Seatbelt use should be stringently enforced – MIROS

PSA – Tali Pingang Keledar

Tali Pingang Keledar bukan Aksesori.More : Wiki Rakyat

Posted by Wiki Rakyat on Wednesday, 24 February 2016

We’ve said it before, and we’ll say it again – whilst on the move, the primary item of safety equipment in a car is the seatbelt. Airbags, electronic safety and driving aids may do their part in the event of an accident, but it all can count for nothing if you don’t buckle up.

As shown in a video uploaded on Facebook by user Wiki Rakyat, the consequences of not being strapped in securely in a vehicle can be quite impactful, in a thoroughly wrong manner. Likewise the use of a motorcycle helmet, and by that we mean a properly attached one. While it won’t stop or prevent mishaps, it could mean the difference between life and death.

With motorists and road users generally having a lackadaisical approach in their view of these items, the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety (MIROS) has come out to say that stringent and continuous enforcement by authorities on seatbelt use in cars and the usage of helmets on motorcycles is needed to prevent road fatalities, Bernama reports.

Rear_Seat_belt-003-850x566

The institute’s chairman, Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye, said enforcement of seatbelt and helmet usage should be ongoing and intensive, and the action has to be highly visible and well publicised. “It should be conducted predominantly in locations where there is an increased crash risk,” he said via a statement.

Lee added that there should be moves to introduce community-based programmes as well as increase social awareness on the matter, these focusing on showing road users the benefits of seatbelt and helmet use. He also encouraged vehicle manufacturers to install seatbelt reminders, not just for the front seats, but also for the rear seats.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 29, 2016 at 1:41 pm

How to enforce when the PDRM is always asking money to settle an offence? PDRM should enforce the laws. When PDRM are themselves breaking the laws and promoting danger by asking for duit kopi, habis lah Malaysia.

Be like SIngapore and Australia. There is no sorry. there is no duit kopi. Immediate saman.

here in Malaysia, PDRM officer himself will ask you to settle and he will tell you how much.

I hope MIROS can speak to the IGP to clean up his force first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 16
    • NO seatbelt makes the world a better place on Feb 29, 2016 at 2:40 pm

disagree with seatbelt enforcement. we should let the law of natural selection takes it course, Darwinism.
      ppl who dont wear seatbelt are generally stupid-er, if there is such a classification. For a better world, please die…

the world is being bog down by stupid peeps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • tokmoh. on Feb 29, 2016 at 3:02 pm

The bitter truth.

Stupidity has no cure, higher chances of death for those stubborn to wear seat belts is nature achieving balance.

• First clip. The person actually fell out from a white VIOS!!!?

• nasry on Feb 29, 2016 at 7:10 pm

bodoh, enforcement should start with u..not by enforcement officers..u want tongkat or what?

• Sick&tired on Mar 01, 2016 at 3:48 am

While i am not a fan of the police, i think its unfair to blame them. People should be held responsible for their own actions, or lack of it.

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 29, 2016 at 1:54 pm

For Proton, please double check if your seatbelts are working properly. Don’t play play with Proton quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 31
    • tokmoh. on Feb 29, 2016 at 3:03 pm

You’re one to talk.

Go look in the mirror and see your beloved UMW Toyota care about RV or safety. Poi.

• Sam Protn Supporter on Feb 29, 2016 at 5:53 pm

Check your son proton first

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 01, 2016 at 11:10 am

If my son has a Proton, I will ask him to scrap it IMMEDIATELY. No one likes to keep junk at home, do you?

• ben yap on Feb 29, 2016 at 2:01 pm

those flying in the air, actually have their seats ejected like a fighter aircraft.

• Black Dog on Feb 29, 2016 at 2:22 pm

2 Main reasons for terrible motorist attitude on the road:

1. LACK OF ENFORCEMENT
    2. If caught, CORRUPTION!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • kzm (Member) on Feb 29, 2016 at 4:23 pm

How to enforce when near roadblock wear seatbelt..after go through roadblock unbuckled

• kzm (Member) on Feb 29, 2016 at 4:25 pm

When no police/jpj..red light no problem. When police around follow rules like an angel. How to enforce?

• Oscar Trayvon Yap on Feb 29, 2016 at 6:04 pm

Imbeciles always blame other people

• redidiot on Mar 03, 2016 at 6:05 pm

Your own life pun nak kena enforce ka? Cannot think for diri sendiri is it? I thot oposition supose to be beter?

• azrai on Feb 29, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Hmm..talking about seatbelt..even driving without license is the norm today..where’s the enforcement?

• No need to enforce &just let it be…. similar to natural selection only the wearer will have better survival%

• Zou guang :-P

• applegreen on Feb 29, 2016 at 4:07 pm

i like the last video, its a 1080 degree flip and nobody can do that in olympic games

• Most Malaysians dun wanna wear seatbelts cuz they think complying to the law means they suppork BN Gov.
    Even when got hi tech car beeping when no put seatbelt, they just buy those cards that slip into safety belt lock.

This is malaysian mentality.

• GT3 (Member) on Feb 29, 2016 at 5:24 pm

It’s sad to see in the comment section from the fb page, that in 2016, there are still people who thought that wearing seatbelts would cause more harm than any good.
    He can say that wearing seatbelt would be dangerous if the car get crumpled, it’s better to be thrown outside. WTF.

• Finger pointing u! on Feb 29, 2016 at 5:45 pm

So the police will be blame after collision? No! Seatbelt is to prevent driver & passenger serious injuries/death.If the law ask u to buckling up just to make police earn bribery money,a lot of enforcement officers be millionaires. Even cheap viva/axia have 2 airbags,so what’s your excuse now?

• Their excuse is ini semua salah Najib. Jangan persoal or u will be diharamkan

• Yusuf on Feb 29, 2016 at 11:22 pm

Stop whining , start enforcing safety among our close ones. Yeah those, unlawful enforcer are part of the trouble. But whining while doing nothing citizens are only making it worse.

• Sick&tired on Mar 01, 2016 at 3:46 am

That video damn scary! I cannot understand why people still dont wear seatbelts!