Scomadi scooters from UK opens KL 3S concept centre – Turismo Leggera TL125, from RM9,069

2016 Scomadi Turismo Leggera TL125 WM-8

Scomadi scooters, the revival of the famed Italian scooter brand that is not Vespa, today opened the Scomadi Kuala Lumpur 3S Concept Centre in Setapak. The brain-child of Frank Sanderson and Paul Melici, performance scooter specialists from 30-plus years ago, Scomadi their take on an up-dated Lambretta of the sixties.

Under the auspices of V Power Motor, the concept centre provides sales, service and accessories for Scomadi’s current range of two models in Malaysia. These are the Turismo Leggera TL125 standard (RM9,095) and SE (RM9,625), both of which are powered by a 125 cc air-cooled single-cylinder, two-valve engine.

Mounted in standard scooter fashion as part of the swing-arm underneath the rear body-work, the Scomadi Turismo Leggera TL125 has 9.39 hp at 6,500 rpm and 8.90 Nm of torque t 7,200 rpm available, pushing 100 kg of weight. While not sounding like much, Sanderson and Melici point out that Scomadi is more about the lifestyle and image than outright performance.

2016 Scomadi Turismo Leggera TL125 WM-1

“Scomadi is a lifestyle machine. It is more about the image, about belonging to a group, getting together with like-minded riders,” said Sanderson. “But that is not to say Scomadi scooters can’t perform. The chassis was developed over 10 to 15 years, with Scomadi founded in 2006,” added Melici.

A new production facility in Thailand is expected to come on-line within the next 12 months, and will produce between 400 to 500 scooters a week. Scomadi is currently working on making its scooters Euro4 compliant, and also showed a 250 cc, six-speed, manual twist-shift performance scooter in 2015, which will be shown again at Cologne, Germany later this year.

“We’re also working on a 400 cc concept scooter which we hope to have ready by 2018,” Melici said. Sanderson added, “a 200 cc liquid-cooled engine is also in the works, which should be ready for testing soon.” Both Sanderson and Melici have a long history with performance scooters and scooter racing going back decades, with Sanderson having a hand in the development of a rather infamous RD350LC YPVS engine-powered scooter in the 80s.

2016 Scomadi Turismo Leggera TL125 WM-10

Designed by Sanderson and Melici, made in China and Taiwan, and assembled for the Malaysian market in a plant in Tampoi, Johor, Scomadi scooters have embarked on an aggressive expansion plan, focusing on South-East Asia as the world’s largest market for scooters. This has been proven in the market reception of the Turismo Leggera TL125, which has pleasantly surprised Sanderson and Melici.

This UK-driving license friendly scooter has gained popularity over there, with over 1,000 units sold in the first six months of operation. Scomadi have sold between 5,000 to 6,000 units worldwide, with Malaysia seeing 600 Turismo Leggeras sold since November 2015.

The Scomadi Turismo Leggera TL125 comes in two versions, the standard and SE. The standard retails for RM9,095 including GST, and comes in Magma Red, Onyx Black, Ocean Blue and Ocean Blue/Magma Red. The SE model goes for RM9,625 including GST, and comes in Matte Grey and a limited edition Chrome.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• END b4 Begin on Apr 16, 2016 at 5:17 pm

If the mat rempit don’t ride it .. you can’t sell it. That Malaysia business model 101 for motorbikes. I don’t see how Mat Rempit can willy on them … 2 years close shop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
    • topkek on Apr 16, 2016 at 11:25 pm

yeah right. This scooter is not for those rempits demographic. I already saw too many of them in my college. This is for those hipster students who wanted to look retro and cool. Not every motorcycle/scooter is for rempit la brother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • RD350LC YPVS engine-powered scooter?

Sounds interesting as the RD350LC was two-stroke and had 59hp.

BTW: There are greek modifications of the Modenas Dinamik with RD350LC engines and 59hp too… ;)

• WT Fuchhh on Apr 16, 2016 at 7:48 pm

That is one beutiful ride. Would love to ride her real hard. MiILF

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
  • Shaun on Apr 17, 2016 at 8:30 am

I believe our local ones are the 125 carburated ones, not fuel injection(which makes 9.5hp). So that’s a grand 7hp for you!! Ridiculous.

• Jonn Dol on Apr 18, 2016 at 8:20 am

The Scomadis could give the Vespas a run for their money, styling & price-wise.But still, there is a question mark on reliability.

• zenith on Apr 18, 2016 at 8:45 am

tried once. to be honest, if i got the money, i’d probably spend on a vespa instead of this (add up a little bit more). built quality isn’t there. body is all plastic, got gaps here and there, no storage (other than the one at the front). rideability is okay (slightly tall though).

• Aric Lam on Apr 18, 2016 at 3:41 pm

10000000000000000% agree with you.
      i am one of the scomadi owner too. very bad QC control Malaysia. Me facing a lots of problem for this bike. Even the local normal Honda EX5 are better QC then this. The Malaysia manufacturer company recall back my bike, but also need over 1 month to send it back to me.

• Lambretta on Apr 19, 2016 at 12:47 pm

To be honest, it is expensive for a scooter ‘with an unknown name’ in this region. The front mudguards don’t move with the front tyres, ala Lambretta, but it is nowhere Cool compared to Vespas.
    Also the article mentioned that the components were made in China and Taiwan, and will not help the negative perception in build quality.
    In fact this was already higlighted by some owners here.

• henry on Jan 04, 2018 at 7:36 pm

scomadi or vespa more worth?

• I am using this scooter for a year. So far so good and the the Engine is so good. However; in my opinion Scomadi has two problems. 1. The front suspension was so hard and frankly useless. I have changed it to Racing boy suspension. 2. The sit is a bit hard.

• Steve on Jul 14, 2023 at 5:57 pm

I’m looking for a speedometer for a scomadi tti125