Axia ‘steering lock’ accident due to 4 bald tyres, no malfunction in brake and airbag systems – Perodua

axia accident statement

Perodua has released an official statement regarding the Axia ‘steering lock’ accident that happened in Penang in June, which is making its rounds on the social media and Whatsapp.

According to the company, a full diagnostic test was made on the vehicle (an Axia E MT) following the accident, and results reveal steering, braking and airbag systems that were functioning normally. Perodua has submitted the report to the driver and is co-operating with the Road Transport Department (JPJ). The company says that it has yet to receive any complaint of this nature after selling over 200,000 units of the Axia since September 2014.

“We wish to assure our customers that our vehicles adhere to stringent safety standards set by the authorities with most even surpassing those standards,” said Dr Zahari Husin, MD of Perodua.

According to the driver involved in the accident, the accident happened in the rain and when he was driving between 70 to 80 km/h on the Second Penang Bridge. He claimed that the steering of his car suddenly ‘locked’ and could not be turned. The driver also claimed that he slammed on the brakes but it did not function, and the airbags did not deploy after the car hit the road barrier.

In Perodua’s report, the company pointed out that all four tyres of the car were bald, with three of them having just 1 mm of tread depth. The reason the airbags did not deploy in this case could be because of the weak frontal impact or that the crash impact has been absorbed by the car’s structure.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sounds a bit like false blaming here. 1mm tread? What has this driver been doing, burnouts on a daily basis? Blaming it on the lack of tread seems like a joke, because in New Zealand, where I live, as long as there is more than 1mm of tread when assessed by VTNZ the tires are fit to be on the road. In Perodua’s report it said that only one was having just 1mm of tread depth, the others more than that. Judging by your pictures, it doesn’t look like a “weak frontal impact” , too. Nice try at playing the blame game Perodua, but I don’t think your conclusions are credible, at all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 178 Thumb down 99
    • donno on Aug 06, 2016 at 11:56 pm

The cars mileage is more than 80k km in just like less than 2 years? That is a lot. Also the tropical rains that is frequent in malaysia is way more intense than those normally in new zealand. As this Axia model didn’t have ABS as standard, with that tyre condition, it is easy to lock up your brakes if you heavyfoot it in heavy rain. Do also note that for a normal driver which has no advanced driving training, it is a very normal human reaction to keep pressing the brakes harder when the wheels lock. When you slam on the brakes and cause your wheel to lock, you will lose all steering control. The proper reaction is to immediately release the brake pedal, steer the car away from danger, then reapply the foot pressure progressively on the brake pedal.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 183 Thumb down 17
      • donno on Aug 07, 2016 at 12:06 am

So the most likely answer to why the steering “fails” (cannot turn) is because the driver pressed the brake pedals heavily, causing the wheels to lock (and that is compounded by the rain and heavily worn tyres making it easier to aquaplane and lock the wheels during braking) and the consequent loss of steering control as the wheels aren’t turning and not in proper contact to the road.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 3
        • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 07, 2016 at 5:53 am

The most likely answer to why the steering failed was that with the bald tyres, there was nowhere for the water to go. Tyres can displace a certain amount of water, for example a F1 wet tyre displaces around 60 liters per second at 300 km/h, intermediates 20 liters. Car tyres are more like 10 liters, but at lower speeds. The balder the tyre, the less water can be displaced (just look at F1… slicks are basically bald tyres, and they are absolutely horrible in the rain). If more water needs to be displaced, the tyres start to swim, and when they swim they don’t make any contact with the road. If you want to turn then, well, nothing happens. The car will go straight. Or perhaps the rear will break lose (even if you don’t want to turn). No need to brake to lose control, though braking doesn’t help.

That is why it is crucial to have enough tread left on the tyre… especially in Malaysia, where the rain is insane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
          • DuaRoda on Aug 07, 2016 at 12:31 pm

Aiyar….What you expect from a car with Duaroda ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
          • More importantly, how did a set of OEM tyres get bald so quickly at 83,000 km? No amount of mileage (83k), or speed, or constant E brake (which wud flat spot and not bald it), can cause this premature wear. Cud it be due to tyre manufacturer spec in the least durable compound? Was this due to the ever squeezing cost down demanded by P2? Or was this due to the tyre size inadequate which leads to increase wear on skinny tyres?

P2, whats ur excuse for those questions above?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 31
          • Kunta Kinte on Aug 07, 2016 at 5:24 pm

Go to PT facebook and see the car. With that kind of impact and damage, the airbag did not inflate, something is seriously wrong. It shows a big cover up by Perodua. Most cars, don’t even have to have that kind of crumple for the airbag to inflate.

It is obvious Perodua is lying through their teeth. Now they putar belit and blame it on the tayar.

Hello Perodua, please answer the question, why the airbag did not inflate?

I think Malaysians should boycott Perodua cause it looks like the company loves to lie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 21
          • Kunta Kinte on Aug 07, 2016 at 5:40 pm

This problem is pretty simple. When you slam your brakes, the wheels lock. So, it feels like the steering also locks.

Perodua is trying to divert the issue here because it involves the fact, that they have been cheating and selling non VSC and ABS to Malaysians for years.

So, now, they divert the issue. They try to cover up and blame the botak tyres.

Actually if the car had VSC or ABS, the driver could have controlled the vehicle. What is ABS – speaks for itself. Antilock Braking System. Means, the wheels don’t lock!

Perodua now must answer why their cars got no ABS and VSC. In Japan, all cars have VSC and ABS. It is by LAW. So, I don’t know how Toyota of Japan can allow this.

Or is this another colonization by the Japanese? They practice safe cars in Japan and insist all cars have VSC and ABS but can SELL cars with no VSC and ABS outside Japan?

Looks like Japan is dumping their unfit cars to 3rd world countries like Malaysia.

Toyota of Japan and Perodua both should be sued.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 12
          • Kunta Kinte on Aug 07, 2016 at 5:42 pm

whatever said, if Perodua had ABS and VSC, the owner still could have turned.

Don’t just blame the tyres, blame Perodua for not giving VSC and ABS in their cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
          • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 08, 2016 at 3:37 am

Kunta Kinte, you need to get your eyes checked. The front is barely pushed in. The front tyres are where they are supposed to be. That car has some cosmetic damages, sure, but it’s fine. And the owner seems to be well and alive, so… why would he need an airbag?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 08, 2016 at 3:39 am

If the car is swimming, no ABS or ESC in the world can safe it! Yes, the cars should be equipped with it. But if you jump down a building, a helmet won’t safe you, though helmets are good and useful. Those tyres were gone, they should have been replaced, and this accident would not have happened.

The car didn’t decelerate fast enough for the airbag to be necessary, so it wasn’t deployed. That was apparently the right decision.

• Same L00 on Aug 08, 2016 at 4:30 pm

If it is a Saga BLM, the drivers already died. It has 1 star in ASEAN NCAP only. Proton is safe? Think again!

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 08, 2016 at 8:48 pm

Proton has improved a lot in terms of safety, and the 1 star comes from the lack of a passenger airbag. Which is no big deal if there is no passenger. Anyway, that crash was nothing serious.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 07, 2016 at 9:29 am

In year 2016, Malaysia sells a 2016 car with no ABS? We Malaysians like the latest Samsung S7 Edge, Samsung Note 7 etc, but when cars are concerned, we accept any rubbish thrown to us.

