DASH construction to start in August, despite the last mile awaiting the Selangor government’s approval

dash

It’s said that construction of the Damansara-Shah Alam Elevated Expressway (DASH) is on track to commence in August, despite the last mile of the alignment still awaiting the green-light from the Selangor state government. The latter is so as the state has yet to engage with residents affected by the construction of the highway – particularly at the final stretch, The Malay Mail reports.

“The ministry is still waiting for the Petaling Jaya City Council (MBPJ) for this project to be gazetted in the Petaling Jaya local plan 2. Based on our plans, if there are no objections, the DASH project will begin construction in August 2016,” said Works Minister Datuk Fadillah Yusof, back in March this year.

Meanwhile, Selangor state executive councillor, Elizabeth Wong said recently, “the highway has been approved from the Shah Alam side. The part where there is the dispute is the last mile, literally the last mile. There’s still the exco decision where there still needs to be continuous engagement.” She added that the Federal Government could commence work at any sections which have no issues.

“They want to start, they can start in Shah Alam first, they can start in other sections with no objections, but (the final mile) is subject to the discussion that will be happening soon, so that we can iron out kinks and settle the issue. That is a federal project, so when they start is up to them,” Wong pointed out.

DASH-01

Wong noted that a discussion was supposed to be held between residents who were affected by the project and the Selangor Town and Country Planning Department (JPBD) in March. “It was supposed to be in March obviously it didn’t happen, so hopefully, it will soon,” Wong said.

In March, MBPJ councillor Lee Suet Sen confirmed that the Selangor state government had already granted approval for DASH and that the proposed alignment had already been reinserted in the PJ local plan 2 last year, following a temporary removal.

That said, the final stretch of the alignment could still be amended, according to Lee. “The last stretch of the highway in the plan will be a dotted line to indicate that adjustments can still be made, this is where Damansara-Perdana is. So, we will let the concessionaire communicate with the affected residents on this matter,” Lee said a few months ago.

The three-lane, dual carriageway project will run a 20.1 km-long route from the Puncak Perdana U10 Shah Alam intersection to the Penchala interchange at Mutiara Damansara. The RM11.5 billion expressway will have 12 interchanges and link motorists to the Damansara-Puchong Expressway (LDP) and the Sprint highway.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing's better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that's designed and built for that purpose.

• Dedak Kau Busuk on May 11, 2016 at 6:43 pm

Yes we want more highways for overcrowded new registered cars! We want more toll booth for us! Follow the federal government! Like what Penang do with new undersea tunnel project with toll! We want more toll! We willing to forget your promises to abolish toll! Coz we love toll so much!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 7
    • Dedak Kau Busuk 2 on May 11, 2016 at 6:45 pm

Where’s your promise to torn down toll booths? Sudah makan dedak jibby kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • Azmin Ali on May 11, 2016 at 7:19 pm

Persiaran Surian already overcrowded with developments. Giza, Nexis, Tropicana, condos, MRT… now comes this elevated highway. This is so “brilliant”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
        • john supporter on May 11, 2016 at 10:27 pm

Why expressway cost so much? RM11.5 billion sonlap-ed by BN?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
      • Muniandy Periasamy on May 11, 2016 at 7:29 pm

As usual John will come here and syiok sendiri saying PKR is behind this mess. May I remind John, PKR may run the Selangor Government, but ALL the Government servants are still the lazy BN fools. The same with MBPJ, go into MBPJ in PJ New Town and you can see, 90% of those working there are still the lazy BN fools. This is why DASH is still in a mess. All the abang abang still relax, minum teh dan makan kuih lapis 8 times a day at the kantin and surf Internet whole day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 26
        • They will need approval from Selangor state government la macha…get your facts right…your Pakatan Harapan are HOPELESS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 29
  • yesfordash on May 11, 2016 at 7:02 pm

about time the highway is up, the traffic is crazy every single day in puncak perdana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
  • Penang now wanna toll, Selangor oso wanna toll. But but but ultimately can still spin that ini semua salah BN/ UMNO/ Na…

The power of zombie syllogism.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 54
  • Jobless on May 11, 2016 at 8:31 pm

Wat about Kidex?? Just back frum kota damansara to sanway took one hour, if rainy day minimum 130-2 hours and even more (record was 2.30 hours) those heading to Pocong even worse..truth is majority wants Kidex

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • nabill (Member) on May 11, 2016 at 9:43 pm

Da’sh

• before u guys start hooking up the exit at penchala end, go and do your survey there in the morning around 730am-9am and then decide whether that route can still cope any additional traffic…politician morons…Elizabeth Tan and Azmin Ali, please la do your job!

