Malaysia vehicle sales data for February 2016 by brand

Driven Web Series 2015 Episode 2_ 001

The Malaysian Automotive Association has released new vehicle sales data for the month of February 2016, sorted by brand – and if you though the industry fared badly enough in January, last month’s performance was even worse. Almost every brand registered a drop in sales compared to the month before, due to a shorter working month and tighter hire purchase loan approval terms from banks.

As reported earlier in the week, 34,126 passenger vehicles and 3,750 commercial vehicles left dealer lots this month, equalling to a combined total of 37,876 vehicles sold overall. This is 24.8%, or 12,514 units lower than the 50,390 units registered in the same month last year, and is also 15.1% down compared to January 2016 (44,591 units), while the year-to-date figure is 18.3% down on 2015 (82,467 vs 100,992).

Market leader Perodua recorded a much less severe drop than the 28% decrease it saw in January; the total of 14,014 units it sold last month was just 9.8% down on the month before. By contrast, Proton’s sales fell some 23.2% to 5,942 vehicles – likely as a result of range-wide price increases that came into effect on February 15 – which left the national carmaker barely hanging on to its second-place spot.

Nearly usurping that spot was Honda, as it sold just 127 fewer cars than in January, putting its February total at 5,616 units. In a distant fourth place sat Toyota, which maintained a similar sales performance from January, selling 2,917 units. Curiously, it sold slightly more commercial vehicles last month, at 1,048 units – this despite the fact that the all-new Hilux is coming very soon.

After a brief spell in fourth place, Nissan’s February sales dropped 24% to 2,773 units, pushing the brand back to its usual fifth place and allowing Toyota to move past.

Elsewhere, Mazda’s sales dipped below the 1,000 unit mark, at 782 units (-42.2), while Mitsubishi sales were 31% down to 696 units. After a strong January, Mercedes-Benz also experience a drop in sales in February, finishing with just 658 units (-36.4%) to its name; both Mitsubishi and Mercedes were overtaken by Isuzu. Ford (-33.8%) and Kia (-43%) also experienced similar losses.

The only notable gains came from Volkswagen and Lexus. The former sold 539 units – a 33.4% increase – while Toyota’s luxury brand recorded an astonishing 47.5% jump thanks to selling 29 more cars than in January, at 90 units. Meanwhile, Jaguar’s sales were up tenfold – yes, to 10 units.

Click on the table below to view an enlarged version.

Malaysian-Sales-Data-February-2016

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• abe we on Mar 24, 2016 at 1:42 pm

And the paper said the country’s economy is at its best….hmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 24, 2016 at 2:50 pm

This is very good news. Please continue to starve the car companies again this year. Try your best to use your old car. Spread the word around and tell everybody not to buy new cars in 2016.

You will see, these greedy car companies, will start to drop their prices.

It is up to all of us. If you want cheaper cars, stop buying them for a while. you can buy in 2017 or 2018.

If you urgently need a car, go buy a 2nd hand car. Let us choke and suffocate these vultures.

Malaysians are fed up. Car companies pretend to blame the Government and tax for high prices. Government pulak blame car companies for high prices. Both pretend to blame each other BUT the truth is, they are doing a drama for the rakyat.

In truth, Government virtually owns ALL car companies in Malaysia indirectly. It is the Government that is screwing with us with high car prices but pretending to blame these car brands.

Let us do our part. Let us not buy any cars in 2016 and 2017

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 195 Thumb down 8
      • Albert on Mar 24, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Prof Muniandy,
        I support your grand thesis 3000 percent.
        I forecasted RED INK for Prootong.True enough,if this trend continues ,Protong will roughly hit only 70,000 units by Christmas 2016.
        Give another SAYORNARA year,Protong will sell below 50,000 units….then the WRITING IS ON THE WALL. Receivership,firesale,forced closure,massive retrenchment(only TUN left)and the bladdy MD begging mamak at MMC to transfer him to another subsidiary.
        30 years of rakyat suffering high car prices cos of Protong,thus will have to see if Perodua lower its stinking high car prices,later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
        • I do agree with Muniandy Periasamy. But to say the car price so damn expansive here in Malaysia because of Proton is not 100% right. Look at Thailand/Singapore, they also suffer from the high car price. The first thing that must stop is the AP system and the loan system must be revise. RM100k car can be bought with 9 years loan, if I’m the car company, why do I have to sell a RM70k car fo a RM70k if I can jack the price up to RM100k and people still can buy it with 9 years loan. My point is, do Honda City price should be at RM90k if maximum car loan is cap at 5 or 7 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
          • takNakP1 on Mar 25, 2016 at 12:39 am

some one pointed out, when yen xchange rate for 100 yen is near RM4.00 drop to Rm3.00 no price drop but when the rate rise to 3.7x they increase the price. pathetic.

