Azalina’s statement on reducing car prices by up to 30% is “immature and not realistic” – ex-Proton CEO

syed zainal

Former Proton CEO Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir has criticised Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said’s recent statement, where the minister in the Prime Minister’s department revealed that vehicle prices are on track to be reduced by 30% come 2018.

Calling Azalina’s statements immature, Syed Zainal said she should have provided a more detailed explanation on the Government’s intention to lower vehicle prices to prevent any misunderstanding between car manufacturers and the public.

“Never in history has car prices fell so drastically at the same time the price of goods are going up. To me, Azalina’s statement is immature and not realistic. Have to ask her [Azalina] how she will reduce [vehicle prices] by up to 30%. If the government reduces the tax rate [excise duty], then it’ll be easier to accomplish that,” he told FMT.

JB09_010815_AZALINA

A few days earlier, Azalina said in a written reply to Segambut MP Lim Lip Eng that prices will be reduced in stages. Earlier, Lim had quizzed the minister about the Government’s promises to reduce car prices in stages by 20 to 30% in accordance with the Government’s commitment towards its manifesto that was promised during GE13.

“Various efforts have been undertaken, including the granting of incentives to reduce the amount of excise duty payable to companies of car manufacturers involved in local value-added automotive components,” she said. “These incentives are seen to be beneficial as the total price reduction recorded in 2013 was 3%, followed by 7% in 2014 and 2.7% in 2015.”

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• dodgeviper88 on Apr 11, 2016 at 9:49 am

Whatever was promised in year 2013 you can forget about it. Everything was promised but when menang election nothing was fulfilled then now election coming again they say 2018 only reduce which conveniently is the election year

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 0
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 11, 2016 at 11:55 am

What lies is this little girl talking about? We see car prices going higher and higher. Is there something wrong with this Minister? Thank you Datuk for knocking some sense into her head.

Past few months, all car brands have hiked up their prices. this is far away from Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%. Maybe this Minister should go back to Sports Ministry and sort out the RM100 million missing. This also she cannot sort out, despite being in her time too, she want to come here and bluff the people of Malaysia.

Malaysians are already paying 3X the global prices of cars. Not only paying 3X the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down badly of safety features. We get slapped twice. Even VSC pun tak ada. And top models only got 2 airbags.

Oh yes, we get slapped thrice (3X) cause our cars are lower quality CKD too as opposed to other countries getting pure CBU units.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 5
      • Jimmy on Apr 11, 2016 at 1:02 pm

I don’t mind to have a good dictator who does every good for the nation, even if he wants cakes.
        If Hitler can change his chief attorniece, he surely can make sure that the incentives, given to Mercedes and BMW and other efficient-energy motocars in his own country Germany, are translated into price reductions.
        30% reduction can be done through dictatorship, just that the details and the impacts must be carefully studied and the solutions mindfully thought through in advance.
        Monkeys-monkeys under Hitler cannot think, they are good at makan buah-buahan and cakes.

• Plord on Apr 11, 2016 at 1:06 pm

Girl or boy? Konfius kat situ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
      • WT Fuchhh on Apr 11, 2016 at 8:06 pm

Can’t you see she replied in Parliment with her hair standing up…….she doesn’t mean a single word she said.

• OMG…Dear ex P1 CEO, pls forgive him. He know nothing but pretend to know somethings….hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • Coolguru on Apr 11, 2016 at 8:10 pm

Her brain is of pea size IF still left. Can someone print all these message and show her pls? Oh, is it a HE? Maybe SHE… He-she also confused so imagine the word from the mouth…

• betinajantanhater on Apr 11, 2016 at 9:53 am

bila betina jantan bukak mulut macam tu la.. ampu ja lebih, padahal tin kosong

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 1
  • itula menteri malaysia..cakap pakai kepala lutut..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
  • Gargantia on Apr 11, 2016 at 9:57 am

Even AP system ex-CEO make statement on “empty promises” LOUSY BN minister !!! And Ministry NEVER stop MISLEADING Rakyat on reducing car price !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • shawal on Apr 11, 2016 at 9:57 am

The government must look into sustainable, efficient , world class and cheaper public transport…

the avg malaysian household has 3 cars , which is very high , and car sales is a very lucrative income for the government

with an efficient public transport , we can both see reduction in congestion and also a healthier population ( a reduction in CVS , diabetes cases) , as the public would be encouraged to walk more.

prices are not going down…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Sir Zaini on Apr 11, 2016 at 10:00 am

Apa punya sohai. In the last general election, the honourable prime minister said that the prices of cars will be reduced slowly up to the point they are cheaper by around 30% as compared to the current price. But until today, many years after the manifesto was announced, close to the next general election, car prices are soaring instead of going down. And you dared say her comments are immature and unrealistic. Youre the one being unrealistic and immature for not keeping your word. Apa punyai mahai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 27
  • hahaha on Apr 11, 2016 at 10:01 am

damn thats funny for a start to the day…

azalea: we reduce price 30%

syed zainal: you immature and unrealistic….. (you fill in the blanks!!

hahahhahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • hailthepurist on Apr 11, 2016 at 10:04 am

everything just sweet talk, as in every elections season..

