Toyota Calya – new 7-seat LCGC MPV for Indonesia, Axia/Bezza platform, 1.2L Dual VVT-i, RM46k

Toyota Calya Indonesia-51

The new Toyota Calya will be launched this week, and will appear at the 2016 Gaikindo Indonesian International Auto Show (GIIAS) that starts slightly more than a week from now, but some dealers in Indonesia are already displaying the new seven-seater MPV. Indonesian website AutonetMagz.com paid a visit to a showroom for these pics.

The Toyota Calya is a budget seven seater MPV that sits beneath the Avanza, which is the default mode of transport in Indonesia. The Calya, an Indonesian Low Cost Green Car (LCGC), will compete against the Datsun GO+ Panca that has been sold in the republic since 2014. The basic Datsun has been the only MPV LCGC in the market. Like the Avanza, which has a Daihatsu sister car in the Xenia, the Calya will have the Daihatsu Sigra as a twin.

The Calya/Sigra is reported to be based on the Daihatsu Ayla/Perodua Axia platform, which of course also underpins the new Perodua Bezza sedan that was launched here in July. This MPV could very well be the production version of the Daihatsu UFC-3 concept from IIMS 2014, which was supposed to preview an MPV smaller than the Xenia.

There are a number of styling details that are shared between the UFC-3 and this production Calya, such as the side window shape and some of the surfacing, although things have been toned down. What hasn’t been moderated is the aggressive face. Reminiscent of the ‘X’ face on the latest European Yaris, the lower grille is so big that it’s joined to the badge and slim upper grille.

At the rear, there are L-shaped tail lights, much like on the new Innova, although these have much less of a Honda HR-V-esque look to them. Two trim levels are pictured here – E (black) and G (white and silver) – with the range topper getting chrome trim, foglamps and wing mirror signal lamps. The Calya rides on 14-inch wheels with 175/65 (same size as Bezza) Bridgestone Ecopia tyres.

This is our first look inside the Calya, and the dashboard is has a no-frills design and is basic in features, which is to be expected in this segment. The gear selector is located on the dash, next to a two-knob, one-lever AC control panel. Like the Perodua Axia and Bezza, the steering is fixed. The Calya comes with four power windows and electrically-adjustable wing mirrors, even on the E. The head unit in both the E and G are the same, but with Bluetooth in the latter.

Toyota Calya Indonesia-46

The second row bench can slide and recline, and there’s a blower for the rear section, which according to AutonetMagz, sucks up cold air from the front section to redistribute to the rear – not a “rear air con” unit per se. Access to the two third-row seats (which have side storage bins and seat belts) is via one-touch tumble fold middle seats. The last row folds down in one piece. A full-size spare tyre with alloy wheel is located under the boot, outside of the car.

The Calya is an LCGC, and with the segment’s engine cap in mind, Toyota/Daihatsu has fitted a 1.2 litre four-cylinder engine with 88 PS and 108 Nm. This Dual-VVT-i motor should be related to the new NR 1.3 litre unit that features in the Toyota Avanza facelift and Perodua Bezza, which has 94 hp and 121 Nm in the Bezza’s 1NR-VE. As usual, two transmission choices are offered – a five-speed manual and a four-speed automatic.

Dual front airbags are standard, as are Isofix child seat mounts, but ABS brakes are reserved for the G. The Calya in its highest G automatic spec will cost below 150 juta rupiah (RM46,272). Will such a model catch on here, or is it too basic for the demanding Malaysian market?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• idealtech on Aug 01, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Again, leave the Alza as the benchmark for any low cost mpv. Leave the pre,late Wiras and Wajas radio set to their respective years. Leave the Van-ish aircond vents for mpv in Indonesia and don’t try to mock us with such design.

• Same L0rr on Aug 02, 2016 at 9:26 am

Better than Proton Exora, turbo bocor! Camtakpro! CVT bising Punch Powertrain!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 01, 2016 at 1:06 pm

Just incase u thought the Suzuki based proton mpv is underpowered with 1.4L n 7 seats!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • P2 underpower: it is gud, very fuel saving, kebangaan rakyat.
      P1 underpower: lousy Piece of s.., camtakpro cannot climb hill, kehinaan rakyat.

