2016 Mazda CX-9 SkyActiv-G 2.5T for Australian market – i-ActivSense suite standard on all variants

Mazda CX-9 Australia arrival

The Mazda CX-9 has already made landfall in Australia, but the seven-seater SUV is not expected to be launched there until later this year. When it does go on sale however, CX-9 buyers will be glad to know that safety won’t be skimped on.

According to CarAdvice, Mazda claims its second-generation CX-9 will best its competitors in terms of safety, luxury and affordability. To show it means business for the first bit, all variants of the CX-9 for the Australian market will feature Mazda’s i-ActivSense safety suite.

Features that are part of the i-ActivSense suite include blind-spot monitoring (BSM), rear cross traffic alert (RCTA), Forward Obstruction Warning (FOW) and Smart City Brake Support for forward and reverse (SCBS). Other standard features on all CX-9 variants in Australia include a reverse camera and rear parking sensors. The flagship Azami is said to be better equipped with adaptive LED headlamps with high-beam control.

All CX-9 variants will get the company’s SkyActiv-G 2.5T – 2.5 litre direct-injection turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine with both i-stop and i-ELOOP technology. Running on RON 91, the mill develops 228 hp and 420 Nm for the Australian market. The mill replaces the first-gen’s 3.7 litre V6 motor, and is 25% more efficient.

The mill is mated to a Skyactiv-Drive six-speed torque converter automatic, with two- and four-wheel drive options. The two-wheel drive version has fuel economy (combined) of 8.8 litres per 100 km, while the four-wheel drive model sips 8.8 litres per 100 km.

While the Australians appear set to receive the second-gen CX-9, we in Malaysia are still waiting on official word that the model will indeed be sold here. According to a local dealer, the SUV is set to arrive in Malaysia “soon,” with a price range of between RM230k and RM250k. A tempting proposition yet?

GALLERY: 2017 Mazda CX-9 (US-spec)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• seancorr (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Good kit for our friends down under but come to Bolehland we’ll be lucky if we get half of it.

• Boring Samy on May 17, 2016 at 9:17 pm

Good car. Price correctly to sell like hot cake. Hope the boring Samy dont come here to give negative comment on car then relate to something else politicaly

• Same L00 on May 19, 2016 at 8:31 pm

Good car ppl bashing also still selling hot (Vios). Junk car ppl praise to heaven still no one bother (Suprima S). Sales figure tells the truth.

• Pakulupapito on May 17, 2016 at 11:00 pm

This is not toyota maaaa..

• joyahcurut on May 17, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Msia specs will be different for sure. We experts in removing safety packages.

• zoom zoom on May 18, 2016 at 3:12 pm

mazda3 cbu japan spec banyak kosong. mazda3 ckd cheaper rm15k, and include i-activ sense, leather seat, rev cam,cruise control, HUD, auto headlamp, rain sensor,etc…
      so u wan booking?

• Zainur on May 17, 2016 at 8:34 pm

Price starting from AUD47k there. Which is RM145k. But comes to Proton land you pay RM100k++ more all thanks to Proton creator CB M. Thank you Proton for making car prices cost so much more. Malaysians deserve your legacy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
    • Anti Tun M = support Najib

• gonggok on May 18, 2016 at 8:36 am

Well you can get a Mitsubishi Outlander for 40k Aus. a difference of 7k Aus. Why the large price difference between the Outlander and CX-9 here in Malaysia? Malaysian should stop being fooled by the distributors. They charged so much because they can get away with it. Then they blames taxes yadda yadda. By right the difference should only be 20K (7k Ausd) which puts the CX9 at 190k. Hahahaha

• Best comment ever. Some people here did not realize that distributors collect untung kaw-kaw and let the blame goes to the G. Even more there is car brand that entitle for EEV and hybrid incentive but price still the same before incentive, or worst higher. Profit from incentive that should go to the buyer. And of course these CX-9 also will entitle for EEV, so how come it sells for 250k higher then Outlander?

• Becoz MY pipu easy to get fooled. Just look at the 300k pipu who buy moving coffins. Ownself wanna buy, then complain ini semua salah Gov.

• Pakulupapito on May 17, 2016 at 11:02 pm

Look, australian only use ron91

• Nikolai on May 18, 2016 at 8:47 am

As a Melbourne resident and an Australian permanent resident, I disagree vehemently.

I fill up with RON 98 gas all the time for my vehicle. RON 95 gas is also available as standard here, along with RON 91.

People rarely fill up with 91 these days – it’s those who’re driving old GM clunkers like older Holden Commodores or utes who use this type of gas.

• RON91 for DI engine is just asking for trouble

• Pakulupapito on May 18, 2016 at 9:13 pm

Ron number just dictates how it can withstand pressure before combusting meaning high compression engine should not use low ron fuel. Low compression car (most malaysian use) does not get benefits from high ron like ron100. What important for DI engine is good euro rating such as euro4m. Most ron95 fuel in malaysia are euro2m except Bhp. Most ron97 in malaysia are euro4m.

• Suffrex on May 18, 2016 at 7:15 am

So many words used to say the same thing for both variants’ fuel consumption

• eeeriz on May 18, 2016 at 7:59 am

Yeah, i wonder the same too. Could it be deliberately done or typo on the consumption rate? Normally AWD will sip more/slightly more than FWD/RWD, due to slight heavy weight.

• heybadigol (Member) on May 18, 2016 at 9:32 am

The article seems to mention same fuel consumption figure for both FWD and AWD model. Surely, an AWD can’t match the fuel efficiency of a 2 wheel drive model?

• eh..i tot mazda says that they wont do a turbo petrol? only NA skyactive petrols….hmm, even beemer previously says that they wont do an SUV or MPV…look at what happened?

• Leafable on May 18, 2016 at 10:39 am

Forget about the i-ActivSense, when these cars come over here in Malaysia will be all disappear.

• Pakulupapito on May 18, 2016 at 9:16 pm

Mazda 3 have i-activesense maaaa… Mazda is not toyota

• I find it difficult to plonk down 250k for a Japanese people carrier, one that doesn’t bring much status yet so big that I have to drive carefully in crowded city roads. It also doesn’t “zoom zoom” like an the six or three.
    Those would be my choice for low cost “zoom zooming”. For status and zoom zooming there are the 3 and 5 series (pre reg). For family use ( city -kids – messy) there are starex, sorento, Serena recon vellfire for big and g livina, Alza or any jap hatch for small.

• stasta on May 19, 2016 at 10:19 am

this 7 seater is more powerful than any of those people -carrier that u mentioned.

• eeeriz on Aug 29, 2016 at 3:05 pm

I know this is an old thread. However, i disagree with your comment, on the ‘zoom zoom’ one. As i am currently owner of the original CX-9 (manufactured in 2008), i found the SUV very responsive, good handling even in twisted roads like Karak Highway, i can maintain high speed even can match some so called ‘sports car’. BMW has one of the worst comfort, as those cars are geared towards performance, so for me it is not that ‘status’. Have you really tried driving or seating in CX-9??? Please do so before making any comment. Sigh..

• Carzzzz on May 18, 2016 at 12:12 pm

2WD 8.4 litres per 100km. AWD 8.8 litres per 100km