Toyota 86 facelift goes on sale in Japan, from RM103k

ta861607_05

Nearly four months after the facelifted Toyota 86 made its debut at the New York International Auto Show (NYIAS), the revamped front-engined, rear-wheel drive sports coupé is finally going on sale in its home market of Japan. Toyota claims that the refresh incorporates knowledge gained from racing, particularly the 24 Hours of Nürburgring.

“We overhauled everything – primarily as a result of technological feedback from the 86’s participation in the 24 Hours of Nürburgring – and repeatedly tested the vehicle on roads all over the world as we manufactured every single part,” said chief engineer Tetsuya Tada. “The new 86 has been perfected to such an extent that, from the moment the steering wheel is gripped and the vehicle accelerates away, every driver will be able to recognize its evolution.”

This evolution starts with the exterior. As we’ve previously seen, the 86 gets a heavily revised front bumper with a lower nose, a wider grille opening and fins on the new fog light bezels. Full-LED headlights are standard-fit on all models – integrating LED indicators that were previously found on the bumper – while LED fog lights can be found on the GT and GT Limited models.

ta861607_04

Along the sides, the fake fender vents have been redesigned, with the new 86 badge (losing the boxer piston design) moved lower down the fender; new 17-inch machine-finish alloy wheels have also been fitted on the GT and GT Limited models. Finishing off the changes are new LED tail lights, as well as a revised rear bumper with a wider diffuser insert that gives the car a stronger stance. A new wing-type rear spoiler, as seen on the also-revised Subaru BRZ twin, is standard on the GT Limited.

Inside, the 86 benefits from a new three-spoke steering wheel, with GT and GT Limited models gaining multifunction controls on the spokes. Also only available on the top two trim levels is a revised instrument cluster with a 4.2-inch TFT LCD colour multi-info display that shows information such as G force, power/torque curves, and a stopwatch. On these models, the rev counter has also been reconfigured so that the very top of the meter says 7,000 rpm – where the engine produces maximum power.

Elsewhere, the GT and GT Limited models gain carbon print trim on the power window switch surrounds and climate control panel, while the GT Limited gains Grand Luxe suede-like trim on the dashboard and door cards, and Alcantara upholstery for the seats.

Under the bonnet, the 2.0 litre FA20 D-4S direct-injected flat-four engine has been breathed on with revisions to the intake and exhaust system, netting maximum outputs of 207 PS at 7,000 rpm and 212 Nm of torque between 6,400 and 6,800 rpm – increases of 7 PS and 7 Nm. That’s only with the six-speed manual transmission; models fitted with the six-speed automatic soldier on with the same figures as before.

To increase rigidity, the number of spot welding points on the rear pillars has been increased – in concert with the revised springs and dampers, this provides increased steering response and ride comfort. These attributes can be improved still further by opting for the optional Sachs dampers.

Prices start at 2,623,320 yen (RM102,900) for the base G manual and 2,647,080 yen (RM103,800) for the automatic model. Moving up, the GT costs 2,981,880 yen (RM116,900) for the manual and 3,048,840 yen (RM119,600) for the auto, while the range-topping GT Limited retails at 3,183,840 yen (RM124,900) for the manual and 3,250,800 yen (RM127,500) for the auto.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• OMG 100k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • alldisc on Jul 05, 2016 at 2:56 pm

2 reasons why it is 250k in Malaysia. 1st the expensive and killing import tax and customs excise duty. 2ndly, the greed profit making of UMW Toyota. But we must understand too as a sports car is a niche market and selling in low numbers (like shark fin soup and chicken rice). UMW is also reluctant to sell the 86 at the same price of corolla 2.0. it will lose its exclusivity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • Our cars in Malaysia are cheap. You know why you complain about prices being high? it is because you are lazy. Work hard and RM250k will be nothing.

I work hard. I don’t even take loan to buy my car. Oh Wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 76
        • slooowwwwwww on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Because GT86 is slow, I can always choose to drive in front of them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
          • Same L00 on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:45 pm

Why this 86 is so expensive in Malaysia? Thanks to Proton and its RM1.6b pocket money!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
          • BoyRacer on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:55 pm

That’s because they let you. No one wants to race with a Proton

• notakata on Jul 05, 2016 at 8:30 pm

Yeah noone wnats to race with proton.
            Why? If accident happens, their takata airbags will kill instead of saving them.

Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
          • Topkek on Jul 05, 2016 at 10:00 pm

When you race in Proton, you can only hope for accident to happen. Proton supporters logic. Topkek

• Operation Manager on Jul 05, 2016 at 11:26 pm

For Horsepower & Torque performance, a Toyota sport car is comparible to a compact sedan Mazda3 2.0 Skyactive.

