Renault Alaskan breaks cover – the French Navara

Renault_80146_global_en

After appearing as a concept at the 2015 Frankfurt Motor Show, the Renault Alaskan officially makes its global premiere in production guise, marking the French carmaker’s foray into the one-tonne pick-up truck market. The Alaskan will initially go on sale in South America later this year, and will be considered for other markets after.

If the design echoes of a certain Japanese pick-up truck, that is because the Alaskan is basically a remodelled version of the Nissan NP300 Navara. Visual cues unique to the Alaskan include a new front grille, smaller projector headlamps with C-shaped LED DRLs, and new front bumper. The truck also comes fitted with 16- or 18-inch diamond-effect alloy wheels.

Three cab versions will be offered for the Alaskan – single, double and chassis. Additionally, buyers can also choose from a short or long bed, and wide and narrow bodies. As the Alaskan is based on the NP300 Navara, it too rides on a box frame, with five-link rear suspension.

Renault_80148_global_en

According to Renault, the Alaskan has a ground clearance of 230 mm and is capable of towing trailers of up to 3.5 tonnes – a best in class claim. The utilitarian pick-up also comes with features like four quick-fit hooks, C-channels and a bed-mounted 12 V power supply,

Inside, it is pretty much a carbon copy of the NP300 Navara’s cabin, save for the Renault badging. The kit list here includes powered and heated front seats, dual-zone automatic climate control, keyless entry with push-start, five-inch TFT infotainment system (or seven-inch touchscreen unit in select markets) and 360-degree camera to help improve external visibility.

Under the hood, the Alaskan employs a 2.3 litre twin-turbo four-cylinder diesel engine, which comes in two states of tune – 160 hp and 190 hp. The 2.3 litre mill is also used in the Australian-market NP300 Navara, available as a single- (YS23DDT) or twin-turbo (YS23DDTT) setup.

Renault_80154_global_en

Depending on markets, two other engine options are available as well. The first is a 2.5 litre petrol (160 hp), while the other is a 2.5 litre turbodiesel (160 hp and 190 hp). The engines are mated to either a six-speed manual gearbox or seven-speed automatic transmission, plus two or four-wheel drive.

To bolster its off-road capabilities, four-wheel drive versions of the Alaskan feature an electronic limited-slip differential that uses employs braking sensors to monitor wheel speed before slowing down the wheels that are rotating faster than others to improve traction.

There is also a rear locking differential with a mechanical lock for more demanding situations, while hill start assist and hill descent control systems are present to help navigate steep slopes. The safety suite includes ABS, EBD, BA and an electronic stability program (ESP).

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Vincent on Jul 01, 2016 at 4:32 pm

The interior looks posher than most of the pickups on the road

• kolos on Jul 02, 2016 at 12:29 am

Why renault still do rebadgging after years of making cars?

Renault, you better close shop as bashers said!

• pakcik on Jul 01, 2016 at 4:33 pm

BBEEAAUUTIIFUULLLL

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 01, 2016 at 5:19 pm

If this car comes here, it will wipe out Hilux. Then, the Tan Chong bosses will end up like LGE, kena arrested and lock up cause we cannot persoal crony UMW and disturb their keutungan from Hilux.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
      • Kunta Kinte on Jul 02, 2016 at 7:19 am

Do you know UMW is a GLC? It is fully owned by the Government. How can it be a Party Hard crony? Bangang, even kutuk orang pun, tak erti.

Let me remind you again, UMW is 100% BN owned bro

You can see how intelligent you are every post saying UMW is Party Hard company

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 02, 2016 at 2:53 pm

This is apek car. Sold by apek company. Don’t know whether its halal or not to use this car cause assembled by people who eat pork

• Since Renault rebadge Navara, so they shud kolos shop just like what bashers says.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
    • sick&tired on Jul 01, 2016 at 5:10 pm

Renault owns part of Nissan.

• But some dun care about part ownership or JV or mutual co-rebadging. As long as rebadge, bashers says kolos shop. So now Renault must kolos shop at once or they will be bashed as crony kompeni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
        • Kesian on Jul 02, 2016 at 9:04 pm

^ This is what happens when you have no more arguments left, people. You just twist yourself in your own insults

• Basherlogic on Jul 03, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Bashers who dun have more argument left. I don’t see self twisting or insulting here.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 01, 2016 at 5:36 pm

Got difference.

Renault does not beg the French people for RM1.5 bil

Renault did not sapu RM15 bil of rakyat money the past 20 years. (official figures. Unofficially much more)

Renault being bigger than Proton does not have over bloated staff of 12,000

Renault staff do not think it is their right to sleep during work hours as promoted by MAS staff and Perkasa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 24
      • Nope.
        Renault din beg for taxpayer money cuz the Gov bailed them out freely but Frenchies din go hoohaa like u.

Renault and Pijot was bailed out so many times that Gov paiseh then told them to merge together. Total loses was more than 50Bil EURO (official figure. Unofficially much more)

Renault has so much under capacity that only after Sarkozy time, they can lay off deadwood for tidur on job cuz their labour protek on lazy workers r more power than MY Gov servants.

Renault staff take loonnngg lunch breaks and sleeps during working hours cuz thats French culture.

Anymore u wan me to add?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 28
        • Nasi Lemak 2.0 on Jul 02, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Must be a lazy government servant. Peugeot also cannot spell properly. Spell Pijot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
          • Albert. Why u create another dupe? Nobody come to ur toyota showroom again kah?

• beehedge on Jul 02, 2016 at 9:23 pm

Hahaha–
            Bulls-Eye !!

• No argument left? So gonna argue how peugeot spell?

• Kesian on Jul 02, 2016 at 9:06 pm

Renault and peugeot global sales vs proton global sales berapa, julian?

• Renault and peugeot global sales higher then proton and yet still get fund from their gov. So your point is?

• Renault establish bila? You must be lazy worker, dun get me starting to compare capital and company size

• kzm (Member) on Jul 01, 2016 at 7:22 pm

read this news. old news though.. PSA and Renault win bailout funds from French government: 7 billion Euros http://www.autonews.com/article/20090210/ANE02/902090252/psa-and-renault-win-bailout-funds-from-french-government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
        • kzm (Member) on Jul 02, 2016 at 5:47 pm

I gip proper news source oso gip thumbdown… the guy gip false info got many thumb up.

• Bro. He sendiri multi-thumbs up himself. If u here long enuff, u oso know the cheat code for this.

• Ini macam mazda toyota subaru pun kena close shop la?

• Elchino on Jul 01, 2016 at 5:13 pm

Why buy something which is a copy of d original unless d copy is a much improved version with more specs

• Never question the French for being different becoz… they r French

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Gonggok on Jul 01, 2016 at 7:24 pm

Hilux better… 7 airbags and 5 yr warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • as usuall. if proton copy. should tutup kedai la. ape ape la… then if another company did the same thing… wooww beautifool. bloody fool… hahah

• Kesian on Jul 02, 2016 at 9:08 pm

Copy apa? They are shareholders la dik

• Share holder or not they still copy.
        Jv or not they should close shop according to basher logic

Haha!

• Redidiot on Jul 04, 2016 at 5:54 pm

They’re hypocrites to the core. What do you expect?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jul 03, 2016 at 3:14 pm

All off a sudden, sui kwan French no longer the case once they have Japanases Dna