Remember, this poor guy bought an Axia because he had no money to buy a better car. It is NOT his fault to buy a car that has no VSC and ABS. I am sure if he had more money, he would have bought a car with ABS.

Who to blame? Blame the Government of Malaysia for allowing Perodua to sell cars with no ABS and VSC.

Perodua fanboys and pondans will say it is the fault of the driver and not the company and the Government, well, if Perodua was allowed to sell guns and many people got shot and killed, do we still say it is not the Government’s fault to oversee things?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 23
          • William on Aug 07, 2016 at 12:10 pm

If you eat too much nasi kandar and get fat, it is totally the nasi kandar restaurants fault is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
          • Bald Tyres on Aug 07, 2016 at 12:20 pm

Just wonder if a car fitted with ABS but with 4 bald tyres do not spin if emergency brake were to applied during heavy rain.

• Unfortunate for u, everybody knows and blames this on ur godkompeni toyota. Thats why no one even bother come to ur toyota showroom.

Remember I still have ur transfer application to my P2 way way down the pile of applicants. And Im partial to hire Sammy over u instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • this is what our poor always do for spending money in using hi-tech phones to show off their status instead of spending money for safety

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 07, 2016 at 5:45 pm

where is the pondan organization MAI and MAA? Both always talk rubbish. Always protect high car prices, always protect AP holders.

But serious matters about cars not having VSC and ABS in Malaysia, they keep silent.

Hello MAI and MAA. Why so silent? Do something about the automotive sector in Malaysia. Why do Malaysians have low spec cars sold here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • kzm (Member) on Aug 07, 2016 at 7:57 pm

Then u should promo p1 lor. Rite now u bash p1 left n right with nonsense comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • Gemok on Aug 07, 2016 at 8:43 pm

The guy had no money to buy a better car? Search Husein Mat Omar on facebook, he own a superbike.. A wise thinking guy would have change his tyres or even buy a good small car.. Be smart, dont blame others on your own mistakes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
          • P2 CyberTroops on Aug 08, 2016 at 8:20 am

establish a team, create email, create a name, comment3x, backup P2 and bash2 P1 till die.. hahaha

• Well if he knows his car doesn’t have these safety features shoudln’t he drive more carefully and ensure his car is safe? in this case his tyres???

• robert gartner on Aug 08, 2016 at 1:01 pm

to be honest, when i asked my friends. many of them did not even now what is VSC. Sometimes they dont know what is ABS. They just buy cars because of the look, brand and price.

• I involved in a self accident with a honda city 2005 with abs. With abs, i still unable to steer and lost control of my car. I was driving at around 50 to 60kmph for a cornering with water ponding road. My tyres were more than 6 years old and around 3mm thread but obviously harden. Front left wheel hit road curb and unable to drive. Airbag didn’t deploy. Lucky me else i would have been killed by the takata airbag.

• basherlogic on Aug 07, 2016 at 9:51 am

According to P1 basher, BMW offer replacement for burnt car to jaga nama.

So P2 should also give FREE replacement car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
          • Kunta Kinte on Aug 07, 2016 at 5:33 pm

Perodua is such a disgraceful company. Instead of concentrating in giving customers VSC and ABS across their cars, they got time to come online to discredit customers and even got time to come out with press statements.

So shy, even the MD, instead of macro managing his company, got time to “bad mouth” a customer.

As a company, you should not stoop so low as to come out with press statements for the public at large.

Perodua can deal with the customer privately.

You can liken the above to Levis. One day, your bird got stuck to the zipper of the Levis Jeans. You complain to Levis. But Levis put facebook image and publicly show pictures of your bird being stuck in the zipper to the whole world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
        • Bald Tyres on Aug 07, 2016 at 12:15 pm

Very logical explanation.

• Operation Manager on Aug 08, 2016 at 3:20 am

Its MAI MAA GOV failed to enforcee the rules of law must have ABS & VSC as basic safety features.

• Ah Meng on Aug 08, 2016 at 3:47 pm

blame the buyer bcoz not buy the SE & advance model which is have ABS & EBD! Buy standard, no ABS!

• Operation Manager on Aug 07, 2016 at 12:12 am

Do the driver / any passengers injured…?

• George Abdul on Aug 07, 2016 at 7:15 am

Seem to be both are playing to be the victim here… but still hope that P2 take much more responsibility on this issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
        • driver on Aug 08, 2016 at 9:07 am

why MIROS didn’t get involve here? they do crash investigation : https://www.miros.gov.my/1/page.php?id=39

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 07, 2016 at 9:36 am

In overseas, Perodua would be sued now, not by the driver but by consumer groups and even governmental bodies.

Just like how the Government went after and sued Toyota and VW overseas.

In Malaysia, Government won’t do that cause they own Perodua!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 23
        • Bald Tyres on Aug 07, 2016 at 12:23 pm

In more advanced countries, they have experts to test out the cars without bias and come out with accurate report on condition of cars, do we have it here?

• bodopiang on Aug 07, 2016 at 1:02 pm

Nope because they are jepunis overlord worshipers so dun dare to persoal!

If it was P1, the comments would be reached 9000!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • yes the remaining thickness of thread maybe 1mm but can you predict the water height above the bitumen how much? if the thread does not deep enough surely it will slides. its buoyancy law. do you know that? its safer to travel with better tire threads. owh btw, i drove in new zealand few times, the road condition is far better there. in malaysia, hrmmm..its better to take preventive action.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
      • aiyo enigneer, don’t show off ur engineering knowledge here la, failed means failed…buoyancy law? it only showed ur brain is still stuck in a “box”…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • totally on Aug 07, 2016 at 12:53 am

With bald tire thread, there’s significantly less grip and a proportional chance of hydroplaning.

To put the blame of the driver alone is just plain wrong. Perodua could have fitted all of its car with ESC, and none of this control loss issue would have happen. ESC saves live. It’s should be made mandatory on all cars just as the European has done. It’s 2nd only to seat belt for safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 10
      • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 07, 2016 at 6:02 am

ESC saves lives, but when the tyres make no contact with the road, the best ESC in the world can’t do anything. Safety is never based on one thing alone. Everything works together/lowers the risk for different areas.

Good tyres with enough tread make sure you have contact with the road (in this situation the big issue).
        ESC helps the car not slide around, increases cornering speed in emergency situations (but again, some road contact needs to be there, maybe ESC would have helped a bit here, maybe not. I’m inclined to say no).
        ABS helps you to maintain steering capabilities while braking hard.
        Seatbelts will slow you down without exceeding the limits of your body.
        When the seatbelt isn’t enough (and only then!), the airbag will be a hard cushion that stands between you and something really hard, in a last ditch effort to slow you down without exceeding what your body can take (which would happen when your skull crashes into the steering wheel at high speeds).
        A well designed crumple zone will try to slow down the car without exceeding the limits of what your body can endure (together with the other systems like seatbelts and airbags).

All these systems, and more, work together, to reduce the risk of accidents and injuries/death. If one of them fails (like bald tyres, or the person isn’t wearing his seatbelt…), that is very bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
        • Autodriver on Aug 07, 2016 at 7:26 pm

agreed! Some people here blame if the ESC and ABS given the accident can be prevented even with bald tyre. The fact is bald tyre will have least or no grip to the ground, even with these systems exist the accident will still have high possibility happened because the root cause is the bald tyre. How important the tyre is, simple explanation the tyre is the one and only one component of car has direct contact to road surface.

