Maserati recalls Quattroporte, Ghibli over gear shifter

2013-398711-2014-maserati-ghibli1

Fiat Chrysler Automobiles’ gear selector woes have extended to Maserati, with 13,092 units of the 2014 Quattroporte and Ghibli collectively being recalled to rectify the issue of the confusing gear shifter. The campaign covers models with production dates between June 1, 2013, and February 28, 2014, according to the United States’ NHTSA.

The issue has been attributed to the monostable gear lever design – one which returns to the same position after a gear has been selected – which may not make it clear to the driver whether or not the transmission has been put into “Park” before the driver alights from the vehicle.

Maserati will install software to fix this problem, though it says that the new software code is not ready yet. Owners in the US will receive notification regarding this issue by mail on July 1, and later a subsequent letter to schedule the correction.

This appears identical to the issue that led to the recall of 1.1 million FCA vehicles in the United States in April this year. So far 41 cases of injury were recorded, which may be related to the vehicle moving after the driver had inadvertently left the selector in “Drive,” and exited the vehicle, according to the NHTSA.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 24, 2016 at 7:35 pm

Wow, such precautionary measures. what about our Myvi? Drivers are still driving the car at night without their lights on cause they think the headlights are on because the dashboard is all lighted up.

So many people kena langgar from dark coloured Myvis driven in the night without lights on.

German guy voiced out this problem to Perodua but Perodua said the Mat Salleh was malicious and wanted to cause problems for the company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Really on Jun 25, 2016 at 8:17 am

I had a few close encounters with Myvis and Altis not turning on their headlights during night times. If you are following one from behind, it is still not as dangerous because you can still see the car through its rear reflectors. The real danger is when you are on one lane road and you want to overtake a car. Suddenly, a Myvi without its headlights on is heading towards you while you are on the opposite lane. Funny thing, how come these drivers not notice their headlights are not on when their surrounding areas are pitch black and without road lights.

• Dagger on Jun 25, 2016 at 10:59 am

Ioma please answer this question!!!!!

• Boringblog on Jun 26, 2016 at 11:01 am

I have been the followerbof PT blog for more than a year, it gives good info on car news. The sick kunta , samy fellows just came in repeatedly talking rubbish non stop here and pt allowed it, what a shame. These people may not be malaysian but come here to stir thing

• Foreign overlords recall is gud.
    P1 recall mesti kena bash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
    • Proton global sales figure for the first 6 months roughly about 30k, hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
      • Ptuih on Jun 25, 2016 at 8:11 pm

Lol again basher tried to say that if sales number is good that means the car is good.

Puuuiiiiii

• Did i say the car is good? No. I’m only stating the sales figure of P1 and stupid supporter like you said it

Puuuiiiiiiiiiiii

• Englan on Jun 26, 2016 at 2:37 pm

Nobody said you said it. He said you tried to say. That’s different. Stating figure is lame comment without any meaning

• goout on Jun 26, 2016 at 8:19 pm

Fact nick but posted rubbish comments, go and create your own blog, dun create stir here

• Angka Sawan on Jun 27, 2016 at 11:50 am

What are you trying to say? Is it

If Sales number is not good that means the car is not good.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 25, 2016 at 3:08 pm

Malaysians like to ampu the white man. Our Perdana is better than this Italian junk!

• the same error that killed Anton Yelchin. RIP

• Isn’t it simple to check the gear indicator whether you are in Park before stepping out of the car? I thought it was the first thing they taught at driving academy to always confirm gear position when driving an automatic vehicle. Although the gear shifter may be at fault too for being unconventional to operate, but those drivers need to be blamed too for lacking common sense.

• They oso teach new learners to signal and use mirrors before changing lanes, but do MY pipu use it? NO!

• targa on Jun 24, 2016 at 10:12 pm

At this rate, old Civic EGs, Corolla SEGs and even old Proton Sagas are the cars to buy from car yards.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 25, 2016 at 1:55 pm

thats the problem with new cars…all too digital feel….no physical clink feeling

• Dumb Americans

• Goldie on Jun 25, 2016 at 9:37 pm

Why every comment section on this car info side is turned into P2 and Toyota bashing rings? Then some will counter with bad comments about P1.
    Almost every new car comes with illuminated dashboard, including the nice TFT screen in Audis. So I agree that initial German’s reaction to Myvi was basically he did not expect a mass produced everybody can own 3rd world produced vehicle such as Myvi would have an illuminated dashboard. There is always a headlight on indicator light to inform the driver whether the light is on. And new cars have auto headlights too. Same for parking indicator. Drivers should confirm that it is shifted to park, and also apply the handbrake or electronic parking brake and switching off engine for those with keyless start, before exiting the vehicle. All everyday practice. Only when vehicles have fanciful gear shifts such as rotary dial instead of the usual gear stalk it might become troublesome.

• AFAIK, myvi 1st gen dun have headlamp ON indicator and even if got, most Sam Loos and Alberts dun take the effort to teach their customers about this feature, and oso how many owners actually read the manual?

• lambda on Jun 26, 2016 at 4:36 am

More into p1 bashing actually and turns down this site goodness
      You must be new here

• Because most commenters are Malaysian and those carmakers are the most substantial brand in the country.

• john otak batu on Jun 26, 2016 at 3:36 pm

People like john likes to stir things up just bcoz he is hateful of a certain brand and all the other supporters follow him