F15 BMW X5 xDrive40e M Sport plug-in hybrid SUV launched in Malaysia – RM388,800 OTR w/o insurance

2016 BMW X5 xDrive40e ext 1

BMW Malaysia has officially introduced the F15 BMW X5 xDrive40e in the country, and the locally-assembled plug-in hybrid SUV makes its debut here in M Sport form, rolling in at RM388,800 on-the-road without insurance, making it RM25k cheaper than the recently-launched CKD Volvo XC90 T8.

It’s also the cheapest of the X5 variants in the country (the xDrive35i goes for RM573,800, while the xDrive30d is priced at RM533,800). Import and excise duty reductions brought about by government hybrid incentives lop off RM194,000 off the car’s original RM582,800 price.

The X5 xDrive40e, which becomes the 11th model to be locally-assembled at BMW Group Malaysia’s Assembly Facilities at the Kulim Hi-Tech Park, made its global debut last March, with the international press drive for the car taking place in Munich last July.

2016 BMW X5 xDrive40e ext 2

The hybrid X5 – the first BMW core brand PHEV – looks very much like its regular sibling; the biggest giveaway that it isn’t comes from a small cutout panel sitting above the front fender on the left side of the vehicle, which is the flap cover of the charging port. Aside from this, model badging at the front of the vehicle’s flanks and an “eDrive” logo on the tailgate provides the other exterior visual clues.

Other bits are tucked away – under the bonnet, there’s a blue eDrive strip on the engine cover, and inside the cabin the only cue is a small eDrive badge on the console sliding cover (the scuff plates are M versions instead of eDrive units). There’s also an eDrive button, which is located down by the gear selector, and this provides selection of the three different operating modes for the hybrid powertrain.

The Malaysian X5 xDrive40e comes dressed with a BMW Individual exterior line aluminium satin trim as well as an M Sport aerodynamic package as standard, and rides on 19-inch M Double-spoke light alloy wheels with 255/50 front and 285/45 rear staggered tyres. Kit also includes adaptive LED headlights with automatic high beam control and LED fog lights.

2016 BMW X5 xDrive40e launch 3

The petrol-electric system in this one consists of a N20 2.0 litre turbocharged four petrol mill offering 242 hp at 5,000 to 6,500 rpm and 350 Nm of torque from 1,250 to 4,800 rpm and a synchronous electric motor offering a maximum output of 111 hp at 3,170 rpm (rated output is 73 hp) and 250 Nm of twist from zero rpm.

Combined system output is 313 hp and 450 Nm of torque, delivered by an eight-speed Steptronic automatic transmission to all four wheels via the automaker’s xDrive system, regardless of the propulsion source. Incidentally, the electric motor sits before both transmission and transfer case, so the X5 can theoretically be taken off-road in EV mode. Speaking of electric-only operation, the xDrive40e can operate up to 120 km/h in EV mode, and can cover up to around 30 km on electric power alone.

Other performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 6.8 seconds and an electronically-limited 210 km/h top speed. As for claimed rated consumption, it’s 3.3 litres per 100 km combined, but that’s according to a NEDC cycle rating, so a more realistic figure is that of 6.5 litres per 100 km for daily commutes of between 50 to 60 km, with the battery fully charged and the engine deployed. With the fuel tank capacity unchanged at 85 litres, the overall range of the X5 xDrive40e is around 830 km.

The battery pack for the vehicle is a 351 volt lithium-ion unit with a gross energy capacity of 9.0 kWh – the high-voltage 96-cell unit, which also supplies power to the battery for the 12V electrical system via a voltage transformer, is housed underneath the luggage compartment floor and adds another 150 kg or so to the vehicle, which weighs in at 2,305 kg.

The battery takes away some boot space, with 500 litres available in the variant (1,720 litres with rear seats folded), and it also omits the extra seating – this X5 is only a five-seater.

As for charging times, the total recharging period for the lithium-ion battery is around two hours and 45 minutes via a BMW i Wallbox system at a charging rate of 3.5 kW (16A/230V line), and around three hours and 50 minutes via a conventional household outlet.

2016 BMW X5 xDrive40e int 1

For our market, a normal socket charger is bundled with the vehicle, though a BMW i Wallbox is available for around RM6k, though there are installation costs, and these will depend on the complexity of the install. This could range from a few hundred to around RM5k, with the average being about RM3k.