• accord owner on Aug 07, 2016 at 9:15 am

Dude…. this is the lowest spec with tag price of rm24k…. not even a radio fitted inside… not to mention abs brake…. and u know what… perodua just produce this variant for gimmick sales marketing..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
        • Sam Poo@Loo on Aug 07, 2016 at 2:14 pm

somemore with 2 missing gauge (both rpm meter and water temperature gauge, even worse than 1980 era car), even base Kancil 660 (square light) and Wira 1.3 got temperature gauge although it doesn’t have rpm meter.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 07, 2016 at 9:44 am

Paul Tan wrote a very important article 4 years ago on VSC. Until today, every car manufacturer linked to the Government has ignored this article. Yes, they will put on one of their cars like Iriz, but the whole range, they won’t do that.

In Europe, even the cheapest and lousiest car has VSC because EU regulations say VSC is legally compulsory. That is how important it is.

In Malaysia RM114k (Perdana) car got no VSC? OMG! Even UMW Camry RM160k also got no VSC!

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
        • KuntaArticle on Aug 07, 2016 at 10:21 am

Whatever come out from durian is not true.

• Got ESC. on Aug 08, 2016 at 9:22 am

@ Kunat Kinte. Perdana got ESC. Similar functions like VSC. Check your ‘facts’.

• Factssss on Aug 10, 2016 at 9:57 am

RM114K Perdana got not VSC lo….Only premium got VSC(ESC) ….

• justmy2cents on Aug 07, 2016 at 5:20 pm

Yes, ESC saves lives. On the other hand, Perodua didn’t include ESC in this car and the buyers should be well aware of the risks they are taking when buying this car. Cheap things don’t come good, good things don’t come cheap. And bald tyres are a nono for normal road users. It’s just plain ignorance and stupidity. How much can you jimat?

• bloom on Aug 07, 2016 at 1:22 am

Axia is faster than Civic turbo. Buy Axia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
      • Tong Kosong on Aug 07, 2016 at 7:43 pm

1 drove 140 KM in normal road not highway..which is not comfortable for a car with ABS/vsc

————–
        Small mad Axia still able (by their arrogant behavior) still want to cut me- (how stupid level wanna prove Axia better).

experience it many, about 2 to 5 times.

Like LGE said, “orang pendek letak kotak mahu tinggi..”

Your limit is KNOWN and MEASURED..no need to prove.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 07, 2016 at 5:45 am

Well, you live in New Zealand. In Malaysia I have seen cars with -1 mm tread… you could see the white bits inside already. And yeah, the car was still in use. There are people who buy tyres with 1 mm tread and drive them. Cause it is cheaper to buy second hand tyres. Oh yeah, and they mix and match the tyres too. Different type, different wear, different brand. So one tyre may have grip, while the others are gone.

In Germany the legal limit is 1.6 mm, if you get caught with less you’re in trouble. But during the TÜV (MOT, whatever you may call it), the tyre needs to have 2-3 mm, otherwise the car fails and is deemed not road worthy.

I am absolutely not surprised. I was driving 80, it was raining, with nowhere near worn out Michelin tyres, and the VSC was suddenly triggered while I was going in a straight line.

The tyres on the photo are worn. THOSE tyres in the rain are absolutely deadly. Serves the owner right! Completely irresponsible of the driver to drive with those tyres, he might have killed someone else!

And as for the damage… that IS a weak frontal impact. Igniting the airbag for such an airbag would be irresponsible and dangerous. There is always a risk involved with deploying the airbag, it can cause injuries too (and I’m not talking about defective ones). That is why the airbag is only deployed when you are going to strike the steering wheel hard. The front end of the car is hardly crumpled. It looks bad, but it’s nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
      • plus, most airbags works together with seatbelt. If the person does-not buckle up, the airbag won’t deploy in case of accident.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 07, 2016 at 8:09 am

So this guy is from penang…enough said…we all know how penangites behave and drive…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 19
    • Kunta Kinte on Aug 07, 2016 at 9:20 am

I don’t know who is right or wrong but how Perodua has approached this matter is totally unethical and wrong.

1) it is unethical to publicly humiliate this car driver. Perodua has publicly embarrassed this driver and the driver is now the talk of the whoe town. Even this post alone has been forwarded or facebooks 4500 times.

2) It is unethical for Perodua to put his address down and parade it to the whole world. This will pose a danger to the driver or his family as Perodua fanboys or psychos might go and attack him in his house. Would the Perodua MD be happy if someone paraded his house address in a public forum or on the Internet? Perodua has brought shame to this person by publicly humiliating him saying he is irresponsible to drive with botak tayars.

3) The whole accident was caused because of the car having lack of ABS and VSC. ABS was a legal requirement in the late 80s in the whole Europe and was compulsory for all cars to have it. Yes, you heard it right, late 80s. It was so important and vital for safety, they made it law. For Perodua to sell cars with no ABS in 2016, there is something really wrong with both the company and the Government of Malaysia. The company Perodua of course will try to save cost and reap much profits by excluding ABS and VSC but it is the responsibility of the Government of Malaysia to make sure all car companies give the basic safety to car buyers. This cannot be done when the Government of Malaysia owns Perodua indirectly via UMW. They are biased. They also want to untung as much as they can at the expense of the safety of the rakyat. Rakyat die also, too bad.

4) A Government in any country has the job to look after their rakyat from the greed of enterprises. Here, Malaysians are sold cars with no ABS and VSC as standard. Who can this poor driver now sue? He cannot even sue Perodua cause if he sues Perodua, his case will be thrown into the tong sampah by the judge who is scared of his own very promotions as the case goes against the very Government that employs him and promotes him.

5) Let us hope this case opens up legal suits against Perodua for

a) Publicly harrassing and embarrasing a poor helpless driver

b) for selling Malaysians in 2016 cars that are unfit to be sold in the entire first world (ie no ABS and VSC)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 37
      • matcerah on Aug 07, 2016 at 11:15 am

but why did the driver post on facebook defaming Perodua on his own fault?

do u think with bald tyres? n also skinny small tyres, with VSC and ABS he could have controlled the car?

its like this.. the prerequisite for an effective Airbag to work is sealt belt. SRS Airbag. Supplementary Restraining System.

Same here as well, with bald tyres, and the amount of water on our roads especially during torrential down pour, if you drive like an idiot with bald tyres or even good tyres, VSC or even apa lanciao system wont safe u.

DRIVE SAFE!

• tokmoh. on Aug 08, 2016 at 12:09 am

He is a paying customer, and his fb profile is his personal space to express his own opinion. In the interest of freedom of expression, he shouldn’t be denied his right to say it.

If perodua thinks he’s being slanderous, sue him in court. People may be disgusted at the “big corporate bully small people”, but this is Malaysia. People will buy “asalkan bukan proton”, “Toyota DNA”, “RV>all”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Cathy Ngau on Dec 08, 2016 at 7:26 pm

How did Perodua humiliate the guy ?

• ViKa, check your facts before misleading the others. In most countries including NZ and Malaysia, the legal tread depth is minimum 1.6mm. And in the report, 3 of the 4 tyres have 1mm left.