• Zamani on Apr 11, 2016 at 10:05 am

Ini kali la!!

Azalina to become the next Proton chairman. And we all get our cars 30% cheaper!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Malaysia BolehLand on Apr 11, 2016 at 10:13 am

Malaysia BolehLand, everything boleh…. if P1 can’t meet the requirements it’s your fault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Aku la.. on Apr 11, 2016 at 10:13 am

Kan dah Kena….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • Aku la.. on Apr 11, 2016 at 10:19 am

Where’s the facts and figures? Engineers asking…. Tq tuan syed. Yes reduce the dam taxes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 0
  • Mozilla Chrome on Apr 11, 2016 at 10:20 am

What do you expect? Umno and menipu berpisah tiada.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
  • Ongtk on Apr 11, 2016 at 10:32 am

Get real Datuk! That’s how our Malaysian Ministers operate. Shoot from the hips with no concrete facts to back up their statements, as always. Incidentally, just read another article here quoting the Transport Minister on the formation of a special task force to fine tune Malaysian traffic laws and improve enforcements. The objective of the move? To reduce road accidents and fatalities. Really? Or is it to bleed car owners further to strengthen the government coffers after throwing RM1.5B to keep Proton alive? Does the Minister have solid facts to back up his assertion that strict enforcements will help towards the stated objectives? In my opinion, it’s not the lack of enforcements, but rather impartial and correct interpretation of traffic laws to book offenders are pertinent. The integrity of the law enforcement officers in refusing to accept bribes from offenders matters the most. How often we witnessed deeply tinted VIP cars with connections to powers that be flagged down for traffic offences? What about the motorcyclists weaving in and our of traffic right under the nose of the police? This is another good example of our Minister’s quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • She was talking about the Volkswagen Drop Everything Sales la.. Passat from rm173k to Rm115k..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • Ongtk on Apr 11, 2016 at 2:35 pm

Volkswagen slowly but surely killing its loyal base of customers. No more Volkswagen for me. Enough is enough!!

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 11, 2016 at 10:47 am

Haha prices of goods and services all up by heaps and bounds but they want to lower car prices instead. Go eat your expensive kankung la.

• Low Budget on Apr 11, 2016 at 10:57 am

Only way to reduce car prices by 30% is:
    1) Reduce the features of the car
    2) Fitted with inferior parts and accessories
    3) Reduce excise duties
    This guy said the Minister is “immature”, may be some alpha male might want to make marriage proposal to “mature” the Minister.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Another better option Hopefully in the near future with a New Government in Bolehland:
      1)Zero taxes on cars
      2)Shutdown Proton,PLUS and Petronas Forever and Ever( These Tiga Shitbirds are the main Deadly Diseases to our Rakyat).
      3) Built more bullettrains like in India and Tokyo Japan.
      4) Make Proton and Perodua Rot and completely Extinct forever. Lets face it guys. These 2 Bastards should have never have never existed in the 1st place. Hell, the rest of the world DO NOT have shitty cars Like these 2 Brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
      • elpaciko on Apr 11, 2016 at 1:39 pm

Shut down Petronas??? Dont you know petronas is the main breadwinner for malaysia??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • Chill bro. Jgn marah2. Kumpul duit pelan2 and later u might afford to own either P1 or P2.

• Janji DiCapati on Apr 11, 2016 at 11:00 am

Wasn’t this 30% reduction over 3 yrs, BN’s vote fishing election promise in 2013? Instead, prices have been slowly increasing. The only way car prices can be reduced is to reduce excise and import duties. Unfortunately, this is never going to happen because the govt. derives BILLIONS in revenues from these taxes from the rakyat. This “tin kosong” minister without portfolio is as usual talking from her ass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Tax payer on Apr 11, 2016 at 11:02 am

Yes… agree to reduce the tax, reduce all unnecessary tax..
    Car price drop… but wait a minute… how about other consumer item? Will it be effected? hmm…

• This Ex-CEO Clown has became talk like “self protmoted minister”…. gosh.. pls drink bleach & wake up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 41
  • Harapan on Apr 11, 2016 at 11:13 am

Always wish that DSZ comeback to lead Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • kenot on Apr 11, 2016 at 11:15 am

in fact, gov will not reduce excise duty..last time the reduction of 7% is for certain model. not solid reduction 7% from net price.

sorry..between ceo and politician, i will believe ceo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Great Joker on Apr 11, 2016 at 11:20 am

Malaysian keeps jokers in Cabinet.
    what we can expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • LimPek on Apr 11, 2016 at 11:22 am

“vehicle prices are on track to be reduced by 30% come 2018”, but not reduces the excise duty rate !!!!!!!!!!!

crazy people speaking nonsense.