Three drive operation modes are available, led by Auto eDrive, which is the default setting. This utilises both the combustion engine and electric motor for propulsion, with the motor alone used for setting off with normal power requirements, while the engine cuts in at around 70 km/h or when full acceleration is needed. In this mode, the operating strategy balances the workload of both power sources for optimal deployment.

With MAX eDrive, the car runs on pure electric power, the range being dependent on the available level of battery charge. Lastly, there’s SAVE Battery mode, which runs on engine power alone and enables the battery’s current level of charge to be kept constant or replenished for use later on in urban surroundings.

Also on, Driving Experience Control, which offers the usual selection of vehicle set-up modes (Comfort, Sport, Eco Pro). Aside from tailoring throttle mapping, steering characteristics and the response of the transmission, the system also alters the characteristics of the sports-tuned Adaptive M suspension specified in the local vehicle’s Dynamic Damper Control package. The hybrid also features a self-levelling rear air suspension as standard.

Standard equipment on the xDrive40e includes front sports seats, auto air-conditioning with four-zone control, a Navigation system Professional system with a 10.25-inch display monitor as well as a Harman Kardon surround sound system with 16 speakers and nine channels of amplification. The xDrive40e is also equipped with a rear seat entertainment system, made up of two 10.2-inch monitors.

The Driving Assistant system found on the local car only has Lane Departure Warning and City & Pedestrian Collision Warning under its umbrella. There’s also front and rear Park Distance Control (PDC) as well as Surround View, which comes with side and rear view cameras.

As for BMW ConnectedDrive Services, the X5 xDrive40e comes with Intelligent Emergency Call, BMW TeleServices, Concierge Services and eDrive Services.

Four exterior colours are available for the X5 xDrive40e, and these are Glacier Silver, Mineral White, Space Grey and Carbon Black, and these can be partnered with the two upholstery choices – Leather Dakota Terra or Leather Dakota Black – on call.

At the launch, the company also announced that the ChargeNow service will be offered with the X5 xDrive40e. The package comprises a ChargeNow card, which grants straightforward access to ChargEV charging stations, offered through BMW Group Malaysia’s partnership with Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (GreenTech Malaysia) – the usual charging costs apply. ChargEV stations are already operational in 19 strategic locations throughout Kuala Lumpur, Selangor, Kedah, Melaka and Johor.

The ChargEV platform uses a floating cable system, which means it only has a socket at the charger and the owner of the car has to provide the Type 2 cable. The X5 doesn’t include a Type 2 cable, but one can be purchased for about RM1,200. However, as mentioned earlier, the regular household three-pin socket charger is provided, and being a plug-in hybrid, charging is actually completely optional for this car.

In terms of warranty, the X5 comes with a five year unlimited mileage warranty. A five year 100,000 km free service package is included. The battery has a six year warranty with a 100,000 km mileage cap. The battery is modular and divided into two sections. If anything goes wrong outside the warranty period you only need to replace the module that has the problem – that will cost you about RM5,000 (or about RM10,000 for both). Being able to replace just half the battery is a smart move.

Read our international drive report of the PHEV X5, and view the complete specification of the BMW X5 xDrive40e at CarBase.my.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• UMW TOYOTA on Jun 23, 2016 at 8:41 pm

can use powerbank to charge this up? hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Undercut T8. This thing sure gotta win!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
      • Kunta Kinte on Jun 24, 2016 at 8:31 am

Whilst everyone is happy with the price drop, the price drop is really superficial. BMW Malaysia can sell it cheaper. In US, the car is Us$62k (Rm240k). In Australia, the car is AUD$80k (RM240k). These are both CBU Made and it is after US and Australia make their margins.

So, we can assume, RM240k is the starting point. BMW Malaysia will get this car much lower, probably at RM180k being an official country distributor. CKD the car, the car will go down further. Maybe RM140k.

