Sultan of Johor wants Causeway to be replaced

johor causeway jam bernama pix

Frequent users of the Johor Causeway will be familiar with the undesirable traffic situation during peak hours. In light of this, Sultan Ibrahim Ibni Almarhum Sultan Iskandar, the Sultan of Johor has urged stakeholders to mull the idea of replacing the Johor Causeway with a bridge.

“I feel sorry for the thousands of Malaysians and Singaporeans who are stuck in traffic jams at the Causeway daily due to the congestion. It is worse during holidays and festive seasons. Also, many people are walking to Singapore daily due to the bad traffic jams,” Sultan Ibrahim said.

In the report by The Star, HRH said that if Singapore disagreed with an undersea tunnel, then a swing bridge could be considered. “I am sure if you work with Singapore, they will accept as it will be a win-win situation for both countries, but you will have to give a good reason to replace the Causeway,” he added.

“The water at the Causeway has stagnated for so many years. Both countries should put aside their differences and come up with solutions to improve mobility,” he said, adding that the projects should have been completed years ago.

He also spoke about the need for the extension of the rapid transit system (RTS) from Singapore to Johor Baru to improve connectivity. Additionally, he urged the Malaysian Immigration Department to keep all its booths open all the time, as there were complaints that many of the booths were not open during peak hours and holidays.

Do you agree with Sultan Ibrahim’s idea for a bridge to replace the Johor Causeway? If so, what sort of connectivity option should be constructed? Let us know what you think in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Actually no need to make a new bridge. Thank you Sultan for His Highness’ concerns. Daulat Tuanku! But please, malaysian immigration department stop being lazy and take away your ketuanan mentality. Learn from your counter-part across the Causeway. All booth should remain opened be it on or off peak season.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 79
    • Dinar Saudi on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:59 am

the cost to build the bridge is 2.6billion … in USD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
      • Corruption No 1 Cause on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Actually the root of the problem is not the bridge. it is corruption. Because of corruption and stealing, many have to go to work in Singapore to earn higher salary.

If Malaysia had the same GDP Per Capita as Singapore, which is the 2nd highest in the world and our currency was like the SGD, no Malaysian will go to Singapore to work.

And why is our GP Per Capita one of the lowest in the world and our currency so weak compared to Singapore? Very simple. Corruption.

Singapore GDP Per Capita is 5x that of Malaysia. What this means is this, if the Malaysian is earning RM5000 in Malaysia, the guy in Singapore with the same job is earning RM25,000.

Both countries started out at the same time. Both countries Merdeka at the same time. But Singapore had ZERO. Malaysia on the other hand had super rich resources. Do you know Malaysia is the most resource rich country in the entire world? We got tin, gas, kuprum, gold, oil (best sweet grade in the world), cobalt, palm, rubber etc etc. You name it, we got it. We even have the most rarest minerals in the world.

So how come Singapore can be so First World and we are stuck in 3rd world with low currency and low GDP Per Capita? Tt is corruption

Trust me HRH, if our Corruption in Malaysia is sorted out, and our currency rise and GDP per Capita rise, nobody will even go to Singapore and work!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 203 Thumb down 33
        • Joey Tan on Mar 23, 2016 at 1:34 pm

Very true. In the 80s, when the Ringgit and Singapore dollar was 1 to 1, no Malaysian went to Singapore to work. Only students from JB went into Singapore for Junior College (JC).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rrrr on Mar 23, 2016 at 4:09 pm

Najib is even happier you go Singapore earn a lot of money and spend in Malaysia. Then he can sapu more GST.

• wrong fact on Mar 23, 2016 at 9:04 pm

You’re wrong maam, in the 70s Singapore already turning themself into manufacturing hub and many Malaysian had since moving there.

Meanwhile in Malaysia, we just start NEP and the rest is history…

• AcerMan on Mar 23, 2016 at 2:07 pm

It shows natural resources is a curse and not blessing. Tsk tsk tsk

• AcerMan on Mar 23, 2016 at 2:17 pm

It means natural resources is a curse and not a blessing. Tsk Tsk Tsk

• JB_KIA on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:41 pm

I like your reply but sorry, what is kuprum? Is it a fruit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • other factors on Mar 24, 2016 at 5:45 pm

just so you know it is not all about corruption people have to be educated to improve and it will help to improve everything.

with tons of resources if you can not improve you will end up like chile.

• Nissan on Mar 24, 2016 at 7:53 am

ROI is very high for this project.

• ini John otak udang on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:14 pm

Did you ever using the causeway? if no please dont talk cock here.

Singapore side have less counter even during rush hour compare to us!

However our automatic gate is lesser & slower compare to Singapore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 11
      • Corsa on Mar 23, 2016 at 4:48 pm

yeah.. this john never cross the causeway one.. those who does sure know how singapore’s immigration treat malaysian.. like piece of shit.. no brain john

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Anonymous on Mar 23, 2016 at 1:08 pm

Learn what..? Its congested on S’pore’s part too..!