• Dokgo on Aug 07, 2016 at 11:58 am

The standard legal limit for tread is usually 1.6mm. Anything lower is considered not safe to be use. On the tyre there are tread wear indicator which marks 1.6mm level of the tread. One look at the tyres and It is confirm that the tyres are not safe anymore.

• Bald Tyres on Aug 07, 2016 at 12:14 pm

From the pictures, I can clearly see that the tyres are worn out (at least according to my standard), you mean in New Zealand, driving with such tyre’s condition is normal?
      The car spin out due to braking in heavy rain do not surprise me, this is because of the smallish tyres in small cars and also has been worn out, I drove a Kancil some years ago and the car spinned out of control once in the rain.

• ViKaass on Aug 07, 2016 at 3:30 pm

Another stupid idiot in the making. Comparing apple to orange. Road conditions in New Zealand are totally different from Malaysia as well as climate.

Why not you F*** off to the country down under.

• treaddepth on Aug 07, 2016 at 3:52 pm

http://vehicleinspection.nzta.govt.nz/virms/in-service-wof-and-cof/tb-general/guidance-tyre-tread-depth

What is the new requirement for tyre tread depth?

The rule now states that a tyre must have a tread pattern depth of at least 1.5mm (excluding any tie-bar or tread depth indicator strip) within all principal grooves that contain moulded tread depth indicators and around the whole circumference of the tyre.

Virtually all tyres have moulded tread-depth indicators. However, a small number of tyres, such as some retreaded or vintage tyres, may not have moulded tread-depth indicators. For these, the NZTA has retained the old requirement of at least 1.5mm tread depth across ¾ of the tread width and around the whole circumference of the tyre.

so 75% of the car’s tire does not comply to the requirements, plus the OEM tires isn’t something that grips/bites very well on wet i believe (i’ve driven on half worn eagle NCT5s that gives you nightmare during rainy days)

• Jeffrey Ng on Aug 08, 2016 at 12:59 am

Kiwi minimum tread depth requirement is 1.5mm. Would love to see which inspection officer will certify that your car is road worthy with 1.0 mm of tread depth.

In Malaysia it is 1.6mm but it is always good to change it once you reach 2.0 mm.

Every Ali, Ah Kaw and Anand knows that the less tread you have, the higher chances you will aquaplan in the rain which robs you of the ability to steer and slow down your car.

If the driver/owner couldn’t care less about this, then he shouldn’t be driving in the first place. No amount of electronic slip control systems can help you defeat the laws of physics when you start to dance on water.

• Bryan on Aug 06, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Driving with bald tyres is so dangerous!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
  • What was the Axia driver expecting by driving in the wet using 4 ‘slick’ tyres? Going at 80km/h somemore, which is too fast in treacherous road condition. He had the gall to imply that his Axia was somehow defective and tried to put the blame on P2. The fact is clear that he should blame himself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 7
    • kangkong on Aug 07, 2016 at 3:58 am

Driver must understand what his car capable of doing. Knowing your car has no ESC, ABS, no tyre thread yet thinking he is driving a car which can do wonder is a pure sad to many Malaysia drivers. Sometime , even 60km/h can make your light car fly if the water ponding is about 1/2 inch to 1 inch.

For those who have experience driving along LPT will know. Even big car like Camry, BMW, Mercedes can spin there during raining.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 07, 2016 at 8:10 am

Agree…he got no one to blame but himself…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Sammy Vellu on Aug 06, 2016 at 5:52 pm

No comments on the steering malfunction and no brake issue.

But for the airbag issue, I thought it’s a common Perodua problem which first appeared since late 2008 from the first-generation Myvi?

Almost 8 years now, still denying the issue and trying to blame consumers for it? Seatbelt x pakai la, accident no hit airbag sensor la, car modified la, owner tempered the wiring la, blablablabla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 8
    • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 07, 2016 at 6:11 am

Perodua is right in this case though. The impact wasn’t strong. Airbags are dangerous and cause injuries themselves, that is why they are only deployed when they are actually necessary to save a life. When the injuries from not having an airbag are worse than what can be expected from the airbag deployment.

If you want to see how a serious crash in an Axia looks like (where the airbag would deploy), watch this:
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=033MqKCtEt4

The Axia seen in the photos is in much better shape. Btw., it looks like there is a tissue box placed near the passenger airbag… should the airbag deploy, the tissue box can fly through the cabin and hurt someone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • Kunta Kinte on Aug 07, 2016 at 9:34 am

Perodua like to blame the rakyat. Like how the German Mat Salleh commented about the interior lights coming on despite outside headlights not on, Perodua went all out to humiliate this German man and embarrass him in public.

The German guy was sincere in his complaint. Infact, daily, so many road accidents from Myvis driving in the night without lights on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
  • Not surprised to find bald tyres on the entry level Axia. Owner must’ve been a cheapskate. Could it be Mr. Krabs?

• PeroduaLover on Aug 06, 2016 at 6:18 pm

My Axia is perfect, no complain from me.Engine vibration, I’m used to it.The car is beyond my expectation, it is simply the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 56
    • Sam Poo@Loo on Aug 07, 2016 at 2:29 pm

For Ahsial, generally it’s only better than Kancil/Vavi, but compare with even 1st gen basic Myvee, most of the area, even quality in Ahsial are totally out.

• frankC on Aug 07, 2016 at 2:29 pm

Yes. Perodua’s car is not bad.
      But be wise to drive within the car capability to be in contact with the road.
      Kancil, Viva and Axia are small city driving car. I doubt it is designed to be driven at or beyond 110km/h.
      With narrow and small tyre, lightweight, it is hazardous to drive at high speed. No doubt good when driven in city area with speed within 50 to 80km/h
      my sis in law, survived frontal impact unhurt in a viva elit. saved by good structural passenger shell and airbag. however it is not at highway speed but instead within city speed limit (not more than 40km/h). it is only safe if driven in reasonable manner.
      cheers

• Ahmadjr on Aug 06, 2016 at 6:37 pm

Really perodua? Weak impact? Your airbags not functional..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
    • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 07, 2016 at 6:14 am

Weak impact. They are right.

THAT is an impact that requires the airbag to deploy. What we see on the photo is more like a fender bender. Trust me, you don’t want the airbag to deploy in such a situation. You’d get injured by the airbag, and the airbag would not help you in any way. Airbags are violent, they are big explosions. You don’t want one just for shits and giggles. Did the driver get injured? Did his head smash into the steering wheel? If no, there was no need for an airbag!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
      • kangkong on Aug 07, 2016 at 11:09 am

Side impact might not strong enough to deploy the front impact airbag. The 2 airbags sensor may not be activated due to weaker front impact. People who study physics may understand better about the vector. Maybe the side airbag may deploy if there is any.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 08, 2016 at 3:42 am

It wasn’t really a side impact either. Some mixture of frontal impact and side impact, but neither was severe.