So where is the tax incentive? Cost only RM140k but sell RM388k. BMW Malaysia should sell it cheaper!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 18
        • Balik tidur lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
        • Kunta Kinte on Jun 24, 2016 at 10:25 am

Best advice I can give for people wanting this car, wait 1 year. BMWs lose more than RM100k in first year alone. Hybrid much much more.
          In 1 years time, you can buy this car for RM230k

To make matters worse, BMW themselves throw prices. Even before the G30 can come out, a brand new F10 528i BMW is selling for RM295k. Down from RM420k.

So BMW themselves are throwing prices for their brand new but pre reg units.

Just wait 1 year and you can buy this X5 for RM230k pre reg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
        • Katy Berry on Jun 24, 2016 at 12:10 pm

Mate, if you are in the lookout for a SUV and can afford this – by all means proceed with a booking at your nearest BMW dealership.

It makes no sense comparing our car prices with the States as there’re just many other aspects to consider before making a moot comparison like you just did.

Not only that your comments are based on your assumptions, it’s obvious that you do not run a business. Carmakers and dealerships exist in Malaysia with the sole intention of making a profit – they’re not here just to move cars for charity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 14
    • This X5 is a gem!!
      rm400k onli where to get??
      Kat SG, harga X5 sgd400k = rm1.2Mil @@

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 45
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 24, 2016 at 12:46 am

But despite that some Malaysians still adore singapore..hahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 54
      • Kunta Kinte on Jun 24, 2016 at 8:35 am

But Singapore, normal ranking Government servant already earning SGD8000. In Malaysia, normal Government servant earns about RM1500.

So, SGD400k or RM400k. Which do you think is cheaper for BOTH the Singapore and Malaysian Government servant?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 9
        • No wonder all SG gov servant drive BMW.

• Kibod on Jun 24, 2016 at 3:17 pm

Talk is free SGD8000…ada aper bukti??
          In SG, SGD400k BMW drive 10 years dah kenna scrap.
          PAPaya COE sajer yg untung..
          haiya tolong bangun la orang kampong Temasek. Kesian gua tengok^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
        • Youjelly on Jun 24, 2016 at 4:14 pm

8k income to buy 1.5mil car. Better not lor, still out of reach

• Alson P on Jun 25, 2016 at 6:07 am

Talk is cheap … :S

• LittleMin on Jun 24, 2016 at 10:56 am

Why convert the amount when average people also earning the same amount (or even higher) like what in Malaysia.
        Not to mention in SG one plate of chicken rice/nasi goreng is like only around SGD 4-5? If eat at their HDB food court lagi cheaper.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 24, 2016 at 12:49 am

Malaysia masih aman…thanks BN…janji ditepati…harga kereta turun…i like the price not the design though…x4 n x6 better looking…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 54
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 24, 2016 at 12:54 am

Tokong is laughing all the way to the bank…who cares about price reduction…he can buy it under market value…anytime…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
      • Kunta Kinte on Jun 24, 2016 at 10:15 am

Bulan puasa also can kutuk people? Imagine if it is not bulan puasa?

• 242hp + 111hp should be 353hp, not 313hp?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
  • Let’s do a poll. Like for XC90. dislike for this

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 89
    • Also Vote for Fortuner here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 76
      • poshie on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:25 pm

Porsche Macan here. like / no like

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 60
      • Seriously, when is ETCM bringing in the Nissan X-Trail Hybrid? Will they ever bring it in? Already in Thailand and Indonesia, launch it over here lah! 2.0 4WD Hybrid 5-seater is a perfect poor man’s BMW X5 xDrive 40e.

• Pziggy on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:38 pm

Audi Q7 terbaik Bro..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 65
    • Kunta Kinte on Jun 24, 2016 at 10:19 am

Last month, Vulva just sold 15 cars. See the MAA figures. that alone will tell you how bad sales are for Vulva.