Basher logic ye, so jangan persoal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 13
      • JasonX on Aug 01, 2016 at 5:26 pm

P2 underpowered but at least save fuel in city.
        P1 tend to be underpowered and petrol drinking.

exception… the Iriz fuel consumption is pretty competitive. But lousy gearbox, so the car is from underpowered to super-underpowered at times even if it is a 1.6 (vs 1.5 myvi… dont need to say 1.3 iriz)

How?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • Maybe Suzuki Ertiga or Proton MPVs only has 1.4l, but in the reality is enough to bring your family. At least is better than 1.3l Avanza, and the acceleration better than Honda Freed tho.

• Fatimah on Aug 01, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Ewww… Please don’t tell me this is the new Perodua Alza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • albag on Aug 01, 2016 at 1:30 pm

a good car for poor citizens

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • john is otak batu on Aug 01, 2016 at 2:14 pm

i just hope your comment is not an insult to them

• Its not an insult when jepunis overlords have deemed it so, its fact. Poor pipu lives r unworthy for better safety features. Deal with it.

• JasonX on Aug 01, 2016 at 5:30 pm

does your lovely P1 have a price comparable 7-seater option for the financially challenged?

or would you prefer to stick to 7 people into a 5-seater sedan?

• We have alza for those who can afford 5+2 seater. Otherwise if u poor, u can stuff 7 pipu into kancil.
            Dun blame my jepunis overlords if u poor. Just work harder.

• peroduanoonejohn on Aug 01, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Incoming john copy paste perodua bezza bashing and nirvana promotion in

3….2….1

• IGP mom on Aug 01, 2016 at 2:03 pm

You have perhaps magically purge the annoying John for good, though I believe he will come back with different trolling.

• U must be P1 supporter and therefore BN lapdog, since u dun have confidence in my Bisa. My jepunis overlords has deemed u unworthy for topkek spec. U only get moving deathtrap spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Albert on Aug 01, 2016 at 1:42 pm

If UMW sells this Calya,it may be just7-10 K cheaper than Avanza,in order not to kill Avanza sales.
    In other words,it wont be cheap.
    PNB just promoted an Ex Minister as CHIEF.He demands MAXIMUM returns.
    For PNB to pay out 8-10 percent dividends,imagine what kind of pricing YAB Datuk Suki will dish out.
    It will be MINIMUN SPECS but MAXIMIUM PRICE….the trademark of UMW.
    Those folks who still want to buy new Toyotas,please go ahead…but you have to be bonded for years to repay hire purchase loans.

• john is otak batu on Aug 01, 2016 at 2:17 pm

trademark of UMW? bro. if toyota allowed to sell any of its cars cheaper (example vios and avanza at 45-50K) proton and perodua will close shop. it is government’s responsibilities to ensure umw doesnt kacau national car at all.

• Perlisian on Aug 01, 2016 at 1:45 pm

Next Alza?

• azhar on Aug 01, 2016 at 2:43 pm

euuwwwww…UMW please dont bring it over here!!

• normal_user on Aug 01, 2016 at 3:00 pm

I felt like being transported back to the 1980s when I see those aircon dials.

• Design looks decent, reminecense of Alphard/Vellfire square-type design too.
    If only they had the same powertrain thou, 1.2l for a 7 seater (not counting max luggage and max persons weight) doesn’t sound like a good sale to me.

• JasonX on Aug 01, 2016 at 5:33 pm

its not just the size of the engine.
      have to see the weight of the car (most likely very light to meet the 22km/l LCGC requirement)

so it will drive ok in the city and slower to gain speed on the highway.

• Rubbish

• smart move by toyota.develope axia sedan for malaysia and axia mpv for indonesia as that kind of car popular at respective country. perodua and daihatsu get the credit and toyota get their money

• brian on Aug 01, 2016 at 6:13 pm

Good looking MPV! Like the front more than Bezza. Better to market as Alza replacement rather than a Toyota model in Malaysia but with 1.3L engine.

Cheaper option is always good news to me as I don’t expect the new Toyota Sienta & Honda BR-V MPVs come below RM90k.

• Victor Lee on Aug 01, 2016 at 8:07 pm

When does it debut in Malaysia ??

• dileep on Aug 08, 2016 at 3:33 am

toyota calya all details