• Tommy on Aug 06, 2016 at 6:38 pm

There’s always 2 sides to a story. These drivers stupidly damaged their vehicles and demanded warranty claims. And when they are not able to claim, they accuse the manufacturer of being a liar, and provides unreliable cars with very bad service. Always think before you start to spread these idiotic lies. I personally know 2 of these kind of drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 23
  • Thero on Aug 06, 2016 at 6:43 pm

Interesting. So the lesson is as always, keep your car well-maintained. I’m not surprised many people don’t realise their cars are machines that have limitations in performance and need upkeep from time to time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Durian kunta kunta on Aug 06, 2016 at 6:49 pm

It is a good investigation by perodua. Dont save money on tyres, time to change pls change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 07, 2016 at 6:16 am

Yeah. I know people who buy second hand tyres with 1 mm tread… that’s their starting point! I’ve seen cars with no tread… with no rubber even. Where you can see the white stuff inside.

• Lockhart on Aug 06, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Pokemon… gotta catch em’ all.
    axia… gotta skid without em’ safety features.

• Can Perodua or the owner get second opinion by sending the car to undergo diagnosis/tests from an independent body including a road tests?

• In another words: jangan persoal jepunis overlords, ini semua salah NajibBNGovP1Tongkat….

• MotoMoto on Aug 06, 2016 at 7:12 pm

Good work P2. Atleast you came forward to rectify the customer’s complain and solve this issue , something other car manufacturers should take into account.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • Cheapskate on Aug 06, 2016 at 7:15 pm

Tayar botak, pandu laju. Bila accident blame orang lain. This is our Malaysian mentality nowadays?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
  • Weak frontal impact? Hmm.. By looking at the photo.. Layman will already be horrified with the situation.. To me .. With that kind of frontal damage.. I want my airbag to deploy.. Any expert out there to comment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 07, 2016 at 6:29 am

I’m not an expert, but the car didn’t come to a full stop right away. It didn’t crash into anything solid… there was nothing solid in front of the car! What matters is how fast you are slowed down in the car. If it is so fast that your head is smashed into the steering wheel, the airbag ignites. But for that to happen, you need to slow down quickly. In this situation the car more likely rammed the guard rail and scrapped along it (causing the damage that you see), (relatively) slowly coming to a halt. You don’t need an airbag when you slam the brakes either, do you?

Airbags explode at 550 km/h. If your hands are in the wrong place… plus getting burned hands isn’t too uncommon. Airbags are needed when the crumple zone + seatbelts aren’t enough to stop an impact with something hard inside the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • neonceejay on Aug 06, 2016 at 7:37 pm

I think the car just hydroplaned. If any one of you ever hydroplaned (I did, in my own savvy lite mt, a rented myvi 1.3 AT, and also my own bike) It will feel like steering lock cuz basically the front wheel is pushed,locked and lifted by water surface rather than rotate to provide traction. This 3 hydroplaning in my life teach me a real valuable lesson, Maybe you are an enthusiast who don’t need default VSC but ABS is a must no matter bikes or cars.

Which is why I exactly will do and must do when I bought my own vehicle sooner or later.

As an amateur automotive enthusiast we all know what is understeer oversteer or hydroplan, maybe this customer dunno…Axia e is the most kosong spec, and for the price you are paying+what Perodua offering let’s just say you made a really bad choice brather.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • Relief to most Axia drivers. Kudos Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • Sounds pretty much like the vehicle aquaplaned..

• jinggo on Aug 06, 2016 at 7:49 pm

sembang kemas la P2..

• WatDa on Aug 06, 2016 at 7:50 pm

Kidding right??? That kind of impact they consider as weak impact?? And airbag not even deploy??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 07, 2016 at 6:44 am

Airbags are needed when the negative acceleration exceeds a certain limit, at which the crumple zone and seatbelt won’t be enough to stop a significant enough impact with something hard inside the car (usually steering wheel).

IMHO the car might have hit the guard rail (it drove around 80), lost some speed and moved on until it came to a full stop, perhaps with the driver still being on the brakes. THAT doesn’t look like an impact from 80 km/h to zero. I doubt the limits were exceeded, I doubt an airbag was necessary.

This is at 64 km/h, and it looks much more serious. It’s more than 15 km/h, maybe around 30-40 km/h.

There is a very simple way to determine if the airbag should have deployed or not: Is the driver injured? How is he injured. Did his head smash into the steering wheel? If not, everything is fine. There was no need for the airbag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Wiwiwiwiwiw on Aug 06, 2016 at 8:13 pm

Stringent safety standards? Then why are your cars aren’t fitted with ABS and VSC as standard?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • You call that a weak frontal impact?….wow.
    Bla bla bla and at last it is driver’s fault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 07, 2016 at 6:47 am

It was the driver’s fault. He should have noticed the condition of his tyres and replaced them long ago. Or at the very least drive very, very careful and slow when it rains.

I’m defending Perodua. In terms of safety. I (!) am defending Perodua. Normally I bash them, especially when it comes to safety. But in this case… the driver obviously screwed up and now wants to blame others. And that he can complain shows that the airbag wasn’t necessary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • 83,000 km mileage or age of the tires?

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 08, 2016 at 3:44 am

Look at the tyres is enough in this case. The tyres were almost botak. It doesn’t matter how many km there are on the tyres. (Btw., Michelin is proud that their tyres last up to 45000 km).

• LEE Han Voon on Aug 06, 2016 at 8:21 pm

If his engine stalled while driving for whatever reasons… His power steering will feel like locked and the brake will fade after the vacuum fades…

Perodua perhaps didn’t simulate a scenario with the engine suddenly stalled while driving at 70/80.

Perodua.. Please don’t sue me. It’s just my assumption…

• Anything but P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 06, 2016 at 8:23 pm

“The reason the airbags did not deploy in this case could be because of the weak frontal impact or that the crash impact has been absorbed by the car’s structure.”

The accident picture looks serious , almost life threatening and no airbags deployed?
    70-80 km/h and hit a barrier with no airbags deployed?

What a major cover up by P2
    We’re not dumb

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • TeslaOwner on Aug 06, 2016 at 8:25 pm

Is it me or both the Front Right and Rear Left photo are the same?

• skatax on Aug 06, 2016 at 8:26 pm

my assumption is the car driver experienced aquaplaning which is common for small cars like kancil, viva, myvi and in this case axia.
    anyway, i hope the owner send to a reputable 3rd party inspection to justify perodua’s claims. that faulty airbag sensor is a SERIOUS issue.

• Albert on Aug 06, 2016 at 8:27 pm

THERE is a loophole ,the driver of this Axia forgot.
    BOTAK TYRES.
    They will put the blame on this very VISIBLE FACTOR.
    Remember,P2’s reputation as BLOCKBUSTER SALES TAIKOR,is at stake.
    IN Bolehland…the victim is ALWAYS THE CAR BUYER.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 06, 2016 at 8:32 pm

just couple of year tayar already botak like that..is he racing or wat?

• Syikin Aminuddin on Aug 06, 2016 at 8:41 pm

However authority body like jpj,mot,miros or independent body also should investigate on this problem. It’s not fair perodua as the manufacturer and in the same time they conducted a diagnostic test for their product. It’s like I give grade A for my own restaurant!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Potong on Aug 06, 2016 at 8:55 pm

Bald tyre = Steering got locked.

Can someone explain this?

• powershot (Member) on Aug 06, 2016 at 9:11 pm

A typical reaction you would get from a typical perodua driver: always try to blame the car manufacturer instead of blaming him or herself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • Nissan on Aug 06, 2016 at 9:17 pm

2 years made 83k mileage must be salesman. Many racer on the road but don’t have $ to even change tyre only care about fancy accessories.

