AES, Kejara demerit points system more effective compared to high fines, says Transport Minister

AES_Camera

According to Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, the implementation of the Automated Enforcement System (AES) and the Kejara demerit points system will be more effective to educate road users rather than imposing high fines. The Transport Minister’s statement comes following a suggestion from Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar, to increase the traffic fines in an effort to reduce accidents.

In a report by Bernama, the Transport Minister mentioned fines are subjective to the motorist’s income and financial status. On the other hand, he said, “Kejara and AES are more effective because the amount of fine depends on individuals. A RM150 fine is high to me, but to others, it is still low.

malaysian-driving-license-001

“Enforcement of Kejara and AES involves suspending the licence of errant motorists, regardless who they are if they continue to violate regulations. If their points reach a level where their licence has to be suspended, then it is a more effective method,” he added.

The Transport Minister added that his department welcomed the Home Ministry’s efforts to encourage road safety, including upgrading the traffic unit to a department. “The Home Ministry and the police have their way of educating road users, and we have our way, that is through Kejara and AES, but we always work together,” he said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Saman la saya... on Feb 12, 2016 at 6:13 pm

Mr liow arrr…fed govt will reduce financial allocation to the police force. In order to maintain khalid’s big fat salary, fines need to be increased la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Malam Jumaat on Feb 13, 2016 at 12:31 pm

Cant expect much from a flip flop gomen. All they know is to eat nasi lemak, sleep whole day and not work, think about kahwin empat and sleep somemore

• Bodoh IGP on Feb 13, 2016 at 12:42 pm

this clearly shows the Government contradicting the IGP. In other words, Government is saying that IGP is bodoh.

Such a stupid statement, you increase fines, less accidents will happen.

Soon the IGP will say, if you put little money in the handbag, less snatch thieves will snatch handbags.

Cannot believe our IGP has nothing in his head

• Albert on Feb 14, 2016 at 8:08 pm

Increase fines to rm 1k? Corrupt cops can ask for rm 300+++.to ” settle”.
        The bladdy politician is siding the defective AES.Why ?
        There is no ready solution until corruption is near zero.

• camtakpro on Feb 12, 2016 at 6:18 pm

Fines should be relative to the percentage of car purchase price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • Moving Forward on Feb 12, 2016 at 6:56 pm

License suspension due to demerit point system? Wouldn’t be possible to ‘settle’ it by ways you know I know? Things deemed impossible in overseas, there is always a way to get around, here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Andrekua on Feb 12, 2016 at 7:31 pm

Wow… Mr. Liow suddenly become Mr. Right…

Lets see if he gets his way or our beloved police head gets his way…

Anyone wanna start a betting pool???

• Honda lover that disappointed on Feb 12, 2016 at 7:42 pm

Illogical…we stuck at 70 mph (110 kph), sometimes even ‘careful’ ( slower vehicles) make more troubles at road, because the regularly shift to another sides.That is dangerous.AES introduction are discriminating at ones in hury,mr liow, our kapchai have a small issue to solve.the split indicator from rear light as example, it’s UNNECESSARY!!!!!!!! Why..? Less reliable than integrated one , easy to been vandalized, more EXPENSIVE to replaced due of the housing( attached to mudguard).Then, why boon siew honda bothered to release wave dash fi with 110 cc, the Indonesian get with 125 cc.Mark marques test that 125 fi in Sepang not the Sentul.the Astra Honda makes malaysians are 7th class people. Why these Japanese in boon siew honda are more dumb. They think that we malaysian doesn’t have internet? Boon siew honda is the most OUTDATED Japanese bike company in Asean!!!! Make change honda, or face the enclosure of batu kawan factory because YOUR ON DISCRIMINATION!!!!!! BANKRUPTCY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • Grammar Nazi on Feb 13, 2016 at 8:08 am

R.I.P. English..

• Henry on Feb 13, 2016 at 10:47 am

You are a danger to the English language. That’s for sure.

• kazanixm on Feb 15, 2016 at 7:22 am

Dude, did you just came out of the cave?

New motorcycles are COMPULSORY to have split indicator from the rear lights and this is because of the new law in Europe & the rest of the world.

The reason of the split is easy for other drivers/riders to see your intentions when you are going to make a turn right/left.

Only in Malaysia we are not aware of this

• Sounds more sensible than the previously bonkers suggestion. Would need a test run to be sure anyhow. Let’s see…

• Ben yap on Feb 13, 2016 at 2:16 am

Gantung sampai mati is the most effective way

• Consumer on Feb 14, 2016 at 1:22 am

I do agree with this idea.

• ikanpatin on Feb 14, 2016 at 11:29 am

cant really expect much from the low qualities of ministers these days, can we?

• syntium5000 on Feb 14, 2016 at 9:08 pm

I SAW HAFRIZ SHAH’S LESEN THERE..HEHEH

• kazanixm on Feb 15, 2016 at 7:29 am

Well, this is my unpopular opinion

AES does good thing which is to reduce speed at certain areas (high accident rate areas, sharp corners, schools) in which these places require high attention from the drivers/riders when passing by.

TBH, if happens to know AES is in the area, definitely will slow down according to the speed limit at the area. Then, the moment the camera is passed behind, full throttle it is.

• xoxox on Feb 15, 2016 at 8:33 am

if a driver drive and fetch his boss, but boss does not have license, who should get the demerit?driver or boss but boss does not have license…how to demerit for the boss?