The bridge would help solve two major problems at the same time… new carriageways for better traffic flow and the stagnating waters of the straits. In fact it would spur greater connectivity and economic growth as there can be water taxis connecting the east n west coasts of Johore.

If you don’t live in JB then u have no idea of whats goin on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • frossonice on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:51 am

Mahathir will be like;

“Eat that Dollah and Najib! I told you so!”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 8
  • Black Dog on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:54 am

The congestion is also due to Singapore’s deliberate delay at the booth.
    I was caught a few times frantically filling up white cards in the car when we reach the booth at Singapore’s side.
    Why can’t they give out the white cards earlier before we reach the booths? 5 of us took about 10 mins filling up the cards. Just imagine…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 10
    • cannot tahan on Mar 23, 2016 at 1:17 pm

dude, the card can be gotten from almost anywhere. bus ticketing counter also give these white cards away. Dont blame anyone, blame yourself for ignorance.

• kapchai on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:08 pm

Fully agree with the Sultan

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
  • Benchmark EU – let revise procedure. No need passport to travel Malaysia – Singapore – Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
  • feeling sorry alone won’t do much good…
    putting some money in might make some differences…

• malaysian on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:33 pm

Please build 3rd link between Pasir Gudang to Punggol not the bloody stupid plan from Pengerang to Changi!

• janji najix tidak ditunaikan,Penipu Rakyat on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:47 pm

All Hail Sultan Johor,u did good job than our Ex gen PM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • Long Live The Johor Sultan! on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Agree on Johor Sultan,fully support.As a frequent traveller myself i did experienced those congestion not just at causeway but 2nd Link bridge! A 3rd bridge is really needed to build immediately.I don’t know how long i will be like a sardin in can anymore,so cramped! Especially during peak hours.But nowadays everyday is peak hour at jb causeway and 2nd Link getting is going to be as worst as that.Those coming from SG not just Singaporean,but international tourists like China,Europe,East Asia,Middle East etc.Same goes to those from JB entering SG.Pls politics aside,both countries need to fasten discussion on the 3rd bridge or upgrade the bridge project asap.Crooked bridge by Tun M proved some of us wrong in term of water movement but i do agree more on new bridge like 2nd Link to replace the old causeway.To those not a frequent or never using both checkpoints at all & at all times pls shut your mouth up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • If 1st bridge jemmed, 2nd also jemmed, then there must be another reason for the issue. Just like others highlighted in above comments, maybe its the system currently used is the reason for the delay thus causing traffic jemmed. The cheapest n easiest maybe to use faster n smoother system

• policeman on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:49 pm

How about just staying in your own country?

Otak udang nak cross border pastu komplen. Typical PKR mentality. Greedy and self-centered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 86
    • cannot tahan on Mar 23, 2016 at 1:19 pm

why Najib’s son want to cross singapore and perform in a Pub? ask him why Najib son typical PKR mentality too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Andas on Mar 23, 2016 at 3:05 pm

1 dollar for 3 ringgit, who can say no???

• janji najix tidak ditunaikan,Penipu Rakyat on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:51 pm

Why can only sultan Johor read and knew our feeling and pain,why can’t any BN leader did and say same comment before?I got the feeling,johorean is loviNg sultan ad soon support the idea of separating Johor with Malaysia as sole country. Thump up,Sulatan Johor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • john is otak batu on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Yes Tuanku!, Build 4X4 lane bridge pls! Bus lane separated.

• So now Tuanku support Tun M CROOKED bridge? I thought he said he dun like CROOKED thinking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • The main issue who get more benefit?
    that what they afraid.

• A walkalator should be proposed on the location where people are already walking now. This will be so much easier to construct, cheaper, faster & cause lesser environmental impact.

• We are more desperate to build the Bridge rather than Singaporean. So with the bridge proposal on the table, let’s just see whether Sing’s GOV are doing us a favor base on the relationship we have.

• ben yap on Mar 23, 2016 at 1:37 pm

That’s singapore and johor’s problem. I’m in KL and wouldn’t care much. LOL….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Vincent Ang on Mar 23, 2016 at 4:28 pm

You are an inconsiderate asshole. Hope you choke and die in KL’s traffic jam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
  • If country can be traded as goods. I think singapore will want to buy over malaysia. Simply because sg is richer in terms of capital.. lol

• Hahaha on Mar 23, 2016 at 2:24 pm

Lol, the main reason why mahathir wanted to replace the Causeway with a bridge is so that if someday we had conflict with Singapore, the bridge can be easily destroyed and disabled compared to the rock-foundation Causeway which is sturdy as hell and relatively easy to repair when damaged, which ultimately leads to Singaporean ground forces moving into Johor with ease. Seems like Tuanku feels a little uneasy with this recently and starts to agree with mahathir’s idea from years ago…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Hahaha on Mar 23, 2016 at 2:28 pm

