China Railway still keen on KL-Singapore HSR project

hitachi bullet train

China Railway Group (CREC) has stated that it is still interested in the high-speed rail (HSR) project that links Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. That said however, the company is currently waiting for the tender to open up, The Sun Daily reports.

“We are an infrastructure contractor. We also invest in infrastructure. We are interested but we are waiting for the Singaporean or Malaysian government to call for the tender,” said Cai Zemin, general manager of China Railway Engineering Corp.

Meanwhile, Tan Sri Lim Kang Hoo, group executive vice chairman of IWH group, has expressed interest in taking part in the HSR project together with CREC, as the company possesses the appropriate expertise in a variety of fields other than rail.

HSR stations proposed

“Definitely we will. If they invite us. We are also in the same line so of course, we are not experts in railway and we would have to depend on them, but we are in infrastructure, we are in civil, we have been doing all this, so it is nothing new,” the executive vice chairman noted.

China Railway Group and its joint venture partner, Iskandar Waterfront Holdings (IWH) both own 60% equity in Bandar Malaysia – the transport hub for the HSR.

The race for the tracks has intensified between China, Japan and South Korea in recent months. The HSR, when ready, is expected to cut travel time between KL and Singapore down to 90 minutes. It will also have direct links to the Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA), Changi Airport in Singapore and the proposed Pan Asean Rail Transit to Bangkok.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• gaviny on Mar 22, 2016 at 1:39 pm

the grease money already paid liao lor,

• No company from China. HSR project in Indonesia already been delay since January. Choose the Japanesse which had experiance in building HSR since 1964 and since then no casualties involved. Or if prefer a cheaper option choose South Korea.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 23, 2016 at 1:16 pm

its already won by china la…