• Dei! New Forrester CBU RM210k to CKD 160k (30% difference). Apalagi cakap ni Tun M bootlicker? U still wan Gov to keep prices high kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 37
    • Creme Buleh on Apr 11, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Dei! U think all cars can be CKD here kah? Even big player Toyota CBU it’s Camry from Thai,most of the car companies prefer to build its car in Asian Detroit lah not in Bolehland.That’s why u can see many facilities in Gurun,Tanjong Malim or Shah Alam not operating in full capacities.Dont talk about 150k above car which most Malaysian not afford to buy.Talk about below 100k which most of us would like to see price drop by 30% like axia,myvi,alza,preve,vios,city,jazz,attrage,etc coz these affordable/economical cars are manufactured & assemble here.Just cut 30% from excise duty/sales tax/gst or whatsoever tax on these cars! As simple as that! For those above 100k car it might be 15-20% tax cut.We don’t want a 30% price drop on Merc AMG or Bimmer coz the price still would be six digit figure.Gov already can’t even keep their promise on cheap/small cars do u think we can expect them to fulfill the same lie by 2018? Don’t forget my dear comrades,2018 is an election year.This 30% just a starter of recycle 2013 wayang from PM lah.This Mr Azalina willingly to be 1st clown to came forward and sucking up his boss..So brave for a multifunctional human to lead the way for the sake of draconian government.Next week another pondan fraud ministers will join forces.This will continue until those dumber voters fully bloated & drunk then unconsciously vote these clowns again.The Putrajaya Circ de Sohai road tour will go on nationwide until all vote is count in 2018.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • Talk about not adding value in MY when buying.
        I rather we remain high taxes and use it to expand public transport like what Najib doing. Using car is way to inefficient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • john yang bangang on Apr 11, 2016 at 5:50 pm

Stupid john talking about public transport. Kl also dont have good public transport. What do you think outside kl look like. You think people like in ipoh kuantan go to work by public transport. Even people in sub urban japan rely on personal transport.

• Real kan-i-na.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 0
  • Jobless on Apr 11, 2016 at 12:28 pm

Pls reduce yur weight by 30%, u overweight foool

• Make najib resign first then we’ll talk.

• Redidiot on Apr 11, 2016 at 1:07 pm

Not in my lifetime. Thats guaranteed.

• 2014: increase price due to high production cost
    2015: increase car price due to oil price increase
    2016: increase again due to “once USD vs RM= 4.3”
    2017: increase lagi due to chain reaction from oil price yet to be stabilized
    2018: Car price down. Election. Winnnnn!!!!

Zainal apa tau. He is immature. Azalina is the best minister.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Saitam on Apr 11, 2016 at 2:31 pm

Silly Proton CEO. Only 3 year old kid will believe what the woman said.

• tak boley pakai ini menteri..

• please came back to Proton

• rahim sp on Apr 11, 2016 at 5:50 pm

John displaying his stupidity again and again.
    Why wanna compare CKD and CBU car prices?
    We want excise duties amd sales tax slashed.
    That was BN”s manifestor for 2013.
    Not some cooked up story. So a promise is a promise. Don’t change the script and say better roads etc wasn’t that excuse used for the toll increase & slashing of fuel subsidies? You cannot deliver then it’s time to ship out too. Bercukurlah! !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Jaguh kg on Apr 11, 2016 at 8:32 pm

Kesian menteri menteri sekarang cakap apa pun tak betul..is the leadership problem..or talk without any homework…or just satay satay satay…??

• Miss Quoted on Apr 11, 2016 at 8:36 pm

Tomboy minister was mis-quoted by the press. Gua cakap 30% INcrease, not decrease. U all paham my INglish???

• Andrekua on Apr 11, 2016 at 9:08 pm

We all know how the math works for BN.

Strip the ABS, airbags, ESP, aircond, isofix, accessories and literally selling what was basically an empty car and let consumers customize it by adding one after another back. That is how car price reduction works for them.

• Amelia on Apr 11, 2016 at 11:39 pm

Malaysians are so used to hearing nonsense from our ministers that we naturally don’t believe anything they say.

When I read on my Facebook newsfeed about Azalina’s statement, I just scrolled past while thinking to myself that she’s just trying to lick the boots of the powers that be to keep her high paying cushy minister job – after previously being ousted from the cabinet when it was found in the Auditor General’s report and an MACC investigation that the Ministry of Youth and Sports under her watch last time spent RM8.39 million more than the market price on purchases of stationeries and other items.

• I believed there’s truth in it. Dato exCEO just has to read between the lines. Its rather simple and straight forward.
    Before Proton came into existance, prices of imported car were rather affordable. Then when Proton was released, all passenger cars were forced to increased price due to higher import duty and excessive taxes. All in the name of “Buying Proton First”. That was the only way to force Malaysian to buy Proton….. the cheapest affordable passenger cars in town. Honda and Toyota became too expensive for the masses to drive.
    Now, with TDM gone, the Govt will slowly kill Proton and remove Import Duty and Taxes and that will drop the prices of passanger cars. This goes well with TPPA as Malaysian market will be flooded with cars that are lesser by 30% and more.
    Proton will die eventually and sold off to Suzuki.
    Honda and Toyota will reign and Malaysian will enjoy driving ones again.
    Isn’t this wonderful?