BMW sold 725 cars

I repeat 725 VS 15. And you can guess, all 15 must have been XC90

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • policeman on Jun 25, 2016 at 8:56 am

XC 90 vs X5? XC 90 confirm do not stand a chance!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
      • ow
        Wow!! So many Malaysian suddenly towards buying this

“Second Poor Man luxury car Brand” from their camry and accord

Nothing to praise about in owning a BMW car of the as most of the owners had to take up High loans and repayment to own

When they cannot pay up monthly installment later on their BMW WILL BE CALL KERETA TARIK AND END UP CHEAPLY IN USED CAR SHOW ROOM WITH LOW TO MODERATE MILEAGE AND MODEL YEAR IN MUDAH.COM.MY

HA HA HEEEE……

• alonso on Jun 23, 2016 at 8:44 pm

Don’t rush to book this one guys..wait until year end or early 2017, bmw malaysia will throw all kind of promotion to clear stocks. Look at the current 5 series promotion, its really crazy 528i for 300k, this is when the next gen G30 is not even launched yet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Bro, this price is because Govt gave tax waiver and with quota units. Just like Toyota hybrid, now no more incentive look at the price. If have the funds better take now, without tax it’s 582k. By year end if Ringgit drop, price go up.

• Since when Toyota Hybrid id cheaper then the non hybrid? Look at Camry, the hybrid is CKD, but lot more expensive then the non hybrid one. Make you wonder, why the luxury CKD hybrid can give you a ++100k less but the average camry ckd hybrid price more.

• not to mention EEV status is for all manufacturer not only BMW n Volvo and still ongoing.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 23, 2016 at 8:48 pm

trust me, that extra 20k for the volvo is worth it….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 20
    • What do you mean? And how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 24, 2016 at 9:00 am

a much better interior and more power…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
        • Kunta Kinte on Jun 24, 2016 at 10:21 am

But the car is Made in China parts. You say got QC but no Malaysian will pay RM400k for a car with parts Made in China. Go and see the car, even the windscreen got words, Made in China.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 25, 2016 at 1:58 pm

to be honest, made in china isnt a bad thing anymore. i’ve used european made stuff which qc control is just scary

• Audiftw on Jun 24, 2016 at 4:16 pm

Power of con ?
          It cannot catch pace with audi with similar torque and hp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
          • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 24, 2016 at 4:46 pm

well maybe there’s a chance if your vw gearbox is actually working….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • the 20k can get additional 100hp & 200nm!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Resale value???? Volvos depreciate very fast leh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
      • alonso on Jun 24, 2016 at 5:58 am

Bmw depreciates very fast also la bang..you buy now later bmw promo kow2 unregistered unit 100k savings..go and find out yourself at bmw showroom the kind of promotion you can get

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • All hybrid depreciate very fast leh.

• Innovator on Jun 24, 2016 at 7:13 am

Bro, extra rm70k for Volvo la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Wow! A BMW cheaper than its Volvo counterpart

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Aero (Member) on Jun 23, 2016 at 9:00 pm

Congrats BMW MY, this will be a top seller for them, no doubt… almost RM200k of savings… that’s MASSIVE… and congrats to whomever it may concern, for swaying Global BMW to assemble the X5 Plug-in Hybrid in Malaysia, as opposed to Thailand.

The more models of Hybrid, EV, PHEV and other alternative energy cars we assemble, the closer our auto industry will get to being the ASEAN leader/hub for such vehicles. We may have ‘lost the battle’ for eco-car leader (to Indonesia), and Japanese ASEAN hub (to Thailand), but the alternative energy sector and luxury car segment is still anyone’s game (specifically, between Malaysia and Thailand).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • Proton no sale how? :(

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 24, 2016 at 2:16 am

Now I’m really interested to see them assemble the upcoming 5er PHEV as a top spec 5 Series under 300k would be a steal. Same goes for the 3 Series and I know they do have the 330e LCI but I’m guessing they won’t be bringing that in as it will eat into the 330i and 320i sales and they don’t want that to happen to their bread and butter models…sigh.

• I think before this, there are article in PT where BMW give discount for their car because EEV ,after jacking up the price. Lucky that Volvo roll out the CKD XC90 with EEV price already. If not, maybe this X5 also will be sell at jack up price and later give discount because EEV.

