Bukit Aman: 455,458 outstanding summonses and arrest warrants for foreigners issued since 2010

Sarawak-Road-Traffic-01-e1447927708973-850x573

There are 455,458 outstanding summonses and arrest warrants – issued since 2010 – against foreign citizens, according to Bukit Aman traffic investigation and enforcement department director Datuk Mahamad Akhir Darus, Bernama reports.

Out of that number, 364,473 are summonses relating to various different offences, while the remaining 90,985 are arrest warrants of foreigners, the department director disclosed. He revealed that Singaporeans have the highest number of outstanding summonses totalling 173,667, while citizens from Brunei have the highest number of arrest warrants, with a total of 77,857 warrants issued.

“Police used the online compound payment system and car number plate scanners to detect vehicle owners who have arrest warrants and outstanding traffic summonses,” Akhir Darus said. “In Ops Saman Tertunggak Warga Asing (OSTWA) since four days ago, 2,735 summonses and 165 arrest warrants were issued after inspecting 6,776 vehicles,” the department director noted.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Servant of God on May 23, 2016 at 7:18 pm

Its good to have law in place. But law without an effective enforcement is useless law. Suggest strict enforcement of law not only to punish but to deter those foreigners from disobeying the law again. Govt could make millions of ringgit if real enforcement is put in place.

• How dare the PDRM go after our foreign overlords! We pay their salaries! So they shud listen and kowtow to us and our foreign overlords that we kowtow to! Why not go after the banglas that dun drive!

• pxp154 on May 23, 2016 at 7:44 pm

‘Catch me, if you can’….PPRDM…wahahaha.

NO strict or consistent action at all to pursue the wrongdoers…

NO FEAR…

• So what. Catch one guy can get you back billions already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • What will PDRM do for those driver that used Emergency Lane at Highway? The video and pictures clearly shown on social media..

• hahaha on May 24, 2016 at 9:42 am

lazy 455,458 times…. (clap slowly)

• john is otak batu on May 24, 2016 at 9:59 am

PDRM..news flash, your warrant back date since 2010??!! U can wait for another millennium!
    Do something productive, round up all mat rempit & terrorists ler!

• I wonder how many of those number of fine belonging to motorbikes since I see them speeding red lights every single day of the week, hour, minutes and second.