• Najib put up a toll-free hiway while Party Hard put up more tolls. What in the world is happening?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • autodriver (Member) on May 12, 2016 at 10:07 am

I don’t complain the setup of tolls and increase of tolls fare.

Imagine every year more than 600k new cars (data from MAA webside) on the road and at least 40% will be likely running in KL and Selangor.

Some people will say government should provide FOC highway but why should government provide free highway while not everybody using that particular route. If government giving free highway which mean they are using tax payer money for fund for it. This is not fair to those who not using the route. For those who use the highway, they should pay for it. This is same practice in overseas like Japan, Korea, SG and many countries, they not providing FOC highway either.

The question is why should we need more highways? Is it because our public transport not good? IMO public transport such as buses have improved a lot, but how many people willing to take buses. During non-peak hour there are very few people take public buses or trains and in weekend the situation become worst. Look at people around us especially in KL and Selangor, how many of them not owning a car. After few years working people will start looking to own a car, some lucky one parents bought them a car while study in college or university.

Many people want convenient to commute so they use car, many of them forget to factor in the cost of insurance, maintenance, parking, tolls, petrol and etc. At the end they complain toll fare increase, petrol increase, insurance expensive, parking fees high and so on. These people can save up at least 60% or more by taking public transport, but of course they need to sacrifice time and energy.

So I don’t complain more tolls, without tolls will encourage citizen to drive rather than taking public transport. Our public transport such as buses and train fare is cheap compare to overseas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • But but but Dear Leader says his manifesto is to remove all tolls yet his macais MB & CM now wanna put tolls, woh

So means manifesto bukan janji? Then what is use for?

• autodriver (Member) on May 20, 2016 at 11:19 am

I strongly disagree to demolish tolls because government will use tax payers’ money to fund for it but not all tax payers will use the particular route.

If I were to use the route then I willing to pay for it if I want convenient with less traffic and save time.

The congestion is become greater and remove tolls it become worst.

• Ben Yap on May 12, 2016 at 10:12 am

Yes! my property in Shah Alam will increase. On the way moving towards early retirement before 45!

• Selfish residents on May 12, 2016 at 10:45 am

When LDP was built no one bising coz it benefits them

when sprint was built no one bising coz it benefits them

when penchala was built no one bising coz its benefits them

but when a highway is built near them which doesnt serve their purpose (a small population of a run down condo) rather a bigger population (im speaking of 100++ thousands) which will make commuting easier

they all come bising

typical selfish bunch, as long as not my backyard mentality

i hope the highway is built right in front of ur balcony

YES to DASH
    YES to BETTER COMMUTE
    YES tO BETTER PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION
    NO to AS LONG AS NOT MY BACKYARD SELFISH DOUCHES

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • peter on May 12, 2016 at 11:28 am

Due to the RRIM and Mutiara toll plaza’s, I foresee most people from Shah Alam are going to exit at Subang airport and then rejoin the traffic to Federal Highway.

They definitely should do away or merge one of those toll plaza’s into one.

As petrol is still cheaper then price of each toll, very few will want to pay additional tolls at RRIM and Mutiara and again at Penchala to head in to KL (only exception would be those people who’s time is more valuable then toll price)

• Shah Alam Resident on May 12, 2016 at 2:11 pm

depends which part of shah alam

if you are denai alam, elmina, sunway kayangan and puncak alam and other northern parts (newer) of shah alam, many will take dash to avoid the crowd at nkve

to go pj, they take dash to join ldp or penchala or sprint
      to go kl then can join penchala then jln kuching

• We want Dash!

• Jobless on May 12, 2016 at 7:05 pm

The local papers like The Bintang used to play up the anti Kidek protest until the gomen finally shelved amd cancelled..they want more sales