• Bimmer sakti on Jun 23, 2016 at 9:11 pm

The X4 is dead. Heck even the 5 series is in trouble at this price. Volvo? Forget it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
  • only benefit the riches..average guy still cant afford.
    sometimes make me wonder who benefit from this eev incentive?
    the riches or the poors?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
  • heybadigol (Member) on Jun 23, 2016 at 9:22 pm

Pretty decent pricing for a large sized SUV. But at 2305 kg, this environmental friendly and wallet friendly SUV is quite a porker (though it doesn’t look so). Do hope the handling isnt mightly affected, though those rear batteries might make the car feel rear heavy – which would be quite interesting for a tall vehicle. Specs looks good, but missing softer leather option (which someone who can afford an RM400k car might want to consider). Some things in the specs are oddly mixed. Air suspension in the rear, but not in front? Not sure if this is common for BMWs.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jun 23, 2016 at 9:43 pm

WOW!!!!! Confirm waiting list till next end of the year. Bye Bye X3 and X4, since pricing already blend into those 2 models. Do we need to pay for the “charge now” after this “introduction promotion” ends???

• Raja Izal Shah on Jun 23, 2016 at 10:48 pm

Irregardless? Really.

• sick&tired on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:59 pm

the word irregardless doesn’t exist!

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 24, 2016 at 2:23 am

Oh dear, absolutely spot on, you two. Mea culpa, that really is a schoolboy error. I’ll go sit in the corner now.

• Jimmy on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:38 pm

1. Front collision mitigation system
    2. Rear collision mitigation system
    3. Knee airbags, at least for the driver
    4. Rear passenger side airbags
    5. Whiplash injury lessening rear seat headrests
    6. Did I miss hill descent control?

Light beige/cream coloured seats will be good.

No need to look at the new E-class already, for buyers with 400k budget. Value buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • sick&tired on Jun 24, 2016 at 12:06 am

Very good pricing. Somemore with m sport and rear entertainment, both which are very expensive options. I would probably go for the X5 instead of the xc90. Although I would most probably regret it when i cross paths with a xc90 in my imaginary x5!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • vOLVO XC90 IS BETTER CHOICE

horsepower = 407 hp and Torque = 640 Nm compare with

BMW X5

Horsepower =313 hp and torque = 450 Nm

Furthermore, Volvo xc90 stands out in safety feature better than BMW X5

The volvo car stereo speaker is way better than BMW X5.

For RM 20 K less , The BMW X5 is still consider more expensive as compare to what Volvo XC 90 had to offer more.

Volvo XC90 is my choice and is a better choice to buy always for SUV.

Buying a BMW badge is consider a waste of money if it does not offer better features than other luxury SUV.

As for me I do not feel owning a BMW is anything better than owning a Volvo XC90 , mercedes GLK or Range Rover.

As they say in Malay language
      BMW = Banyak masuk WorKshop . Endless unresolved issues with reliability problems ALWAYS.

BMW IS NOT MY KIND OF TEA TO DRINK AND I MAY AS WELL FORGET REMEMBERING IT, no prestige

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 49
      • heybadigol (Member) on Jun 24, 2016 at 8:39 am

If reliability is important, Lexus RX is the answer. Bulletproof reliability. Though it is a weird looking SUV. Acura MDX too (a bit bland looking though, but does come with trick AWD system), but Honda Malaysia not brave enough to bring in American made Acuras here. Maybe after TPP, see how.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • meejawa on Jun 24, 2016 at 9:09 am

Bro, X-drive. That alone beats everything else XC90 has.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
      • Hi chen…the salesman, you can come up with all the jargon BMW = Banyak masuk WorKshop.
        From Paultan previous post – 2016 JD Power US new car reliability survey;
        BMW is no 5
        Volvo is way down in no 32
        Please talk with sense and facts.

BMW is ‘Best Man Win’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • Hi Tony,

Your survey is based on USA JD Power.

Maybe you should based on actual experience of owning a BMW in Malaysia based on Malaysian climate and BMW dependability towards Malaysian climate and environment.

Even then
          based on JD power US survey in 2012 , 2013 , BMW brand was found to be BELOW INDUSTRY AVERAGE . Maybe BMW may had improved slightly over in year 2014, 2015 and 2016 but that improvement is showing good sign . I just hope JD power US report is not biased and paid by any organisers to provide artificial.
          facts compare to the real facts. just hope not.
          Nevertheless, let me remind you owning a Volvo in Malaysia much more reliable than owning a BMW no matter what year BMW model is being produced either 2012,2013, 2014, 2015 or 2016( too early to know)

Most specialist mechanics always give thumb up to get a Volvo than BMW, They will tell u endless problems of owning a BMW in malaysia in other still

BMW = Banyak Masuk Workshop

This Motto still maintained no matter what’s
          your next say is . I don’t care now BMW really sucks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • seancorr (Member) on Jun 24, 2016 at 1:56 am

Game over to the Non hybrid X5 and X4 sales.

