Gov’t to allow legalised motorcycle street racing in KL

2015-mat-rempit-5-e1444095620332a

In a bid to curb illegal motorcycle races, the government is set to allow Mat Rempits the chance to race on the streets of Kuala Lumpur, in legal fashion. So says Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor, who states that the idea behind these organised races is to counter the growing problem of illegal motorcycle racing, Malay Mail Online reports.

Tengku Adnan said the government is considering closing roads in city once a week and setting that aside for motorcycle racing. “Probably in one week, one or two days, we will give it like the car-free day but only for Mat Moto to race at night,” he told reporters, adding that he preferred to term these bikers Mat Moto rather than Mat Rempits.

Acknowledging that a large number of Malaysians turned to unsanctioned racing because it offered economical thrills, he explained that Putrajaya was not promoting illegal racing but was trying to curb it by encouraging alternative methods.

He said that the government had previously organised races in enclosed tracks but public response to these had not been favourable, which was why many returned to racing illegally on the streets.

“We don’t want illegal racing, but we want them to race in a specific place. If they want to race, it’s okay but we (will) give them a place where we can control with safety barriers and all. We will control the situation because we realise that this is an entertainment for them. They have no other means to entertain themselves because of high costs,” he said.

Tengku Adnan said he would liaise with relevant parties in the government to come up with a programme to address the illegal street racing issue. “We will provide a suitable place and probably we will organise a fiesta, where we have food trucks selling food and other things to help them. It’s not encouraging, but you see, we want to see what the people like,” he explained.

What do you think of the idea of introducing organised street races in the city? Will it help in curbing the issue of illegal motorcycle racing, or will it make such bikers more brazen in their behaviour? Share your views with us in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:06 pm

This is what comes out of the pee brain Ministers. Like this, better legalise prostitution also. Keep one section of Kuala Lumpur as the Red Light District for prostitues and bapuks to service customers.

Very shocking coming from the Federal Minister.

Also, at the same time, please allocate a few houses that serve ganja and drugs. Since your logic is such that it can curb illegal activities, please do so.

Our Ministers, not only Songlap money big time, but are also stupid to the core.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 364 Thumb down 13
    • George Abdul on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:21 pm

As Malaysia Government provide illegal “robber” to Rob a empty Bank too??? What a great stupidity announcement EVER !!! Last year corruption = donation, pass fill days flip-flop is “normal for Government” and today this??? What else???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 4
      • Gargantia on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:52 pm

Hope that “Tax payers” will wakeup after this !!! BN ministry wasted the taxes money to make this kind of statement??? Do “Mat rempits” pay any taxes to gain this??? Let’s Dumno choose “future education generations Rakyat” or “Mat rempits” !!! OMG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
        • Diss-illusions on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:40 pm

They do.. Got GST now maa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • Gov should also legalize songlap so that my leader can accept his ‘donation’ in a legal way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
          • Johan Kia on Feb 22, 2016 at 6:54 pm

I knew i voted for the correct govt. =) Sorry to you bunch of losers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • I suka tidur, malas dan mahu songlap lebih.

• Oh mak lu cina on Feb 22, 2016 at 5:42 pm

I think this is a good solution to the problem. Even though they dont pay tax, having them race in a controlled manner will provide safety for all. We cannot follow ways of other countries since unique problems need unique solutions. By doing this, we can provide some vocational skills to them to better their lives at the same time food trucks to boost the economy. It is a good start. At least someone is listening. Just because you are not a rempit doesnt mean you should shunt them!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 75
          • Are you stupid? on Feb 22, 2016 at 7:07 pm

Good move? Have you ever thought about the noise pollution at night because of the race? How about the safety of those staying nearby or next to the affected roads? Pls use your brain, if you have one. No wonder there are people like u as ministers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
          • Gargantia on Feb 22, 2016 at 8:18 pm

Sure why the ministry don’t choose Sepang? Or others places that not much traffic?

• Malaysian on Feb 23, 2016 at 7:56 am

I agree! We need to think out of the box. This might work!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • Oh mak lu cina on Feb 23, 2016 at 11:11 am

Lagi stupid comment. Noise pollution? Of coz choose a isolated location in wee hours la. You think want to race in your house taman ar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
          • lao yee on Feb 23, 2016 at 1:03 pm

Next we shall fund a Free Drugs compound, Free Prostitute and Free Gamble zone in Putrajaya, advisable next to Najib office for tight security so the government could control the society manner. Drugs, prostitute and gamble are potentially grow the economic as well.

