Removal of subsidy not main cause of fuel price hikes

fuel price sept

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak says that the abolition of the petrol subsidy for RON95 is not the main cause of fuel price hikes, and added that the pricing has not been impacted by the move, Bernama reports.

“The price of RON95 per litre today is lower than its previous price. When we abolished fuel subsidies, the price of RON95 in January 2015 was RM1.90 per litre compared with RM1.70 sen per litre today, even in March it reached its lowest price of RM1.60,” he said.

He added that the subsidy removal has saved the government billions of ringgit. “In 2013, the government spent RM29 billion on subsidies for RON 95, RON 97 and diesel,” he said. Subsidies for RON 95 and diesel fuels were removed in December 2014, with pricing determined by a managed float system.

As of April, RON 95 is priced at RM1.70 per litre (10 sen up compared to March), RON 97 at RM2.05 per litre (10 sen up), diesel at RM1.55 per litre (20 sen up) and Euro 5 diesel at RM1.65 (20 sen up).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Dear PM. “Speak a good word or remain silent”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 3
  • AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 21, 2016 at 12:37 pm

Then buy under market value lor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
  • omegle on Apr 21, 2016 at 2:22 pm

The price of RON 95 per litre today is lower than its previous price. When we abolished fuel subsidies, the price of RON 95 in January 2015 was RM1.90 per litre compared with RM1.70 sen per litre today, even in March it reached its lowest price of RM1.60

isn’t that because the global price for oil drop? How will abolishing subsidy affect it?your subsidy actually made price go up? what kind of subsidy is that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
    • tokmoh. on Apr 21, 2016 at 4:44 pm

Subsidy their cronies la. Proton just got RM1.5b to subsidise their cronies

• Really on Apr 21, 2016 at 2:33 pm

The subsidy removal has saved the government billions of ringgit, right? What is done with the saved money? To help cover the hole that is the IMDB, isn’t it? Rein in your shopaholic wife and glamour-seeking sons first before opening your mouth again, beloved PM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • Nancy on Apr 21, 2016 at 3:05 pm

Fellow Malaysian… did you ever heard or still remember that the reason why car was expensive is because goverment subsidized the fuel. Now, no longer subsidized. Did you see any different. Malaysian oh… Malaysian… always “Kena Tipu” again & again. Don’t know until when.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • Yes, remember pretty clearly still, and still waiting car price to drop. By tight hybrid cars should come cheap, very very cheap.

• petrol price hike so that they can use the fund to improve public transport

petrol subsidy removed so that they can use the fund to improve public transport

where is the improvement on public transport??

• cendol (Member) on Apr 21, 2016 at 4:00 pm

Petrol price did not increase, it is just subsidy is being reduced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • poor doctor on Apr 21, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Well done PM, the subsidy should be removed many years ago as proposed by opposition especially DAP.

• Silencio on Apr 21, 2016 at 5:50 pm

..build hospitals & clinics… build schools… build roads… build pr1ma homes… give br1m… etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Malaysian boyz on Apr 21, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Better than buy overprice item and claim just bought more expensive.

U can get it fr our last year or yr before malaysia audit report.

• WT Fuchhh on Apr 21, 2016 at 9:19 pm

Price of Ron 95 should be even cheaper, if really trully following market price. But it is not because managed float is run by cronies making sure they make large margins no matter what the market price is..!!

• Lagi 14 billions (14000 juta) ringgit ‘lesap’ daripada 1MDB

• All these issues will be fixed when the govt is changed. Give the opposition a chance, if they mess it up we will remove them as well.

• Funkywa on Apr 21, 2016 at 10:05 pm

If i were you Mr PM, I would have charged a carbon tax at RM0.10 per litre. It will contribute easily 15bil to the national coffer.

• maths on Apr 22, 2016 at 1:16 am

Does somebody have the monthly rate of RON95 and RON97 through January to December 2015?
    Just do an average then we know if having the ‘subsidies’ really makes a different or not.
    But ofcourse it takes into account trading oil price at that time of month, we can’t just based on December 2014 petrol price and claim that it is subsidy and now April 2016 without subsidy it is doing better, if this is the case we are not not taking into consideration of other factors.

• We are not Dumbo on Apr 23, 2016 at 12:34 pm

It would be RM1.10 per liter now if government continue to subside 60 cents per liter.