• Boooooritng on Jun 24, 2016 at 3:41 am

From the pics , interior design looks dull and aging . BMW you are looking very boring in & out . Now wonder Merc and Audi are pulling ahead .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 33
    • kamil on Jun 24, 2016 at 9:16 am

Salesman detected.
      Its all about the technology and all you can harp on is its interior.? Try harder!!
      Go to work earlier.
      Sales dropping, margin getting thinner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • Tahar on Aug 14, 2016 at 3:22 pm

Kamil, please be a gentleman and stop accusing everyone here as a sales man just because they DO NOT LIKE TO OWN A BMW as you do.

Perhaps you should be constructive any ways

Today cars are sold on technology , safety and value for money. RV is a thing of the past as most cars depreciate instantly an become a depreciating asset when they leave the showrooms.

The retention value of the of Toyota and Honda are not good either. Newer totally design cars are build with newer technology as overall improvement over old models . Why would people be buying a high RV compare to new same model when the depreciation is only about 30%. Might as well go for a new model when loan are cheap and MOST OF ALL ITS SMELL

NEW…..NEW ,,,, NEW……

its a free speech worlds everyone is entitled to their expression and NOT narrow thinking

• What the design on Jun 24, 2016 at 7:11 am

The window switches at the door remind me E90…
    Cant spot the different except the boot opening button.

• Nikolai on Jun 24, 2016 at 9:17 am

Uhh….where’s the Lane Change Warning (blind angle detection)? Volvo has this thing as standard (BLIS) on all their models. Surely BMW could do the same too.

Besides, this thing is very useful in Malaysia. There’s always motorcyclists on mopeds who always zigzagging between cars. Blind spot detection has saved my butt quite a few times when changing lanes, because bikes don’t appear in mirrors all the time. And even with a head check, a car’s pillars will still interfere with my line of sight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Diven on Jun 24, 2016 at 9:25 am

For a BMW hybrid this is deceiving consumer but also to public. The instrument cluster meter looks very old type now in this modern age.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • This same car is 600 thousand rm in Thailand at the moment , buy now the price is impossilbly cheap before they change their mind

• Tong Sampah on Jun 24, 2016 at 10:38 am

wait next year for clearing house to under 300K..

• I think Volvo XC 90 is dead from a get-go in Malaysia, the only feasible competitor is GLE e-hybrid if Mercedes decides to launch one.

• Johnny on Jun 27, 2016 at 11:59 am

I wonder how much my electricity bill will go up if I were to charge this car at home?

• anon08 on Jun 29, 2016 at 1:49 pm

If you’re worried about electricity cost, then you can’t afford this car LOL. So stop dreaming and start working.

• office boy on Jul 19, 2016 at 10:34 am

heard that x5 hydrid got registration problem…1st delivery dont know when…

• As per the S.A., to date, more than 1500 units of the x5 40e already being booked. The earliest delivery will took place after 9 months from now.

• 18/9/2016. Just got info from SA, to date the booking is up to 2000 units already. The tentative delivery time will be 1 year from now. I guess many will switch to G30 upon launching next year. I also wonder if get the car by 4th quarter of 2017, by 2018 F15 will get facelift already.

• AndrewTJ on Nov 20, 2016 at 6:27 pm

Booked. Crossing fingers for delivery in second week of Apr; as informed. Any strings to pull?

• JAyden on Aug 19, 2017 at 12:58 am

F15 X5 aint getting no LCI. New generation will be out by mid-2018. Make this the shortest living BMW model to datez

• Razzd on Nov 21, 2016 at 1:05 pm

I never expected to step in a BMW showroom, after all the horror stories I heard and read about their stuck up staff to extravagant repair bills.
    Started with the 330e but I always wanted a SUV. Happen to ask to see the X5 Hybrid and they had a test drive unit.
    Stepped in the cockpit and later, rear passenger’s seat.
    I was speechless and utterly impressed.
    Exudes luxury I never had the pleasure of experiencing before.
    Spec wise I cannot ask for more. I was blown away.
    Booked one yesterday but alas as stated by many of you guys here, delivery slated beginning of 2018. Whether I’ll actually wait till then, it’s another story. But I never had the pleasure of owning a Continental car before, if I do eventually get the keys to this awesome German marque, I do believe I will undoubtedly be extremely pleased as a owner. In the meanwhile, all I can do is wait.