• Fly Kite on Aug 06, 2016 at 9:41 pm

Another words, Perodua says go fly kite to the customer. The customer is a liar.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 07, 2016 at 8:15 am

Hes from penang…of course hes a liar.. just look at the chief minister lor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 25
      • tong sampah on Aug 07, 2016 at 12:35 pm

so all from putrajaya are conned man?

• Wow. Speechless. Did you also get some of those siphoned fund from IMDB. You must be one of the crony. Because when you speak, shits flew out. Please shut your mouth and let the grown up talk

• People will spend thousands for useless spoilers or accessories but not willing to spend a bit more for proper tyres, the most important thing that connects the car and road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
  • Lunno on Aug 06, 2016 at 10:11 pm

It’s ultimate machine of death.this is what u could expect from these *P* automobiles companies of Malaysia

• Home101 on Aug 06, 2016 at 10:16 pm

Hmmmm… He won’t be covered by insurance as well

• Should check steering system failure. Kancil have this problem before.

• Megane on Aug 06, 2016 at 10:32 pm

He must have aquaplaned during the rain made worse by the bald tyres . How to bury the head in the sand now ?

• Cheapo A seg B seg car on Aug 06, 2016 at 10:45 pm

only poor cheaphai and pondan buy small kecik miao A seg and B seg car ,such a pathetic life, pity them for using cheapo car and being working for poor whole life ~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 50
    • malas nak cerita. but looking at the tyres, memang botak teruk dah tu.

• david on Aug 06, 2016 at 10:49 pm

no one question the failure of electric power steering?
    or issit a product ‘feature’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 07, 2016 at 6:50 am

THOSE slicks? In the rain? Absolutely no wonder turning the steering wheel didn’t make a difference.

• alldisc on Aug 08, 2016 at 3:41 pm

When the tyres are locked, you will become a passenger. Turn left or right, the car will he ad straight in its last direction. Hi search how ABS works in youtube

• Whats the relationship with bald tyre with steering unable to function and airbag not deployed? Incan understand if the brake feel like not working due to wet road and bald tyre. But, steering lock and airbag?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • When the tyre skid, especially side way, the car body momentum causes the car body weight overcome the front wheel giving the driver a steering ‘locked’ feeling simply because it is too heavy for a human strength to overcome the momentum.
      I felt that once on a bright day light dry weather but the pessenger pull the handbrake accidentally causing the car to skid, hand brake only stop the rear wheel but the steering is just too heavy and when it so call ‘lock’ it is turn to one side completely, not straight. I am so lucky it did not turn put to be an road accident and i make it alife without injury. So when i see this, it is actually make sense.

• the relation..IMHO..when the driver realize that the car slides, he/she stepped hard on the brakes, without ABS, surely the brake will locked and it’s difficult to maneuver the steering. basically, if the car does not equipped with ABS, the driver can simulate the ABS function by constantly press and release the brake in very quick action. but when panic attack it is outside of mind. the tire already slides, no wonder the driver feels brake not function plus steering difficult to turn due to brake lock. should the tires in good condition i believe things will be different.

i believe P2 dissemble the brake and steering to do bench test, rectifying the problem and base on their technical result it is fully functional.

• Jason Sue on Aug 07, 2016 at 1:06 am

+1

It’s sad to see this kind of alibi.

It’s like saying like saying the car manufacturer refuses to honor the warranty repair on transmission because the owner’s replacing the stock radio of the new car, hence void all warranty.

Zero thread should not cause “steering locked”. Someone is lying.

Just saying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 07, 2016 at 6:59 am

The question is what the driver means by steering lock. The steering actually locking, i.e. unable to move? I don’t think so. I think what he meant was that the steering has no effect. And that is caused by the bald tyres.

As for the airbag: Immediately after the crash the driver could take photos, post them on Facebook and complain? Clearly he didn’t need the airbag. Airbags are for serious impacts, this wasn’t a serious impact. Impact into what? There was nothing in his way, only to the side of him… he crashed into the guard rail, but maintained most of his speed. Imagine walking fast, and hitting a wall at a 5 degree angle. There is barely an impact, you slow down a bit and change direction a bit. Do the same, but hit the wall straight on. That will be very painful. There you’ll be glad to have an airbag. For the first thing, no, not necessary, and fully functional airbags can cause some harm too.

• I am not sure about Axia, i was driving a 2010 Myvi few years back, i have complained about brake issue, few times sent to service center but problem was not solved. I have been asked by the service staff to change car or fixed it at workshop although it is under warranty. Thank Perodua u make my day. I swear not to buy your manufacturing defective product. I prefer to buy Korean make which has less resale value but with more safety rather than gamble with my life. Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Rawfi on Aug 07, 2016 at 12:05 am

Anything can happen since nowadays most of the car system are control by the ecu. Maybe 1 in million but still, perodua should do a research with thier car. All i can see here perodua want to take off thier hand and blame the owner. Every part of that car should be take to lab and do a research. Only in Malaysia any research can be done in few hour while other will take years.

• Zaidi on Aug 07, 2016 at 12:13 am

Looks like need to have independent 2nd opinion.

• anson8222 on Aug 07, 2016 at 12:23 am

1) Steering unable to function? During emergency brake, most of the G-force will pushed to the front wheel so how he/she able to turn the steering?

2) Brake not functioning? OEM tyre for this Axia model is Silverstone M3 175/65R14 and it’s just a budget tyre, what do u expect? Low tread depth might also will caused the vehicle lose control if too much of water on the road surface. Beside that, tyre rubber compound was the most important thing to increase the braking performance in dry/wet condition. Please choose trusted brand like Michelin, Bridgestone, Continental, Goodyear & so on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • For Vios(J&E), Myvi, Axia & Bezza (175/65R14) owner can consider on Michelin XM2 & Bridgestone EP200 because it’s large foot print tyre casing design and it also able to improve your car handling & braking performance.

• Kaloi on Aug 09, 2016 at 9:58 am

Asia stock tyre are Eco tyre, meaning that they have a lower rolling resistance for better FC. These tyre has less grip than non Eco tyre. They are known to have worst performance in the wet. Also it’s the cheaper of Eco tyre thus the technology behind it and the compound is not on par with ones from Yokohama for example.

• sohai on Aug 07, 2016 at 12:50 am

er…ever wonder how ABS and ESC works? Please Axia owner, blame on yourself for choosing cheepo car and saying safety is not important.

• Jason Sue on Aug 07, 2016 at 6:27 am

Hello Sonia,

Choosing cheapo car =/= saying safety is not important.

Years ago, I am in the situation buying car with no air bag/ABS/VSC. This doesn’t mean I don’t cherish safety.

It’s the climate in Malaysia car industry doesn’t put safety first. It’s not a finger pointing, we all know what caused those highly inflated prices with no safety feature. Consumer should be the last to blame, if any.

Just my 2 cents.

• If they buy the cheapest axia variant, its ot their fault. But if they buy topkek spec or many myvi over an iriz, then its fully their fault for choosing an unsafe option.

• Nvm…Perodua will use money to cover this case

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 07, 2016 at 8:13 am

They have already responded ..why should they cover or are you just plain stupid…cannot read properly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Aquaplanning…..

