W213 Mercedes-Benz E200 Avantgarde – first batch of units priced at RM386k; modified equipment list

W213 Mercedes-Benz E200 Avantgarde 1

The W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class recently made its launch debut in Malaysia, with four variants on offer, all being CBU units. Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has announced that the first batch of the entry-level E 200 Avantgarde will be sold at RM385,888 (on-the-road without insurance), which is RM10,000 less than the price mentioned at launch (RM395,888).

The difference in pricing is mainly due to the tweaked equipment list associated with the first batch of the E 200s. MBM says that the first batch of E200s are advance units, and not fully representative of the mass market vehicle, which will come with the equipment originally prescribed at launch.

Look inside the interior, and you’ll notice that the widescreen cockpit is not here. On the standard E200, there are two 12.3-inch display screens – each with a resolution of 1,920 x 720 pixels – merged to form a single instrument cluster.

Instead, the first batch units get a conventional analogue instrument cluster (as pictured here), with a 7-inch colour display screen to match. An Audio 20 USB infotainment unit with touchpad controls and Garmin Map Pilot is linked to said screen.

Although the widescreen cockpit has been removed on the advance units, a 360-degree camera has been added. This feature is not available on the mass market model, which gets a standard reverse camera instead.

Everything else though, remains status quo. Under the hood, you’ll find the M 274 DE 20 AL 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo petrol unit rated at 181 hp (184 PS) at 5,500 rm and 300 Nm at 1,200 to 4,000 rpm. It is paired to a 9G-Tronic nine-speed torque converter automatic transmission with shift paddles.

Other drive-related features include an ECO start/stop function, Dynamic Select, which offers four selectable operation modes, and Agility Control suspension with selective damping and a 15 mm lowered ride height.

Exterior highlights include the Avantgarde styling package that features a two-bar grille, paired with 18-inch five-spoke light alloy wheels (with run-flat tyres) and LED High Performance lights. The Avantgarde styling extends into the cabin, which features a multi-function steering leather wrapped in Nappa leather and automatic climate control.

GALLERY: W213 Mercedes-Benz E 200 Avantgarde (first batch)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• This gen E keras not as imposing as previous gen.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 16, 2016 at 2:28 pm

OMG, where is the promise to reduce car prices? Last E200 W212 started at RM360k, now E200 start at RM386k? Sudah naik lah!

Is reducing RM10k means fulfilling Jib’s promise of 30%? That is absurd!

Merc E250 cost US$52,300. CBU Pure German Made. Come to Malaysia, CKD also, it becomes RM420k (old E250 pricing in Malaysia.

Merc E350 cost US$53,000. CBU Pure German Made. V6 that churns out 320bhp. Come to Malaysia, become RM1 million.

How to bersyukur like this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 48
      • Eason on Jun 16, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Abang Jib mesti cakap: “Bang, sorry la, saya pun nak harga kereta turun tapi harga MYR turun. Sebab tu harga kereta naik.” HaHaHa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 48
        • Kunta kinte supporter on Jun 16, 2016 at 11:17 pm

As low income group like me and kunta, can we enjoy a lower car duty so we can afford to change to better car ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 37
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 16, 2016 at 3:39 pm

This Mercedes is a junk compared to our Perdana. Our Perdana is higher quality than this Merc junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 64
        • Leman on Jun 16, 2016 at 6:34 pm

CBU audi a6 rm280K saje..
          ini E klass so mahal lor

• bashes on Jun 16, 2016 at 9:03 pm

after kena bashed kaw kaw last week, now give 10 discount?…but will still be bashed too…lol

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 17, 2016 at 9:16 am

Yup correct. They are reducing Rm10k because they got bashed so much last week for their RM400k E200.

Come on la Germans, don’t kelentong Malaysians lah. MBM somemore gets the car so cheap and you still want to hantam Malaysians?

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 16, 2016 at 5:22 pm

Jeeb has no time to reduce car prices. So many people to give dedak, where got time? Even John got dedak already.

• Tax the rich. So still syukurrrr

• rusmah on Jun 20, 2016 at 9:16 am

dun worry, MBM will reduce 20K after few months.
        THey will announce “We got the EEV discount”.

BM , MBM msia, scam!

• Ben Yap on Jun 16, 2016 at 1:09 pm

that’s a low hp output for a 2.0 turbocharged. was expecting at least 240hp.