• schmitter on Feb 27, 2017 at 3:38 pm

I know what you mean, I switched from the E90 to a different make and thought i’d never go back to BMW. I usually step in the showroom about a year before my car is up for replacement. I do this basically to inform myself of what offers are out there, what’s going to be discontinued, and what I can expect to pay when the time comes. Anyway, I did stop in a BMW dealer and after the test drive booked one right away! that was in the 3rd week of June ’16. To be fair, I was offered a car roughly after xmas last year but without any rebates (I requested one as it was the year end and i’ll be losing too much on RV later on) and as Jan came I asked again if there are any allocations (no matter the color, i was told i’d have to wait a max 6mnths for delivery) as i’ve found a buyer for my current vehicle at a very good price I couldn’t wait much longer for the X5. What I did was dropped by a Volvo dealer after hearing one of the commercials over the radio, I never bothered with Volvo traditionally and well I was really surprised by the XC90, it felt years ahead of the X5 in design, built quality as well as practicality (Check out the size of the boot & stowage compartments) the power delivery is so much better although i do find it a little more noisier than the X5. There are tons of more features in the XC90 that you’ll really appreciate if you travel long distances (the radar cruise control in particular) and it doesn’t hurt to have the extra 2 seats in the boot. One thing that it doesn’t have though is the connected services (which I really love from BMW). I’m rambling on quite a bit now. What i’m trying to say is don’t dismiss the XC90, the X5 is a great car but it is approaching the end of its model year (if you intend to keep the vehicle long) and traditionally, Volvo’s don’t change models that frequently. BTW, i got a pre-reg 2016 xc90 it was heavily discounted (thus below my allocated budget).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
      • Humble man on Mar 11, 2017 at 5:29 pm

Park both car side by side, the bmw logo itself is enough to beat everything on volvo. Thats the fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Volvokaki on Mar 12, 2017 at 2:05 pm

Tested T8, driving is so so. No solid suv feel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • x5e wobbly butt on May 25, 2017 at 8:32 pm

What mode were you driving on?

Tested both T8 and X5 40e.

T8 wins hands down in Power Mode compared to the X5’s Sports mode. T8 drives into corners well and is well balanced. X5 felt like I was driving a 7 seater with two big sized adults in the boot.

0-100 on the T8 is 5.3 sec compared to the 6.8 sec on the X5. The first time I was not impressed with a BMW for the driving experience.

• No more volvo on Jun 03, 2017 at 9:16 am

Regret with earlier s80, lots of problems and cost of part is a bomb. Found in so difficult to trade in with reasanable price. Enough is enough.

• Bmw or volvo on Jun 04, 2017 at 11:43 am

Current pre reg volvo at RM345k vs X5 at RM390k, which one to buy? Prefer X5 but waiting list unknown. Can help?

• 2018? By then a new X5 will be out. on May 25, 2017 at 8:37 pm

Agreed with your statement. I was actually attracted to the X5 PHEV in October for the price. Test drove both the X5 thinking of getting it at first because of brand (Volvwwhhaatt?)… but decided to give the T8 a go as well.

I was blown away by the T8. The exterior took a while getting used to, but the interior. Felt like a whole different class. X5 felt dated and cluttered.

The only thing the X5 has over the T8 is the split tailgate and a more refined engine. I find the T8 engine noisy, especially contrasting to the near silence of the electric drive. But in Power Mode… this thing purrs like tiger.

Poor thing though, 2018 for the F15 X5? By then a new model will be out and your “New” X5 will the outgoing model.

• Kassim chan on Jun 03, 2017 at 9:19 am

Fact is see the number of x5 on the road as compare to t8. Waiting list is still 1 year, t8 you get in 2 weeks. Brand does matter lah bang.

• Sarravanan on Jun 24, 2023 at 10:02 am

How much to replace hybrid battery module if replace at outside ?