If what I’m saying is wrong, why replace when you can just build another and keep the Causeway as it is?? Wouldn’t that be better logically??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • think out of the box on Mar 23, 2016 at 2:28 pm

Actually is not Malaysia dont want to built new link to SG, but it is SG government that think otherwise, as more link in to their country mean more security threaten to them, SG national security strategy always see Malaysia as a threat to them, that’s why their long terms allocated of oversea military forces to station outside SG in country like Taiwan, France, Australian, US…just in case their tiny island country are surrounded by those who had ill intention, their back up military force will counter back from outer ring position, so from national security point of view, it’s logical that SG don’t want more links..

• I think u r still inside the box on Mar 23, 2016 at 3:31 pm

As above

• Think logically on Mar 23, 2016 at 3:47 pm

Lol, Singapore WANTS more links to their country to help their economy. If you studied strategic studies, the smaller country will always be the one with pre-emptive strike, so I don’t think they’ll sit back and wait for Malaysia to invade them, they have excellent military intelligence and their equipment outnumber ours by alot (even their battle ready reserves are almost 1 million in strength)! I doubt Singapore is the one preventing a new link from being built. National security of Singapore is NOT the main reason a new link can’t be built. In fact, it’s Malaysia that is afraid of Singaporean forces entering Johor using the near-indestructable Causeway. Any more links will just make Malaysia even more susceptible. Therefore, Malaysia is the main reason.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • I think on Mar 24, 2016 at 6:01 pm

I think is port strategy. When Causeway rebuilding more higher then Pasir Gudang ship can go to Tanjong Perlepas Port. Singapore Port business will effect. So Singapore government don’t want this issue happen.

• hyin21 on Mar 23, 2016 at 3:14 pm

my understanding is Singapore doesn’t want a bridge which will then allow ships to sail from South China Sea to Selat Melaka, bypassing Singapore’s port which is at the south of the island.

• transformer on Mar 23, 2016 at 3:33 pm

Daulat Tuanku!
    At least Johor Sultan cares about Johorean. Thank you!

I would suggest to hold a survey for 3days on the bridge itself at driver both inward & outward from JB to find user opinion to identify bottleneck first. It’s not hard to find parttime graduate to perform such survey.

Base on my past experience and other user experience, it’s not bridge caused problem but bottleneck happened at SG Police checkpoint. Not at SG immigration. Not forgetting MY immigration that has alot counter but no officer.

Even with 10 bridge, car will still jam at SG police checkpoint as usual. MY immigration has more empty counter than officer.

This is not a recent issue, not years but decades already.

• Cyberkayu on Mar 23, 2016 at 4:03 pm

IMHO, both gov shud jz landfill up the strait, since our developer and sg gov like landfill so much :)

• That will happen when Party Hard overtakes, cuz then they will sell johor to SG as colony

• Second link, the luggage scanning process is suck. I experienced many times the people stuck in queue just for the scanning. 8 become 1 line. Some more the officer really don’t care about this.

• Penolak Awan on Mar 23, 2016 at 8:39 pm

Daulat Tuanku!!!!
    Patik amat bersetuju dgn cadangan tuanku menggantikan tmabak johor dgn jambatan baru…..sekurang2 nye ekosistem diselat tebrau dpt dipelihara dan dijaga…..

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:30 pm

Tuanku please build a short LRT line to SG will do. It will speed up the travelling tremendously. The SG side have to control vehicles entering if not it will suddenly jam up their highways. Keeping vehicles longer at the causeway is a method used to allow internal traffic dispersion before new vehicles join the line. The other problem are traffickers getting more creative in smuggling illegal substances via vehicles. It takes more time to check whole vehicle than a person’s body. Therefore the long-term solution is the LRT. The current train line is not sufficient to cater for a bigger crowd with tickets fully sold way before the travel.

• My 2 cents on Mar 24, 2016 at 12:26 am

70% of the daily commuters on the causeways are Malaysian working in Spore. The fastest & cheapest way to commute is by railway, train, mrt! No vep, erp, petrol etc! So built one! And this will leave the causeway with the remaining 30% commuters, so improve the congestion!
    My 2 cents:)

• opening up the causeway will not be economically viable for singapore…malaysians shouldnt be allowed to open it up and allow ships to past through..lower rm and rates will make it too attractive for ships to port.

• Strawberry peanut butter jam on Mar 24, 2016 at 8:28 am

With singapore population planned at 6.9 mils, how many links do we need? I want to applaud SOJ for bringing up these issues regardless of the realisation.

• Mogan on Mar 24, 2016 at 8:34 am

A tunnel for motorcycles,shift lorries,express and tour buses to second link.