• Rempit Problem in Malaysia on Feb 22, 2016 at 5:48 pm

Most of the rempits are you know who. This what happens when men marry many women and the father has no time to juggle or jaga the 15 kids from various wives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
      • Same L0rrrr on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Legal or illegal racing, public safety bla bla bla… who cares?
        The ultimate goal is to win mat rempits votes only.

More racing (legal or illegal), more fuel burnt, more accidents then more injuries more repair = more GST charged = more government income. You think no need pay GST for funeral ceremony?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
        • syukurlah saya boleh lumba sekarang.

• System on Feb 23, 2016 at 11:20 am

Thinking like this that is why we have a so un-united Malaysia today. Who cares? The mat rempits think of you the same…

• Moving Forward on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:32 pm

Seriously my heart broke when I see this. The ministers are driving our country backward, while our ASEAN neighborhoods are closing the gap. With all honesty, our Bangla or Indo foreign workers would have laughed and shaked their heads.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 1
    • Peter on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:48 pm

Similarly, in order to curb prostitution, we legalized them. So on for gambling, bribery, killing etc. Don’t we already legalized corruption (in to donation, & it’s tax-free!)? Are M’sia a creation or insults of God or both?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • 4G63T DSM on Feb 22, 2016 at 5:35 pm

haha.. they cannot legalize prostitution lah. No way lah.

Once you legalize prostitution, all the people on the take no more income di. Police, Immigration….etc etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • hailthepurist on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:57 pm

‘kami semua merempit’

• Albert on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Your Excellency Mr.Songlap,
      There will be a day in a month to do the following:
      1.A day to rob banks,since too many robberies
      2.A day to rape innocent grandmas,voluptous girls
      3.A day to cheat spouses since infidelity is rising
      4.A day to ask saudi Santa for money,since he is so generous
      5.A day to scold parents obcenities since vulgar language is rising everywhere
      6.A day to suicide bomb innocent people since it is the trend now with ISIS and radicalised nuts
      7.A day to ……the list continues according to this kind of reasoning.
      Shambolic,bipolar nuts of the highest order tokok.
      By the way,he doesn’t know when he officiates this type of rempit races,his nephew,niece,uncle and auntie nearby may die if one of these machines lose control .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • UMGGOK on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:17 pm

when they legalized those things,
      means their people easpecially some MALAYsians can get 2nd job /3rd job for rezeki.
      Maslan Theory spotted and well fit according to its logic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Legalising prostitution is anytime better than mat rempit.
      Prostitute do not go around hurting people. How many times we hear mat rempit robbing, hurting and bullying other road users?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Tin Kosong on Feb 23, 2016 at 1:02 pm

Another day, another stupid idea from a so-called UMNO ‘brightest’. By legalising rempit races, the G is indirectly supporting gambling, illicit drugs and sex. Don”t forget what are the rewards for the winners of these races. It is either money, women, drugs or all of those. You think they want a trophy?! The G is basically encouraging social collapse of Malaysian youths with this half-baked, knee-jerk. And I thought UMNO was supposed to be the champion of Malays, not the harbinger of doom.

• alldisc on Feb 23, 2016 at 1:41 pm

no. they want the votes. general election just around the corner.

• HK Tan on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:06 pm

Absurd!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:21 pm

Bodoh Minister. No wonder they call him Jabba The Hut. Go UH or GH emergency every night, you can see about 20 Mat Rempit there with broken head, broken hand or broken leg taxing the hospital

Then the genuine old uncle, who is 90 years old, has to wait 4 hours because he has an asthma attack.

There will be so many old uncles and aunties waiting for hours to be served because of the Mat Rempits.

Now, it will be worse cause Government has sanctioned Mat Rempits and their racing. More will be rushing to hospitals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • NoEyeSee on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:12 pm

Apparently, ICU or hospital, funeral service and coffin business shall improve down in KL. On contrary, not so good news for Insurance companies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • azrai on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:12 pm

Next in the pipeline:- We will legalise brothel.

