KTM Komuter intervals to be halved by 2019, but upgrading work will cause four years of longer waits

ktm-komuter (2)

Good news for users of the KTM Komuter. You can expect waiting times to be halved from the current 15 minutes to 7.5 minutes by 2019, However, there will be pain before that happens, as reported by Malay Mail.

Bad news out of the way first. Keretapi Tanah Melayu Berhad (KTMB) said that it will roll out a new timetable tomorrow that could lead to longer queues for trains for the next four years, with wait times expected to double or more in areas with fewer riders, and during off-peak hours.

This is to facilitate upgrading works along the existing Klang Valley double-tracks aimed at achieving the targeted 7.5-minute frequency, KTMB project division GM Ismail Said explained.

“This project outcome is to achieve headway or frequency of every 7.5 minutes, which can be categorised as ‘Metro’ standard, like the LRT or the upcoming MRT. For the ‘Metro’ standard, the frequency is around 3.5 minutes, but we cannot achieve that. The maximum we can go to is 7.5 minutes,” he told the press at KTMB’s Klang Valley Double Track (KVDT) project briefing.

Along with the shortened intervals, KTMB is also targeting the passenger per hour, per direction figure from 1,000 to 6,000, boosting daily ridership from 117,800 to 250,000.

KTM Komuter six-month reroute

For now, the new timetable will see KTM Komuter train intervals at the Seremban-Batu Caves route increased both ways from 15 to 45 minutes during weekends and public holidays, and off-peak hours on weekdays. Those using the Sungai Buloh-Pelabuhan Klang route will have to endure 45-minute intervals (both ways) during off peak hours, which are 9am to 4pm and 8pm to 12.30am on weekdays.

As for the Tanjung Malim-Pelabuhan Klang route, the wait will be 30 minutes during the morning peak hours of 5.30am to 9pm. The reverse direction during the same time period will see an interval of 30 or 60 minutes. At other times, it will be a one-hour interval.

On weekends and public holidays, the Tanjung Malim-KL Sentral route will have one-hour intervals, while riders on the KL Sentral-Pelabuhan Klang route will have to wait for 45 minutes. The KVDT project will also affect timetables for KTM Intercity, ETS and KTM Cargo along the Tanjung Malim-Rawang-Pelabuhan Klang route.

The RM1.41 billion KVDT project is slated for completion in November 2019, and it includes the laying of new tracks that will be easier to maintain, the replacement of 20-year old signalling equipment to reduce metal theft and service disruption, installation of radio systems, upgrading of 16 stations and a new feeder station in Sentul for generation of more electricity to increase train frequencies.

KTM Komuter fares will not be increased after the KVDT project is completed, the company says.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BAMYouHaveAIDS on May 26, 2016 at 2:48 pm

This is where the so called “Perodua effect” will kick in and our road will be more congested. Whole malaysians on public transport and on road will be late to work, bravo Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
    • Kawan, read the article till to the last fullstop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • ProtonGSC on May 26, 2016 at 3:29 pm

BN ministry of pampering AP system cronies… use same dirty tricks all the time !!! Only BN supporters buy the idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
      • Andas on May 27, 2016 at 6:41 am

Yes, while parkatan say yes to tunnel with TOLL.. i should be free as per their last manifesto.. or it just wayang?

• In other words: Need to break a few eggs to make an omelette.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Sinaran on May 26, 2016 at 3:28 pm

Kesian la tgk Muka brader tu, mcm tengah tahan…

Pegi la tandas KTM..kekeke

• Same L00 on May 26, 2016 at 3:34 pm

Typical Malaysian Projects: Billions spent but nothing is done, just like the donation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Dey! Spending Rm300 million on feasibility study is nothing, kah?! Oh wai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
  • New model ka?

• 4 years a long time. Another attempt to stay in office to continue plunder by flagging carrots.

• Ex VGM staff on May 26, 2016 at 6:44 pm

800,000 new peroduas will be on the road by then (averaging 200k per year)

• Black Dog on May 26, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Suffer 4 years then enjoy 2 years, this cycle will repeat itself no matter for road works, trains, buses etc. No project how to minum kopi? Malaysia boleh!