• Ooh orang mati p1 supporters macam syiok

• Topkek on Jul 07, 2016 at 11:51 am

When you race in Proton, you can only hope for accident to win race. Proton supporters logic. Topkek

• Bagus on Jul 07, 2016 at 5:51 pm

That’s how P1 supporters show humility after puasa. Good religion

• ricer on Jul 07, 2016 at 11:15 pm

Before said noone wants to race with p1, then said mati pulak, if no race how can die?

Basher logic fails 404

• Henry on Jul 05, 2016 at 5:07 pm

Right, who need a RM3000 loan for a 30 year old Nissan Sunny.

• Corrupted on Jul 06, 2016 at 8:55 pm

Either u r too rich or u too corrupted, paying in cash.. Better, report u to LHDN..so we will have few hundred k, $$$ to help needy people..

• Datuk Low Pro File on Jul 07, 2016 at 12:20 am

John, your 250k car is a cheapo car. My garage is full of cars worth 50x of your lousy toyota poor-man sports car.

My 20years old son didn’t even consider buying the 86 becoz he thinks its full of plastic inside and no power. he also said the 86 is a hairdresser’s car….

• I work hard doesn’t mean i need to raise those cronies for free. its my hard earn money you dumb-ass.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 05, 2016 at 3:19 pm

Real losers buy Jepunis overlord cars. We are Malaysians, we should support our own home grown brand Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 47
        • Henry on Jul 05, 2016 at 9:59 pm

Hey, I want a car like the 86 chap Proton. Ada kah? I’ve bought and sold four Proton. When they do make something like the 86 please let me know. Meanwhile I will buy Japanese, Korean, Japanese, Chinese, American, Indian or German.

• Coz corolla at 80k+ only? Hahaha

• kzm (Member) on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Then better u check thai price for toyota 86..their price is even higher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
        • Kunta Kinte on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:53 pm

kzm kzm, always comparing yourself to lower countries like Thai, Indonesia and Zimbabwe.

We should compare ourselves to first world countries cause Najib said, in 4 years time, 2020, we will become high income nation and first world status.

It is estimated that every Malaysian will earn US$48k per annum. That is US$4 (RM16k) per annum.

Yes, your Government already said, each Malaysian will earn RM16k by 2020. to be precise, that is 3 and half years time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
          • Kunta Kinte on Jul 05, 2016 at 5:03 pm

sorry typo, It is estimated that every Malaysian will earn US$48k per annum. That is US$4k (RM16k) per MONTH!

• So can we compare our GST 6% to 1st world GST 25%? Oops.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
          • Bolehland is still developing country, why must compare with developed one?

Lupa makan ubatkah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
          • Our 6% gst vs developed countries gst at 17-20% – but retail prices in developed countries still cheaper or closely similar after conversion. Entah kenapa ya?

• Sundal Government on Jul 05, 2016 at 3:06 pm

The price of Rm100k shows what a sundal government we have.

Price so cheap but we Malaysians pay double or triple.

Syukurlah John!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
      • Syukur that in SG it cost SGD100k plus 3x COE. Then after 10 years need to scrap. Cant even tahan for it to be lejen. So mana lebih sundal Gov, hmm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
      • kzm (Member) on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Then better u check thai price for toyota 86

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
        • Bro, tomyam price still not epic as SG prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • SG people earn how much, MY people earn how much? But cukurlah we have Proton!

• @zkm. Even if I earn 10k SGD, I wun even have the means to buy a RM276k Axia!

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 05, 2016 at 5:10 pm

always compare to thai but kzm like to listen to western music, watch CSI, buy Apple products and worship the white man’s buntot.

• kzm probably likes to eat Tomyam chicken

• He rather worship white man buntot than having Dear Leader “worship” his buntot ;-)

• kzm (Member) on Jul 06, 2016 at 12:17 am

Nop i listen to korean, japanese n mandarin pop song…my spotify playlist full of those song. Seriously I dont buy iphone or any famous brand phone, i use jiayu.

• topkek on Jul 07, 2016 at 11:20 pm

Of course la according to basher logic, if you support P1 you cannot drive other makes.

Memang topkek 100%

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:48 pm

Toyota Camry hybrid (CBU) in Australia is AUD29k. That is RM100k. Come to Malaysia, supposed to be tax free cause hybrid kote status.

But here, crony Government UMW sells it for RM175k. This is after they CKD the car making it even cheaper to produce.