• Nikolai on Jun 16, 2016 at 1:51 pm

There is. The E300 will have the 245hp 2.0 engine (just like in the C300). In both C and E-class vehicles, the same 2.0 engine is used in the 200, 250 (211hp) and 300 models. The 350e uses the same engine with the 250’s tuning plus an electric motor to give a total output of 279hp.

• e300? on Jun 16, 2016 at 9:06 pm

e300 245hp, so what? v40 t5 can achieve this hp only sell below 200k

• Nikolai on Jun 16, 2016 at 9:44 pm

The V40 T5 sold in Malaysia has a 2.0 5-cylinder engine that’s rated at 213hp, unlike the European variant, which has a larger 2.5 5-cylinder engine that’s rated at a little over 250hp.

So, your comment just got invalidated (unless you’re talking about re-chipping, which will result in voiding the manufacturer’s warranty).

• Nikolai on Jun 17, 2016 at 11:40 am

I also forgot to tell you that the V40 is in a totally different league and should be best compared to the A-class. If you want to compare to the E-class, take the S90 and compare to it.

You can’t compare apples to oranges.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 16, 2016 at 3:47 pm

If low just rechip instead of complaining. Can get 50 to 80hp more.

I always rechip my cars. Don’t complain so much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • Nikolai on Jun 16, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Sure mate….at the expense of voiding your warranty once the MB service center discovers it.

• Mohd Faiz on Jun 16, 2016 at 1:17 pm

the rear aircond vent design looks very outdated !

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 16, 2016 at 3:48 pm

Our new Perdana looks better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • fastwork on Jun 16, 2016 at 3:57 pm

How about the headlights, previous E Class model(W212)looks better or the new E Class model(W213) looks nicer?

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 16, 2016 at 1:21 pm

Didn’t know the advanced 12.9 screens cost more than the surround cameras and I prefer the cameras over the screens so I don’t need to feel crap when I accidentally hit the kerb while parking.

• Jobless on Jun 16, 2016 at 2:58 pm

The brochure don’t mention inclusion of Distronic Plus with Steering Assist which is a shame. Would be good for our jammed roads not only for driver convenience but for safety purposes. The car with steering assist will never drive in the emergency lanes unless the system is overridden by the driver.

• Nikolai on Jun 16, 2016 at 6:21 pm

Welcome to Malaysia, where most consumers prefer looks and refuse to pay extra for safety.

I don’t have any qualms for paying extra for the Driving Assistance Package Plus option plus Drive Pilot, but unfortunately, it’s not even an option in Malaysia, no thanks to the consumers that shape our local market conditions today.

In Australia (I live in Melbourne), such packages are optional. Even with the smallest engine option, you still can add the package by paying extra. At least you aren’t forced to buy a model with a more powerful engine just for extra features which one might need. Which isn’t the case in Malaysia (for instance, if you want the ILS headlights on the C-class, you need to get the C200 Exclusive, C250 or C300. There isn’t any option to spec up a C180/200 Avantgarde with this. Same thing applies for COMAND Online, Burmester, panoramic sunroof, full keyless access, open pore ash wood interior, AirBalance, ambient LED lighting package and some other stuff which I don’t remember. These are only available in the C250 and above).

• Realist on Jun 16, 2016 at 3:14 pm

Paps was talking about this the other day. He went to have a look and is tempted to place a booking. Never really liked the E and always thought it was an old mans car but went with him to view the second time, offer a second opinion. Was fully prepared to tell him it’s rubbish and that he should live a little, buy something different. Having seen it though, gotta say I’ve changed my mind. So many things you can do with the car, it’s amazing. I’m sold BUT still wouldn’t buy it until I’m at least 40 though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Mercedes CRAP from MBM on Jun 16, 2016 at 8:53 pm

Holy Crap …smaller screen and analog dials on the instrument cluster for RM10K less…that’s rubbish, completely ruins the car interior look and makes it look so cheap …what is MBMalaysia thinking ….this is a rip off …paying at those prices and ripping locals with this low end specs, I think we must be the only country in the world getting rip with these first batch units !!!

• Many good at whacking here but mostly cannot afford to own this E…. pity fact……work smarter n harder la….

• from its silhouette, it is difficult to differentiate between E and C as a whole.

• Nikolai on Jun 17, 2016 at 1:31 pm

Not really. The E-class has a longer roofline and a longer boot area, while the C-class looks more hunched back.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 20, 2016 at 8:53 pm

Forget about locally assembled Benz. Waste of money