• fotoDHIA on May 26, 2016 at 4:21 pm

ever heard the phrase

“No pain No gain”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • kuriang on May 26, 2016 at 4:24 pm

kesian tgk muka mamat kat gambar atas tu tunggu. dah la queue panjang masa beli tiket, TnG system down lagi haha

• iskhalifah (Member) on May 26, 2016 at 4:29 pm

I missed Spain, Switzerland, Italy and Japan, where their trains arrive and depart on the dot (even few seconds earlier), regardless its a metro subway, city rail or intercity. Their metro average is around 2.5 minutes… way ahead of our ‘3.5 minutes’ target. Of course their trains also had countable breakdowns, but there’s always digital info giving fast announcement to the public.

Have wished for such type of efficiency to exist here, but it remains plain hopeless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on May 26, 2016 at 5:54 pm

Migrate lar…! This is a decent call from me to you…

If from some useless minister of ours:

“YOU TAK SUKA YOU KELUAR..!!!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
    • Choclate Panda on May 26, 2016 at 9:51 pm

I commute by KTM daily to work. Sorry but I have to disagree with you. The KTM service has gotten better. Like u said, in those countries, train services arrive on the dot and even sometimes a few minutes earlier! I wonder when was the last time you took KTM rides yourself. It’s no use comparing other countries to ours when we ourselves don’t change/evolve a single brain cell to make it happen. Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
      • Me neither take KTM as daily commuter to work, had you ever take beside off-peak hours, non of system show punctuality is on time but interval wait time upto 45 minute worst. As remember KTM still adjust a 80% rise on lousy services.

• Saya sokong dgn statement choclate panda..i myself ride this komuter wayyy back since 1998..when i was still a college student..i seen ups and downs of this ktmb komuter services…we should at least give couragement in ordet for them to be better..may not be on par with the developed countries, but at least they’ve come out with solutions and steps to make their services better…it maybe so cliche, but it should be done now rather than never..

• Serdang station still flooding when raining?

• Their so call efficient traint service did completed only one month of construction i presume. While in construction, no bad effect come to the area around n their citizen right?

• fulamak mama on May 26, 2016 at 7:01 pm

If KTM makes progress, elephant climbs tree….

• Axia Advanced (pun intended) on May 26, 2016 at 7:47 pm

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

• Alibaba on May 27, 2016 at 12:40 am

“This project outcome is to achieve headway or frequency of every 7.5 minutes, which can be categorised as ‘Metro’ standard, like the LRT or the upcoming MRT. For the ‘Metro’ standard, the frequency is around 3.5 minutes, but we cannot achieve that. The maximum we can go to is 7.5 minutes,”

I almost chocked on this..

Proton could use this too for their marketing campaign.

“The all new Proton Saga can go from 0-100 in 11 seconds, which can be categorized as “Golf GTI” standard. For the “Golf GTI” standard is around 6 seconds, but we cannot achieve that. The maximum we can go to is 11 seconds.”

• savvykl on May 27, 2016 at 12:53 am

After MRT1 operational in July 2017, commuter passenger can switch to MRT1 at Kajang and Sg Buloh MRT station than come to KL, so not much impact.

• MyDear on May 27, 2016 at 11:41 am

By 2019, KTM will still the longest waiting train in malaysia.. same ass pain like today.. haha

• User21 on May 27, 2016 at 3:41 pm

Actually, KTMB can try to imitate how Japan Rail serve their customer. In Japan, there are lot mor variation of train service, but i just focus on 2 only. 1st one i called ‘Normal’ train which will stop at every station, big or rural/small station. 2nd is ‘Express/limited express’ which will stop at big and crowded station only. Both use the same train type. But to cut time short they offer ‘Express/limited express’ train. So i think it quite effective i think. Just my opinion.

• Unhappy commuter on May 29, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Improve communication strategy..don’t give commuters short notice… change in schedule just days after announcement…taking the train with the new schedule is horrendous especially in key locations. .KL Sentral, mid valley etc…train was packed to the brim.. was in danger of not being able to board the train…understand that have to go through some inconvenience for ease of service in future. .
    However..3 years.is too long..