• Just repot to polis lah! Let polis decide who persoaled and who cannot be persoaled.

Of coz lah P2 says ini semua bukan salah dia. This is same like gip a construction company to do a feasibility study on a projek they r projeking.

• Boboy on Aug 07, 2016 at 4:23 am

P2 had not done much of tests like P1 before releasing it to buyers. But now is the reality and the truth, is that the current P1 car is much better than P2 and you should buy P1 car instead of P2 for better safety and further your life span. *ready to get downvote from basher*

• Iriz has VSC on all model!
      Besides good handling.
      But still……tak laku!

• Mattersz on Aug 07, 2016 at 7:48 am

Moral of the story: don’t buy p2 or p1 if lives matters. Get a real car

• JasonT on Aug 07, 2016 at 8:20 am

For the crash, bald tyres maybe only one of the reasons. But if unless its a slight dent on the car and airbag not deployed is understandable. However if its more than that, airbag not deployed there is something wrong with the sensor system. For your info, I was sitting in my friend’s E300 and his rear tyre exploded due to hitting some sharp objects but the Merc was still very stable and could steer to the emergency lane. We should encourage manufacturers to install at least with “VSC/ESP”.

• Honda on Aug 07, 2016 at 3:42 pm

I think your friend’s merc was equipped with run flat tyres… u can’t compare that to an axia

• papazola on Aug 07, 2016 at 8:20 am

Hydroplanning WILL NOT LOCK THE STEERING WHEEL, but you will lose control of the car since front tyres are floating on water.

• Susukotak on Aug 07, 2016 at 8:25 am

Please check also ABS for myvi. Many mechanic said there is problem with the design. Once my Myvi brake mulfunction have to pump a few times. When Checked, fluid normal..calipper normal. The solution is drive it 100km the slam the brake hardly. Like try to wake up the ABS system. Finally it ok.

• I’m kinda confused with the victim’s statement “tiba-tiba steering axia saya lock dan tak boleh dipusingkan”, as did it mean:
    1.his steering wheel just jammed and couldn’t turn
    2.or it could be turned but the vehicle did not change directions

Case 1 would almost likely mean a fault in the steering system, but case 2 combined with almost bald tires is more of owner’s failure to up keep the vehicle. VSC and ABS or not, the vehicle with those tire conditions will likely aquaplane and skid even if the steering system is 100% functional. I was a Kancil 660 driver before, and I can tell a light body + poor tire-road traction + lane switching followed by overly eager braking is very hairy experience.

And there’s part about this that should be confirmed is common human reaction as seen in many emergency braking situations, where many drivers tend to unknowingly hold the steering in 1 direction (probably from shock or by instinct) with the brake paddle slammed all d way down. This is 1 big no-no when you learn about using ABS fitted braking.

As for airbags not being triggered, it depends on where the switch/sensor is located. If its located between the head lights behind the front cross member, the damaged front grille on the affected Axia does not look deep enough to trip it.

• p2 must find out the reason why the airbag was not deployed. They just simply put assumption in their report by using a word ‘may’.
    yes, the tyre were beld, this could explain the aquaplanning, but does it logica to explain steering locked and airbag issue?

• Hayenadeblue on Aug 07, 2016 at 9:07 am

Persoalan 1: Btul ke dia bwk 70-80 km/h atas penang 2nd bridge? Sape2 yg biasa, tau, kt situ mmg lengang. Mostly, kete, x kira saiz, bwk atas 100 km/h.

Persoalan 2: Aku pernah accident, Iriz, langgar bontot City. Speed dlm range tu jugak. Kemek x lah smp mcm tu skali. Airbag aku pun x deploy sbb speed mmg x laju dan x teruk sgt damage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • p2lover on Aug 07, 2016 at 9:14 am

even abs/vsc can’t save you if drive fast during rain….drive safe my frens…

• winners on Aug 07, 2016 at 9:20 am

I believe it’s due to aquaplaning, especially when the car is light weight and coupled with nearly balled tires. That could be why the driver felt like the steering is not functioning as it should.

However, as for the non-deployment of the air-bag, the reason given by PERODUA is certainly not acceptable judging from the impact sustained.

• airbag sensor for front airbag is located in front if im not mistaken, hence in my opinion, it doesnt deploy in this case as the damage is more on the front left fender or front three quarter panel.

• Yap Y.H. on Aug 07, 2016 at 9:32 am

Is there no third party to assess the car? I mean Perodua investigating a complain against Perodua manufactured car. Ahem… ahem…

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Aug 07, 2016 at 9:35 am

Hi everybody, after reading the driver’s account on what happened and also that of other Axia owners that experienced the same issue, I would like to highlight that situation is very likely due to brake switch failure. Under normal circumstances, the engine ecu gets constant reading from the brake switch & when the signal is lost from a faulty switch, the ecu cuts out the power assisted brakes, electric assisted steering, ABS, EBD, etc. The situation is exactly like you switch off the engine while the car is moving. Your steering suddenly becomes very heavy and hard to steer & brakes don’t bite. I have personally experienced this with another brand of car but I was fortunate as I was travelling at 30kmh on a straight road without traffic. Like the Axia owner said, the steering became very hard to steer as the electric assisted steering was cut off and I had to stomp very hard on the brakes without the power assist. Coming to a halt took a long time. Now here’s the best part. Switching off and on the engine totally reset the error & everything behaves normally again. You regain all the lost function until some other time the brake switch contact fails again. It can happen intermittently and very difficult to diagnose unless the mechanic is experienced enough. In my case the fault code could not be detected with ecu reader as usually everything was fine when you drive the car to the workshop. Replacing the brake switch totally rectified the problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • matcerah on Aug 07, 2016 at 11:21 am

wow, what an assumption.
      he literally drove into massive amount of water n hydroplaned and couldn’t control his car. with bald tryes, the car has literally no grip on the road, ABS or VSC wont help.

by the way what car was that u drove had that problem? mind to share?

• david on Aug 07, 2016 at 11:24 am

exactly.. GM did a major recall for ignition switch
      the car behave as if key is pulled out. loss of power, steering become hard, no brake pump assist

all these would not be detected by scan.

• saladin on Aug 07, 2016 at 5:26 pm

I also experiance almost same thing. Mine has something wrong the electric power. Once i was driving exiting highway at night, suddenly i lose all the electric power, my eps lock from corner to straight, ( common for eps if u lose power it will automatically become straight), my brake becomez heavy( also becos no hydraulic asist) my light was off, my radio also off. Luckily it was just for few second. I escape without any accident. It turns out that my battery got problems. It turn my electric system heywire. After i replace the battery no problemo.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Aug 07, 2016 at 7:40 pm

I think the owners should have their cars checked by other independent mechanics to trouble shoot the root cause of the problem. Manufacturers can deny all they want as there are legal liabilities for admitting design faults. No car is perfect, just that owners have to be made aware of it and not be caught off guard.

• No perodua yet on Aug 07, 2016 at 10:29 am

Am following this issue quite closely. It this the official reply from Perodua? I thought this reply came from a sales agent who knows a bit about mechanical engineering. Never mind the poor tyres,but aren’t the airbags supposed to deploy?How much impact is needed to deploy the airbag? Perodua cars with no ABS or EBD, what more to say ESC. No, this is not a satisfactory reply from Perodua.