“We don’t want illegal prostitution, but we want them to do it in a specific place. If they want to do it, it’s okay but we (will) give them a place where we can control with safety barriers and all. We will control the situation because we realise that this is an entertainment for them. They have no other means to entertain themselves because of high costs,” he said.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 0
  • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:12 pm

Why people are racing is very simple. They have no guidance from parents at home. Because of Songlapping, the cost of living has skyrocketted. Both parents have to go out to work, like it or not.

So, most kids nowadays grow up with not even a single parent at home to guide them. Some parents, both also have 2 jobs. So, they only come home late at night when kids are sleeping.

This boils down to Songlapping. The country is wealthy but our money, our pay packet and our currency is so small because of corruption and songlapping. youth going deviant is just one of the side effects of Songlapping.

UMNO also going to bring 1.5 million Banga who will accept RM900 and below. So, generally pay won’t increase for EVERYONE cause got so many people will to do work for RM900 and below. With Malaysians getting so small pay now, both parents have to work.

It is time for UMNO to stop songlapping so that our pay can grow and our currency can grow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 115
  • Wait… they’ve already legalised marijuana? Is that why they’re saying these senseless things???

• That's funny on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:16 pm

Can they just come out with some ideas that are more beneficial? Is it really that hard to just use the brain?

• 8sg7ls on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:17 pm

Ridiculous idea. This Federal Minister is one of the stupidest in the country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • Agree that this is a ridiculous idea. Disagree that this Federal Minister is one of the stupidest (as there is a race for this….)

• ionlaw on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:18 pm

like proposal to legalise use of ganja…

• No pork restaurant on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:21 pm

Soon some minister will suggest legalized pork to curb pork eating and child marriage to curb sexual abuse…

Why not legalize bribery as well since there’s so many cases…oh wait, they already did!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Closed road for them to die. they can afford a professional racing suit? 1 day per week? How much need to spend for this closed road to ensure their or other citizen safety? How much u earn this time?

• jibby martha focker on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:22 pm

the best our so called ‘pemimpin’ can come up with? dei, I want to maki you or laugh at you la??
    What I can conclude is our gomen doesn’t have any intention of doing good for the younger generation, let them rot in best possible way without any hope or way to a brighter future

• albag on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:23 pm

nice one bn!

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:24 pm

Obviously they desperately want more votes , and millions of Banglas and rempits will become their bullets. Now rempits will b more recognized , more proud and more samseng than ever.

• 1. Thief hailed as hero while people attempting riot are not taken action
    2. Cannot use knife bigger than robbers. Cannot hurt robbers.
    3. Whistle blowers are punished while the perpetrators are still plundering.

And now you are closing the road to satisfy the mat rempit instead of punishing them? And bringing in more Bangladeshi?

Those clowns are trying to turn this country into Afghanistan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Tin Kosong on Feb 23, 2016 at 1:07 pm

Maybe that is their plan all along. To refresh everyone’s memories, there is a law passed not long ago that grants the PM absolute power in the event of unrest. Basically to declare martial law and turn the country into a totalitarian dictatorship. Now it all makes sense, doesn’t it?

• By doing this, all these mat rempit will become macai and vote for BN mah.

what those minister thinking is, “u die is u problem, i don’t care, i just care about my vote”

• Something smell fishy…Maybe a trap just to gather and arrest the mat motor.

• komarad on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:34 pm

there’s already weekly cub race all over the country but these rempit won’t join it

• Gargantia on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:36 pm

BN ministry should legal “Robber”, “Housebreaker”, “Thief”, and “Drug abuser” to have free time too ??? World class “stupidity” by Ministry as wasted “Tax Payers” taxes money for making this statement of every years??? Wakeup Rakyat !!! All yours wasted taxes are gone to this ??!!!

• srsly on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:43 pm

This has got to be the stupidest idea ever conceived. How could a minister stoop so low to legalise an illegal activity. The very idea of driving fast already can cause road fatality. If want to go ahead, fine, make sure this idiots who gets injured or killed cannot claim their insurance and if they do harm an innocent pedestrian, they better pay up for damages, injuries and to an extent, death! There are homeless people in the streets of KL who needs more attention over these 3 digit income earners!

• Leafable on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:46 pm

Low class.

• wa..motor only ah? i want race my thailand made truck for 0~400m in 10seconds

• ok wat... on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:55 pm

ok wat…more velentino rossi and lorenzo will be born..

