am

Talk cock all the time. At least theyre doing something

• tokmoh. on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:13 pm

Now the trend becomes timing belt in oil (BIO) eg Ford’s 1.0L egoboost, Honda new vtec turbo.

Volvo’s upcoming 3-cylinder Drive-E also will have belt to last its lifetime of 186,000 miles, implying it’s also BIO.

Personally, I never felt anything is wrong with timing belt. It rarely fails prematurely. For most msians to be phobia of it, do many people neglect servicing it, then suffer belt putus, valve bengkok etc?

Chain also needs servicing, though much longer interval.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • frossonice on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:47 pm

Because of pomen. They keep scaring people with allegations and so called “other drivers experience”. Even at official service centre also giving thise bloody impressiom that timing belt might gives up any moment.

My sister drive Saga FLX which in service book, the milage to replace timing belt is around 120k. Go to any service centre when milage reach 100k, they keep urging to replace it. When replace, it turn out the belt still good.

I bet most car owner with timing belt engine will experience this bloody trickery by pomen.

Time for paultan to educate public on timing belt once for all.

• What about timing chain in oil hmm proton should use this hehe

• Consumer on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:56 pm

Agree. both holds their pros and cons.
      for sure chain last longer, but it simply make more noise. anyway with today’s technology it should not be a problem to keep the noise at minimum level.

• JB_KIA on Jan 30, 2016 at 9:28 am

My good friend’s 2004 Vios, over half a million kms on the clock todate, still running fine on stock chain. He said he’s not gonna do anything. He will drive till the chain breaks and tell me the mileage…..

• JB_KIA on Jan 30, 2016 at 9:33 am

fibre strip soaked in hot oil, get bent and stretched all the time??? no thks, 1.0 ecoboost…and note that it is a interference design…hehe

• DonkeyKong on Jan 30, 2016 at 12:45 pm

Soaked in hot oil??? What, did you think that the belt is soaking in the engine oil sump??

• Mr Fakta on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:15 pm

Anyone still remember when last time perodua introduced timing chain, proton fan boys bashes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Huh? It’s the other way round lor. P1 bashers bashed p1 for using timing belt. Dun try to twist history.

• But we do remember when P2 intro non-DVVT engine and it was rightfully bashed to kingdom come.

• Bristol on Jan 30, 2016 at 12:23 am

Perodua never introduced only informed.

• akuprotonsupporter on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:22 pm

“replacing the belt that has been used since the national carmaker started out rebadging Mitsubishis”

• alldisc on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:17 pm

And totally forgotten the inspira that was rebadged is using chain driven camshaft too

• P. Basheer on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:50 pm

It’s all about timing. Proton is timing this timing chain move in time for GE14. Don’t waste our time cos the rakyat can see it coming this time. When the time comes Proton will run out of time.

• Because now partner with suzuki…suzuki car use timing chain only.

• Andrekua on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:58 pm

Timing chain is such a big deal? Why only adopt it now?? Even my previous Vios that I driven 9 years ago came with timing chain.

Anyway, what Proton really needs is probably nothing other than the after-sales services provided by their service centres. I really hope they improve big time here because I avoided Proton for years due to bad attitude from their service advisors rather than due to bad quality of their cars.

Yes, my ex Wira does rattling here and there but what annoys me is their service advisors attitude. Always tak apa. Even when I had the famous engine dying while depressing clutch to change gears, they are like not my damn problem. Still dare to say Semua Memang Macam Tu and ask you to service the throttle body for a fee (cant remember the amount). They should have feedback to Proton and suggest throttle body cleaning for free for affected batches. I was caught by surprised when it happened to me while going down from Genting.

• Oh Rashid on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:22 pm

Ini Rashid,
    Dia ialah Proton’s chief technical,
    Dia tahu timing chain tahan lama & lasak,
    Jadi macam Rashid.

• Observer on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:45 pm

LOL the hypocrisy….
    Now suddenly timing chain is outdated and timing belt is the trend??

