Gov’t to pay RM1 billion if toll rates not raised in 2016

Karak-highway-02

If toll concessionaires do not raise their toll rates as expected this year, the government would need to compensate them with RM1 billion in exchange. Works minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof said that this figure is double what the government had originally planned to pay.

According to The Star, additional maintenance costs for the upkeep of highways is the main reason for the increased figure. “They have to maintain and service the road, they also have to upgrade the staff in their departments,” Fadillah explained.

However, despite previous announcements, there is still no certainty of toll rates going up this year. “Wait for the legislation, we are still negotiating the matter,” Fadillah told reporters. “We have to balance all aspects and that depends on the Government’s income,” he added.

DUKE-Highway-01

The publication also reported that in December, the minister revealed a breakdown for the payments required. It is said that a total of RM214 million is needed for the North-South Highway, RM8.24 million for the Second Link Expressway and RM79.4 million for the Elite Highway.

A further RM3.11 million is needed for the Butterworth Kulim Expressway, RM1.95 million for the Seremban-Port Dickson Highway, RM92.8 million for Kesas, RM7.8 million for the North Klang Straits Bypass and RM185.9 million for the LDP.

This itself totalled to RM597 million – exceeding the RM500 million the government had previously allocated to compensate the relevant toll concessionaires this year to avoid a hike.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• hasif on Mar 24, 2016 at 9:54 am

Cant even help to ease the daily burden of rakyat. Sad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • George Abdul on Mar 24, 2016 at 11:19 am

Someone pass the msg to Work.Minister. Actually what the different? Tolls increase price = Rakyat pay, Government pay RM 1 billions using “Tax payers money” = Rakyat pay… In the end same Rakyat that pay all of it !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 0
      • Difficult to Live in Malaysia on Mar 24, 2016 at 11:52 am

Most Malaysians are struggling. Now our TNB bills are around RM500 per month even, to add and make matters worse. Government really hantam the rakyat puas puas. We Malaysians suffer so much.

1) Cars so costly, highest in the world

2) Petrol price so high considering oil producing nation. Overpaying RM0.60 sen per liter

3) TNB Price so high considering Petronas produces oil and gas. Large houses in UK and Australia pay not even RM100 a month

4) Raw food prices so expensive. More expensive than even London (if you cook at home). I spend Rm600 a week on grocery whilst my sister in London spends 40 pounds per week for her whole family.

5) Broadband ridicuolusly high at RM200. Singapore 1GBPS at half the price.

6) Education price skyrocketting. Because of bodoh teachers, many have to send for tuition and extra classes

7) Healthcare sky rocketting

Where is the RM1 whole chicken Najib say he cooks at his house?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
        • What nonsense are you ranting about here? It’s pretty dam obvious you ranting for the sake of it. Are you a redbean cyber trooper?

1) Cars so costly, highest in the world
          DO YOUR BLOODY HOMEWORK BEFORE COMMENTING PLEASE. SINCE WHEN WE HAVE THE HIGHEST CAR PRICES IN THE WORLD? WE ARE ONLY THE THIRD AFTER THAILAND AND SINGAPORE YOU LAME SHIT.

2) Petrol price so high considering oil producing nation. Overpaying RM0.60 sen per liter
          WTF ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT? HAVE YOU FACTOR IN ON THE CURRENCY CONVERSION? YOU ARE AWARE THAT ALL FOSSIL FUEL IS TRADED IN USD RIGHT? AND THEN CONVERTED TO THE LOCAL CURRENCY FOR DOMESTIC CONSUMPTION.
          3) TNB Price so high considering Petronas produces oil and gas. Large houses in UK and Australia pay not even RM100 a month
          ARE YOU SURE THEIR UTILITIES BILL DOESN’T EXCEEDS RM100 A MONTH? WANNA BULLSHIT ALSO USE YOUR BRAIN A BIT LAH. WHEN I WAS IN UK, THE UTILITIES BILL EASILY REACH RM200. WINTER WE WILL USE THE HEATER AND SUMMER WE WILL USE THE AIR CONDITIONING.NO MATTER HOW, THE BILL WILL EASILY EXCEED RM200 WAN LAH U DUMB.

4) Raw food prices so expensive. More expensive than even London (if you cook at home). I spend Rm600 a week on grocery whilst my sister in London spends 40 pounds per week for her whole family.
          THIS IS ANOTHER NONSENSE. RM600 A MONTH? YOU WANNA FEED WHO LAH? YOU GOT 20 MOUTHS TO FEED IN A WEEK? MY HOUSE HAVE 3 FAMILY MEMEBER AND 5 CATS & DOGS YET OUR EXPENSES FOR GROCERIES IS ONLY RM200 PER WEEK.