• Ahmad Krenin on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:00 pm

Damn just when I thought weed is illegal. Din know weed usage is so rampant in Malaysia

• kuNan is a kuKoo.

so what happens when one of the kapchais plough into the bystanders and kills both rider and civilian?

• ituuu dia !…

• Ahmad Maslan on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:30 pm

Ahmad Maslan v2

• Shaekey on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:30 pm

“He said that the government had previously organised races in enclosed tracks but public response to these had not been favourable…”

So why did the response has not been favorable? Do you know why or you just guessing for the reason? Track is a lot safer for racing. You want to do street racing then you have to close the road, put barriers, make sure the road condition is acceptable for racing. Additionally it’s night racing… just add up a whole lot more variable to the safety aspects.

The racers still need to wear protective gears suitable for racing, doesn’t matter whether they’re racing at the tracks or on the street. So the cost to the racers are pretty much the same. Or are we going to allow them to race like the way they’re doing their rempit currently?

My point is to provide free racing session to “mat-mat moto” at the track is a lot cheaper and safer than to provide a free street racing session. In this economy, every little saving counts.

• rexar on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:33 pm

if you care to Google it this is the same idea they did in Houston. they legalize it by providing a proper place to race.

• Mau cari makan on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:40 pm

This minister just managed to make him 100x more stupid that he already was.

Syabas!

• Potong on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:40 pm

This will not works! The thrill of Mat Rempit is avoiding police and skill of handling the bike with present of public cars, not wearing safety gear and no restriction on bike modification or speed limit. Without all the obstacles, it ain’t fun anymore, they will still continue illegal.

• brainless minister with ostrich kind of thinking..cant solve problem and choose to create more problem..
    imagine this kind of illegal racing can be happened in our neighbor country..

• NoBangla on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Please don’t waste money to do all your program, is a very stupid idea.

Why don’t you have tighter enforcement, confiscate their motor and make those convicted to work in the oil palm estate as social service so that we could cut down on Bangla workers. And when they get so tired chopping down oil palm during the day, they won’t have the energy to rempit at midnight.
    And for those underage, make their parents do it too as a punishment for having kids but don’t know what they are doing during midnight.

• It’s about time. I am happy the government is listening to our plea. Truly 1Malaysia, people first spirit. Bersyukurlah. One day we will see these budding youths to be on international Moto GP arena

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • yahya sepeda on Feb 22, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Shows just how much in-touch this minister is. Firstly these rempits are just rebelious. How many racing and motocross have we built to cater for the. Did you see them there. No just real motorcycle enthusiasts. Blocking jalan Tuanku abd rahman will not solve it. Only rempits from Kg Baru will go there. What about those in Bangi, Kepong, Rawang and others. They will not go JUST to rempit. Rempits do it anywhere they feel like it.
    For those in charge Please uphold the law. If salah tangkap no question. No giving in. If Minister has cermin gelap tangkap. If anak orang besar bawa kete laju tangkap. You have the book in your hand please use them.

• When you have stupid ministers like this one, you of course end up with a stupid government.

Enough said.

• Crack smoker on pipe dreams on Feb 22, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Woohooo! Can even get hi on race now.. Ministers r also smokin’ crack like us.
    Well, they might even legalise dope/weed very soon!

• blackbox on Feb 22, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Ask them race at putra jaya lah, empty road. Why need to made KL road more jam.

• sepul on Feb 22, 2016 at 6:17 pm

Personally i agree with this idea. Racing is illegal when done on public roads and not in a controlled environment, plus endangering other motorist and themselves.

Street racing is a good idea to bring the racing entertainment to the masses, but safety precautions and organised events are the way to go for it to be legal.

Now they are just a hooligan’s underground event.

• ionlaw on Feb 22, 2016 at 7:46 pm

I’m pretty sure mat rempits don’t read paultan.org….

• Kickass on Feb 22, 2016 at 7:48 pm

All i want to say is introducing organised street races will only produce more mat rempit.

Cannot understand why federal give in unless political motive. Also “criminal” sector that consider “not lucrative”. Unlike SIMPLE >speed, U-Turn, foreign worker etc provide easy lucrative “Donation”. So no one interested on Mat.

Finally federal found they are useful too in vote. And decided to produce more of em, really Boleh !!!