• karam singh on Mar 25, 2016 at 10:03 am

It is because of proton. Toyota can sell the vios at 55k but that will kill persona. Camry and accord was selling at 118k in 97 before tax increased by anwar Ibrahim in 98.

If camry still selling at 120k (camry has been at 140-160k for the past 18 yrs), the perdana at 103k stand no chance.

It’s the protection given to proton. Go to UK or Australia market, the waja, persona difference in price with Ford focus 1.6 and golf 1.6 is minimal

• Protection is everywhere, compare it with other developing nation such as Thai, the difference is not that much than before.

• support!!!

• Pity All Toyota Sales Men on Mar 24, 2016 at 9:03 pm

Toyota is a great car, however, your colleage had tarnished it. Everytime talk about RV, humilate korean brand, shoot local brand. He thnks he is smart but did not realise damage done. Well done Mr Loo

• policeman on Mar 24, 2016 at 9:05 pm

Yang mampu tak kisah, beli juga. Yang tak mampu, dok diam-diam.

Just to screw with you, I’m gonna get a new car this year.

You should practice this philosophy of yours with food as well. Harga ayam naik, sayur naik, boycott semua.

It’s a form of population control as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Good for you. But thing to ponder, if “yang tak mampu” we still did nothing to help them to become “yang mampu”, lama-lama “yang mampu” will become “tak mampu” la. People who now working at the car company you sure all of them “yang mampu” ka?. It’s the cycle dude, the cycle that make all of us related.

• If no more “tak mampu” people bela ayam tanam sayur, where you “yang mampu” to buy ayam sayur brader..

• takNakP1 on Mar 25, 2016 at 12:30 am

i hv been suggesting such action for years “until the buying stop, the price will not come down” & didn’t get as much likes or support as u did.

unfortunately i get tired, gave up hope (ppl will not learn) & bought myself a new car (still is a 2015 stock with 20+ discount) after driving my old kosong P2 for 12 years.

What I observe here is many Malaysian will only learn when they felt the pain. If not who cares, life is short, bla bla…

• Do vehicle sales show the status of the country’s economy? Just asking..

• alldisc on Mar 25, 2016 at 10:06 am

Somehow it’s relative but it’s not the actual indicator though

• Albert on Mar 24, 2016 at 4:41 pm

Datuk Abe,
      Actually,Bolehland is UNOFFICIALLY IN RECESSION.
      The Prof’s daughter at BN dare not say negative news about our economy now…maybe after the new Governor is announced.
      Last year,official gomen stats revealed close to 50,000 rakyat were retrenched.This 2 months ago,another 6,000 lost their jobs.
      Petronas choplist of 1000 jobs may be reflected 2 months later.
      As long as the bladdy scandals remain unsolved,you can guess the state of our economy.Perhaps,after Raya,more companies will wield the axe.Yours truly,have experienced 2 retrenchments.
      Even if oil prices shoot up again,the extra revenue is just to feed the bladdy cronies who are starved of mega projects.
      Bolehland,can’t recover like those days ,when BUYING,OVERSPENDING HAS NO TOMORROW.
      BUYING A NEW CAR is a 5-9 year hire purchase burden.Better to be safe than sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • OMG…The most catch my attention is Honda sales damn good…almost can beat drying P1…I hope to see Honda beat P1 end this year…Hahaha…well done Honda

• alex chan on Mar 24, 2016 at 2:09 pm

VW sales was up? how this can be true?..so the heavily campaign to bad mouth DSG/engine/quality/peformance/spare parts/RV in PT by the same person using different name with repeated post doesnt work? hahaha rakyat already know the truth isnt about your lie isnt it?

ya..some will say about the crazy price slashing..its normal for continental cars to drop price like that in the event for new models..merc/audi/porch/bmw does it..no issue.

yet people still buy VW?

keep on bashing dear VW bashers..work harder please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 82
    • Advice for Alex Chan on Mar 24, 2016 at 2:45 pm

Dear Alex, don’t syiok sendiri. Sales are up because many ignorant potential buyers got excited about the fire sales. These people have no idea about the DSG. they will see it in a few months time when problem occurs.