• Carefree on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:50 pm

The common misconception is that timing chains won’t break. The chance of a timing chain breaking is smaller than a timing belt, but is there nonetheless. Another misconception is that timing chains are maintenance-free. You still need to check for the chain stretching. Severe stretch can cause mistiming and even damage the valves. You need to service the chain retainer and replace it if need arise. Another thing is replacement parts for timing chain system are more expensive and the difficulty to change them means labour charges are higher as well.

• CamPro is a good engine actually, it’s fuel economy is better than a vios in highway and i prefer timing belt than a bloody chain

• When you dont use timing chain, it is no good. When you use then suddenly timing chain is good. No wonder nobody believe in whatever proton says.

• Oil Cooler Hose User on Jan 30, 2016 at 6:21 am

Xpyh nk buat customer mcm lab mice.. Settlekn dlu isu oil cooler hose.. Sampah pya Proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Atilla on Jan 30, 2016 at 9:28 am

Should be: “Proton new GDI and TGDI engines – why??”

• Doesn’t matter if proton still decided to use cast iron block instead of aluminum block….part of proton failure in engine and fc department is due to the fact that proton refuse to use aluminum block where most other car manufacturer are using….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Sam Loo on Jan 30, 2016 at 10:02 am

4 words.

Waste of Taxpayers Money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • transformer on Jan 30, 2016 at 10:37 am

P1 target consumer wouldn’t care about timing Chain or Belt. All they want is CHEAP CAR! Consumer won’t buy a P1 even if it price Rm10,000 below any Jap makes.

It’s consumer only want new P1 cars that is Reliable and Low Petrol consumption…. That’s all they asked for…. Cheap car, cheap to maintain….

• Satria on Jan 30, 2016 at 1:59 pm

With 1.3 TGDI or 1.5 TGDI, Satria GTI will be resurrected. Awesome!

• Booooooo on Jan 30, 2016 at 2:20 pm

Both are good technology. STi 2014 until today still using legendary EJ20 engine with timing belt. Subaru xv and new wrx both utilise timing chain in FA engine. Depends on requirement, daily ride todays need timing chain for engines for easy and less hassle maintenance.. proton must go for it.

• Smart Buyer on Feb 01, 2016 at 7:05 am

Cheap price and servicing? Yes it’s called Perodua cars.

• My CBU Mazda 6 suspension problem started from day 1. No, nothing serious but it’ll shame me in front of my passenger every time we go over the hump with ‘squeaking’ sound especially when it was raining.
    Yes been to the service centre more than once and the mechanic will return the car in the evening after tightening certain component. The problem will return after few days. The mechanics said it was a known problem as it was not confined to my car only. Now after almost two years, the problem still persist and the mechanic plan to change the bushing when the part is available.I’m still waiting

The point is – all car brands local or foreign, CBU or CKD have their own strength and weaknesses. But through my observation, here at Paultan, we’re ever ready to bash Proton especially and Perodua too, no matter what they did. Yes we’re entitle to our opinion but I guess many who always said negative things about PI or P2 never own one…sad but true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • They are jealous.

• Probably.

But why jealous of our own product? We should be proud if they did something right and provide constructive comments when they screwed things up.

Don’t we want our big name like Proton, Perodua, TNB, Maybank, Celcom, Maxis, Axiata, CIMB, Sunway, Sapura and the likes to be a world class companies like Air Asia or PETRONAS?

• Makcik Jinggu on Jan 31, 2016 at 1:35 pm

aiyo…..timing chain or timing belt….proton cars and their engines still suck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Drive on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:02 am

Turbo GDI, wow! I foresee Satria GTI.

• Amirul on Apr 06, 2017 at 8:04 am

Paultan patut ajar pembaca blog utk komen secara ilmiah dan komen positif…skrg ni byk komen berunsur negatif n jd ikutan pembaca2 lain…