• Capt. Serious on Aug 07, 2016 at 10:35 am

No matter how canggih a car is, they only things connecting it to the ground are the tyres.

I better change my rubber now

• For the airbag, it is normal for it not deploying, as the damage looks to be more on the left side rather than the front side which the sensor is located i think, well it is pointless to deploy the airbag anyway judging from the picture. About the steering lock, i also drive non abs car, while raining, i was braking a bit hard at same time rotating my steering to the right, the car just went straight due to the locked wheel until i release the brake. conclusion, stop using cheap tyres, need even more expensive tyres on car without abs.

• Ahmad on Aug 07, 2016 at 11:53 am

Check the accident statistics.. Check all perodua safety specifications… Compare.. I love u all malaysians.. Pls check before letting ur love ones buy one. !

• old horse on Aug 07, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Axia with no ABS, raining, bald tires, driving 80km/h..you figure it out..imagine what kind of speed if no rain..hope he learned a lesson. You get what you expect with the car during your purchased. Glad no one was hurt.

drivers attitude responsible for others life as well, not only yours.

• Akira on Aug 07, 2016 at 12:06 pm

Lesson learned here, don’t buy P2 cars.

• tong sampah on Aug 07, 2016 at 12:13 pm

only if you have driven in the snowing melting/icing condition and you know stepping on the brake hard will skid, and that is why technology ABS/VSC kicks in..

the bald tires + wet road make the similar condition i guess..

in fact wet tar road with no water is more dangerous as easier to skid..

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 07, 2016 at 1:03 pm

The only point of contact your car has is those 4 tyres and the road. If all are bald, be prepared to be 6 feet under when shit hits the fan.

• ionlaw on Aug 07, 2016 at 1:27 pm

At lease get a third party to investigate/assess the case…

• The best logical reasons is due to the auxiliary belt thats control the power steering pump and main brake booster. If this belt is worn out, and on raining day, the belt slippage will make it feels like there is no brake, steering will feels like locking. IT IS A BAD DESIGN ON AXIA, it happen to me several time when driving Kia Rondo into pool of water on the road. The power steering pump momentarily stop spinning due to this cause. During high speed driving it will make me feel very scary, lost control during the belt slip moment. After changing to new auxiliary belt, problem solved. Both of the car had bad design, water can splash to the belt…SO BE CAREFUL, and change the belt on time…1mm thread is secondary issue.

• tokmoh. on Aug 08, 2016 at 12:14 am

Axia use electric power steering, not hydraulic.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Aug 08, 2016 at 12:48 am

Please read up about difference in hydraulic steering vs electrical steering in Axia. There is no belt or steering pump. Only a motor. You cut the motor power the steering becomes jam or heavy due to torque gears of the motor. http://www.eolss.net/Sample-Chapters/C05/E6-39A-05-09.pdf

• William on Aug 08, 2016 at 1:53 am

The Axia has no power steering pump…

• contender on Aug 07, 2016 at 1:44 pm

This kind of pea brain driver deserves it, count himself lucky ….. speeding on basic spec Axia n bald tyres and now making false claims. Perodua should sue him for defamation !

• arowana on Aug 07, 2016 at 5:03 pm

kecian driver beli axia low spec tarak wang tukar tayar baru

• Very obvious owner is lying. He’s already poor enough to buy an Axia, he just wanna make himself like a victim to avoid paying any cent.

There is no such thing as “steering lock” suddenly without SLAMMING the brake. Mind you, the car has no ABS!

It’s very obvious the story is only half-told

• Actually its cuz of no ABS, that when he hard the brake steering wheel lock and car go to ‘holland’.
      So what does it tell u when a company dun gip even ABS to poor pipu spec? Isit jepunis overlords feels MY poor pipu lives r like lifestock?

• Autodriver on Aug 07, 2016 at 7:48 pm

To keyboard warrior, please don’t ever thought you are expert than Perodua, they have hire skillful safety engineer, system engineer and other techinical experts before launching a new car. And please think of it whenever there is a bad thing happened first reaction of most human being is put the blame to others, that’s natural reaction. I don’t want to be sarcastic but I guess if the person is with good education should have choosing higher spec with additional safety and won’t leave the tyre until bald.

I can assure one thing is the bald tyre should have given signal earlier to the driver. Tyre should be replaced when it hit the tyre wear indicator (TWI) and until this it is still 1.6mm leave. This incident the tyre is only remain 1mm which is significant danger and basically no grip to dry or wet road. I believe even with ABS or ESC the tyres will have no response or very limited handling for driver even they are professional racers.

In this case it seems more neglect act from driver who didn’t take care his tyre and push responsibility to car manufacturer. If the driver feel unfair he can file a lawsuit to Perodua. But please bear in mind if the driver loss the court case he may need do public apology via media (if Perodua not asking compensation fee) and also bear the court expenses not only his side but also pay for Perodua.

I am not siding Perodua, I see many vehicle users put the blame to carmaker where in fact they are the one who didn’t take care or neglected their car conditions. I am not keyboard warrior but my work related to automotive closely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • rider on Aug 08, 2016 at 7:43 am

no ABS?

then get a car equipped with ABS as standard, better yet with ESC. just boycott those company who thinks safety as premium product. you have to pay more for your safety and life.

• Annoynimouse on Aug 08, 2016 at 8:19 am

So, bald tires can lock your steering wheel… err.

• Can see Perodua scrambling to defend the company and blaming the driver, all out …especially Bezza just launched. Get a third party to investigate if you want to close this issue.

• Axe the Car on Aug 08, 2016 at 9:32 am

..’weak frontal impact so the airbags are not deployed’? So P2 is saying that the impact has to be much higher and the car totally crushed before the airbags are deployed? The occupants would heve been fatally injured! What’s the point of the airbags?
    Another thing..Even with 200,000 Axias sold does not mean they are defect free…It could also mean that P2 have sold 200,000 defective Axias!

• William on Aug 08, 2016 at 10:53 am

Is that man injured or killed in that accident? If the answer is no then the airbag has done its job by NOT deploying during the accident. Modern airbag system has very advanced accelerometers and sensors that will detect sudden deceleration in a severe accident to judge on if it is to deploy or not.

• xoxox on Aug 08, 2016 at 10:07 am

it mentioned the car suddenly ‘locked’ = the car is skidding on water pool already! i think there might be misleading statement from the driver or misleading statement during translation from malay to english??
    btw…the driver knows the tyre is wear and tear items?the tyre should change when 3-2mm for safe driving in the rain!
    to keyboard warrior here, do you know whether the driver hit his head on the steering hard? else don’t make any stupid assumption here, light impact should not deploy the airbag! it should restrain by the seat belt!

• Safety conman on Aug 08, 2016 at 10:20 am

At least Perodua did not remove the top-tether quietly.

• Top tether wun have prevented the accident or lessen his injuries. Go somewhere else and troll.

• nobody is questioning why perodua themselves are running the tests to prove their cars are fine?

• Cuz they been brainwashed not to persoal their jepunis overlords and their macai P2. All just shaddup and gip them money

• Hentamjela on Aug 11, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Kalau dah joint dgn toyota me ang menipu la kerjanya…

• Sinalau Bakas on Nov 03, 2016 at 1:48 pm

I have a car, I have an Axia.. Ughh, Axia car….