You cannot expect the uncles and aunties out there to know about the DSG problems. The VGM salesman kelentong maximum telling them DSG is the past and all lies on the Internet.

So, don’t syiok sendiri. Malaysians will jump at anything when prices are slashed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 67
      • ben yap on Mar 24, 2016 at 3:01 pm

DSG now no problem… stop harping on old facts and your own presumptions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 31
        • roberto on Mar 24, 2016 at 3:51 pm

wait till the 2016 dsg kaput

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 31
        • Acrix on Mar 25, 2016 at 10:12 am

Funny that you mentioned DSG has no problem now. I wonder why my 2013 Scirocco 1.4 TSI and my brother 2014 Golf 1.4 TSI has a total of 5 DSG issues between both cars until 2015?? Care to explain??

• alex chan on Mar 25, 2016 at 10:25 am

I cannot take it with everyone bad mouthing VW. My RV is dropping so much. I cannot even sell my car.

• alex chan on Mar 25, 2016 at 11:41 am

dont lie, u only drive a 1991 saga megavalve..i know u

• Acrix on Mar 26, 2016 at 10:12 am

Yeah you know me really well. So i have a “Saga” that faced 2 mechatronic issue first time in December 2013 at 30000km mileage and 2nd round October 2014 at 60000km mileage. 1st round left my car at TTDI center for 6 weeks. 2nd round mechatronic issue occured on my wedding day and it took 5 weeks to settle the issue. After 2nd round of mechatronic issue the turbo was leaking and took 4 weeks to repair. August 2015 clutch plate had to be replaced and another 5 weeks needed. Now the ABS malfunctioned with other electronic issue in 2016 and needs 3 weeks to fix.
            So my so called “Saga” in a total of 4 years of ownership spent 23 weeks in the service center and no courtesy car was given as ALL WERE FULLY BOOKED.
            Feel free to go TTDI and check the dates i mentioned for a white Scirocco 1.4 TSI but i guess it will be hard to find as each VW service center is filled to be brim with vehicles waiting for spare parts.

• nagoyadragsters on Mar 27, 2016 at 6:30 pm

Hiyo, another doppleganger Alex trying to con everyone into believing he is a VW salesman, when he is actually selling Geely car!

• Altis on Mar 27, 2016 at 6:37 pm

Pls dont lie Acrix. We the readers here are sick of liars posing as owners.

• talkcock on Mar 24, 2016 at 4:08 pm

Probably still driving kancil 660, wanna talk about DSG…

#dreamon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
        • camtakpro on Mar 24, 2016 at 9:34 pm

Correct. Because kancil 660 still working like a charm after 20yrs. While the 1yr old DSG waiting in service centre… what to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • saladin on Mar 24, 2016 at 3:11 pm

dont get so syok la. VW still sell less than premium merc and bmw. Even market share less than 1.5% tk payah la bising sangat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
    • seancorr (Member) on Mar 24, 2016 at 3:22 pm

They are selling unsold 2014 Passats….2014!!! Two year rotting under the sun…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 31
      • alex chan on Mar 24, 2016 at 3:33 pm

yeah..tell that too to merc/audi/bmw/proton/toyota/kia/hyundai please!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
      • Hoi Otak Udang Ka on Mar 27, 2016 at 6:34 pm

The only cars Malaysians can see rotting under the sun are Protons. VW and other car companies in Malaysia do not buy that many CKD packs as they are not cheap, unlike local car companies that have no choice but to do so.

• camtakpro on Mar 24, 2016 at 9:36 pm

LoL you forget VW like to self-buy the car, and then later sell it for pre-reg new car.

• OMG..VW sales up bcos they giving damn a lot discount on their 2015/2014 crap cars….so dont suprise March sales will increased further.