Some pondans will say our market is small. Well, Malaysia has 30 million people. Australia has 30 million people. So, the market size is same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Compare then... on Jul 05, 2016 at 5:16 pm

How much the income tax Australian paid to their government?
        How much the roadtax, insurance, parking and other ownership cost to drive a car in Aussie?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 05, 2016 at 11:30 pm

our insurance is pretty high, and our duties are very very high….

• kokok on Jul 05, 2016 at 8:40 pm

Pondan kunta, please compare bolehland with appropriate country. After this you want to compare with USA pulak? Please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • C. P. MOHAN on Jul 05, 2016 at 2:48 pm

The price is an indication of TRUE capability.

• If only it was sold here at that price range. There would be more on the road.

• Owh yea. And all apek jual dvd haram oso will drive 86 pegi pasar

• Our Proton is good value. Why buy this junk when you can buy our Perdana? Better value, more space, elegant and prestigious.

And we can support our own industry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
      • roti john on Jul 05, 2016 at 5:15 pm

Better for you to support your local pimp industry, at least it’s profitable than selling the junk Proton

• Henry on Jul 07, 2016 at 9:44 pm

Your comment will have more value if you know the difference between a sports car, a family sedan and a RV and the different tax levied on each type. You do know the difference between a Toyota 86 and a Proton Preve, no? You can buy all the Proton you want but why do you “spit” on what other people buy? They borrow money from you? You give them money?

• pxp154 on Jul 05, 2016 at 8:20 pm

danz – i feel you bro

john – Perdana who?!? unless aku govt ofcr… zZz…

• Bernard on Jul 05, 2016 at 3:12 pm

Cheap car elsewhere but beyond the reach of most malaysians…..

• kopiokaokao on Jul 05, 2016 at 3:16 pm

The designer still living in Initial-D manga world….Without force induction…this is just a piece of over priced junk….period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Really affordable if 103k

• You can’t even get an Altis at that price here.

• DPCraft on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:13 pm

As a sports car, it is lacking of Power(torque).

• UMW toyota is Party Hard crony. Thats why can up cekik harga with non-existent safety cuz they know oppolitikuses will alwiz support them and if MITI dare to touch them, RBAs will plotek plotek in front of MITI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
    • john otak batu on Jul 05, 2016 at 5:07 pm

More like Proton will beg in front of MITI, ask for billions more to protect its existence

• More like if pipu no more buy from umw toyota anymore. Selangor and Pineng will have to come out with a “gud” reason to change official cars again.
        Maybe if all the oppolitikuses can oso get underpriced bungalows, then they can tell rakyat that they need more than 3 official cars cuz thats how much space they have (since it dun come with swimming pool after all).

• john otak batu on Jul 07, 2016 at 5:45 pm

First, you said that oppositions will always support them, then you said they will find a reason to change to other cars. If the oppositions support them, why would they change to other cars? Aren’t you contradicting yourself?

• Changing cars doesnt mean change to other brands, no?

• Tak boleh persoal P1 coz they are bumi overlords!

• bodopiang on Jul 06, 2016 at 8:54 pm

It is soft loan, not bail out per se

• Hisham on Jul 05, 2016 at 4:29 pm

Thanks to that Proton creator, Malaysians only need to lay an extra RM150k to get this beautiful car.

• P1 creator is new Dear Leader. So if u anti P1, means u anti new Dear Leader, means u anti Party Hard, means u support Najib.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
      • john otak batu on Jul 05, 2016 at 5:09 pm

So you’re saying P1 is also Party Hard crony?

• The perfect equation.
          Support Party Hard=
          Support Tun M Dear Leader=
          Support P1=
          Support taximen with P1=
          Support Cronyism=
          Support Nationalisation=
          Anti Liberalisation=
          Anti Legalising Uber/Grab=
          Anti SPAD=
          Anti Najib=
          Anti BN

• C. P. MOHAN on Jul 05, 2016 at 5:12 pm

PRESTIGE OVER PRICE.

• takNakP1 on Jul 05, 2016 at 6:25 pm

is only worth to buy if my $$$ is not hard earned, drop from sky or donated

• Sammy Loo on Jul 05, 2016 at 7:35 pm

best sports car with good reliability, low maintenance and good RV

• Henry on Jul 05, 2016 at 11:06 pm

Are you sick? You keep repeating the same words. Better go seek treatment in a Hospital Bahagia.

• 86snail on Jul 06, 2016 at 1:02 am

It’s not a sport car, 0-100km/h sprinting is so slow

• I told Toyota profit margin 200%. U all still not believe