Dyson planning to produce its own electric car soon?

Dyson

You may have heard of Dyson, the British company that helps dry your hands in the toilet. It is also the the manufacturer of the Cyclone bagless vacauum cleaner and Air Multiplier bladeless fans. In a radical departure from the norm, the next creation for Dyson could be an electric car.

According to a report by The Guardian, government documents revealed that the company has received funding from the UK government to finance the development of the electric car. Its last big product introduction is a Roomba rival known as the 360 Eye.

A section in the National Infrastructure Delivery Plan said, “the government is funding Dyson to develop a new battery electric vehicle at their headquarters in Malmesbury, Wiltshire. This will secure 174 million pound sterling of investment in the area, creating over 500 jobs, mostly in engineering.”

Since then, the portion has been removed from the document. A Dyson spokesperson contacted by The Guardian refused to confirm on the validity of the report. However, Dyson’s acquisition of solid-state battery company Sakti3 in October 2015 for USD$90 million could inject some truth on the matter. The company claims to have developed batteries with double the life of even the best lithium-ion variants today.

Should Dyson actually produce an electric car, it will go head-to-head with companies (like Tesla) that produce both electric vehicles and their own batteries as well. Another electronic appliance company looking to produce an electric car? Apple. Let us know you thoughts on a Dyson electric car, here.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• alex chan on Mar 25, 2016 at 11:18 am

then you become bodoh like Peugeot which started out as a pepper, salt and coffee grinder. Now see Peugeot car? they are like junk. So Dyson should stop talking crap.

Be like VW, a true car manufacturer. The make excellent cars with superb quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • start a fight on Mar 25, 2016 at 12:23 pm

so why should people go nuts about Samsung S7? Samsung is a noodle company, for god sake!

• Jenglot on Mar 25, 2016 at 2:40 pm

I sensed sarcasm, but even being a sarcasm, your joke is not funny, so thumb down.

• Where is Madani Sahari? on Mar 25, 2016 at 11:22 am

where is madani sahari’s EEV Proton and Proton Hybrid? We have been waiting 8 yrs now for Proton Hybrid.

Proton Iriz EEV just show one day to get hundreds of millions free money from the Government for Proton. Then the EEV Iriz disappear. Magic show

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • So this car wun have air-con but a dash mounted air multiplier to provide ventilation, while oso sucking air at bottom to provide extra downforce, with a door card-installed hand blower to dry ur hands while u kolos the doors? This wud be something

• start a fight on Mar 25, 2016 at 12:22 pm

will dyson be manufacturing it in Malaysia too? just like their other product? Muar still have lots of land for them.

• Should be using air motor technology such as the rotary Wankel air motors, in-wheel motors, can provide 1000 mile range with one fill-up of a 10,000 psi carbon fiber failsafe air pressure tank. Electric motors are simply not as good, and not as efficient. New air motors are nearly silent in operation, do not require muffler system, energy storage is compressed air. Zero “engine” compartment space is needed. Compressed air tanks can be molded as side and body panels. All-wheel drive. EngineAir Australia (inventor: Angelo Di Pietro) has a new improved rotary Wankel air motor. Can be adapted to provide superefficient VTOL which will outcompete surface vehicles.

• Josh Ling on Mar 25, 2016 at 1:00 pm

i am excited for what Dyson might come up. this is one innovative company.

• LatukBandar on Mar 25, 2016 at 2:24 pm

The first thing comes into my mind is those big road cleaner trucks we see after midnight, cleaning the roads.

• Consumer on Mar 25, 2016 at 3:54 pm

You made fan without blade, i expect your ev are wheel less.