5) Broadband ridicuolusly high at RM200. Singapore 1GBPS at half the price.
          YOU ARE STUPID OR WHAT? THEIR 1GBPS FOR RM150 IS ONLY FOR THE MONTHLY FEES AND THAT IS EXCLUDING OF MODEM AND ROUTER RENTAL WHICH COULD EASILY COST ANOTHER EXTRA RM450 PER MONTH. THIS ALONE SUMS THE ENTIRE FEES TO RM600 PER MONTH YOU MORON. GO DO YOUR HOMEWORK FIRST BEFORE START BASHING.

6) Education price skyrocketting. Because of bodoh teachers, many have to send for tuition and extra classes.
          NOT ALL GOVERNMENT SCHOOLS HAVE BAD TEACHERS AND NOT ALL GOVERNMENT SCHOOLS HAS UNDER PERFORMED STUDENTS LAH. EVEN GOING TO PRIVATE SCHOOLS THAT CHARGES EXORBITANT PRICES WILL NOT GUARANTEE YOUR CHILDREN GETS STRAIGHT As. IT WILL IN THE END DEPENDS ON HOW YOU EDUCATE YOUR CHILDREN TO BE A SUCCESSFUL PERSON WHEN THEY GROW UP. NO SINGLE PARENT SHOULD RELY ON THE TEACHERS 100% REGARDLESS OF PRIVATE OR GOVERNMENT SCHOOLS.
          7) Healthcare sky rocketting
          Where is the RM1 whole chicken Najib say he cooks at his house?
          ANOTHER NONSENSE. MY MOM FELL AND CUT HER FOREHEAD, SENT HER TO UNIVERSITI MALAYA HOSPITAL WHICH ONLY CHARGED ME RM60 FOR THE STITCHING AND DRESSING. YOU ARE ALSO AWARE THAT GOVERNMENT CLINIC CHARGES ONLY RM1.00 RIGHT?

ALL OF US HAVE OPTIONS IN OUR LIFE LAH. WE MAKE OUR OWN CHOICES, AND INSTEAD OF OTHER PEOPLE DOING IT FOR US. PAUL TAN WEBSITE IS A LOVELY PLACE TO KNOW EVERYTHING ABOUT CARS AND MOTORCYCLE. IF YOU WANNA COMMENT TO STICK TO THE TOPIC PLEASE. THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU TO DO GOVERNMENT OR OPPOSITION BASHING. PEOPLE LIKE YOU IS WHAT MAKES THIS COUNTRY ROTTEN AND PEOPLE LIKE YOU THAT COMMENT WITHOUT THINKING IS WHAT MAKING EVERYONE FROM THE OUTSIDE LAUGH AT ALL OF US.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 73
          • stasta on Mar 25, 2016 at 10:58 am

kyle u are a ranting retard . if u leave out currency conversion its obvious that malaysian spending power is much lower compared to most other countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • My brain hurts on Mar 25, 2016 at 2:43 pm

George Abdul,

Toll increase Price, No Subsidy = Whoever use the toll road pay. U dun use, no need pay.

Tax Payers Money = Those who pay income tax but don’t drive or use toll also have to pay on the behalf of the people who drive.

That is why they call is SUBSIDY. Why should those who don’t use toll pay together for u and ur car?

• The GST collected in a month is multiple fold of what you have to subsidize in a year… This is what Ah Jib Gor said when he implemented GST in April 2015.. He would use the revenue to help build better roads, schools and subsidies… Sudah lupa??

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 24, 2016 at 9:55 am

Then don’t compensate them la. If government can keep on making promises to rakyat and not fulfilling them, what’s stopping the government from not compensating the companies? It’s not like they’re not making money also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Really on Mar 24, 2016 at 1:20 pm

It is an open secret concessionaires are owned or controlled by cronies. You think they are willing to take profit cuts just because the rakyat are struggling? Malaysians should wake up and realise all those talks on RTM, TV3, Utusan, NST about government caring about the rakyat are bullshits of the highest stinkiness. The truth is rakyat are being screwed at every turn by those corrupt and inefficient buffoons in power.

• thomasNOTMYNAME on Mar 24, 2016 at 9:56 am

Gov’t must pay RM1,000,000,000 if toll rates not raised in 2016 because it’s their job to protect RAKYAT. We donated our tax money to our beloved PM for this reason. thumbs up. Long live the King.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Black on Mar 24, 2016 at 10:06 am

Judging by the popularity of certain political leaders of raising incredible amount of funds from donations, they should make it an official duty for them to raise funds worldwide instead of burdening the pitiful Rakyat.

• AND WHO THE FCK CARES on Mar 24, 2016 at 10:06 am

If the doesn’t go to the concessionaires(they’re cronies but whatevs), it will go into jibby’s pocket. So just use the money la, its rakyat’s money after all. haih

• Too Bad on Mar 24, 2016 at 10:10 am

Too bad highways are an almost certain necessities for most if not all to get to work to earn a living. We Malaysians have no choices but to bare the burden as we mostly cannot escape/boycott them.

