Ops Selamat 8 sees more accidents, fewer fatalities

polis operasi PT

It appears that the recent Ops Selamat 8, which took place over the Chinese New Year period and ended last week, has been successful, according to Bernama. While the accident rate has gone up by 478 to 19,472 incidents, the death rate has actually gone down to 279 fatalities, compared to 307 previously.

“Road users are still using the emergency lane and speeding resulting in their failure to control their vehicles,” said deputy inspector-general of police Datuk Seri Noor Rashid Ibrahim.

He added that the setting up of a strike force teams under the operation in the southern regions of Negeri Sembilan, Melaka and Johor proved effective.

“These small teams based in Muar, Johor randomly patrol accident hot spots or high traffic locations,” Rashid said. “Looking at the results, we will study on the need and compatibility of the approach to be implemented in other zones namely northern zone, East Coast and central zone in future.”

The Johor police contingent was awarded as the best in the operation, followed by Perak and Kelantan. Also awarded was South Johor Bahru as the best district, with Kota Star and Kuala Selangor finishing second and third place respectively.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Open Letter to IGP on Feb 22, 2016 at 11:44 am

Hello abang IGP, I got saman before, I go to balai to pay fully at payment counter, the seargeant call me aside to back room and told me he will settle it for me for RM50. He said got no receipt thought.

This is why Malaysians are not scared of saman. Don’t even have to bribe polis officer who saman you. When you go balai also, no need to beg or appeal for reduction. Polis themselves come and offer you their “services”.

This is why, even RM1000 saman also, we Malaysins will be cool about it. Go to Balai, officer will now ask RM1000

Clean your polis first lah IGP. Then come and talk big about increasing saman and having more operasi.

We can have all the laws in the world, but when your officers makan duit kopi, what is the use of those laws and operasi?

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:22 pm

Why fatality rate drop? Because Proton sales drop also.