Do whatever it takes, what a dumbass.

• Oh mak lu cina on Feb 23, 2016 at 11:18 am

Some mat rempits get involved in criminal activity. But you don’t have to be a criminal to be mat rempit. Many do it as a sports such as breakdancing, skateboarding…

• System on Feb 23, 2016 at 11:24 am

The article also suggest to provide skill training. That will lessen crime. People commit crime due to being desperate (no job, no money). If you lose your job, and no one wants to hire and help you, you may end up a criminal too.

• Rempit KL on Feb 22, 2016 at 9:23 pm

Do you expect the motor all in original condition..or modified…if talk about racing of course need to modify..so the question : if i modify the motor is it legal? what statement is this : legalise motor to race..a racer won’t ride an original bike..this is the fact..are the authority encourage more pple to modify their vehicles…and this defeat the purpose of having Jpj!!

• Bukan Tan Sri on Feb 22, 2016 at 10:41 pm

Brilliant idea. The FT Minister should also be part of the show. Mat rempits can do jumps over him while he sets himself on fire

• Tom Cruise on Feb 23, 2016 at 12:40 am

Next, They will Legalised RAGUT !!!

• Boy Racer (Member) on Feb 23, 2016 at 2:43 am

How about druggies? Can you all close the city once a week for them and have a cop-free day? If they want to use drugs it’s okay right, just give them a place where you all can control with doctors and all. You guys can also control the situation because you all also realise that this is an entertainment for them. They have no other means to entertain themselves because of high costs right?

It’s early 2016, but I think we have a strong contender for dumbest person of the year.

• Oh mak lu cina on Feb 23, 2016 at 11:15 am

Racing or stunt-doing is just a form of sports. So the suggestion is to have the sports event held in a controlled manner. To compare drugs and sports is something wrong with you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • Habislah Malaysia on Feb 23, 2016 at 11:41 am

I don’t think “Mat Rempit” activities are considered a sport either. If they want to allow them racing as part of a sport, then please wear proper safety riding equipment just like those kapchai endurance racers and adhere to proper racing rules and regulations, which I doubt these “Mat Rempits” will ever do. Yes, they will be racing in a control environment but like I said, no rider self safety and no proper rules and regulation.

• Dan T on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:38 am

Racing whether F1, motoGP, speedboat carries extreme risk. And these are professionals who dedicated their lives to the sport. There will be technical failure which will lead to crashes. Firstly, the public property will be damaged. But to think of a human crashing straight into a lamp post, a flower pot, side rail is – fatal. Does the govt ready to spend taxpayers’ money to repair these assets and other resources to clean up bloody scenes? Not forgetting oil residual or debris parts that can be dangerous to road users the very next day. Looking even deeper, instead of pouring money into nothing, why don’t teach them useful skill that can be a game changer in their lives instead of “legalized illegal” stuff.

I mean you can even ask a 10 year old kid if this is a right thing to do. We need sound judgement and really use more common sense. With that, I leave with this quote by comedian Bill Murray. “Common sense is a lot like deodorant. The people who need it most, never use it.”

• Habislah Malaysia on Feb 23, 2016 at 11:28 am

Oh god… Give me strength to tolerate all these stupidity…

• Why need to legalize this? There are tracks that is built for racing… I can’t believe street racing gets to close the road more than No Car Day in KL. Next to win votes they will legalize opium, weed, and crystal meth… cos apparently to prevent is to give them what they want so they will get their votes. Hope they end as a paste on the road.

• alldisc on Feb 23, 2016 at 1:24 pm

if it is a small circuit, believe me the mat motors wont come. they prefer high speed track… they will want the whole stretch of kesas highway. believe me.

• Mad Rempit on Feb 24, 2016 at 10:57 am

Aiya to all the poor Malay boys. Read a book (cinta), take up crafts – batik, weaving, carving. Or poetry, write poetry. Dance, perform, create life, create activities that are not obnoxious. There’s so much more to Malay culture. But your government is not telling you this. Malaysia is in an incredibly sad state. It’s dying.

• Observe on Mar 04, 2016 at 9:04 am

As bad as this suggestion sounds,i can see it would work to cure the symptom.without this,rempits will continue rempiting anyway causing much more nuisance to public.but i believe going to the crux of the matter and address is is the way for long term