India aiming to become a 100% EV nation by 2030

electric 100

It may sound like a lofty dream, but one India says it is looking to pursue. The country is looking at becoming a 100% electric vehicle nation by 2030, and is looking at a scheme that will provide electric cars on a 0% down-payment for which adopters can pay for out of their savings on fossil-based fuels, The Economic Times reports.

“India can become the first country of its size which will run 100% electric vehicles. We are trying to make this programme self-financing. We don’t need one rupee support from the government. We don’t need one rupee investment from the people,” power minister Piyush Goyal said.

He said that a small working group under the leadership of the country’s road minister, Nitin Gadkari, had been created, and oil minister Dharmendra Pradhan and environment minister Prakash Javadekar was also on the board. The group is meeting in the first week of April to see if India can realise the 2030 goal.

“We are working to see if we can actually give an electric car for free (0% down-payment), and people can pay for that out of the savings on the petroleum products. We are trying to see if we can monetise the savings, then you will have use cheaper electricity for charging of your cars,” Goyal said.

He added that India was looking at leading the world rather than following it. “India will be first largest country in the world to think on that scale. Innovation is possible, it just needs an open mind. You need to think of scale and be honest.”

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 29, 2016 at 10:39 am

India is setting a good goal. not like the clowns and money suckers at MAI. Wahai Madani Sahari, where is all the EEV you talking about?

Even Proton Hybrid also we are waiting for 8 years. What more EEV Proton?

Proton did a drama showing Iriz EEV, but I think this is a ploy to suck more money from the Government to sustain their dying company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 17
    • India forced down laws, nobody can complain. Success.
      MY just propose law only, alredi got Demo/Bersih. Failure.

See which is the road to success? Be like India.

• C.P. MOHAN on Mar 29, 2016 at 12:36 pm

India is an oil-importer while Malaysia is an oil-exporter, so there are reasons not only pollution for India to pursue an EEC policy. Nevertheless, I believe that in the near future demand for fossil fuel will fall. Is Malaysia prepared for the inevitable? Personally, don’t think so.

• Greenpeople on Jul 07, 2017 at 11:12 am

Clearly an ambitious goal. However instead of focusing to power the cars 100% electric, they should give more priority to providing 100% population access to basic utilities; electric, sanitary and clean water.