SPIED: Chevrolet Camaro Z/28 ‘Ring test ends in crash

Chevrolet Camaro Z:28 spyshots-03

Seen testing at the Nurburgring was the new hardcore Chevrolet Camaro Z/28, based on the sixth-gen Camaro. Unfortunately, the model on test ended in a crash (you can see it in the gallery below), so it looks like the engineers will have to go back to the drawing board.

A look into Chevy’s history notes that the company’s Trans Am car was based on a special version of the Z/28 from the late 60s. The classic had a 5.0 litre small-block V8 engine developed to homologate the Camaro for the Trans-Am racing series. In 1967, only 602 units of the Trans Am Camaro Z/28 were made.

Mark Reuss, General Motors product chief, gave a little hint of what can be expected with the new Z/28, when he spoke to Automotive News last year. “We’re looking at the original formulas of the Trans Am homologation of the Z/28,” Reuss said. “The formula may change a little, but it still needs to be a wicked fast track car more capable maybe than the comfort- and driver-oriented models.”

As seen in these spyshots, the prototype on test looks very much like a buffed-up version of the Camaro ZL1. On this test unit, it seems to have a different bonnet, while the front bumper has two sharp fins on each end. At the rear, the model sports a larger fixed rear wing (compared to the ZL1). The model should also benefit from various weight saving measures.

As for power, what will be fitted under the hood remains to be seen. As a reference, the previous fifth-gen Z/28 had a 500 hp/637 Nm naturally-aspirated 7.0 litre LS7 V8. The new one is likely to sport a naturally-aspirated unit too, to help distinguish it from the ZL1’s supercharged 6.2 litre small-block V8 LT4 unit.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing's better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that's designed and built for that purpose.

• Bashers once said why need to test until Matt Damon comes home from Mars, or why test stickiness of old newspaper with QR code. Just launch the car alredi, since its same car as the previous camaro. No need to cover here cover there, test until cows comes home. Nah, see! Wanna test kau-kau until crash. Thats means this US car tabouleh pakai not like their godcar drifting keli vios. Better US just rebadge godcar, then dun have this problem.

Just want to repeat their words for posterity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 28
    • Kuat butthurt ni…this is something new…not almost 10 year old unit

• John of course butthurt lah. Proton Exora test kau-kau in hot climate country but still terbakar like BBQ. Better don’t test

• Kalau tak tahan dibidas, jangan pandai-pandai berdebat

• john otak batu on May 13, 2016 at 1:09 am

What year is this? Still on Matt Damon? Tak habis2 dgn godcar. Haiz… That is the best example of why we are surrounded by BN fools who have nothing to do but post stupid comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
      • The fools ur pointing at is ur kawan RBA macais, cuz all I did was plucking their own words and put it here. Butthurt much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • john otak batu on May 13, 2016 at 9:51 am

Why not pluck the words from your leader of the promise to reduce car price by 30%? You want to tell us only Subaru doing it or your party DUMNO cannot honour their promise coz want to protect their Proton crony friends ah?

• Forrester from Rm211k to Rm145k. 31% price down tapi tak tengok u puji Najib pulak. Topkek!

• Kancil Hybrid on May 13, 2016 at 7:20 pm

That RM145k one not XT la.. Not the 240 hp DIT. It is like comparing Wira 1.8 to Wira 1.3.

• Kancil Hybrid on May 12, 2016 at 7:53 pm

I bet it doesn’t have Bosch VDC like one in Iriz.

• Possibly it either dun have like Paul Walker Carrera GT or it cud be turn off, like most do when doing track time.

• Even have VDC also can crash. It is a test car, in a test circuit, so it suppose to be drive to the max until all system working to the limits. What is suppose not to do is, not to drive a street legal/production car to the max, like you are in the test circuit even you car have full list of the safety kits, until you crash and involve others .

• gundamrx78 on May 12, 2016 at 7:56 pm

if crash…..then just run the track again……

Proof that if the car cant speed, it least is was built tough…

• so u think ferrari cannot burn?
      so u think veyron cannot swim?
      so u think tank cannot explode?
      so u think u cannot die with 6 airbag?

pitty u.. think3 before u comment.. y need to be so recitative
      its 110km/h limit lah.. dont kill innocent pipu

• Pakcik TT on May 13, 2016 at 6:36 pm

Q, why are you so damn stupid?

Do you expect everyone to agree with you at an open forum????

I bet you are a freaking control freak, and your girlfren/wife complaints about you all the time of your shitty issues…

• Must be the VSC not working, unlike Proton, which confirm no problem coz we used RM1.5B to test. Rakyat’s money put to good use/test

• Stanley on May 12, 2016 at 9:46 pm

American car no need test at nurburgring la since lousy at conering. Just test at drag strip or just do burn out la

• Pakcik TT on May 13, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Stanley, dont be an idiot.

I bet you are so outdated in thinking, and believe only what ppl wrote 20 years ago about american cars.

BTW, I dont think you have driving an American car before. If no, please shut your trap.