• bring it up all you want. I haven’t been paying toll since the previous toll hike. LMAO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • 100 Million per 1KM on Mar 24, 2016 at 10:13 am

Malaysia is the only country in the world where 1 KM cost RM100 million (without land and house acquisitions) and that also using Bangladeshi cheap labour.

The toll concessionaires who are mainly cronies tell the Government they paid RM100 million per 1 KM and need a 40 to 50 year contract to recoup the cost they have invested and assurance that every 2 to 3 syear can increase suka hati.

Even in Europe, with the highest labour cost, each KM is hardly a few million in cost.

Hello PLUS, give me 10 Bangladeshis and some tar, I can make 1 KM for RM100k lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • freedom on Mar 24, 2016 at 10:16 am

So you mean we rakyat should pay it la?! You government gst already so rich, this small piece of cake should you government to pay. If no why we pay so many gst and tax for? The money of government earn is for this kind of subsidies. Not for you all personal use. Please dont talk rubbish.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topu on Mar 24, 2016 at 10:19 am

Just hike. Traffic jam so bad now because low fuel price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Anonymous on Mar 24, 2016 at 10:24 am

Thank You BN

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Mar 24, 2016 at 10:32 am

so donation govt received can last another 25 years?

• Gargantia on Mar 24, 2016 at 10:45 am

Total bullshit by the Minister to pampered the super Rich AP owners crony in Malaysia… Tax “Payers Money” to be wasted again and again under this ministry??? Rakyat never wakeup? Or scared to see the truth face of an d….?

• how abt the RM2.6 Billion? thought already took from toll payers in advance?

• MeToo on Mar 24, 2016 at 10:48 am

So the govt entered into some one-sided unfair contract due to their own stupidity (or perhaps due to other more… ‘enriching’ reasons), but we the Rakyat has to pay for it? Nice….

• dockey J on Mar 24, 2016 at 10:54 am

this really out of mind, related contract never disclosed to public yet yearly need to pay a unknown large sum amount to cronies.

• Doesn’t matter toll hikes happen or not, cronies will always get their pay..

• Black Dog on Mar 24, 2016 at 11:08 am

“they also have to upgrade the staff in their departments,” Fadillah explained.”

I thought they should reduce their staff since most toll lanes now are going fully electronic!

And PLUS is a cash cow raking billions. Tamak betul!

• WT Fuchhh on Mar 24, 2016 at 11:08 am

Just ask from you know who…. No need to return to Arab.

• Henry on Mar 24, 2016 at 11:10 am

Do we need you to tell us this? Who sign such lopsided deals?

BTW, the Gomen is not paying. It is the people who are paying.

• gimme a break! on Mar 24, 2016 at 11:11 am

come on, again??
    not touching the issue of the unfair contract signed by government this time around.
    but please, you have collected the GST at few 10 times more than this amount.
    if you will go on a public vote, am the first one gonna vote for pay the penalty via gst collected!

• saladin on Mar 24, 2016 at 11:15 am

It is the government obligation to provide sufficient road for the public. By right there should be no toll at all.

• how often we see our highway being upkeep?

highway is a cashcow…opex are quite low

the concessionaires are milking the cow
    they make loss mayb is mismanagement of funds

• abe we on Mar 24, 2016 at 11:16 am

i’m wondering where all the GST money go. They give 10 cent and ask rakyat 10 ringgit…hmm

• Agreed … pay using collected GST. Dont tell us you want to use the GST money to build Warisan Merdeka! Stupid building … just to get his name on it.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Mar 24, 2016 at 11:28 am

2015 already increased, now 2016 , in 2017 they will tell you thr same shit. My blood boils thinking abt Najib and his ministers.

• give up on Mar 24, 2016 at 11:31 am

toll rates were just raised and now the Works ministry tell us they under budget by 50%. what nonsense! sack the accountants.

• cendol (Member) on Mar 24, 2016 at 11:47 am

You don’t want toll increase, use trunk road and wake up earlier.

• Why are we keep paying money to this private comp?

• GST already collected, use this money to pay la. Later they will say not all people use the highway so can’t use the GST money, but Pan Borneo can give free pulak even though higher tax collection coming from peninsular. Their answers to free highway in Borneo is because there is no alternative road in Sabah Sarawak, can you believe it? Lawak betul..

• chickenshit on Mar 24, 2016 at 11:37 pm

when price of toll goes up, you (minister) advise those who feel burdened by the hike to take inside road. Now not enough collection , you want to raise toll price some more. Idiotic move

• Walter Ang on Mar 25, 2016 at 10:34 am

Good for everyone….continue voting for beeend….and continue paying taxes till theend…..

• mineral on Mar 25, 2016 at 5:33 pm

Crazy! R u building all whole new highway? Why is it not enough? You all didn’t calculate correctly what is the needs of the gov when declaring GST? Didn’t include the money saved from cancelling petrol subsidy? The only reason to all these is because no matter how much the citizen pay, it will never enough to fill the greedy bag of you corrupted bastard government that is ever expanding!!!