• TNbee on Mar 27, 2016 at 6:27 pm

Their discounts started in March 2016. This is February 2016 figures.

• Mercedes – Down
    BMW – Down
    Audi – Down
    Lexus – UP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • Gungho on Mar 24, 2016 at 2:16 pm

Launch Perdana baru , P1 naik Top!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
  • KL Has Fallen (2017) on Mar 24, 2016 at 2:38 pm

why my new ferrari not listed ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • wow VW had a green upward arrow. Looks like the “drop everything” sales has tempted some people to own a VW.

• I know someone who sold a problematic new Focus, then to consider to buy the ‘drop everything’ Passat. I was wondering why he hasn’t learnt his lesson.

Oh, and wait till the everyone starts gnawing over the new insurance system. Car sales will probably hit an all time low.

• toyota is lucky to have commercial vehicle..else would kaput under nissan la hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • This result is very good. Hope the trend will continue. At least can give this car company a hard time rather then want to naik harga suka-suka and blame the fallen of RM against USD. Yesterday I heard that RM start gaining against USD. I’m waiting to hear car company reducing price because higher RM vs USD soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Jimmy on Mar 24, 2016 at 5:48 pm

They are brain-washing consumers.
      After 5 years, nobody remember the original prices anymore, despite stronger rm.
      Do you remember the lowest price of Camry last time, just a decade ago?

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 24, 2016 at 8:56 pm

The kosong Spec Camry 2.0E and the equally Kosong Spec Accord 2.0 were both slightly under 140K after they changed (lowered) the tax.

Going back some 25 years ago, the same entry spec Camry and Accord was about 120K

Yes, some of us do remember the old prices.

• Sometime I wonder why Merc S-Class hybrid CKD can lower the price gila-gila compare to the normal S-class because of the hybrid intensive, but some of the Japs CKD hybrid car lower the price ciput saja, even worse much more expensive then their standard model.

• Wee fuk yew on Mar 24, 2016 at 4:15 pm

Very good news for consumers. Kipidown.

• NoBrainer on Mar 24, 2016 at 4:42 pm

wait for the march result. even worse than feb figure

• Jimmy on Mar 24, 2016 at 5:54 pm

Good luck 2016.
    Mr Jeti is gone soon.
    Boneka is coming up in Banc Negara Amerika Syarikat.
    Many people will be receiving 188k from their companies, good luck, oh sorry, goodbye.
    Please buy as many vehicles as you can, you can get a brandnew Toyota Camry Hybrid with 7 airbags + vsc using your cash from your company, no need to pay interest.
    Good luck.

• Aero (Member) on Mar 24, 2016 at 9:04 pm

TCM Nissan’s YTD is still higher than UMW Toyota’s ! Who would have thought ? I predict, TCM will be fourth YTD again in March. Until HMSB and UMWT launches new models, their sales will not improve significantly.

As predicted, Proton’s sales fell in February after they raised prices. Perodua’s fall could be due to stricter bank regulations and the general market sentiment. MBM’s sales are ‘normal’ now… what does this mean ? Could it be that high income Malaysians are also feeling the pinch now ? I doubt it, it’s probably because the initial sales surge has calmed down… MBM will not have it as easy this year. Then again, neither will anyone.

• alldisc on Mar 25, 2016 at 10:23 am

Nissan’s new xtrail is selling very well and contribute to the good figures

• James L on Mar 24, 2016 at 9:27 pm

The Shit has hit the fan.. now we are feeling it.
    However, agree with the comment earlier, we must STOP buying cars for Financial YEAR 2016 and 2017 and 2018..

When the buying ends, the prices will drop to a realistic pricing.

• Lawson on Mar 25, 2016 at 9:33 pm

Can any one do a graph showing a 10 year co relation between monthly car sales number vs number of monthly housing transaction?. A crash in cars purchased would followed by crash in housing transaction and house price?. Just signed spa for a RM670k house!. Scary indeed!.

• Winter Soldier on Mar 24, 2016 at 10:21 pm

The first flurries of snow are falling. Are you ready?

• DPCraft on Mar 25, 2016 at 8:39 am

haha Toyota is selling 2k again this month.