Police, JPJ unconcerned with Waze, Twitter outing enforcement personnel locations – report

Waze police

Neither the police nor the Road Transport Department (JPJ) are especially worried about information on apps like Waze and Twitter – where road users can warn others about the locations of enforcement personnel – according to The Sun.

Criminal Investigation Department (CID) director Comm Datuk Seri Mohmad Salleh said that while the advancement of mobile app technologies could “slightly” disrupt police operations, he is adamant that such apps will not hinder the authorities from fighting crime.

“We are aware of the public submitting information on Waze and other apps from time to time about the whereabouts of authorities whenever we are visible on the road or when a patrol car hails down suspects or traffic offenders,” he said. “But we know what to do to curb and combat crimes.”

Mohmad added that he is aware of the ever-faster dissemination of information with the advancement of smartphones but insisted that “the police have their own strategy to nab criminals.” He was speaking to the media after presenting certificates of appreciation to police, JPJ and media personnel in conjunction with the recent special operation against “Tonto” thugs, which have been known to disrupt JPJ roadblocks.

Director-general of JPJ Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad described the operation a success, and added that it would be expanded to other states soon. “At the moment we are focusing on three states, namely Perak, Selangor and Negeri Sembilan,” he said. “But we are ready to ensure this joint operation with police is continued as long as it should.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 13, 2016 at 11:35 am

All over the world you cannot do entrapment. Entrapment means you hide and catch. Every other country gives warning of speed trps long before the speed trap. then, if the driver does not want to slow down, he is summoned.

malaysian polis is the only polis in the world that hides and traps ie entrapment. Why can’t our polis, especially our traffik polis be channeled to patrolling neighbourhoods and the streets from crime and snatch thieves?

today, our polis and traffik polis are too busy escorting datuks, tans sris and big shots, even for their daughter’s wedding also.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 195 Thumb down 2
    • Trafik polis does not catch house breakin or rescue u from ur tiger wife. Each have their own juristiction. Pls read up on our polis roles before u sound stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • Bersatu Bersejahtera on Jun 13, 2016 at 12:55 pm

People share whereabout police officer is to support “anti-corruption” lo

• aquaria on Jun 13, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Totally agree with you bro… more police doing escorting rather than patrolling our neighborhud. end up resident need to fork out money to pay rela or security company to guarded our neighbuhud

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
      • Ensuring the safety of our leader is part of their job. Make way if you see them near you. I always do

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Alamak on Jun 13, 2016 at 3:33 pm

Agreed. Only in Malaysia, that authorities create entrapment.

For example, they approve building plans that can accommodate 300 workers but only 1 basement parking for 30 cars. Then they fine all the other cars for illegal parking. This is especially in industrial area.

• hahaha on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:53 pm

it’ll be better if the police didn’t depend on waze or twitter to notify the public. better for them to do their job and notify the public themselves. after all, its for the good of the public isn’t it?

• redidiot on Jun 15, 2016 at 7:57 am

What do u mean entrapment? Speed limit signpost berlambak2, masa buat lesen L dah belajar undang2, how can u say entrapment?

• Dennis Ng on Jun 13, 2016 at 11:47 am

Combat Crime??????
    or affect their “SIDE INCOME”??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 4
    • Kunta Kinte on Jun 13, 2016 at 12:18 pm

Last time I saw polis, do speed trap, while waiting for victim, eat durian in the car. Best lah!

Respect our PDRM, siap boleh makan durian whilst on stakeout!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 5
      • That’s localization for you. US police eat donuts, British drink tea, French eat croissant and Malaysians eat durians!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • Lutis Pato on Jun 13, 2016 at 2:28 pm

No need waze lah like this. Can smell from miles away!!!

• Black Dog on Jun 13, 2016 at 11:51 am

WAZE has been the thing that ever happened for drinkers like me.

Drunk, yet able to lead me home safely.

• kenot on Jun 13, 2016 at 12:12 pm

Sorry to say..We cannot do anything to stop the technology. Uber, Waze, Whatsapp, FB and other apps is reality how we communicate today. That is power of internet.

• Bravo lah to our policemen who knows how to do their work, no wonder there are so many crimes and snatch thief around but we are told that our country are one the safest by asking the tourist. SIgh

• Hafiz Rahim on Jun 13, 2016 at 1:09 pm

They trying to block whatever can give them easy money.

• Had I was using waze last I week, I wouldn’t have had to pay the ridiculous RM300 summon for ‘fancy’ number plate….

• Ben Yap on Jun 13, 2016 at 2:48 pm

i always outsmart the police in speedtrap because of waze…. when i’m nearing the location, i will decelerate to 90kmph. after that i will go back to my average speed of 200kmph on the highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 30
  • dodgeviper88 on Jun 13, 2016 at 2:53 pm

Technology evens the playing field for the common rakyat, which is the majority of us. When a government is opaque in their dealings (especially dealings that benefit their own), it is always in their interest to make sure information about their shady dealings are not disclosed in public. In this day and age the best way to go is for full transparency and do the right thing. If not you’re only a viral video/post away from having your reputation tarnished

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 13, 2016 at 3:23 pm

“Criminal Investigation Department (CID) director Comm Datuk Seri Mohmad Salleh said that while the advancement of mobile app technologies could “slightly” disrupt police operations, he is adamant that such apps will not hinder the authorities from fighting crime”

I’m curious if they are actually fighting crime.

I’d be concerned if I am outed while trying to fight crime. So if they are not that concerned about being outed when fighting crime..what exactly is PDRM doing?

;p

• Mohd Faiz on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:19 pm

whenever i see ppl driving too fast or cutting queue I put up false alarm in waze. kinda useful to ‘encourage’ safe and polite driving attitude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • orang biasa on Jun 13, 2016 at 5:42 pm

Enforcement curi-curi tangkap orang, boleh! Orang biasa share info thru Waze/twitter, lu cakap haram atau “slightly” disrupt police operations, WTf! No far to orang biasa.

• Who is this brainiac who decides to pose this question to the police? Tak de isu lain ke atau tak de kerja ke… pegi cucuk harimau tido? Some people…

• Voltron on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:14 pm

Oooppsss, decoy plan needed. Side income kena impak…

• redidiot on Jun 15, 2016 at 7:54 am

Are they (polis) implying they have more undercover units roaming around? Is that the reason theyre not worried if their (uniform) units locations are exposed?