126 UN Regulations to be enforced in Malaysia by 2020

Active City Stop

Currently, a total of 100 United Nations Regulations (UNR) have been enforced in Malaysia. But as Bernama reports, Road Transport Department (JPJ) director-general Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad said that the nation is on track to add 26 more regulations as per the World Forum for Harmonisation of Vehicle Regulations (WP29) by year 2020.

“Malaysia aims to put into effect 126 UNR by 2020,” Ismail said. “We hope the implementation of the UNR via the Vehicle Type Approval (VTA) process will reduce the death toll due to accidents involving vehicles to 3% annually by 2020 from the current 6%.”

As previously reported, the additional regulations are said to include Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB), Lane Departure Warning, Adaptive Front Lighting and Enhanced Child Restraint System. However, it was not said exactly when each of these technologies will be mandated for new vehicle type approvals.

volvo-city-safety

The United Nation’s WP29 is recognised by 51 nations, each conforming to the set degree of safety standards. Malaysian has been a part of WP29 since April 4, 2006, while JPJ has been recognised as an Approval Authority since July 20, 2012. As a result of this, Malaysia is granted the authority to test, certify and export automotive products to any one of the 51 contracting nations without the need for further testing.

It has already been reported that local manufacturers, Proton and Perodua, are expected to adopt several of these advanced active safety features as soon as next year. Speaking at a recent technical conference, ASEAN NCAP secretary-general Khairil Anwar Abu Kassim predicted that the nation’s automakers will adopt AEB and lane-keeping active safety systems.

“From 2011 to 2016, our pre-requisites for a car to quality for a five-star rating was only to have electronic stability control (ESC) and seatbelt reminders for both front passengers. From 2017 to 2020, to get a five-star rating you still will need to have full ESC and seatbelt reminders, but that will only qualify for a low-class five-star score. To get a high-class five-star rating, you will need AEB and lane-keeping,” Khairil said.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Jasjos on Apr 20, 2016 at 1:04 pm

How about launching some public safety reminder to change the mindset of Malaysians first. Show us some gory photos of ppl not belting up, drink driving, speeding who end up in accidents. U can drive a Volvo with all its advanced safety features, but if you don’t belt up and turn off those safety features, we are back to square 1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • hahaha on Apr 20, 2016 at 3:46 pm

100 enforced UNR (probably meant 100 exist on paper in Malaysia not enforced)

also how many of those exist? thats what i want to know.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Apr 20, 2016 at 1:05 pm

Dengar dulu… Come 2020 sure postpone one… Damn cronies…

• Anti CO2 on Apr 20, 2016 at 1:51 pm

…low-class five-star score… high-class five-star rating… Confuse…

• Malaysian admit to join moving to coffin offer by Toyota n Perodua, they dun 1 tat new regulations.

• Industry-insider on Apr 20, 2016 at 2:21 pm

CONTINENTAL BRAND LIKE FORD PEUGEOT ALREADY HAS THOSE LIKE AGES.

BUT BODOH MALAYSIANS BUY MORE TOYOTA HONDA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Pronda on Apr 20, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Honda not so bad, at least premium model fully equipped. It’s Toyota that’s the bad offender. And their adik Perodua also ikut

• U think this technology cheap ar? Only expensive car got.

• xoxox on Apr 20, 2016 at 4:19 pm

follow??lol…Malaysia is very very …far far far(too far….) behind the standard, a lot cars don’t even have basic safety (ABS)! how to follow??

• Once enforced, toyota pack & go back jepunis. P2 kolos shop. P1 will be winrar

• abahaku on Apr 20, 2016 at 10:22 pm

tak akan nye bro..T & P2 will be exempted in meeting the regulation. Puii!

• Please write properly on Apr 21, 2016 at 9:02 am

What is “kolos” and “winrar”? Please write properly, so people can understand you.

• paanjang16 on Apr 20, 2016 at 7:42 pm

I wonder what is the reason to have a high class 5 star rating and a low class 5 star rating? Since VSC/ESP are STANDARD items in first world countries it should be the minimum requirement to even qualify for 1 star. Let those cars with added safety equipment like AEB and lane watch get their 5 Stars to make them more different.

Feel very not worth it when I put in so much effort to put in AEB and lane watch and I also get 5 stars like my competitor who doesn’t have AEB and lane watch. The only different is that my stars are more golden than my competitor.

Also all the talk of putting in AEB and lane watch is like wanting to put a man on the Mars when we didn’t even land on the moon yet. UMW and P2 is extremely guilty of this where even basic equipment like ABS is omitted, let alone VSC. Already got benefits like P1 and most of the R&D they got from Toyota, but no initiative to improve the safety equipment.

In Japan, the JDM versions of the Myvi and Axia are equipped with VSC. A simple visit to the Toyota Japan website proves it http://toyota.jp/pixisepoch/safety/active/
    http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/lineup/mira_e-s/06_safety.htm

• Unknown on Apr 20, 2016 at 9:48 pm

Just a little correction: Axia is based on Indonesian Daihatsu model which I believe doesn’t come with vsc. Other than that you are 100% correct

• Homologation on Apr 21, 2016 at 7:42 am

UNECE Regulation indeed has more than 100 but not all 136 regulations applies to a single car. Vehicle categories ranging from passenger car to motorcycle to bus and trucks while not forgetting components. To get comply, they need to be tested according specific regulations. Test facilities availability within nation is one of the factor whether certain test can be carried out locally. However, these standards is only focus on the vehicle or the part which is passive safety. Mobility safety shall be both passive and active. Actively, car drivers shall initiatively enhance more awareness and education on road safety and vehicle safety. Today a simple smartphone can make everyone smarter, it is just initiative. In the end it benefits to the road user in general. For E.g. Parents with kids, should study for child seat that suitable for your kids. Or, for cost saving when changing tires, some may change 2 piece only and after 1 month then after change another 2. Just check out what differences between the new one were install at the front compare new one install at the rear.

• Papa G on Apr 21, 2016 at 11:38 am

really wanna see how they gonna implement ABS to kapchais