Paid GrabHitch JB-Singapore cross-border rides are illegal – Singapore Land Transport Authority

johor causeway jam bernama pix

The Singapore Land Transport Authority (LTA) has a few qualms with Grab’s new cross-border ride-sharing service, saying that its business model “did not comply with regulations in Singapore,” as reported by Channel NewsAsia.

Currently, Grab is running a free pilot programme for its GrabHitch Singapore-Johor Bahru service. The statutory board has deemed such cross-border carpool rides as legal as there is no exchange of money.

However, paid cross-border carpool service are illegal. Under Section 101 of the Singapore Road Traffic Act, anyone caught using a foreign-registered motor vehicle as an unlicensed public service vehicle to ferry passengers for hire and payment can be fined up to SGD$3,000 (RM9,072) and jailed up to six months.

“Malaysian-registered cars are not allowed to provide hire-and-reward services in Singapore without a public service vehicle licence,” a LTA spokesperson told Channel NewsAsia. Similarly, Singapore-registered cars are not permitted to do the same in Malaysia without a public service vehicle (PSV) licence.

During the announcement of the GrabHitch cross-border service, it was revealed that a trip JB City Square and Woodlands starts from RM9 (SGD$3) per person. However, prior to its launch on June 20, it was revealed that there would be a three-week-long free pilot programme.

Grab has said that is currently “engaging with the Land Transport Authority in Singapore and regulatory authorities in Malaysia” to come up with a solution for its cross-border carpool service, in order to better improve connectivity between both countries.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• SEE!! This is what im talkin about! 1st world countries r banning Uber here, banning Uber there. France oso allow upcar of Uber cars.
    If we wan be 1st world country, we shud follow their example.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
    • Moving Forward on Jun 21, 2016 at 12:29 pm

Sometimes people lost their way, regardless they’re first world nation or street cleaner. They need to be guided by on track.

• sardinia on Jun 21, 2016 at 4:23 pm

John – Uber is not banned in Singapore http://www.driveuber.sg/
      Even Grabcar is available there as a legal service. What they are talking about is there is a special license necessary before Grabcar Malaysia can transport paid customers across the border. Thats all. Next time please check first before shooting your load on your monitor keys!

• kzm (Member) on Jun 21, 2016 at 11:32 pm

Drive uber n grab in Singapore is like driving taxi nowadays.. all need to follow the same rule

• Simple, just take taxi lah

Support Taxi = Anti Uber = Support Tun M

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jun 21, 2016 at 11:54 am

Simple budak bola logic. You are this or that. No such thing as you are born Man U but your heart tells that you are Liverpool. Pick a side and place your bet.Tak suka pergi balik Tongsan. Takda duit boleh pinjam Ah Long.

• Ben Yap on Jun 21, 2016 at 2:37 pm

charge them for human trafficking!

• 1st world countries have 1st world taxi service so, Uber isn’t needed. We are a 3rd world country with 5th world taxi service so, Uber is absolutely needed.